post Feb 13 2009, 10:38 PM

204 posts

My robo still hates me!
dien
post Feb 13 2009, 10:44 PM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

anyone of here made any DIY house for your hamster??
speedhunter
post Feb 13 2009, 11:33 PM

!!!!!
881 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Feb 13 2009, 07:26 PM)
Not much people using cause expensive and a hassle when cleaning. The Ovo Pad is ok for dwarf. How many dwarves you got in an Ovo Pad?
i got 2, but donno if its a pair or not, dont know how to know. i kinda regret buying the ovo pad, not because its hard to clean, but where the water bottle is located. the water drop in the tube, creating a lopak, and my hamster always shit there, poo+water=dirty.. hope u all get what i mean.
hiroko_jiayi
post Feb 14 2009, 12:39 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(dien @ Feb 13 2009, 10:44 PM)
anyone of here made any DIY house for your hamster??
i did

btw, my hamster teeth has grown too long. chewing biscuit no use for them.
can i use dog's chewing biscuit for them? cuz i think its more tastier to attract them ?
imperialrealcs
post Feb 14 2009, 02:34 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Feb 13 2009, 01:25 PM)
hi guys, is me again smile.gif
anyway, my hamster gave birth last month and i got 5 baby now.. up until now, i still saperate the 5 babies + 1 mom from the other 2 male hamster.. so should i mix them now?

another thing is i realise is all the baby having little fur.. some even can be seen with peeled skin and their red body.. is that normal?
been feeding them with habitrail hamster food
quoting myself:
nobody really know the answer ke? sad.gif
scrollgurl
post Feb 14 2009, 02:41 AM

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Feb 13 2009, 11:33 PM)
i got 2, but donno if its a pair or not, dont know how to know. i kinda regret buying the ovo pad, not because its hard to clean, but where the water bottle is located. the water drop in the tube, creating a lopak, and my hamster always shit there, poo+water=dirty.. hope u all get what i mean.
i'm sorry. but i'm not trying to be offensive here. but, habitrail cages especially OVO aren't the best cages. i think you saw it for yourself. they kinda have to lean on their back to drink water. plus, i think having two dwarfs in one OVO is bad idea.
perhaps, you should change your cage. go for a bin/tank cage instead. they are spacious and affordable. the OVO is just small and i'm sure your hamsters don't have enough space to Run around.
hope this helped.

Added on February 14, 2009, 2:44 am
QUOTE(hiroko_jiayi @ Feb 14 2009, 12:39 AM)
i did

btw, my hamster teeth has grown too long. chewing biscuit no use for them.
can i use dog's chewing biscuit for them? cuz i think its more tastier to attract them ?
yes, it is ok to use dog biscuits. make sure you check the ingredients. it shoudn't contain onion,garlic and ethoxyquin.

This post has been edited by scrollgurl: Feb 14 2009, 02:44 AM
hiroko_jiayi
post Feb 14 2009, 03:05 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Feb 14 2009, 02:34 AM)
quoting myself:
u shoudn't mix back ur female n male ever again... unless u want a bunch of babies again...
the litters can eat solid food when they grow bigger... else they just feed with mother's milk...

when the babies 2 months old, make sure u separate male n female ... u still can put the mother with the female babies as long as they don fight...
do more research online ...

Added on February 14, 2009, 3:06 amhow old is ur babies? its normal they have little fur at 1st... they will grow more fur after that ...

This post has been edited by hiroko_jiayi: Feb 14 2009, 03:06 AM
speedhunter
post Feb 14 2009, 09:08 AM

!!!!!
881 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Feb 14 2009, 02:34 AM)
quoting myself:
I saw my fren's baby, yup they have no or little fur, and their skin is red, but the fur will grow more later

QUOTE(scrollgurl @ Feb 14 2009, 02:41 AM)
i'm sorry. but i'm not trying to be offensive here. but, habitrail cages especially OVO aren't the best cages. i think you saw it for yourself. they kinda have to lean on their back to drink water. plus, i think having two dwarfs in one OVO is bad idea.
perhaps, you should change your cage. go for a bin/tank cage instead. they are spacious and affordable. the OVO is just small and i'm sure your hamsters don't have enough space to Run around.
hope this helped.
hmm..i already post my ovo on the garage sale, hope someone would buy it. yup, there is little space for my hamster to run, but they really love to play the wheel.

do u mean the tank on the 1st page? sure is large.

my hamster dont like to sleep in the house, why?? they sleep outside, but push the bedding aside, sleep on the base of the cage. do they feel hot??
dien
post Feb 14 2009, 09:24 AM

:: Newbie ::
3,254 posts

QUOTE(hiroko_jiayi @ Feb 14 2009, 01:39 AM)
i did
could you share pictures of your DIY house/ cage??

