Runnerz... #2

d3vilzzzz
post Apr 2 2009, 03:47 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Apr 2 2009, 10:44 AM)
@dmm9394 

your feet type seems to be normal looks like your left feet pronates outward..but you can only tell for sure if you go for a foot scan can be done in Gardens or Pavillion KL other places im not too sure, shoe's wise yes please get proper trainers first before moving onto racers since you have the voucher try testing the Brooks GTS 9  

and guys i was just wondering whats your resting period after you LSD days say for example u do a 20KM on saturday, how soon after that you guys for for next run? and yes it would be helpful it any post could let tell what's your post running meal ? complex carbs like rice?

I normally take a banana post running and half cup of Oats and thats it, i normally run evening on the weekdays so i do take pretty heavy lunch to compensate ( rice, chicken, egg, vege) the normal ecomony rice stuffs...
resting period??..
this was me schdule just last week..

Saturday -Run LG -Hartamas route -1jam 52minit (rest was abt 3 mins at refuel point nt included)
Sun -Bike 120++ km
Monday -rest
Tuesday -Brick (Fast 5km(5mins per km) + 25km bike)
Wednesday -Brick (8km (5.30 per km) + 30km bike)
Thursday(today) -PASAR MALAM tongue.gif

**No recovery runs/pace in between, close to all outs for each

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Apr 2 2009, 10:54 AM)
Dude, I think your feet type is normal.

Also, timing is another matter....you are running and that is good.  Start off with slow long distance running then. Like you said, build up your stamina. Since you said Adidas Adizero doesn't seem to fit your preference, why don't you check out New Balance? Or even Saucony from our buddy over here ccube? He could advised u on a pair of good trainer biggrin.gif More Cushioning

Also, we can't really judge on how your leg will suffer in the long run from just pictures. There is really no way because everyone is different. Unless I'm wrong  tongue.gif  Don't shoot me hahaha
Haha bro...I didnt say I can't make it. but Just incase only. I've just manage to patch things up...so I hope you guys understand. I will try my best to make it la....coz I myself would like to train.

Sometimes I don't understand, I have a colleague...she thinks just because you run and considered a runner, you are expected to finish a half marathon in 2 hour 30mins. swt.  Just run the damn race. I ran, I finished it....u ran..and you finished it. Done and STFU. LOL  doh.gif 

Oh I forgot to add, you can go to THE CURVE...

There is a shop called schein orthopaedic in front of Johnson Fitness....near Watson.

They have a treadmill to check your running feet pressure.
Yups nod.gif colleagues are like that
Maybe you should tell her running is part of your cardio workout ..you are more focused in bodybuilding tongue.gif

OoO.. THAT shop in curve TOTALLY recommended thumbup.gif
else
do wait for ccube..he has great products at great prices ..he is alwiz around so he can help you out almost 24/7

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Apr 2 2009, 03:59 PM
ccube
post Apr 2 2009, 11:35 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(dmm9394 @ Apr 2 2009, 12:32 AM)
Hey guys, great discussion thread you have here smile.gif I need a bit of help here from you all.

A little about myself first, I started running and participating in runs roughly mid of 2008. I'm not particularly athletic, and needless to say I had terrible stamina back then. Even now I'm barely making it through 10km runs in 80 minutes, but I'm still trying hehe. I plan to improve progressively, and targetting to be able to run 42km runs by 2010.

The thing is I've been running in a pair of Adidas Adizero LTs that I got off a warehouse sale, but I feel that they arent the shoes for me. This is primarily because I have real skinny legs and I'm bow-legged (please refer to pictures below).

Feet:
[attachmentid=880823]

Legs:
[attachmentid=880846][attachmentid=880847]
[attachmentid=880849][attachmentid=880852]
[attachmentid=880851][attachmentid=880850]
I have a 40% Brooks discount voucher with me, but there's also a sale going on now at the New Balance outlets here. After examining the pictures I've included, could anyone make out what sort of runner I am, and what brand / shoes should fit me best? Of course I'd be asking for help from the fellas at the shop as well (the ones who know their stuff at least), but I'd like to know what you think as well. Your help is greatly appreciated smile.gif

One more thing is, from your experience and knowledge about people with legs like mine, how far would I be able to take running? Would there be any long term damage to my knees or etc?

Apologies for the masses of questions and potentially disturbing pictures. Thanks and cheers!
Adizeros are racers (only meant for race day and competition) and probably not suitable for training. The shoe offer very little support and cushioning and will cause injury if use as a day-day training shoes.

Looking at your pics and the wet test, you have a normal to slight high arch but its OK. To compensate your bow-legged structure, you may need a good cushioning heel support and stability shoe (plus arch lock control) to ensure your heels and ankles are protected while running. There is no reason why a bow legged person cannot take up running and you can still run normally without injuries. Most important is the type of shoe you use.

