161 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

Mr.LKM
post Feb 9 2009, 01:54 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 9 2009, 01:29 PM)
On a LX3, a 24mm isn't really 24mm - because the sensor isn't APS-C sized or 35mm sized. I can't really remember how much is the crop factor but it should be around 2x.

As example the LX3's sensor is 2x, you'll get a 48mm range. When you buy the 1000D you'll get an 18-55 * 1.6 which is equivalent to 28-88mm on a 35mm DSLR.

In my opinion the 18-55 mounted on the 1000D is quite adequate for landscape photography, but if you have the moolah, get the L.
Hmm.. Are you sure? If I'm not mistaken, the focal range of the compact size camera as stated around the edges of the lens is in 35mm equivalent format.
TheWandererX
post Feb 9 2009, 02:02 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Feb 9 2009, 01:54 PM)
Hmm.. Are you sure? If I'm not mistaken, the focal range of the compact size camera as stated around the edges of the lens is in 35mm equivalent format.
Stated on the lens is different from the actual range.

EG: at 10mm, on a 2x sensor it'll be 20mm zoom range equivalent, on a 1.6x sensor it'll be 16mm, and on a ff 35mm sensor it'll be 10mm.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crop_factor

Read here. Digital cameras measure the lens' zoom range relative to 35mm format.
joyyy
post Feb 9 2009, 03:06 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 9 2009, 02:02 PM)
Stated on the lens is different from the actual range.

EG: at 10mm, on a 2x sensor it'll be 20mm zoom range equivalent, on a 1.6x sensor it'll be 16mm, and on a ff 35mm sensor it'll be 10mm.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crop_factor

Read here. Digital cameras measure the lens' zoom range relative to 35mm format.
The focal range stated on compact cameras is the 35mm equivalent.
The 24mm on the LX3 is what you will get if you use a 24mm lens on a 35mm camera doh.gif
It's actual focal range is 5.1-12.8mm. So it's approximately a 5x crop factor.

This post has been edited by joyyy: Feb 9 2009, 03:10 PM
TheWandererX
post Feb 9 2009, 03:15 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Feb 9 2009, 03:06 PM)
The focal range stated on compact cameras is the 35mm equivalent.
The 24mm on the LX3 is what you will get if you use a 24mm lens on a 35mm camera  doh.gif
It's actual focal range is 5.1-12.8mm. So it's approximately a 5x crop factor.
Oh. Apologies. I didn't know doh.gif never used a compact before so never bothered to find out. Thanks for this piece of advice.
DJFoo000
post Feb 9 2009, 04:56 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 8 2009, 08:26 PM)
Coincidentally that's the 2 reviews that convinced me to consider a prosumer. Anyway I think I'll get the LX3 when the times comes.

A little off topic, but just had to get this off my mind: does it look strange/weird going around taking pictures off a non-DSLR? People can understand when you lug a big camera around taking pics, but what about compacts? Does a compact gets discriminated? (sounds funny after I finished typing it LOL)
TheWandererX
post Feb 9 2009, 05:33 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 9 2009, 04:56 PM)
Coincidentally that's the 2 reviews that convinced me to consider a prosumer. Anyway I think I'll get the LX3 when the times comes.

A little off topic, but just had to get this off my mind: does it look strange/weird going around taking pictures off a non-DSLR? People can understand when you lug a big camera around taking pics, but what about compacts? Does a compact gets discriminated? (sounds funny after I finished typing it LOL)
Gear isn't a determining point whether you're a pro at photography or a total newb. It does though, improve your outlook - some people will feel 'Whoa, this guy has a damned big lens and a big body, must be a seriously rich and pro person...' when they see someone lugging a 1DsMkIII around with a long L lens, but think 'Oh, another of those normal people we see everyday' when they see a person holding a prosumer/PnS.

I met with an uncle last trip though - he used a Nikon Coolpix P6000 (yes a very good prosumer too but it can't compare to the LX3's superior IQ) and I can say, in the midst of me and another tour member (a 50D user) he looks kinda... out.

Conclusion: it alters your image, whether people look up to you as a pro photographer (so called, some people have the gears but don't have the skill) or an average tourist. The final image captured and the wow factor in the image doesn't depend on the gears you use though. People can do very good with PnS but newbs can't even do better than a cameraphone with a DSLR.

