125 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best

BlueBean
post May 18 2010, 06:25 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ May 18 2010, 04:45 PM)
someone try to set a fire again.

i wanna see if are there any fella which is stupid enough to be butthurt.

protip : don't start it. not too long ago, there are on Sagerian who is stupid enough to create a dupe and flame our Mothership. it just make you looks soooo immature.
cool down man, he don't know what he's talking about. respect for the mothership!
Mr.Docter
post May 18 2010, 06:43 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

lulz i am chillin. imma just sayin ya know wink.gif

just hate to see we are bashing each other like 2" kid.

different strokes for different folks. nuff said. laugh.gif
SonicSpyro
post May 18 2010, 06:50 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ May 18 2010, 06:43 PM)

Anyways, got a reply about the purple-ing of my heatsink from the people at NBR. Nothing much to worry about. Phew... What a relief. biggrin.gif If it was something to worry about, I'd go fire Mucro for the job that they did.

Gonna test again when I get IC7 from BlueBean. Hopefully this time, the temps would be way better than before.
BlueBean
post May 18 2010, 07:46 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ May 18 2010, 06:43 PM)

agreed.

QUOTE(SonicSpyro @ May 18 2010, 06:50 PM)

Anyways, got a reply about the purple-ing of my heatsink from the people at NBR. Nothing much to worry about. Phew... What a relief. biggrin.gif If it was something to worry about, I'd go fire Mucro for the job that they did.

Gonna test again when I get IC7 from BlueBean. Hopefully this time, the temps would be way better than before.
what about the purple-ing of your heatsink? any pics?

no promises on that sonic smile.gif

This post has been edited by BlueBean: May 18 2010, 07:47 PM
SonicSpyro
post May 18 2010, 07:51 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(BlueBean @ May 18 2010, 07:46 PM)
agreed.
what about the purple-ing of your heatsink? any pics?

no promises on that sonic  smile.gif
QUOTE(SonicSpyro @ May 17 2010, 05:43 PM)
Here are the pics:

I'll wait. tongue.gif No rush. Still got more tests to do with the IC7.
BlueBean
post May 18 2010, 07:55 PM

197 posts

overheat? what caused that?
another minus for mucro i guess. i think i'll just get my laptop from xotic.
SonicSpyro
post May 18 2010, 08:12 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(BlueBean @ May 18 2010, 07:55 PM)
overheat? what caused that?
another minus for mucro i guess. i think i'll just get my laptop from xotic.
QUOTE(Mike570U;6258395)
Well, higher temps increase the oxidation rate, what kind of paste do you use?  Silver nitrate-based pastes have been known to do that, especially at higher temps.  The color is harmless and will not reduce the thermal conductivity of your heatsink.
QUOTE(Mike570U;6259193)
Yep, that copper could turn green like the statue of liberty and will still conduct heat pretty well..  (Nonetheless, stay away from salt water.) wink.gif
Source: W860CU HD5870 Overheating Problem

Well, for one thing, Mucro doesn't make these laptops nor do they apply the paste. Everything comes from the US reseller (XoticPC, Sager, RJTech, Style-Note, etc) and they ship it to us after some testing to make sure everything runs well. This happened because their so called "expert" did the paste job on my HD5870. From the posts I quoted above, it seems I don't have much to worry about but it does pain me a little to see that it turned purple.
BlueBean
post May 18 2010, 08:15 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(SonicSpyro @ May 18 2010, 08:12 PM)
Source: W860CU HD5870 Overheating Problem

Well, for one thing, Mucro doesn't make these laptops nor do they apply the paste. Everything comes from the US reseller (XoticPC, Sager, RJTech, Style-Note, etc) and they ship it to us after some testing to make sure everything runs well. This happened because their so called "expert" did the paste job on my HD5870. From the posts I quoted above, it seems I don't have much to worry about but it does pain me a little to see that it turned purple.
if it was my 8690, i'd be pretty upset to.
i guess i'm going to apply the paste myself when i get a 8690.

This post has been edited by BlueBean: May 18 2010, 08:17 PM
SonicSpyro
post May 18 2010, 08:20 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(BlueBean @ May 18 2010, 08:15 PM)
if it was my 8690, i'd be pretty upset to.
i guess i'm going to apply the paste myself when i get a 8690.
Haha... Yeah. If you order the stock paste. If you ordered the IC7 or that other option, it would be a damn waste to re-paste it. Guess most of the problems with Sager are from user (person using and person building the laptop) error. Nothing much to whine about the hardware as they're working perfectly (with the exception of a few cases even though they are minor issues).
setoyo
post May 18 2010, 09:39 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

@BlueBean,
the ic7 ready stock or on hold?

wah... read the review... damn soo great u bring in the paste...

BlueBean
post May 18 2010, 10:05 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ May 18 2010, 09:39 PM)
@BlueBean,
the ic7 ready stock or on hold?

wah... read the review... damn soo great u bring in the paste...
on hold, depends on the number of people buying. so far there's 2 now.

setoyo
post May 18 2010, 10:13 PM

Luv MySeLF!
849 posts

add me in ur bulk.... wanna taste ic7 blush.gif
Mucro.Asia
post May 23 2010, 05:40 PM

95 posts

First of all, lets clarify the situation with ATI mobility 5870 video cards inside any of the branded laptops.

