Sager : Mobile Gaming @ Its Best

amduser
post Oct 24 2009, 03:53 PM

5,542 posts

i want to ask

if i want to buy sager laptop in US, and ask one of my relative to bring it back here.

which website is the best for me to order with less hassle? sager official website? bestbuy? or other??

and i dont know which sager laptop suit me the best

and one more, if the laptop spoiled, send to where?? there is not authorized sager SC in malaysia right?

my on laptop is:

1. college work and assignment (need longer battery life during lecture class)

2. decent gaming with decent framerate ( but i dont think i will need GTX280)

3. NO OVERHEAT ISSUES

4. on 24/7 for torrent

5. watch movie and act as a media server for my PS3

6. easy to service (open up for cleaning)

my budget would be USD 1000 +/-

so any recommendation?

This post has been edited by amduser: Oct 24 2009, 03:55 PM
amduser
post Oct 24 2009, 10:21 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Oct 24 2009, 10:03 PM)
How can u expect no overheat issues when u on 24/7 for torrent?
how can i expect overheat issues?

if i were to let it idle, of coz i will switch to power saver or normal mode, and at least it wont heat up to 80c right?
amduser
post Oct 25 2009, 11:45 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Oct 25 2009, 05:33 AM)
With the bolded points, I don't think a Sager would suit you.

if you don't need high end components & want long battery life .. probably mainstream brands like Dell or HP
Havent used a Sager before eh? thay have aluminum chassis-es & giant (by laptop standards) copper heatsinks to keep everything safe & acceptable.
of coz i havent use sager before

i just need 2 hours something of battery life, and most of my lecture duration also 2 hours maximum, and need to concentrate on the lecturer la, cannot look at the laptop all the time laugh.gif

cannot be a media server? i think can la, even my compaq V3000 now can stream 720p movie smoothly, but overheat damn fast la.

i already ask my sister in US to help me order, she say she should be order by monday in US time, so how long will that laptop ship to her place there? coz my relative come back somewhere around 18th november, i scare cannot get in time hmm.gif

Added on October 25, 2009, 12:36 pmwant to ask also, where you all send the sager laptop for repair if there is anything?? vital computer in lowyat?

or so far sager laptop is problem-free?

Added on October 25, 2009, 7:32 pmif i choose 4GB RAM, they should know which OS to installed right? if the default OS is this, Genuine MS Windows® 7 Home Premium 32/64-Bit Edition

This post has been edited by amduser: Oct 25 2009, 07:32 PM
amduser
post Oct 25 2009, 08:16 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(unclegoldfish @ Oct 25 2009, 08:09 PM)
LOL...no ppl answer my question...
lol....too bad for you

yes, sager only can get from overseas, you can get from Mucro.Asia, or order from sager and have them ship to malaysia to you.
amduser
post Oct 26 2009, 09:25 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Oct 26 2009, 01:47 AM)
There is no Malaysian reseller. The closest ones are in singapore.
Sagers are designed as gaming machines. And there are not cheap. So if you're going to use it only for "decent" gaming , media streaming, note taking ... you can get a laptop more suited for your needs from the likes of HP , Dell .. + the fact that you get local warranty support in Msia.
Asking this in a Sager thread is tongue.gif

to be honest, there are different leagues. I would like to think Sagers of enthusiast platforms. Alienware more of a mass market item.
how you know they suit my need? if they suit my need i wont even consider buying sager, what i dont like about mainstream laptop is they are to hot to run at, unless they are using intel GMA

mainstream laptop play games = heater in making.
amduser
post Oct 26 2009, 01:38 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 26 2009, 09:56 AM)
well, to be honest, i think different brand and different model would ve different quality...

currently using Asus, 14" laptop with T9550 and HD4650... the CPU and GPU temperature peaked at 64C and 75C during L4D respectively... imho it's pretty good for a 14" laptop...
i wonder what model is that hmm.gif

from what i see in the first post, sager seems to be easy to service by just open the back cover and everything is expose include the heatsink and fan, quite hard to find this kind of laptop nowadays smile.gif

somehow, i might prefer the specs offer by asus, but i dont like their design, especially the webcam area there shakehead.gif
amduser
post Oct 26 2009, 03:27 PM

5,542 posts

maybe you can try the sager NP2098

http://www.mucro.asia/index.php/Mucro-Sage...ge-ask.tpl.html

processor not as good as N81vp but the graphic card and everything are identical, but it comes with 2GB DDR3 RAM.

dont forget, you can customize from there, but you cannot change the screen size, which is 15.6"

and the ctrl and fn button terbalik, i dont know why some laptop got this problem shakehead.gif
amduser
post Oct 26 2009, 07:11 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 26 2009, 05:15 PM)
well, i prefer 14" since i'll need to carry the laptop to Uni for work, and i am now in Australia also, so int'l warranty is definitely preferred... tongue.gif

if not, i really would love to get my hands on either a Sager or Alienware... laugh.gif
alienware no good la, take it out sure attract some people to steal your laptop, sager is good, look like old laptop, but monster inside brows.gif