Oh, and I like to watch some tourists act cool with their prosumers. Just act natural lah. Nothing beats natural.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Feb 9 2009, 05:35 PM
hilmiangah
post Feb 9 2009, 05:48 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

hello guys.

im new in the photography world.i got a few question to the old timer here.

im really interested in a Nikon D40 kit but i heard a rumor that Nikon is updating the price of all its product.the thing is are they gonna increase it or decrease the price???

and 1 other question,
what other DSLR that Nikon D40 compete for???

i mean does it meant to fight with Canon 400D or what???
beatlesalbum
post Feb 9 2009, 05:59 PM

1,711 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : pnc/prosumer(?)
Budget: below 1.5k
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : you recommend
Type of photography u want to do : normal shots, panoramic shots
Any specific models in mind? : you recommend
Any specific features u want? : wide angle lens

whats prosumer by the way?

TheWandererX
post Feb 9 2009, 07:06 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Feb 9 2009, 05:48 PM)
hello guys.

im new in the photography world.i got a few question to the old timer here.

im really interested in a Nikon D40 kit but i heard a rumor that Nikon is updating the price of all its product.the thing is are they gonna increase it or decrease the price???

and 1 other question,
what other DSLR that Nikon D40 compete for???

i mean does it meant to fight with Canon 400D or what???
Yup, thy're going to increase, due to the appreciation of Japanese yen, everything made in Japan has to go up, up and up.

Nikon D40's specs is generally on par with Sony A100/A200, and below the entry-level range (A250, A350, Canon 1000D, Nikon D60) as these in brackets have superior capabilities compared to it.

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Feb 9 2009, 05:59 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : pnc/prosumer(?)
Budget: below 1.5k
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand : you recommend
Type of photography u want to do : normal shots, panoramic shots
Any specific models in mind? :  you recommend
Any specific features u want? :  wide angle lens

whats prosumer by the way?
Hmm, I'd recommend the Panasonic Lumix LX-3, previously I've quoted another member this model too, and you won't regret it - it has really superb IQ compared to the other gladiators.

Here, a review.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonicdmclx3/

Anyway, it might be above your budget by a bit but fork out the extra - you will thank me for it.

Good luck scoring your deal.
joyyy
post Feb 9 2009, 07:12 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 9 2009, 04:56 PM)

On the other hand, weirdly, I thought the total opposite of yours. smile.gif
The logic behind that was, with compacts getting ever so popular, everyone should be taking pictures using a compact. Why bother lugging around a big-assed camera? smile.gif
TheWandererX
post Feb 9 2009, 07:24 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Feb 9 2009, 07:12 PM)
On the other hand, weirdly, I thought the total opposite of yours.  smile.gif
The logic behind that was, with compacts getting ever so popular, everyone should be taking pictures using a compact. Why bother lugging around a big-assed camera?  smile.gif
Big-assed cameras are much better - they give you more control, has the ability to produce bokeh, can do fps shooting, action panning, panned shots look stunning, and they let you zoom really faraway. (with the telephoto lenses of course)
shimin1214
post Feb 9 2009, 07:28 PM

54 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : digital camera
Budget: 1000-1200
Preferable brand : panasonic,canon
Type of photography u want to do : scenery, potrait
Any specific models in mind? panasonic fx150,canon 85 is
Any specific features u want? : wide range

hi, guys.
i want to buy new camera for my trip to taiwan. After searching some infomation, i found panasonic lx3 is my first choice, but it is over my budget. Then i found fx150 is also good. but the previous post says fx150 is 1.4k, really? can all of you give me some recommendation? thanks a lot..

This post has been edited by shimin1214: Feb 9 2009, 08:09 PM
DJFoo000
post Feb 9 2009, 07:34 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Feb 9 2009, 07:12 PM)
On the other hand, weirdly, I thought the total opposite of yours.  smile.gif
The logic behind that was, with compacts getting ever so popular, everyone should be taking pictures using a compact. Why bother lugging around a big-assed camera?  smile.gif
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 9 2009, 07:24 PM)
Big-assed cameras are much better - they give you more control, has the ability to produce bokeh, can do fps shooting, action panning, panned shots look stunning, and they let you zoom really faraway. (with the telephoto lenses of course)
I guess the best of both worlds would be the prosumer range like what my research has shown me? Pocketability + manual controls = win? Of coz at the expense of lookin like a weirdo walking around taking pics wit a non-pro-looking camera.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Feb 9 2009, 07:37 PM
icechiller555
post Feb 9 2009, 07:38 PM

iLife
715 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget: 700-900
Your Location: Penang
Preferable brand : Fuji
Type of photography u want to do : social
Any specific models in mind? : fuji f50fd, fuji f100fd, panasonic fx36
Any specific features u want? : clear photos for multipurpose use

Please help guys smile.gif

This post has been edited by icechiller555: Feb 9 2009, 07:49 PM
TheWandererX
post Feb 9 2009, 09:16 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Feb 9 2009, 07:34 PM)
I guess the best of both worlds would be the prosumer range like what my research has shown me? Pocketability + manual controls = win? Of coz at the expense of lookin like a weirdo walking around taking pics wit a non-pro-looking camera.
It's not quite of an expense. It's just paranoia. wink.gif

If you are weighed on the prosumer, go for it. What you won't regret is following what your heart tells you, not your mind.