* DO NOT INSTALL LINUX.

ATI does not have official support for the 5870 mobility yet. If you install linux into your laptop, you may suffer from side effects on your laptop.

If you really want to run linux on your laptop. You have only three options:
1. Get a laptop with an Nvidia card. Why? Because Nvidia has stable drivers for linux.

2. Wait for ATI to OFFICIALLY release a STABLE set of drivers for the 5000 series mobility card that SUPPORTS your video card.

3. Get a laptop with the 4000 series ATI mobility cards.

Let me stress again that you should NOT install linux for ATI unless you are prepared for RMAs and strange side effects. Just because it "works" DOES NOT MEAN YOU WILL NOT ENCOUNTER PROBLEMS.

NEVER RUN A DRIVER THAT IS NOT OFFICIALLY DESIGNED FOR YOUR VIDEO CARD.

If you are running a PRE-RELEASE, BETA or EXPERIMENTAL driver, use at your own risk.

This post has been edited by Mucro.Asia: May 23 2010, 05:56 PM
Mr.Docter
post May 23 2010, 06:11 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

finally you are here, again Mucro.Asia biggrin.gif
amduser
post May 23 2010, 08:18 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Mucro.Asia @ May 23 2010, 05:40 PM)
First of all, lets clarify the situation with ATI mobility 5870 video cards inside any of the branded laptops.

* DO NOT INSTALL LINUX.

ATI does not have official support for the 5870 mobility yet. If you install linux into your laptop, you may suffer from side effects on your laptop.

If you really want to run linux on your laptop. You have only three options:
1. Get a laptop with an Nvidia card. Why? Because Nvidia has stable drivers for linux.

2. Wait for ATI to OFFICIALLY release a STABLE set of drivers for the 5000 series mobility card that SUPPORTS your video card.

3. Get a laptop with the 4000 series ATI mobility cards.

Let me stress again that you should NOT install linux for ATI unless you are prepared for RMAs and strange side effects. Just because it "works" DOES NOT MEAN YOU WILL NOT ENCOUNTER PROBLEMS.

NEVER RUN A DRIVER THAT IS NOT OFFICIALLY DESIGNED FOR YOUR VIDEO CARD.

If you are running a PRE-RELEASE, BETA or EXPERIMENTAL driver, use at your own risk.
seems like ATI 5870 got many problem leh...
Mr.Docter
post May 23 2010, 08:27 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ May 23 2010, 08:18 PM)
seems like ATI 5870 got many problem leh...
but seriously, i never heard anything bad about 5870 except DDR5 is not as cool as they expected..
ineser
post May 26 2010, 07:15 AM

1,068 posts

Hey guys good news!

http://www.sagernotebook.com/index.php?pag...del_name=NP9280

Sager has option to add

Nvidia GeForce GTX 480M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 Video Memory [+$550.00] - Pre-Order! (ETA: Middle of June, 2010)

Woah 550....
Btw, I heard Clevo is the first to get 480M

http://blogs.nvidia.com/ntersect/2010/05/w...e-gtx-480m.html

"We’re happy to partner with Clevo to introduce the first system based on GeForce GTX 480M. Stay tuned for more systems in the future."
Mr.Docter
post May 26 2010, 01:01 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ May 26 2010, 07:15 AM)
Hey guys good news!

http://www.sagernotebook.com/index.php?pag...del_name=NP9280

Sager has option to add

Nvidia GeForce GTX 480M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 Video Memory [+$550.00]  - Pre-Order!  (ETA: Middle of June, 2010)

Woah 550....
Btw, I heard Clevo is the first to get 480M

http://blogs.nvidia.com/ntersect/2010/05/w...e-gtx-480m.html

"We’re happy to partner with Clevo to introduce the first system based on GeForce GTX 480M. Stay tuned for more systems in the future."
yes my contact told me that GTX480M will be available this June.

i really need to prepare my money nao! laugh.gif
Jeffrey1987
post May 26 2010, 01:29 PM

1,661 posts

I'm personally think that the price for that particular GPU is quite high. Nevertheless, no pain no gain. Have to prepare money now like what Mr. Doc has said previously.

As for the performance, it is really good but I heard that the power consumption is very high. Performance = Power.

Besides that, I'm afraid of the temperature of the GPU under load which I personally speculate that it will be much higher compare to ATi 5870. biggrin.gif
Mr.Docter
post May 26 2010, 01:35 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ May 26 2010, 01:29 PM)
I'm personally think that the price for that particular GPU is quite high. Nevertheless, no pain no gain. Have to prepare money now like what Mr. Doc has said previously.

As for the performance, it is really good but I heard that the power consumption is very high. Performance = Power.

Besides that, I'm afraid of the temperature of the GPU under load which I personally speculate that it will be much higher compare to ATi 5870.  biggrin.gif
yeah, money is the key. imma a student summore, hate to use my scholarship or begging for my parents (like someone did) for my own toy like this.

don't worry much about temp. its mostly depend on lappy's ventilation itself. MBP is one of the good example.

battery life is the only unsolvable problem. even using 9 cell, i doubt you can last an more than an hour when that monster inside your machine... sweat.gif

125 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:25 AM