Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere
Mr.LKM
Feb 9 2009, 12:35 PM
Type of camera/lens/accesories : Semi Pro / DSLR Budget: 1500-2000 Preferable brand : None Any specific models in mind? : Panasonic Lumix LX3 / Canon 1000D How much do I have to pay for a DSLR 24mm F2.0 lens? I'm wondering how much do I have to pay to have "LX3 spec" lens for DSLR. I'm not sure if portability will be an issue to me. I consider myself a beginner after quiting "land photography" for quite a few years.
Mr.LKM
Feb 9 2009, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Feb 9 2009, 01:29 PM) On a LX3, a 24mm isn't really 24mm - because the sensor isn't APS-C sized or 35mm sized. I can't really remember how much is the crop factor but it should be around 2x. As example the LX3's sensor is 2x, you'll get a 48mm range. When you buy the 1000D you'll get an 18-55 * 1.6 which is equivalent to 28-88mm on a 35mm DSLR. In my opinion the 18-55 mounted on the 1000D is quite adequate for landscape photography, but if you have the moolah, get the L. Hmm.. Are you sure? If I'm not mistaken, the focal range of the compact size camera as stated around the edges of the lens is in 35mm equivalent format.
Mr.LKM
Feb 10 2009, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Feb 10 2009, 07:08 PM) Hi, I wanted to ask Lumix LX3 is suitable for taking what pic? Im getting more and more disappointed each time I return from a holiday as pics that appear ok on the camera LCD turns out like shit on my 20" lcd. The camera Im using is Sony T-30. I wonder if LX3 can satisfy my needs as I seen pretty good pictures in the forum. Thx Hey bro, I suspect that your pictures are under-exposed. What's your firmware version? I think the latest firmware has solved this issue. If yours is the latest firmware, then I think you can solve this problem by raising the exposure by 0.3ev.
Mr.LKM
Feb 12 2009, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(dare_black @ Feb 12 2009, 04:56 PM) hi guys, i was suggested earlier to get a LX3 ( haven't get it yet because i'm addicted to iphone too and want to take up a diving course  ) i'm wondering that can LX3 do a nice micro shot? Yes, LX3 is quite good at macro. You can check it out at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/915980
Mr.LKM
Feb 12 2009, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(dare_black @ Feb 12 2009, 05:16 PM) thanks for the link. atm, my final decision is...ignore d iphone (rm2500) but go for lx3 and diving course (rm1600 + rm1000++) !!  Welcome to the LX3 family~ This camera is getting really popular. I'm tempted after looking at the photos taken by the fellow forummers. They're really stunning and amazing. The image quality is even more superior to entry DSLR.
Mr.LKM
Feb 18 2009, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Feb 18 2009, 12:28 AM) My budget is RM1500 Which camera? Sounds like a LX3 to me. Hehe~ 24mm Ultra wide angle at F/2.0.
Mr.LKM
Feb 18 2009, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(Hocan @ Feb 18 2009, 10:37 PM) ohh... Aperture is (f/*)... the ISO 80 /100 and so on... << this how to use? my compact camera, when i capture something.. the infront of the (f/*) have a number.. wat is that number mean?  The smaller the X (F/X) or the F-number, the bigger the aperture, thus greater photons will strike the CCD and the image will be brighter. The value of the ISO the higher, the brigher the exposure will be. ISO refers to the sensitivity. Thanks for reading my amateur explanation.
Mr.LKM
Feb 19 2009, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(Hocan @ Feb 18 2009, 11:42 PM)  no no... i mean like the photo above.. 8 F3.5 F3.5 is the aperture that light enters into lens.. how about the "8" ? Hmm.. I'm not sure about this. It couldn't be the exposure time.
Mr.LKM
Feb 19 2009, 12:24 AM
QUOTE(neojack @ Feb 19 2009, 12:14 AM) im interested to buy lumix lx3,any comment? Go ahead! LX3 is a very good camera for everything among the prosumer cameras except long range photo. Check out the LX3 user forum for more info.
Mr.LKM
Feb 21 2009, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(chOOOk @ Feb 21 2009, 09:39 AM) how about D40 or D40x compared to 1000D or D60? Which one suitable for entry level DSLR user? again budget around 2k mainly for macro/potrait/scenery I would say the 1000D and D60 are better than D40 & D40x. You can always check about them at www.dpreview.com
Mr.LKM
Feb 25 2009, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(Hann2u @ Feb 24 2009, 02:56 AM) i got a price from digimall.. the fella is charging me d90 kit(with the 18-105mm is lens) + a screen protector for rm3900, no other freebies... is it considered cheap? or i can get better deals else where? Have you tried your best to bargain? You could ask for a cleaning kit, a flare hood, a CF card, etc. Just try asking and you may get it. The image stabilization technology of Nikon is called VR.
Mr.LKM
Feb 25 2009, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(dare_black @ Feb 25 2009, 03:54 PM) hmm.server roll back...i guess i hav to post my question again.sorry for those who did answer my question but i din read it.. here is my question.i am going to buy LX3 yesterday but my friend ask me to check out G10 first. so i need the pro here to tell me what is the pros and cons between LX3 and G10. from what i know is G10 has better zoom than LX3 and its faster to configure the shutter speed and aperture compare to LX3 which need to configure through menu. and of cause the price of G10 is rm1850 with 4gb+case only but LX3 is rm1630 which is black with 8gb sdhc + case + screen protector. i need your help to tell me which shuold i go for.... thank you  Hi there, I'm a LX3 user too. For your information, the shutter speed and the aperture can be set without going into the menu. You just play with the joystick will do. For me, the G10 is quite bulky and LX3 has a slightly better noise control. LX3 has a very wide angle lens (24mm) and this can come in handy for you to snap group photo and scenery shot. The disadvantage of the LX3 is that it lacks of a userful zoom range at native resolution. You can get extended optical zoom by lowering the resolution. If my memory serves me right, you can get 4.5x optical zoom when you lower down your resolution to 4M/3M. I would say the digital zoom is not that bad. If you need to shoot something very far badly, it may help you. Just my humble opinion.
