hi guys..any idea how's the panasonic dmc G1? how much is it in the market?
Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere
Feb 7 2009, 08:49 PM
15 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
hi guys..any idea how's the panasonic dmc G1? how much is it in the market?
Feb 7 2009, 10:02 PM
1,998 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Stardust |
Hi, any sifu please help with a recommendation?
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact Budget : ~RM900 ... stretch to 1k possible Your Location : KL Prefe`rable brand : An Type of photography u want to do : Insects Any specific models in mind? : None Any specific features u want? : Erm... very good / super close up macro mode for small samples, e.g. insects, needed to take samples for biology research. |
Feb 7 2009, 10:11 PM
3,669 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ze deep blue ocean |
QUOTE(BFGWong @ Feb 7 2009, 10:02 PM) Hi, any sifu please help with a recommendation? super close up macro ... the possible thing you are looking for is a mp-e65 lens + a canon dslr + macro flash, but it's way out of your budget.Type of camera/lens/accesories : Compact Budget : ~RM900 ... stretch to 1k possible Your Location : KL Prefe`rable brand : An Type of photography u want to do : Insects Any specific models in mind? : None Any specific features u want? : Erm... very good / super close up macro mode for small samples, e.g. insects, needed to take samples for biology research. |
Feb 7 2009, 10:21 PM
1,998 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Stardust |
QUOTE(nicotine @ Feb 7 2009, 10:11 PM) super close up macro ... the possible thing you are looking for is a mp-e65 lens + a canon dslr + macro flash, but it's way out of your budget. Erm way beyond budget and skill and patience to operate... any suggestion that among the cheapish compacts which ones have the best macro? |
Feb 7 2009, 11:10 PM
673 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Feb 7 2009, 11:28 PM
158 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
may i ask something again.. can the Lumix LX3 do this kind of photography
- light trail (not sure) - silhoutte - underwater - panning read at few forums about these type of photography and was wondering about this all day long This post has been edited by teddbundy: Feb 7 2009, 11:51 PM |
Feb 7 2009, 11:55 PM
1,862 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(teddbundy @ Feb 7 2009, 11:28 PM) may i ask something again.. can the Lumix LX3 do this kind of photography 1. Light trails need extremely slow shutter speeds. Settable on the LX3.- light trail (not sure) - silhoutte - underwater - panning read at few forums about these type of photography and was wondering about this all day long 2. Silhouette is done by aiming the camera directly into a sunset/sunrise, thus rendering the subject to be too dark for the fine details to be captured. Any camera can do this, provided you know how to do it. Considerably easier with a prosumer with Manual mode and/or a DSLR. 3. Have to get an underwater casing for your camera, and sometimes the water's blue is too saturated till your camera can't capture the colour correctly - you need to read up on this, I have limited knowledge about this. 4. I think panning would be considerably harder with a prosumer, but can be performed. Decide on an aspect of photography you want to focus on first, then read about it. If you read about all, you'll get your mind confused and stuffed up with a lot of sometimes unnecessary information. |
Feb 8 2009, 01:17 AM
i would go for macro first i think..i fall in love with macro in the first place
Feb 8 2009, 12:07 PM
230 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: 2k - 2.5k Preferable brand : Sony, Canon or Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and portrait both Any specific models in mind? : nil Any specific features u want? : ni recommend me which model that's easy to use n specially for new users.. needed for a photographing job on daylight.. TQ..pm me pls |
Feb 8 2009, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(mrmagic21 @ Feb 8 2009, 12:07 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR Sony a200/a300/a350, Canon EOS 1000D, Nikon D60.Budget: 2k - 2.5k Preferable brand : Sony, Canon or Nikon Type of photography u want to do : Landscape and portrait both Any specific models in mind? : nil Any specific features u want? : ni recommend me which model that's easy to use n specially for new users.. needed for a photographing job on daylight.. TQ..pm me pls Did this comparison before and I went for the 1000D, no regrets. Sony's pros: Cheap In-body IS Canon's pros: Over 60+ EF/EF-S lenses, later when you want to upgrade, no problem Best lenses (L lineup is unbeatable) Nikon's pros: No idea yet, never used a Nikon model before. You should scout around to find your best choice, everyone has their own needs so I can't shoot a single model at you. Good luck. |
Feb 8 2009, 05:44 PM
3,000 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Type of camera : DSLR or Prosumer
Budget: 2K Preferable brand : nada Type of photography u want to do : as a stepping stone into DSLR, learn to play with shutter speeds, aperture and everything else. Any specific models in mind? : Lumix LX3 and Canon EOS 400 Any specific features u want? : nada would it be better to leap into a DSLR or learn the basics with a prosumer? My experience is playing with my W810i camera so I basically know what a macro is already :-P And what is the current price for both the cameras I mentioned? From Canon webbie the EOS 450D sells for 2.8K w/ kit lens. This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 8 2009, 05:47 PM |
Feb 8 2009, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 8 2009, 05:44 PM) Type of camera : DSLR or Prosumer If you haven't had a hands-on with a full manual camera then get the LX3. If you're willing to chuck a big wad of money into DSLRs without learning the basics first, go for a 1000D. 450D is kinda in-the-middle of 50D/1000D, so you're bound to lose some money if you're gonna go from 1000-450-50.Budget: 2K Preferable brand : nada Type of photography u want to do : as a stepping stone into DSLR, learn to play with shutter speeds, aperture and everything else. Any specific models in mind? : Lumix LX3 and Canon EOS 400 Any specific features u want? : nada would it be better to leap into a DSLR or learn the basics with a prosumer? My experience is playing with my W810i camera so I basically know what a macro is already :-P And what is the current price for both the cameras I mentioned? From Canon webbie the EOS 450D sells for 2.8K w/ kit lens. |
Feb 8 2009, 08:16 PM
3,000 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Puchong, Selangor |
I dun think I'm ready to put in more than 2K at the moment for a camera. So I'm going for a prosumer first.