Hope this helps, and Saucony do have models that will be able to cater for your foot biomechanics. Do let me know if you are interested to test it out.

Added on April 2, 2009, 11:45 pmHi all,

Yes the Brooks Adrenalin GTS9 is a proven cushion + stability shoe. No question asked. The equivalent of it for Saucony is the Hurricane 10 (Voted Best Stability shoe by Runners World). I have customers who have both and alternate between them. The feedback from some of my customers are GTS9 had a harder feeling while the Hurricane 10 had a much cushy and soft feel. Equivalent to both models with be the NB1224 and ASICS GT-2130/40 or even the Kayano.

Added on April 2, 2009, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(tengster @ Apr 2 2009, 11:00 AM)
dmm9394: why not go check out the shoe advisor in www.brooksrunning.com.....they look at runner size, arch, movement, etc.......

I am getting a gts9 later......
Try out the Saucony Hurricane 10 before making a decision if you are willing to make a comparison. Do let me know.

This post has been edited by ccube: Apr 2 2009, 11:52 PM
triple02
post Apr 3 2009, 07:18 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 2 2009, 03:47 PM)
resting period??..
this was me schdule just last week..

Saturday -Run LG -Hartamas route -1jam 52minit (rest was abt 3 mins at refuel point nt included)
Sun -Bike 120++ km
Monday -rest
Tuesday -Brick (Fast 5km(5mins per km) + 25km bike)
Wednesday -Brick (8km (5.30 per km) + 30km bike)
Thursday(today) -PASAR MALAM tongue.gif

damn Hardcore you man! sweat.gif I cycle 13K on my non running days already can feel my thighs tighten the next day for my run...although its a nice feeling to have tongue.gif cant imagine doing 120 and running the day after are you training for some triathlon? brows.gif

tengster
post Apr 3 2009, 07:32 AM

5,612 posts

Added on April 2, 2009, 11:52 pm
Try out the Saucony Hurricane 10 before making a decision if you are willing to make a comparison. Do let me know.

[/quote]

Mind pm me more details including the price and URL to know more about Saucony H10. Thanks.

d3vilzzzz
post Apr 3 2009, 07:48 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Apr 3 2009, 07:18 AM)
damn Hardcore you man!  sweat.gif  I cycle 13K on my non running days already can feel my thighs tighten the next day for my run...although its a nice feeling to have  tongue.gif cant imagine doing 120 and running the day after are you training for some triathlon?  brows.gif
me?! no la.. still newbie..need way more trainning blush.gif
i did 120 then next day rest mer.. then the following 2 days brick laugh.gif
me trying to train for tris..i still hv yet to fit swimming in me schdule though..
scoop7
post Apr 3 2009, 10:11 AM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 3 2009, 07:48 AM)
me?! no la.. still newbie..need way more trainning  blush.gif
i did 120 then next day rest mer.. then the following 2 days brick laugh.gif
me trying to train for tris..i still hv yet to fit swimming in me schdule though..
would hv guess u r training for tri

come on, u r being modest. u a newbie?

metalfreak
post Apr 3 2009, 11:47 AM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

Eh.....may I know who is coming for the run tomorrow?

Me, Syd..Andy. Smallbug...r u coming bro?

So meet by 6.00am at Bkt Aman Car Park alright? smile.gif See you guys there..

Selor Run FTW! flex.gif

This post has been edited by metalfreak: Apr 3 2009, 11:57 AM
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 3 2009, 12:20 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Apr 3 2009, 10:11 AM)
would hv guess u r training for tri

come on, u r being modest. u a newbie?
tongue.gif
newbie nod.gif me jz started running a couple of months bk..
me bicycle nt even 4 months old..i think haha laugh.gif

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Apr 3 2009, 11:47 AM)

Selor Run FTW!  flex.gif
me sure be there..
i b stalking u.. haha (a stalk finally nt in tmn megah area)
metalfreak
post Apr 3 2009, 12:44 PM

3,300 posts

Walau dont la... T.T I can't escape from you

You> Fast
Me > Slow

Sure kena tangkap! sad.gif lol lame....hahhah i'm bored. brb.. updating journal and bloggie smile.gif

d3vilzzzz
post Apr 3 2009, 01:33 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

brows.gif

sorry bro but we run diff route tongue.gif
whoa..ya ur blog..it has been sumtime since u updated it ... keke
triple02
post Apr 3 2009, 01:44 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 3 2009, 12:20 PM)
tongue.gif
newbie nod.gif me jz started running a couple of months bk..
me bicycle nt even 4 months old..i think haha laugh.gif
me sure be there..
i b stalking u.. haha (a stalk finally nt in tmn megah area)
couple of months back yea rite tongue.gif dont be so modest...even of your brick days your workout seems to be detailed, cannot run long distance everyday also are you going for the NB 15k? brows.gif
smallbug
post Apr 3 2009, 01:45 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Apr 3 2009, 11:47 AM)

Selor Run FTW!  flex.gif
Bukit Aman car park... ok got it... now must set alarm.
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 3 2009, 02:18 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Apr 3 2009, 01:44 PM)
couple of months back yea rite  tongue.gif  dont be so modest...even of your brick days your workout seems to be detailed, cannot run long distance everyday also are you going for the NB 15k?  brows.gif
i m serious biggrin.gif you can check via version 1 of this runnerz thread..
detailed?? just normal stuff blush.gif
NB15k? HELL YEAH!!