Mr.LKM
Feb 27 2009, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(dare_black @ Feb 27 2009, 04:16 PM) thanks  i will get my LX3 tomolo...hooray!!...can't wait!! btw..when i was telling my fren that i'm going to get the LX3..he ask me to hold on (again) and check on the TZ7... I did look at the specs...but i can't tell what is the big different...all i know is TZ7 has better zoom and it has a better quality movie recording which is using AVC something...others than that i guess LX3 is better.... i did stop and think should i get LX3 or TZ7...but i don't care liao...i wanna get LX3 no matter what..haha but it will be good if u can help me understand more about TZ7 thanks Hmm.. The most interesting thing of the LX3 to me is the 24mm wide-angle at F2.0. F2.0 allows us to create bokeh effect more easily if compare to other F2.8 compact cameras. You may read more about the TZ5 (TZ7 review isn't available yet at dpreview.com) @ http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/Q408enthusiastgroup/
Mr.LKM
Mar 1 2009, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(dare_black @ Feb 28 2009, 07:43 PM) thanks bro. i finally got my LX3...cracking my head now to try to get the leather case and looking around to understand more about my new baby  Do you mind to reward me a leather casing?
Mr.LKM
Mar 8 2009, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(zarule7 @ Mar 8 2009, 12:22 PM) guys i'm really confuse right now...i want to buy leica D-LUX4....before you guys want to gang bang me why shudnt i buy Lumix LX3 i have my personal reason and i really want that red dot...regardless on what people said...but most of my friends recommend me to buy dslr...such as d90 and stuff...the thing is i'm not really into photography....so...kinda stuck right now...can any of you guys give me a really good advice...haishhhh Since you already have your own preferrence, just go ahead. It seems like you're not bothered by the price tag.
Mr.LKM
Mar 9 2009, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Mar 9 2009, 07:33 PM) helo sifuuus..i'm in a big dilemma now... which one is worth consider buying? 450d (new) 40d (used) i've read reviews and comparisons in dpreview.com and several websites, and i end up couldn't make a proper decision. lol. but i think lenses is far more important, thus a new 450d is much more preferable? issit so? need all your expert advice! If money isn't an issue, I would say go directly for the 40D. 40D obviously wins over the 450D. Azbro, have you tried to survey thoroughly? In Kluang, I can get around RM1.6k but I chose to buy at LYN @ RM1550.
Mr.LKM
Mar 12 2009, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Mar 12 2009, 03:46 PM) So any compact camera that performs quite well under high ISO? Or prefer those manual mode compacts.. So you mentioned Panasonic LX3? This is the only compact camera that does very well at ISO400 and ISO800. If compared to DSLR, it's not so well though.
Mr.LKM
Mar 19 2009, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(piscesguy1314 @ Mar 19 2009, 03:49 PM) LX3 is panasonic rite???? but based on so many feedbacks, Nikon Sony or Canon is the best in DSLR cameras.... Added on March 19, 2009, 3:51 pmany1 here using Sony H50??? how izit??? need some feedbacks here...  Haha.. you will regret not buying a LX3 if you're not looking at superzoom and DSLR. It really worth every penny you spent. By the way, Nikon's ccd is supplied by Sony. Canon supplies itself.
Mr.LKM
Mar 22 2009, 01:18 AM
QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Mar 20 2009, 01:23 PM) Noted. Thanks for the heads-up bro. That strikes a question in my head though - why are Nikon PnS cameras far far better than Sony when Sony produces them? I guess it's related to the image processor or Sony PnS uses a smaller chip because the camera is slimmer? I'm not sure. By the way, don't forget about the lens.
Mr.LKM
Mar 23 2009, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(agyy @ Mar 22 2009, 09:49 PM) Hi, I'm a newbie. Looking for non-DSLR camera. Always envy others taking professional & colorful photos using DSLR, but DSLR is kinda expensive to me. So thinking to find a non-DSLR camera with closed to DSLR outcome. I'm not professional in taking photos (but enjoy viewing nice photo), so hope all the pros can give your comments. Type of camera/lens/accesories : Non-DSLR Budget: : Less than RM1700 Your Location: : KL/PJ Preferable brand : : Canon, Panasonic, Fujifilm, Olympus Type of photography u want to do : : Macro, landscape, potrait, both indoor & outdoor. Any specific models in mind? : : Open for suggestion!! Any specific features u want? : : (1).Most important is the outcome with colorful/vivid color photos, (2).Wide lens (3).Good printed quality, (4).Can set blur effect, (5).Color filtered where the photo is in black-white but 1 of the object is in red color (If possible, but not a 'must'). Obviously, you're left with Panasonic Lumix LX3. Well, Fujifilm F200EXR is within your range too but it's not on sale yet. LX3 has 24mm wide angle lens while the lowest focal ratio at this focal length is f/2.0. You can get the "blurring effect" (bokeh) easier than other compact cameras.