I forgot to mention I'm considering the Canon G10 as well. How does it fare against the Lumix LX3 in terms of usability? Does the viewfinder in the G10 enhance the photographing experience? The analogue dials look interesting. |
Feb 8 2009, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 8 2009, 08:16 PM) I dun think I'm ready to put in more than 2K at the moment for a camera. So I'm going for a prosumer first. http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canong10/I forgot to mention I'm considering the Canon G10 as well. How does it fare against the Lumix LX3 in terms of usability? Does the viewfinder in the G10 enhance the photographing experience? The analogue dials look interesting. Detailed one on the G10. http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonicdmclx3/ Detailed one on the LX-3. My advice: Compare the specifications first, see which one isn't good or is good, etc etc. Later on, go to both of these, select the 1st 'Compared to...' of each camera's review from the drop-down menu. Compare both the picture's quality. You'll be amazed at what the LX-3 can do over the G10. Also, if you are still un-convinced, go to the LX-3 thread in this forum. |
Feb 8 2009, 09:17 PM
@TheWandererX
i tried the LX3 this evening and i totally fall in love with it. i shot my macro for the 1st time (eventho just using auto mode |
Feb 8 2009, 09:30 PM
1,394 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 8 2009, 08:16 PM) I dun think I'm ready to put in more than 2K at the moment for a camera. So I'm going for a prosumer first. The viewfinder is a gimmick. Since the viewfinder doesnt exactly display what the lens is displaying, you'll get a parallax if you compose your shot with the viewfinder, ie. chopped off heads, unwanted things included in the shot, etc. I forgot to mention I'm considering the Canon G10 as well. How does it fare against the Lumix LX3 in terms of usability? Does the viewfinder in the G10 enhance the photographing experience? The analogue dials look interesting. Analogue dials do give a 'more professional' feel to the whole camera, I wont deny that In terms of usability, the difference between the G10 and the LX3 is subtle. Both are user friendly, both can take superb shots, so at the end of the day, you still have to decide which one you like more. Go try both cameras out, hold them, shoot with them, see which one you prefer. |
Feb 9 2009, 12:32 AM
673 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: The Kitchenette™ Status: In Wub ♥™ |
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Semi Pro
Budget: 1,000 to 1,500 Your Location: KL Preferable brand : None Type of photography u want to do : Semi pro Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic DMC FZ28 Any specific features u want? : Semi Pro Hi would like to hear comments on this camera. Anyone used it before? |
Feb 9 2009, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(altie @ Feb 9 2009, 12:32 AM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Semi Pro It's a superzoom, IINM. If you don't need the zoom, might as well go for the DMC-LX3 - it has superior image quality compared to other prosumers around this price range.Budget: 1,000 to 1,500 Your Location: KL Preferable brand : None Type of photography u want to do : Semi pro Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic DMC FZ28 Any specific features u want? : Semi Pro Hi would like to hear comments on this camera. Anyone used it before? Though - if you do need this extra zoom, the FZ28 will do you good. |
Feb 9 2009, 12:35 PM
3,749 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Johor |
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Semi Pro / DSLR
Budget: 1500-2000 Preferable brand : None Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic Lumix LX3 / Canon 1000D How much do I have to pay for a DSLR 24mm F2.0 lens? I'm wondering how much do I have to pay to have "LX3 spec" lens for DSLR. I'm not sure if portability will be an issue to me. I consider myself a beginner after quiting "land photography" for quite a few years. |
Feb 9 2009, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Feb 9 2009, 12:35 PM) Type of camera/lens/accesories : Semi Pro / DSLR On a LX3, a 24mm isn't really 24mm - because the sensor isn't APS-C sized or 35mm sized. I can't really remember how much is the crop factor but it should be around 2x.Budget: 1500-2000 Preferable brand : None Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic Lumix LX3 / Canon 1000D How much do I have to pay for a DSLR 24mm F2.0 lens? I'm wondering how much do I have to pay to have "LX3 spec" lens for DSLR. I'm not sure if portability will be an issue to me. I consider myself a beginner after quiting "land photography" for quite a few years. As example the LX3's sensor is 2x, you'll get a 48mm range. When you buy the 1000D you'll get an 18-55 * 1.6 which is equivalent to 28-88mm on a 35mm DSLR. In my opinion the 18-55 mounted on the 1000D is quite adequate for landscape photography, but if you have the moolah, get the L. |
| Change to: | 0.0288sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:39 PM |