126 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

ulet
post Jan 3 2009, 09:56 PM

1,705 posts

I went to checked plasma and I realized there is grainy/noise even though if hook up to blue ray with HDMI... salesperson sid its normal for plasma.
is it true?
ronnt88
post Jan 3 2009, 09:57 PM

2,353 posts

some movies r filmed to be grainy as intended by director tongue.gif
cynicks
post Jan 3 2009, 11:02 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 3 2009, 09:57 PM)
some movies r filmed to be grainy as intended by director tongue.gif
really ?? rclxub.gif

Added on January 3, 2009, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(cynicks @ Jan 3 2009, 05:58 PM)
Hi Guys, this question might have been answered before, but I can't scan it through the thread here. 1 thing on the PLASMA which has 1024 x768 , with widescreen 16;9 , isn't the picture from your PC will look stretched ?

also, when playing a hi def, 1280x720p movie, what happened to the loss of the extra pixels ? Is it being compressed to fit 1024 ?

I'm still quite daze on this.
Anyone can give me some pointers ?

This post has been edited by cynicks: Jan 3 2009, 11:04 PM
ar188
post Jan 3 2009, 11:16 PM

9,206 posts

for 1024x768, if you feed XGA 1024x768 via VGA port, it will look stretched on your plasma... (cos your source doesn't know if the TV will stretch it or not)

better to just feed it component 720p or 1080i or HDMI signal and let the onboard circuit do the "adjustment"..

don't think 1:1 pixel mapping works here unless you want stretched faces..

Added on January 3, 2009, 11:20 pmor you can feed 4:3 XGA/component/HDMI via HTPC using VLC or powerdvd and let these software "normalize" the aspect ratio for you..

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 3 2009, 11:20 PM
SUSmssv19
post Jan 4 2009, 12:09 AM

3,511 posts

QUOTE(naruto_kun @ Jan 3 2009, 04:23 PM)
will the color looks nice and all? since it is converted using the laptop..my laptop display is 1024 x 768 but not wide screen though..
The color don't depend on resolution. Its how your TV interpret the binary bit color information of the video source supplied by video card & thru the cable (hdmi, component, s-video etc). For truly digital get HDMI because the binary information transfer without conversion whereas Component, S-video etc are analog....so the color are estimate.

The correct aspect ratio for widescreen is 16:9 and the resolution for that for eg. 720p = 1280 x 720 or 1080p = 1920 x 1080. To compensate for that in your current resolution, the image is either stretchout....or you have to live with the black bars at top & bottom screen.
ic-klass
post Jan 4 2009, 12:15 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(fhandrew @ Jan 3 2009, 06:41 PM)
well just tested my pv80 with local dvds, and local tv. i am totally satisfied with the PQ!!! no complains. haven't tested with hdmi cable yet, can't wait to see how better it can get.
Good to hear that. PV80 is one of my choices. Mind sharing what is ur set-up (and probably a pic/pics of the PQ)
Really tempted to buy this model - but having second thought after reading "HD should be 1366x768" by one of the forumer here.
May be u can posted a first-hand review (PQ at normal-self-living-room kinda..)

P/s: Head on to AVS forum - a lot of tweaking to improve PQ..PX80 user (PV80 here..)
SUSmssv19
post Jan 4 2009, 12:22 AM

3,511 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Jan 3 2009, 09:56 PM)
I went to checked plasma and I realized there is grainy/noise even though if hook up to blue ray with HDMI... salesperson sid its normal for plasma.
is it true?
Are you sure you're watching hi def source?

To really watch a movie in optimum sharpness you have to see it in native resolution and also the movie source must match it.

If you watch Asto, SD source....low resolution 480 in 1024 x 768 magnified in 50 or 60 inches...the image sure a bit grainer. (update) since low resolution, the scaling software on TV has to make-up its own data to fill up the resolution to 1024 x 768.

Also if you watch high def source 1920 x 1080 in 1024 x 768...you see the image a bit squish. Imagine Captain Sparrow face got 2 pimples in 2 different horizontal position in an image, and due insufficient resolution to display the details, the 2 pimples is compress & may overlap.

Added on January 4, 2009, 12:34 am
QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Jan 3 2009, 07:57 PM)
Apparently,you're looking at the major flaws of LCD  which is ghosting/smearing. Even on my 100Hz unit, this is also a problem. Plasma dont have this kind of problem i believe.
LCD cannot beat plasma in motion ever....it's how LCD are design to project their image. Watching football in Plasma is much better then LCD especially your eyes concentrating on the movement of such a tiny ball object. But for general & overall picture sharpess LCD the best if the source match it.

This post has been edited by mssv19: Jan 4 2009, 12:34 AM
elwwmatrix
post Jan 4 2009, 12:51 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(mssv19 @ Jan 4 2009, 12:22 AM)

LCD cannot beat plasma in motion ever....it's how LCD are design to project their image. Watching football in Plasma is much better then LCD especially your eyes concentrating on the movement of  such a tiny ball object. But for general & overall picture sharpess LCD the best if the source match it.
Yes. I saw PV80HM at the local stores. Kinda watching CRT(but whole lot better and natural) only thinner and bigger display. I'm targetting for a Panasonic Plasma. Any news for the replacement of this PV80 ? perhaps a PV90?
ar188
post Jan 4 2009, 01:11 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Jan 4 2009, 12:51 AM)
Yes. I saw PV80HM at the local stores. Kinda watching CRT(but whole lot better and natural) only thinner and bigger display. I'm targetting for a Panasonic Plasma. Any news for the replacement of this PV80 ? perhaps a PV90?
well.. let see it's called 800 and it's replacement 850
and the next.. maybe it's called panasonic Kuro.. tongue.gif (since they are supplying pioneer now)
elwwmatrix
post Jan 4 2009, 01:17 AM

295 posts

hehehe. Panasonic Kuro. VIERA KURO . omg. sounds kinda witchcraft thingy.
No what i meant was the next batch of Panasonic Plasma.I'm aware of 800 and 850.
ar188
post Jan 4 2009, 01:33 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Jan 4 2009, 01:17 AM)
No what i meant was the next batch of Panasonic Plasma.I'm aware of 800 and 850.
since you suggested 90 could be the number after 80, so I mentioned the replacements are actually called 800 and 850 respectively.. cheers..

