Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

teddbundy
post Dec 30 2008, 08:05 PM

158 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : dslr
Budget: < 1600
Your Location: pahang/johor/kl
Preferable brand : sony
Type of photography u want to do : landscape, portrait, travelling, vacation
Any specific models in mind? : sony a200
Any specific features u want? :

im new to dslr camera, in fact i never even had a compact camera at all. but now interested in dslr. for compact i liked the cybershot t700. can anyone state their pros and cons ? icon_question.gif i mean between the t700 and a200 biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by teddbundy: Dec 30 2008, 11:07 PM
teddbundy
post Dec 31 2008, 01:37 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Dec 30 2008, 11:41 PM)
Not many. If you find the right shp.s
The warranty card. If they don't give you one or give an overseas one, don't get it.
Nope. Grey units' warranty if from the country of origin. Shop will act as middleman, if you need them to be.
The a200 would be best for your budget - oh, and if you want, you can opt for prosumer cameras which are stepping stones into the DSLR world (they can act as your second camera too once you get your DSLR).

Two choices are the Panasonic Lumix FZ28 and the Lumix LX3. Both are very good performers in the prosumer category.
thanks !

but my friend said getting a nikon D60 or Canon 1000d would be better. he also said that sony is still new in DSLR business so it would be better for me to get a used D60 or D40. what do you think ? whats the price of a200 ?

teddbundy
post Dec 31 2008, 12:27 PM

158 posts

hmm.. i think i would stick with a200 since my budget is only that much. but it is a good camera too right ? biggrin.gif
teddbundy
post Dec 31 2008, 02:08 PM

158 posts

@joyyy
i think i will ! biggrin.gif thanks dude !

@AlphaBeta
yea i read some reviews and i also found out that they used Sony's technology too. so watdeheck rite ? biggrin.gif Last time i checked it was around rm2k if im not mistaken
teddbundy
post Jan 7 2009, 12:45 PM

158 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : compact
Budget : RM700-RM1200
Your Location : Kuantan
Preferable brand : sony, nikon
Type of photography u want to do : anything
Any specific models in mind? : cybershot ?
Any specific features u want? : image stabilization ?

changed my mind since DSLR quite costy for me i think sad.gif

This post has been edited by teddbundy: Jan 7 2009, 12:49 PM
teddbundy
post Feb 5 2009, 10:42 AM

158 posts

need some advice here...

Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS
Budget : less than RM1700
Your Location : Doesnt matter
Preferable brand : Sony / Nikon / Canon
Type of photography u want to do : Macro, landscape, portrait
Any specific models in mind? : sony cybershot t700
Any specific features u want? : Good quality shots, anti shake, good focus, image stabilizer perhaps. touchscreen is not necessary tho

teddbundy
post Feb 5 2009, 11:39 AM

158 posts

does lumix count as prosumer ? checked the image and it was kinda bulky. do u know any slim camera that have maybe a bit lower quality(maybe the price too) than the lumix ? blink.gif does it need like additional flash or lens or something ? kinda blur here yawn.gif
teddbundy
post Feb 5 2009, 05:35 PM

158 posts

thanks @DecaPix

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 5 2009, 04:38 PM)
It is considered small for such a powerful camera.

It works just like a normal PnS but with much more capabilities. Much much more.

You won't regret getting it.
ok. would go to a cam shop this weekend and try it out. btw, whats the price range ? not many LYN forumers selling i think.. hmm.gif

anyway, thanks @TheWandererX
teddbundy
post Feb 5 2009, 07:33 PM

158 posts

@TheWandererX,

thanks a lot ! smile.gif
teddbundy
post Feb 6 2009, 07:41 PM

158 posts

have other question again in mind. sory for asking biggrin.gif

i told my friend about the Lumix LX3 which TheWandererX told me before. then my friend told me i should better off get the Nikon D60, sony alpha a200 or Canon eos 1000D if im not mistaken. But then i thought that the DSLR wouldnt be able to make me take my own picture(like taking pics with phone camera), unlike the LX3. I'm also quite new to photography and never really owned a camera (the only camera i actually owned was a 3.2mp phone camera). But i actually liked the features on the DSLR that can make me adjust all the settings. tho, the Lumix also can adjust right ? but compared to the image quality, i found that the D60 did a better job than LX3 (obviously shouldnt it ? tongue.gif). and the a200 is also more cheaper than LX3. thus making me more confused now.