This post has been edited by dien: Feb 14 2009, 09:28 AM
scrollgurl
post Feb 14 2009, 01:10 PM

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Feb 14 2009, 09:08 AM)
I saw my fren's baby, yup they have no or little fur, and their skin is red, but the fur will grow more later
hmm..i already post my ovo on the garage sale, hope someone would buy it. yup, there is little space for my hamster to run, but they really love to play the wheel.

do u mean the tank on the 1st page? sure is large.

my hamster dont like to sleep in the house, why?? they sleep outside, but push the bedding aside, sleep on the base of the cage. do they feel hot??
it can either be that tank or you can go for bin cages and you can set up whichever way you like. plus,bin cage comes in many sizes.or maybe you can find any other big and better cages compared to the one you had(ovo). here's one example of a bin cage: http://www.flickr.com/photos/rach_thegoat/1399403145/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/supermunchie/2692351813/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/heleni0/2421206409/
hiroko_jiayi
post Feb 14 2009, 01:30 PM

188 posts

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Jamien
post Feb 14 2009, 05:17 PM

2,647 posts

hi imperialacs. well, you shouldn't mix the male and female EVER unless you wanna breed again. and definitely never mix the sons with the mum or the daughter with the father to avoid inbreeding.

Depending on the breed of your hamster, you may have to house them seperately. For example, syrians must be housed all separately.

If it's been 1 month, their fur should have more or less grown in ma. smile.gif Try to chaange their food to something more nutritious than habitrail since now they're in their growth period. Try Prestige or Harry hamster with fruits and vegetables. Sometimes cn offer protein like tau foo or mealworms. Or I usually give egg white.
DoremiMimi
post Feb 15 2009, 05:00 PM

Hello all...Is my cage consider as DIY cage? King Fisher 3 tier cage DIY with tubes and extra acceseries tongue.gif

Please give me some comments and more suggestions.

Cheers tongue.gif
speedhunter
post Feb 15 2009, 05:25 PM

!!!!!
881 posts

Hi there, i cant see which part of your cage is DIY.. do your hamster bite the cage?? i'm considoring to buy a cage like your, but is saw my frens cage got biten, then rust, which can be a poison to your hamster.. thx
DoremiMimi
post Feb 15 2009, 05:51 PM

Got DIY ma...I added those tubes outside there...and inside from 1st floor to 3rd floor. Then I add the Habitrail big wheel outside the cage tongue.gif

My hammie does bite the metal bar of the cage...But not much also. Cuz sometimes he need attention for food or he want to come out to play only he bites the bar. It really depends on your hamster. The metal bar of this King Fisher Cage is rather thick and not easy to bite through I suppose. My cage is 3-4months+ old de...So far not much rust on the cage...just minor only tongue.gif
speedhunter
post Feb 15 2009, 06:01 PM

!!!!!
881 posts

anyone here can give example how to set up a tank for the hammies?? i want to build 1
blurjoey
post Feb 15 2009, 06:19 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(speedhunter @ Feb 15 2009, 06:01 PM)
anyone here can give example how to set up a tank for the hammies?? i want to build 1
Setup and build is two different things. So which are you looking for?

There are pics of hamster tanks at the 1st page and a few posts at the top with hiroko_jiayi's custom built bin cage.
speedhunter
post Feb 15 2009, 08:31 PM

!!!!!
881 posts

i'm planning a new setup, buying a fish tank like in the 1st page. beside wheel and water bottle, do i need to give my hamster a house??

currently using the habitrail ovo pad+den, really pity my hamster, dont have enough space to play around
Sophiera
post Feb 15 2009, 09:30 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

I've obtained my new hamster.

Her name is Tiny, because she is seriously tiny. She is the size of a mouse even though the colouring is definately syrian. She's even smaller than bean. When bean sat in the bowl you can't really see the contents. When Tiny sat in there, you definately can see the stuff.

And she is about 3 months old. I think I have the smallest syrian among the folks here tongue.gif

She ate the bedding when I first put her in doh.gif doh.gif . And then she attempted to eat the plate where I placed the carrot on....it took a while for her to realise that the plate isn't edible and the carrot is.
odd_mochi
post Feb 16 2009, 11:41 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Feb 13 2009, 05:45 PM)
Patience is the key to get their best looking shot.  tongue.gif 
All of them looks similiar , no ?  rolleyes.gif

I never been to Kuching before , must contact you to show me around when I go there , hope you wont reject my call when I go there.  wub.gif  wub.gif

How many of you guys here feeding them worms ?
hahah....true oso... patience...wah..lots of patience for hamsters ho...

come2 to kuching...can show u around...take pictures of my hamters too aa....bwahahaha.... but kuching dun hav nice2 petshop like in peninsular le...

@sophiera....pictureeeeees of Tiny plssss? smile.gif

126 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:42 PM