QUOTE(corad @ Oct 26 2009, 05:22 PM)
You stated your needs a few posts before smile.gif

but if you're looking for something easy to upgrade, Sager is the way to go  laugh.gif  dosent void your warranty too , just remember to swap the original parts back if you ever need to RMA
thanks for clarifying Mucro. Where are you based in M'sia ? because your website shows it as a Singaporean registered company, in Singapore.
which part to upgrade? RAM and HDD only right? i wonder if i can upgrade processor later on biggrin.gif
amduser
post Oct 26 2009, 08:57 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Oct 26 2009, 07:56 PM)
RAM, HDD, GC, proc is easy too as long as its in the same range & Clevo has a bios update to support it.

i think the only hard part would be screen tongue.gif

hope to see another Sager user here !
GC and proc i think will be very expensive and here in malaysia take to where to upgrade? hmm.gif

not yet a sager user, still a compaq user, wait for my sister to place order in US and then my relative take it back here, 1 month from now i should be able to see the laptop, really cant wait already.....
amduser
post Oct 27 2009, 08:22 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Oct 27 2009, 08:16 AM)
@Micro.Asia, the price converted to ringgit doesnt include tax tough. Singapore is 7% shown on the website but not Malaysia... How much tax is being imposed by Malaysia goverment?
i thought IT stuff got no tax?

even shipping IT stuff from overseas also got no tax.
amduser
post Oct 27 2009, 02:18 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Oct 27 2009, 11:34 AM)
Oh so if we buy from US, they wont tax us unlike Singapore?
Wow thats cool!
if US got tax on PC stuff then when ship out from US they will tax you, when arrive in MY they wont tax, i might be wrong.

QUOTE(chtan @ Oct 27 2009, 01:01 PM)
Haha 9800GT 512M running Crysis on High , 4AA , 1920 x 120, can run but can play or not doh.gif. But anyway a great lappy have there.

This post has been edited by amduser: Oct 27 2009, 02:18 PM
amduser
post Oct 27 2009, 04:35 PM

5,542 posts

anyone know what's the most suitable and effective laptop cooler pad for sager NP8662? cooler master? hmm.gif
amduser
post Oct 27 2009, 09:02 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Oct 27 2009, 08:09 PM)
ahh...sager....almost bought a sager with i7 extreme total of 3.8k. thn i saw new m17x whn im waitin for the sager page to load....lol

i got a bunch of cooler list here

antec cooler 200
Cryo NZXT
Zalman NC2000
Belkins

personal opinion... i would go for zalman or cryo
zalman is quite expensive, around RM120? hmm.gif

is cryo and antec selling in lowyat plaza? i dont think i spot one the last time i go there.
amduser
post Oct 27 2009, 09:15 PM

5,542 posts

one good news for me, my sister already helped me order the laptop from sagernotebook.com

now they are processing the order, and shipping to new york will take 5 days, then wait my aunty to come back only icon_rolleyes.gif

wonder how long they need to take for processing + building hmm.gif
amduser
post Oct 27 2009, 09:58 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Oct 27 2009, 09:41 PM)
tht will be winter i presume.
it can arrive to new york before the week of 18th november right? coz my aunty have to board the plane back to malaysia on 18th november.

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 27 2009, 09:42 PM)
gratz on ur new lappy... rclxms.gif
not yet arrive lar, need to wait until 20th november only can get my laptop if everything goes smooth.

ahhhhhh..........wait ar...............!!!!!!
amduser
post Oct 27 2009, 10:29 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 27 2009, 10:07 PM)
i wonder.. y dun u buy from Mucro.Asia or XoticPC???
if order from US and bring back here should be cheaper right?? hmm.gif

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Oct 27 2009, 10:24 PM)
which route is yer aunt taking? atlantic pacific? if its atlantic, it shld be 19th.
dont know which airline she take, if the laptop can arrive at her place there by the week of 18th november (US time) then she should be able to take back, when she arrive to malaysia is 20th november

if she arrive here according to schedule, it should be sunday, then i must fetch MY SAGER LAPTOP her that time!! rclxm9.gif
amduser
post Oct 28 2009, 01:08 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 28 2009, 12:21 AM)
i feel you man. how if there is no GTX280 at all? sweat.gif
i thought there is GTX280m? hmm.gif
amduser
post Oct 28 2009, 05:59 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(unclegoldfish @ Oct 28 2009, 02:36 AM)
wat u mean?we are talking on aw m15x..not sager...
oh....sry sry....i thought the other way sweat.gif

QUOTE(zairee2580 @ Oct 28 2009, 01:36 PM)
How good is sagers speaker?
i heard from other forum they say the speaker volume for some sager model is quite soft and not that good, but who cares about onboard speaker when you can use headset or external speaker biggrin.gif
amduser
post Oct 29 2009, 12:42 AM

5,542 posts

cooler master notepal with 3 fan sit on the top position of the cooler should be suitable for sager right?
amduser
post Oct 29 2009, 08:28 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Oct 29 2009, 12:47 AM)
no idea. need to see the sager'sbottom part to know the fan placement.
here......
icon_rolleyes.gif

bottom part for sager NP8662

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0501sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:03 AM