Runnerz... #2

triple02
post Feb 26 2009, 10:25 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Feb 21 2009, 01:19 PM)
then tats ez if u hv done 18k before.  a quick guide to ur training tat u can follow

Month 1
- Daily 5k to 8k
- if not then at least 3x a week
- Sat/Sun is your LSD, increase it to 20k

Month 2
- Daily 5k to 8k
- Sat/Sun is your LSD
- 4 weekends : 20k, 25k, 20k, 25k

Month 3
- Daily 5k to 8k
- Sat/Sun is your LSD
- 4 weekends : 20k, 28k, 20k, 30k

Month 4
- Daily 5k to 8k
- Sat/Sun is your LSD
- 4 weekends : 25k, 30k, 20k, 10k
- last 2 weeks taper down

There is no speed training here, just looking at building up ur endurance and able to sustain higher mileage and running longer distance.

And if you need a trainer let me know, as i am selling Saucony.

Note: As mentioned by d3vilzzzz, you must be committed to the program
Nice training guide here mate oh btw what LSD? stands for?...i do read thru often but rarely post...so i hope you guys dont mind me joining ya sweat.gif I've been running for a year so far with the sole reason was to loose weight..never thought i would take it seriously...have done 2 half mara's and a few 10K and 5k's..already registered for the Sundown Mara Spore anyone here going?

triple02
post Mar 3 2009, 01:27 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Feb 26 2009, 01:56 PM)
Don't be a lurker then. Welcome to post here, except no spamming please.  tongue.gif  metalfreak got it right. LSD stands for Long Slow Distance. You can wiki about it.
Am going for my second Sundown Marathon this year. You registered for full or ultra? Where you from?
hello phoenix biggrin.gif

i registered for the full marathon, i suppose you're on the ultra? tongue.gif heard that its pretty though with the run on concrete rather than asphalt and ya by the way im from Penang biggrin.gif

and oh my current Asics is super worn out now laugh.gif need to get a proper cushioned shoe, No more Asics as the current lines are somewhat bit to heavy for my liking Saucony, Brooks seems to be ok but none of them sells in Penang sad.gif
triple02
post Mar 4 2009, 08:55 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

you're really doing the ultra! salute you man notworthy.gif i dont know if i could last the distance as this will be my first marathon and the next one i hope to complete is at my own backyard Penang Bridge of course, our running season starts only after August its kinda bummed up to get motivated, had to register myself for runs in KL cos of this laugh.gif

Asics DS Series are for racing if im not mistaken, something like Adizero for Adidas..got one pair as well just that im in dire need of a training shoes

thanks CCube for the link ill take a look at it smile.gif
triple02
post Mar 5 2009, 07:11 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

haha.....the mere thought of running for 84km is just crazy and you're taking part in it! of course must salute you! and yea i managed to get a pair Asics Kayano 15 yesterday to replace my current trainers biggrin.gif

just ran about 5km ytd and it really helps with the pronation biggrin.gif cant wait to clock in more mileage in it

This post has been edited by triple02: Mar 5 2009, 07:29 AM
triple02
post Mar 5 2009, 12:31 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Mar 5 2009, 11:25 AM)
triple02: You bought it at QueensBay Mall? Good shoe but I must say it's really heavy. How much you paid for it?
oh no didnt get it in Qbay but rather at their distro in Komtar. got if off for RM 470 after 20% disc, Asics are known for their cushioning and stability hence their weight but its not too bad la its lighter from what i compared to the earlier Kayano series, unfortunately cant have the best of both of worlds sad.gif i barely felt pain after i finished the 5k though you might wana compare for urself though the diff between this and the earlier series
triple02
post Mar 5 2009, 02:54 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

hey phoenix...not all Asics are expensive, other Asic lines like Asic GT-Series, Cumulus, Nimbus,Fortitude all are priced reasonably well though but of course to each their own, i wanted to try other brands before i got my current trainer but better stick with a brand that i know works well with me feet tongue.gif i sound so like a Asics fanboy...

Fastwitch 3 is a racer isnt it? hope it provides enough cushioning for your ultra though sweat.gif and ya what trainers ure using currently?
triple02
post Mar 7 2009, 10:22 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Mar 5 2009, 05:40 PM)
too bad i cant have the chance to show you Triumph 5 or Hurricane 10, and let you test out the shoe.  anyhow ASICS is a good shoe, just that some of their models are starting to become very bulky recently bcos they are trying to put too much technologies into one shoe
ccube tragically im in Penang...if not i'd definitely try on those pair of Saucony's you're selling...still having small issue's in breaking into the current Asics, i ran just about under 10k on my old trainers yesterday but i barely reached 5k today on the new ones....bad bad bad and still not fully prepared for the marathon sweat.gif will be hitting the gym later from some hard-core workouts
triple02
post Mar 16 2009, 07:20 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

