[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership
g3n0c1d3
Jul 21 2009, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 20 2009, 11:18 PM) @grunge, If it's going to be the same price as getting an official Malaysian set with warranty, Y bother bringing it back, right?  what i think is, its better to buy in malaysia since u got the 1. the most important... the local warranty 2. the free 500mb (if u register to prepaid) 3. hassle free and the price is really darn cheap..... i mean u cant go wrong with that....
Ndrew
Jul 21 2009, 11:26 AM

yup, agree with g3n0c|d3.. especially the price for the 16GB one.. it's not a bad price.. was considering between Aussie sets or Maxis. but if the price is almost the same, getting the maxis one will be better and hassle free... plus u get local warranty too...
nitsujyuen
Jul 21 2009, 04:09 PM
just get iphone 3gs from maxis. much better. rosak straight can go claim.. reasonable price compared to those ppl bringing back from aus, usa, singapore....*no offence to those lyn iphone 3gs sellers*
dopp
Jul 21 2009, 05:39 PM
iphone from maxis the 3g and 3gs both are unlocked phone? the operator told me it is unlock, but if i plug in other operator sim , will void warranty.
davidgary73
Jul 21 2009, 05:49 PM
Music Producer
QUOTE(dopp @ Jul 21 2009, 05:39 PM) iphone from maxis the 3g and 3gs both are unlocked phone? the operator told me it is unlock, but if i plug in other operator sim , will void warranty. As stated on the first few post: *Does a Singtel, NZ, Maxis Malaysia or an official unlock 3G iPhones work with our local telco Maxis, Celcom, DiGi and UMobile? Yes, just insert your current simcard.
Official unlock iPhone 3GS work with our local telco Maxis, Celcom, DiGi and UMobile? Yes, just insert your current simcard. No sim card can void warranty. It's just a simcard only.
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 05:51 PM
Fanaddict!
@dopp, Jailbreaking the phone will void the warranty but if U restore the phone back to factory settings, no one's going to know U jailbroken the phone in the past
Lord_Ashe
Jul 21 2009, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(dopp @ Jul 21 2009, 05:39 PM) iphone from maxis the 3g and 3gs both are unlocked phone? the operator told me it isĀ unlock, but if i plug in other operator sim , will void warranty. Probably they're trying to discourage you from experimenting. You'll void your warranty if your jailbreak, definitely. However if an issue arises (unlikely) you can always restore to a pre-jailbroken OS and bring back to Maxis. That's the beauty of an official unlocked set. @tink actually the maxis fella MAY know if they use their brains. They'll probably wonder how come the usage data is so short for a x month old phone? IF they use their brains LOL This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Jul 21 2009, 05:54 PM
tinkerbel
Jul 21 2009, 05:59 PM
Fanaddict!
@Lord_Ashe, Er..I don't think U can check from just looking at the data usage; and even that can be deleted or reset back to 0 *smiles* @dopp, I guess Maxis also prefers U to use the i3G/i3GS with their network than their competitors
dopp
Jul 21 2009, 06:18 PM
hehe thanks for the advise.. i will proceed buying the phone and use digi. Smarter choice
Crap...reservation down.
This post has been edited by dopp: Jul 21 2009, 06:37 PM
ansonliew
Jul 27 2009, 04:42 PM

Hey sorry im a newbie to Iphone..i would like to ask if my iphone is an officially unlocked unit do i still hv to jailbreak it?
tinkerbel
Jul 27 2009, 04:45 PM
Fanaddict!
@ansonliew, No U don't need to JB the phone in order to use it. There is a difference between Jailbreaking & Unlocking. For information on Jailbreaking & Unlocking, please refer to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/984406
ingjoo
Jul 30 2009, 04:32 PM
so whats the cheapest way to get a iphone 3GS ??
i'm will be going to singapore and taiwan in next 2 weeks. .. and UK in sept (if i can wait till then)
cheaper to get there ? tax free ??
varickgoh
Jul 30 2009, 10:25 PM
Hello... i was planning to get an iphone from maxis. Should i get 3G 8G or get the 3Gs 16g?? Sifu sifu please suggest me appreciate !!
tinkerbel
Jul 30 2009, 11:25 PM
Fanaddict!
@ingjoo, Information on SingTel i3GS sets are available at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1087010We don't have much information about Taiwan & UK though so U will need to gather those information on ur own. @varickgoh, If U can afford it, go for the i3GS. U'll definitely NOT regret it.
varickgoh
Jul 30 2009, 11:53 PM
3G and 3Gs their price are just different rm500,izit worth to pay extra 500 to buy a 3Gs instead of 3G?
teikwing
Jul 31 2009, 12:01 AM
@varickgoh:for the looks, no. but for the performance and specs-bump, yes. 500 bucks more for a faster processor, double the RAM, higher MP camera with AF, voice control etc. that's definitely a good deal.
varickgoh
Jul 31 2009, 12:25 AM
Thanks tinkerbel and teikwing....Appreciate all the information. I will go check out Maxis booth on Saturday,wish they'll give some special promotion on that day
teikwing
Jul 31 2009, 12:29 AM
@varickgoh:you're most welcomed. hope to see u in the club soon.
tootmirlight
Aug 2 2009, 08:13 PM
QUOTE As stated on the first few post: *Does a Singtel, NZ, Maxis Malaysia or an official unlock 3G iPhones work with our local telco Maxis, Celcom, DiGi and UMobile? Yes, just insert your current simcard.
Official unlock iPhone 3GS work with our local telco Maxis, Celcom, DiGi and UMobile? Yes, just insert your current simcard. No sim card can void warranty. It's just a simcard only. how about foreign simcard? for example, i buy 3gs (prepaid plan) from maxis and then i use it in germany with simcard from german telco. is it working? this unlocked version from maxis is totally unlocked for any kind of simcard or just local simcard? thanks
nokia2003
Aug 2 2009, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(tootmirlight @ Aug 2 2009, 08:13 PM) how about foreign simcard? for example, i buy 3gs (prepaid plan) from maxis and then i use it in germany with simcard from german telco. is it working? this unlocked version from maxis is totally unlocked for any kind of simcard or just local simcard? thanks any. provided that network supports either of each; GSM 850 900 1800 1900