QUOTE(smallbug @ Apr 3 2009, 01:45 PM)
Bukit Aman car park... ok got it... now must set alarm.
Fuyor!! this sat mcm lowyat runnerz thread un official gathering icon_rolleyes.gif
Juggerballz
post Apr 3 2009, 03:38 PM

349 posts

does the phiten air necklace helps in jogging?
ccube
post Apr 3 2009, 03:43 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 3 2009, 02:18 PM)
i m serious biggrin.gif you can check via version 1 of this runnerz thread..
detailed?? just normal stuff blush.gif
NB15k? HELL YEAH!!
Fuyor!! this sat mcm lowyat runnerz thread un official gathering  icon_rolleyes.gif
Long Live the Lowyat Runnerz.

Added on April 3, 2009, 4:12 pmSCKLM first running clinic on April 19. Location will be Lake Gdns. More details will be out next week.

This post has been edited by ccube: Apr 3 2009, 04:12 PM
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 3 2009, 04:25 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Apr 3 2009, 03:38 PM)
does the phiten air necklace helps in jogging?
I do knw a no. of runners wear it..but..i don't think it actually helps with jogging?
It helps with improving your health though..so i hv heard hmm.gif

QUOTE(ccube @ Apr 3 2009, 03:43 PM)
Long Live the Lowyat Runnerz.

Added on April 3, 2009, 4:12 pmSCKLM first running clinic on April 19.  Location will be Lake Gdns.  More details will be out next week.
rclxms.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Apr 3 2009, 04:28 PM
metalfreak
post Apr 3 2009, 05:02 PM

3,300 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 3 2009, 01:33 PM)
brows.gif

sorry bro but we run diff route tongue.gif
whoa..ya ur blog..it has been sumtime since u updated it ... keke
my personal blog or the running one?
Busy la bro =) just updated yesterday or something.

I just updated my personal today hehe...busy busy got other commitments also ma *excuses cough cough chokes*

Added on April 3, 2009, 5:56 pmSmallbug, can you PM me your hp number please? For contacting details

This post has been edited by metalfreak: Apr 3 2009, 05:56 PM
Juggerballz
post Apr 3 2009, 09:21 PM

349 posts

not to say help in jogging but does it give u extra energy to run more?
ccube
post Apr 4 2009, 12:12 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(Juggerballz @ Apr 3 2009, 09:21 PM)
not to say help in jogging but does it give u extra energy to run more?
NO, dont depend on that to give u more energy cry.gif
eugenefong
post Apr 4 2009, 10:04 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 1 2009, 09:05 AM)
wow!! congrats!!
hmm.gif i tink me first multi event will be at the end of yr..malakoff..
u going for the pd tri too?

u frm pj area bro? where do u ridE?
Thanks man, yeah go for the malakoff one. I wish I could go for the PD TRI but I'm leaving for Aus soon. I heard there's one half-ironman in Ptrajaya in June also but I cant make it as I'm leaving next month to work.

Would love to join you for cycling but currently I'm packing up and don't really have time. usually i ride around my housing area, Setia Alam. Lovely place, less traffic (Klang Pacer's organizing a half marathon here in June I think). I hear people say Uncle Chan (one of the triathlon pioneers in Msia) brings ppl for cycling every weekend and train them. Perhaps you should contact him to get yourself started for the next race. Go for the PD one. There's not many Tri-s in Malaysia so if you miss the last Tri, u gotta wait for at least half a year into next year. Kenyir is the open season for this year.

Check out http://www.triathlonmalaysia.com/ for more details. Uncle Chan's contact is also in there. They are upgrading now so you gotta check back in a week or two.

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Apr 1 2009, 10:44 AM)
Congrats bro smile.gif Lajunya.... less than 4 hours
No la, I was hoping to finish by 3hrs but due to tyre puncture I lost precious time. But I'm still happy I managed to finish it biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ccube @ Apr 1 2009, 11:45 AM)
congrats for making that achievement.  there are more to come.....
Thanks ccube, this is my first and last but I hope to do more in Australia when their season opens in summer.

125 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:53 AM