Viera Kuro sounds vierd.. ops weird.. kekeke!

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 4 2009, 01:33 AM
Gilthoniel
post Jan 4 2009, 02:48 AM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

hey guys, I bought a PV80 about 2 weeks ago and noticed a dead pixel almost to the centre of the screen. I know it's extremely rare to get a dead pixel on a plasma but somehow I got it.

Managed to get Panny to come see and they agreed to change the set for me.

My question is, is it normal to see some ghosting/image retention on the screen after a marathon viewing of Astro On Demand with the logo at the top right being static for a few hours? I've read a few people who have this problem but theirs sound much more severe. My problem is only visible when I off all my lights and leave the TV on with no signal on eg: after turning off the PS3. I can see some ghosting images of the PS3 XMB menu icons, the astro logo at the top, etc.

So, my question is is this normal? Will it go away after watching other various types of movies? I read in various sites that plasmas these days are resistant to burin-in so I'm inclined to think that this is just a temporary retention of image just like how it can happen on the old CRT if a logo was screened on it for a long time. Another thing is, my panel might be faulty since it has a dead pixel and now the ghosting...

My dad just got his PV80 today and after watching astro on demand for a few hours, the ghosting is present but not very apparent...
piscesguy
post Jan 4 2009, 11:10 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Jan 4 2009, 02:48 AM)
hey guys, I bought a PV80 about 2 weeks ago and noticed a dead pixel almost to the centre of the screen. I know it's extremely rare to get a dead pixel on a plasma but somehow I got it.

Managed to get Panny to come see and they agreed to change the set for me.

My question is, is it normal to see some ghosting/image retention on the screen after a marathon viewing of Astro On Demand with the logo at the top right being static for a few hours? I've read a few people who have this problem but theirs sound much more severe. My problem is only visible when I off all my lights and leave the TV on with no signal on eg: after turning off the PS3. I can see some ghosting images of the PS3 XMB menu icons, the astro logo at the top, etc.

So, my question is is this normal? Will it go away after watching other various types of movies? I read in various sites that plasmas these days are resistant to burin-in so I'm inclined to think that this is just a temporary retention of image just like how it can happen on the old CRT if a logo was screened on it for a long time. Another thing is, my panel might be faulty since it has a dead pixel and now the ghosting...

My dad just got his PV80 today and after watching astro on demand for a few hours, the ghosting is present but not very apparent...
can post pic to see how a dead pixel look like in plasma? hmm.gif
welwitchia
post Jan 4 2009, 12:40 PM

1,219 posts

Dead pixels are not rare in Plasmas. When I went to the shop to purchase my PY800, the first unit that the took out has more than 10 (yes 10!) on the right side of the panel. Good thing I connected my notebook to test for dead pixels.

On the other hand, image retention is supposed to be normal and will go away after sometime.. The problem is, all these astro and RTM logos (especially these dumb a$$ RTM logos) are fully opaque. Why can't they follow other countries where their logo is semi-transparent and not so HUGE.
ar188
post Jan 4 2009, 12:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 4 2009, 11:10 AM)
can post pic to see how a dead pixel look like in plasma?  hmm.gif
no light lor.. tongue.gif
Gilthoniel
post Jan 4 2009, 03:23 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Mine looks like a black/reddish dot at the centre. 10? That's mental man. But overall if u do a search on google they dun mention much bt dead pixels in plasma.

Welwitchia, so no worries abt the image retention eh?
phat_newbie
post Jan 4 2009, 03:27 PM

265 posts

Alright guys, BHB exchanged my PV80 to a brand new unit today. Upon powering up, I checked the Service Menu and display time was 0000:00 and manufactured dated is Dec 2008. I demonstrated to the tech who installed my PV80 for me the service menu and the guy was impressed. He now knows that there are methods of checking the display time on the PV80. All in all, my purchase with BHB not bad la. At least in the end I got a brand new unit.
elwwmatrix
post Jan 4 2009, 03:41 PM

295 posts

Good for you. Know they know cannot cheat customer. hahahaha. Wish the same way can check panasonic LCD display hours. I've activated the service menu but nothing to show how many time it was swith on or lifetime hours.
gsdev
post Jan 4 2009, 03:46 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ Jan 4 2009, 03:27 PM)
Alright guys, BHB exchanged my PV80 to a brand new unit today. Upon powering up, I checked the Service Menu and display time was 0000:00 and manufactured dated is Dec 2008. I demonstrated to the tech who installed my PV80 for me the service menu and the guy was impressed. He now knows that there are methods of checking the display time on the PV80. All in all, my purchase with BHB not bad la. At least in the end I got a brand new unit.
How to get into the service menu?, i have a PV80 and where to get the display time info and manufactured date?

You should also think about the break in steps. http://www.eaprogramming.com/

This post has been edited by gsdev: Jan 4 2009, 04:01 PM
ronnt88
post Jan 4 2009, 03:47 PM

2,353 posts

yea.. where r the steps again? could come in useful coz i'm getting my pv80 next weekend smile.gif

126 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0288sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:20 PM