126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V5, (added FMB website to 1st post)

vin_ann
post Nov 8 2008, 12:41 AM

10,912 posts

hi perror

thanks for sharing, you have create a very good awareness. i thinks i shd have consider how to handle n keep my credit card safely.
hye
post Nov 8 2008, 01:02 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

vin_ann

You have the info on that HSBC card with the rebates ?

Same here ... I always carry 2 cards around from 2 different banks. My spendings are also segregated into the 2 cards. My current craze is for cc with spending rebates ... helps to get something back in these tiring times.

I always treat my cards as if it were cash and to consiously aware that the cards are always in my wallet or in safe keeping. Not letting it out of my sight if I hand it over to the cashier.

I do get those calls saying that they are from some Mastercard / VISA center and they offer these cards where you can get all sort of promos. What do I do ? ... If I am in a good mood ... I'll let them talk while I keep quiet after a saying a few words. If not ... I won't pick the call from numbers which I don't know + they tend to call from a Digi number. Definitely won't pick up a call from an unknown Digi number
cenkudu
post Nov 8 2008, 04:28 AM

1,206 posts

how actually bank set the credit limit for a new applicant? I heard somewhere it should be 2 times your salary. is it right? so if your salary is 5K the limit is 10k
hye
post Nov 8 2008, 07:00 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Nov 8 2008, 04:28 AM)
how actually bank set the credit limit for a new applicant? I heard somewhere it should be 2 times your salary. is it right? so if your salary is 5K the limit is 10k
As a rule of the thumb yes but it may not necessary be like this all the time.

Factors such as bank's internal policies, credit history, payment history, etc. will impact your credit limit granted by the bank. E.g. Heard before that Platinum card holders given a RM8K-15K limit only ? Or a basic card with RM3K limit only ? These are real credit limits that have been granted to local cc holders.
vin_ann
post Nov 8 2008, 07:24 AM

10,912 posts

hi

hye, i dun have the information, as it's just verbally told by my colleague and i got no time to visit the HSBC counter which open at below my office Menara Axis.

if next monday they still there, then i got the time to ask already.
cenkudu
post Nov 8 2008, 08:18 AM

1,206 posts

i see if that the case, for new applicant they maybe need to try for a few cards until they get the limit that they are looking for. Or just accept the limit set by the bank and apply for limit increase later on.
zenquix
post Nov 8 2008, 09:01 AM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

a HSBC telemarketer told me that reward points that a HSBC mastercard collects cannot be added with points collected by a HSBC visa. Is this true?
MilesAndMore
post Nov 8 2008, 10:19 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Nov 7 2008, 11:40 PM)
Rule of thumbs, having 2 different credit card companies, one international, one local. That should be more than sufficient. It's unnecessarily and troublesome to have too many credit cards.
Second that smile.gif

cenkudu
post Nov 8 2008, 10:35 AM

1,206 posts

MBB consider local or international? :-)

international:OCBC,HSBC,UOB,Citbank,SC
SUSDavid83
post Nov 8 2008, 03:31 PM

52,874 posts

My Ikhwan Amex card appears in M2U. I think my application has been approved. Waiting for the card to arrive.
cenkudu
post Nov 8 2008, 04:44 PM

1,206 posts

is it logic to get CL of 10k for RM4.5k salary? or should it be more or less? consider there is no other limiting factor
SUSDavid83
post Nov 8 2008, 05:04 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Nov 8 2008, 04:44 PM)
is it logic to get CL of 10k for RM4.5k salary? or should it be more or less? consider there is no other limiting factor
Should be 3x of your basic salary I think.
porkchop
post Nov 8 2008, 05:24 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

still looking for cc with good freegifts!! hmmm where are the trolley bags?>?
cenkudu
post Nov 8 2008, 06:46 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Nov 8 2008, 10:35 AM)
MBB consider local or international? :-)

international:OCBC,HSBC,UOB,Citbank,SC

what is the advantage of MBB Ikhwan? any rebates?

SUSDavid83
post Nov 8 2008, 06:51 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Nov 8 2008, 06:46 PM)
what is the advantage of MBB Ikhwan? any rebates?
Ikhwan Visa Gold: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Ikhwan Visa Platinum: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Ikhwan Amex Gold: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards

Ikhwan Amex Platinum: http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards
Shinichi
post Nov 8 2008, 11:23 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Nov 7 2008, 11:40 PM)
Rule of thumbs, having 2 different credit card companies, one international, one local. That should be more than sufficient. It's unnecessarily and troublesome to have too many credit cards.
I would like to do so, but too bad don't have any no condition - free for life CC from international bank...
he-sham
post Nov 9 2008, 05:22 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

i tried to book airasia ticket online using my maybank petronas visa cc.... the card was declined by the system.... dont know what's wrong...

then i tried bank islam mastercard.....also cannot..

finally, i tried my citibank shell visa cc... accepted....very smooth....

why haa?? is there any other authorization or security features that i must enable before performing online transaction with maybank petronas visa cc & bank islam mastercard ??
ernest2020
post Nov 9 2008, 10:24 AM

With effect from next year, rates for credit cards may increase to 24% p.a. (2% per month),
currently 18% p.a. (1.5% per month).
Minimum payment will also increase to 10% - 15%, currently is 5%.

These information leaked out from one of the financial institution.
One of the reason why many banks are promoting their Debit Cards.

We shall wait and see, just get prepared.
Try to minimize your card usage for daily expenses.
Keep your outstanding balances as low as possible, so that can easily settle when time comes.

lil`pumpkinz
post Nov 9 2008, 01:06 PM

私はデビッド愛
869 posts

do you all receive calls from the menara kad people asking for your card info and telling that they wana send you some sort of member cards recently?
kindaichi
post Nov 9 2008, 01:27 PM

54 posts

anyone knows roughly how long does it take to know if my citibank clear card has been approved or not? want to call them to ask abt the status....

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:48 PM