Quite confused here.. help me please. icon_question.gif
teddbundy
post Feb 6 2009, 09:52 PM

158 posts

i thought so too.. since im not that profesional to use DSLR's function, i might as well end up with LX3 right ? thanks again TheWandererX ! biggrin.gif
teddbundy
post Feb 7 2009, 01:51 PM

158 posts

@Andy Lo,

i do have passion in photography, but as im not that familiar with the modes of the dslr, it might be a waste if i cant use it to produce a good picture. but on the other hand, the LX3 could teach me somehow to use the modes right ? sorry if im wrong. i do love photography biggrin.gif
teddbundy
post Feb 7 2009, 02:45 PM

158 posts

true and point taken. thanks a lot sifu ! biggrin.gif
teddbundy
post Feb 7 2009, 11:28 PM

158 posts

may i ask something again.. can the Lumix LX3 do this kind of photography biggrin.gif

- light trail (not sure)
- silhoutte
- underwater
- panning

read at few forums about these type of photography and was wondering about this all day long biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by teddbundy: Feb 7 2009, 11:51 PM
teddbundy
post Feb 8 2009, 01:17 AM

158 posts

i would go for macro first i think..i fall in love with macro in the first place biggrin.gif was kinda worried if i cant do all those shoots i stated before. thanks again sifu !
teddbundy
post Feb 8 2009, 09:17 PM

158 posts

@TheWandererX

i tried the LX3 this evening and i totally fall in love with it. i shot my macro for the 1st time (eventho just using auto mode biggrin.gif) Thanks for the recommendadtion smile.gif
teddbundy
post Mar 6 2009, 01:27 AM

158 posts

hi there ! nid recommendation again.

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR
Budget: 2.1k maximum. the cheaper the better
Your Location:
Preferable brand : canon / nikon / sony
Type of photography u want to do : Portrait, landscape, light trail, hdr, makro, silhoutte
Any specific models in mind? : a200, d60, 100d
Any specific features u want? : impressive image quality

hi, its me again. i have a pns now (lawya only tho). So now kinda have my interest in dslr since i have a camera for holiday trips already. any advice please ? a cons and pros for each of the model if its not too much too ask biggrin.gif icon_question.gif and i kinda liked the a200 since i molest it few time already. but just as people said, the cost to upgrade lens would be higher ? true ah ? no idea icon_question.gif

p/s : im a student, therefore i wont be upgrading my lens till like 3-4 years if this is a factor biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by teddbundy: Mar 6 2009, 02:23 AM
teddbundy
post Mar 6 2009, 09:57 AM

158 posts

thanks for replying @DecaPix

what does body image stabilizer means ? does it means blur reduction, something like that ? if it is, it would help me i think (my hand shake a lot during taking photos, luckily not Alzheimer or disorder lol) About the lens, my friend told me that too. sony's lens is more expensive apart from that they have narrow selection on lens.

what about AF point between A200 and 1000D ?

@offtopic,
lots of people call me tedd bunny also lol rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by teddbundy: Mar 6 2009, 10:01 AM
teddbundy
post Mar 6 2009, 04:33 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Mar 6 2009, 02:07 PM)
Lulz. From outlaw to cute pet  biggrin.gif

Image stabilizer isnt really blur reduction, Sharpening in Photoshop is blur reduction smile.gif
IS is god-given mechanism to counter shaky hands.
Lens prices are more or less the same in terms of cost, the good ones are all expensive and you get what you pay for.
ya leh.. haha..

so in terms of performance, A200 aint that bad for its price ? For adding around 500 or so, I can get a 1000D with Live view. Thats it right ? I wont be upgrading lens in the meantime, so i guess for starter, its a good start aint it ? drool.gif

teddbundy
post Mar 7 2009, 03:05 AM

158 posts

Thanks a lot guys !
But i'm still confused. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif I mean, i don't really know the live view function. So, thats not really the decider for me. But if i'm low on budget, i should go with the A200 rather than 1000D right ? and if i'm not on tight budget, i should go with the 1000D ? rclxub.gif sorry for asking silly question. i googled both the A200 and 1000D, think lots of reviews says that both of them are good. Do you guys know a website than can make a "A200 vs 1000D review" lol ? Sorry again blush.gif

0.0646sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:54 AM