KL Mara is up for reg cant believe my eyes when i saw the site..though still not sure if im gonna run 21k or 42k...its about 1 month to be exact from Sundown Mara sweat.gif
triple02
post Mar 17 2009, 09:06 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

hey guys about the penang bridge run...if worse case scenario if there are no counters open in KL for registration, or if the online registration does'nt go thru i can help to register directly over the counter when it opens here in penang... smile.gif
triple02
post Mar 17 2009, 10:57 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

hey scoop youre' from penang? awesome

want to go running in Botanicals? brows.gif
triple02
post Mar 20 2009, 10:49 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Mar 19 2009, 11:58 PM)
i think i need to buy a good shoe liao.. my leg, ankle part still pain after last sunday's 10km run!!

i'm targeting Nike shoes, so any recommendation for a shoe that fits for regular running and stylish enough for occasional casual wear? lightly priced budget would be enough.

try looking for brooks, they do have a shop in The Curve..but if style is what youre looking for then Nike or Adidas is the way to go...how much is your budget btw?
triple02
post Mar 24 2009, 02:48 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

hey metalfreak just saw ur blog that you posted in your workout journal....awesome! thumbup.gif too bad im in penang if not ill definitely be joining you guys for the run on weekends...and tragically i have to run alone everytime sad.gif yes that includes the LSD in the morning's ..no kaki here in penang and even my friends arent into running.

Navilink, did you manage to get your NIKE? brows.gif
triple02
post Mar 25 2009, 06:30 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Mar 24 2009, 11:21 PM)
yea finally i bought my Nike Air Initiate rclxms.gif , the black+lime one..
so hope i can improve my time and save my legs from broken when i start running my first 21km in bidor tongue.gif
nice! thumbup.gif started on your training already?
triple02
post Mar 25 2009, 09:55 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Mar 25 2009, 09:06 AM)
hey! i'm in penang, also cannot find kaki to run. hv tried to arranged 2 times with a friend but raining la so canceled both sad.gif

what days u go run? where?
weekday i run near USM ~ 3-5km. weekends bit further, coastal highway/near QB mall.

let me know ur running plans, if can i'll join u
hey scoop! wah USM so near my place tongue.gif normally tuesday's are my speedwork , followed by Thursday and either Sat or Sun for long runs....i normally start from Botanicals, hey wait do you happen to be a member to Priority Fitness in Bukit Gambir? talk further in PM smile.gif
triple02
post Apr 2 2009, 10:44 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

@dmm9394

your feet type seems to be normal looks like your left feet pronates outward..but you can only tell for sure if you go for a foot scan can be done in Gardens or Pavillion KL other places im not too sure, shoe's wise yes please get proper trainers first before moving onto racers since you have the voucher try testing the Brooks GTS 9 brows.gif

and guys i was just wondering whats your resting period after you LSD days say for example u do a 20KM on saturday, how soon after that you guys for for next run? and yes it would be helpful it any post could let tell what's your post running meal ? complex carbs like rice?

I normally take a banana post running and half cup of Oats and thats it, i normally run evening on the weekdays so i do take pretty heavy lunch to compensate ( rice, chicken, egg, vege) the normal ecomony rice stuffs...
triple02
post Apr 2 2009, 02:50 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(dmm9394 @ Apr 2 2009, 01:45 PM)
Yeah i took a look at the shoe advisor, and the GTS 9 was one of the results that appeared smile.gif What do you guys know about this shoe, and why's it so popular?
Brooks are more known and popular in the States i did use brooks once, friends one that is... just to test it out, pretty responsive but i feel the sole is somewhat harder than the others that ive ran on Asics Adidas NB, and if you ask me why its so popular i honestly dont have a clue, ill take Asics over Brooks any day laugh.gif
triple02
post Apr 3 2009, 07:18 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 2 2009, 03:47 PM)
resting period??..
this was me schdule just last week..

Saturday -Run LG -Hartamas route -1jam 52minit (rest was abt 3 mins at refuel point nt included)
Sun -Bike 120++ km
Monday -rest
Tuesday -Brick (Fast 5km(5mins per km) + 25km bike)
Wednesday -Brick (8km (5.30 per km) + 30km bike)
Thursday(today) -PASAR MALAM tongue.gif

damn Hardcore you man! sweat.gif I cycle 13K on my non running days already can feel my thighs tighten the next day for my run...although its a nice feeling to have tongue.gif cant imagine doing 120 and running the day after are you training for some triathlon? brows.gif

triple02
post Apr 3 2009, 01:44 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 3 2009, 12:20 PM)
tongue.gif
newbie nod.gif me jz started running a couple of months bk..
me bicycle nt even 4 months old..i think haha laugh.gif
me sure be there..
i b stalking u.. haha (a stalk finally nt in tmn megah area)
couple of months back yea rite tongue.gif dont be so modest...even of your brick days your workout seems to be detailed, cannot run long distance everyday also are you going for the NB 15k? brows.gif
triple02
post Apr 7 2009, 11:20 AM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

hey guys!

great news!

Malakoff 26Km Penang is confirmed on 7th June 09!

anyone coming up? brows.gif
triple02
post Apr 9 2009, 03:27 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

Frank aka phoenix our threadstarter rite? i wonder where is he he rarely posts in here anymore hmm.gif i could understand the disbanding of the club but did he quit the forum too?

This post has been edited by triple02: Apr 9 2009, 03:28 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0455sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:34 AM