QUOTE(icechiller555 @ Feb 9 2009, 07:38 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :   compact
Budget: 700-900
Your Location:   Penang
Preferable brand :  Fuji
Type of photography u want to do : social 
Any specific models in mind? :  fuji f50fd, fuji f100fd, panasonic fx36
Any specific features u want? :  clear photos for multipurpose use

Please help guys smile.gif
I'd recommend the f100fd. ISO 32000 and superior IQ makes it a win-win.

Added on February 9, 2009, 9:19 pm
QUOTE(shimin1214 @ Feb 9 2009, 07:28 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories : digital camera
Budget: 1000-1200
Preferable brand : panasonic,canon
Type of photography u want to do :  scenery, potrait
Any specific models in mind? panasonic fx150,canon 85 is
Any specific features u want? : wide range

hi, guys.
i want to buy new camera for my trip to taiwan. After searching some infomation, i found panasonic lx3 is my first choice, but it is over my budget. Then i found fx150 is also good. but the previous post says fx150 is 1.4k, really? can all of you give me some recommendation? thanks a lot..
I'd recommend the LX-3 if you can bump your budget up, but since you can't, you can settle with the cheaper but good for its price range Fujifilm f100fd, or the FX150 (you need to bump up your budget too). The Canon IXUS 85 is a good choice too.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/digital-came...l-IXUS-85-IS/p1

Here, have a look.

http://www.digitalcamerareview.com/default.asp?newsID=3440

These two reviews are quite reliable and you should be able to make up your mind.

This post has been edited by TheWandererX: Feb 9 2009, 09:19 PM
shimin1214
post Feb 9 2009, 09:27 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 9 2009, 09:16 PM)
It's not quite of an expense. It's just paranoia.  wink.gif

If you are weighed on the prosumer, go for it. What you won't regret is following what your heart tells you, not your mind.
I'd recommend the f100fd. ISO 32000 and superior IQ makes it a win-win.

Added on February 9, 2009, 9:19 pm
I'd recommend the LX-3 if you can bump your budget up, but since you can't, you can settle with the cheaper but good for its price range Fujifilm f100fd, or the FX150 (you need to bump up your budget too). The Canon IXUS 85 is a good choice too.

http://www.trustedreviews.com/digital-came...l-IXUS-85-IS/p1

Here, have a look.

http://www.digitalcamerareview.com/default.asp?newsID=3440

These two reviews are quite reliable and you should be able to make up your mind.
what is the price of canon 85 is, fx150, and f100fd?
TheWandererX
post Feb 9 2009, 09:34 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(shimin1214 @ Feb 9 2009, 09:27 PM)
Canon IXUS 85 is around RM1000-1100. Fuji is around there. FX150 RM1400 +-.
steventan85
post Feb 9 2009, 09:43 PM

6,447 posts

wats the price for Canon Powershot A1000IS ? saw it at lelong for Rm449 , new , sell buy verified member .... how bout shop ?

any recommended shop in KL ?

This post has been edited by steventan85: Feb 9 2009, 09:44 PM
wcs2798
post Feb 9 2009, 10:31 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(shimin1214 @ Feb 9 2009, 09:27 PM)
canon ixus 85 around rm850,fuji f100fd around rm950

for panasonic do wait till 22 feb as they will official launched new model in malaysia

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Feb 9 2009, 09:43 PM)
wats the price for Canon Powershot A1000IS ? saw it at lelong for Rm449 , new , sell buy verified member .... how bout shop ?

any recommended shop in KL ?
canon a1000is around rm550,it cant be rm449 unless grey set
TheWandererX
post Feb 9 2009, 10:38 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(wcs2798 @ Feb 9 2009, 10:31 PM)
canon ixus 85 around rm850,fuji f100fd around rm950

for panasonic do wait till 22 feb as they will official launched new model in malaysia
canon a1000is around rm550,it cant be rm449 unless grey set
Hey bro, I scouted your topic - didn't see you selling any Canon's or Fuji's? hmm.gif though your thread topic said so...

Anyway, thanks for helping out man, I ain't informed about these PnS prices blush.gif notworthy.gif

161 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0244sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:55 AM