Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

welwitchia
post Sep 4 2008, 10:53 PM

1,219 posts

Yep, from what I've been reading, LCDs at 40" or higher are susceptible to clouding. The only way to "solve" it to turn the brightness down or turn the "Power saving" to Low or Med..
Does u'rs have this problem? What size and brand?
QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 4 2008, 02:30 PM)
anyone has experience with backlight leaking on their LCD?
welwitchia
post Sep 4 2008, 11:19 PM

1,219 posts

Yep, no choice man. No wonder everyone is buying Plasmas these days. Hopefully I'll get a fat bonus at year end and I'll move my Sony W400 into the living room and replace it with a Panny PY800. LCDs can go fly kites for all I care.
QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 4 2008, 10:58 PM)
the unevenness is when the screen is dark...dont really notice it at any other color. the corners seems to be somewhat brighter than the rest.

yes, i also read that this is countered by turning the brightness down. am wondering if this will get worse or not.

come to think of it...i dont really notice this on the 32"....

its on my almost 2 years old Philips 42"
welwitchia
post Sep 5 2008, 12:07 AM

1,219 posts

^ The only complain that I have of Plasmas are the screen "flickers". If u compare a LCD and Plasma side by side showing the same content, you'll notice that Plasmas have a slight screen flicker. I don't know if "flicker" is the right word..the best analogy that I can think of is this.. On a CRT monitor, set the refresh rate to 60Hz and compared it to a refresh rate of 85Hz.

Some of my friends don't notice it but I definitely do. The worst I've seen are Hitachi Plasmas. Samsung's seems to flicker the least.
welwitchia
post Sep 5 2008, 09:50 AM

1,219 posts

^ That sucks.. I have two 32" and they don't bleed. I do have a Dell 24" that does bleed though but not serious wink.gif
welwitchia
post Sep 5 2008, 12:57 PM

1,219 posts

Hmm.. I don't know about a fluorescent lamp causing the LCD to cloud but I doubt so. As far as I'm concern, there's no fix clouding. Its basically a "defect"
The bad part is, its something that's impossible to check during purchase unless they let u turn the LCD on in a dark room tongue.gif

As for maxing out the contrast, I think it'll enchance all the edges in your picture.. might be good for animes and cartoon but defintely not good for regular movies.

QUOTE(Kornfield @ Sep 5 2008, 10:38 AM)
i've also experience this problem, yes it would disappeared if i decrease the contrast n brightness. but sifus  here tell me that is not the right way to calibrate lcd. so i browse thru the internet n i found out that fluorescent lamp is not good if it is near the lcd. so i plug off the lamp that i put near the lcd. then after that the problem actually solved. i increase the contrast to 100 also no more bleeding. yeayy!! n thanks to everyone that have gave me advise. hope this problem is really fix. i just want to enjoy my lcd. thumbup.gif
welwitchia
post Sep 5 2008, 01:04 PM

1,219 posts

^ I only use Brightness 2 (Movie/Standard Mode) and Power Saving set to Min on my Sony.. but I watch my movie in a pretty dark room with a backlight behind the LCD.

Very minimal clouding but I would have preferred to have none. Sighh..why did Panny released the PY800 so late!!! Arghhh....
welwitchia
post Sep 5 2008, 04:38 PM

1,219 posts

Here's my little DIY ambilight tongue.gif

And here's how they look like from behind. Please ignore the dirty wall tongue.gif
QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 5 2008, 01:41 PM)
sounds like philips ambilight series of TV
welwitchia
post Sep 5 2008, 05:46 PM

1,219 posts

^ nope.. got them from IKEA.

welwitchia
post Sep 5 2008, 05:48 PM

1,219 posts

Err.. no idea. I got them about 3 months ago
welwitchia
post Sep 5 2008, 05:52 PM

1,219 posts

^ I wish it automatically switches on when I turn the TV on.. heheh
welwitchia
post Sep 5 2008, 11:29 PM

1,219 posts

Yeah RM299 is kinda steep but when I bought mine, it was actually retailing at RM185. I believe the RM 299 one has an attenuator.

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 5 2008, 06:21 PM)
Much cheaper....I just don't want to say it earlier tongue.gif
welwitchia
post Sep 8 2008, 05:14 PM

1,219 posts

I use an APC UPS for my LCD and Receiver.
welwitchia
post Sep 9 2008, 11:02 AM

1,219 posts

If I remember correctly, 1000.. during a power blackout, the units still hold but I just turn everything off immediately.
In my area (Bangsar), i don't usually get blackouts but I do get occasional brownouts..so I guess a UPS is perfect for my situation.
QUOTE(gsdev @ Sep 8 2008, 11:43 PM)
How many watts?...what happens during power failiure can the UPS hold the sets...
welwitchia
post Sep 19 2008, 11:01 PM

1,219 posts

Hi guys,

if tomorrow goes well, I should be able to sell my Sony W400 away and I'll go get myself a Panny PY800.
Now before I do that, my main concern is the PY800 ability to do a pixel 1 to 1 mapping when connected to a HTPC.

So to any PY800 owners out there, have u tried connecting it with a PC (using HDMI) and get 1 to 1 mapping. I don't care if the fonts look bad or anything like that because I'm not gonna use it for browsing.. I only use it for watching mkv files.

So how? Any sifus?
Thanks in advance!
welwitchia
post Sep 20 2008, 11:51 AM

1,219 posts

^ I'm bringing my notebook (with HDMI out) to HSL to test it out the PY800.. hopefully, they'll lemme try.
welwitchia
post Sep 20 2008, 12:55 PM

1,219 posts

Too late..only brought HDMI there. Results.. and I'm quite surprised too. The PY800 can display the desktop fonts better than my Sony W400 which is shocking considering its a Plasma. When I turned "Overscan" to off, I get perfect pixel to pixel mapping..Now I can only hope the buyer buy my Sony today. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 20 2008, 12:25 PM)

Added on September 20, 2008, 12:28 pm
Later update us la what's the max resolution you can get with D-Sub connection (not HDMI). Don't forget to bring VGA cable male-male biggrin.gif
welwitchia
post Sep 22 2008, 05:22 PM

1,219 posts

Hi guys, seems like the buyer is gonna buy my 40" Sony W400 biggrin.gif
So now the question is.. what is the "normal/market" price for the Panny PY800? I went to HSL on Saturday and they are asking for RM7500.. I think its a bit on the high side right?

Thx!
welwitchia
post Sep 22 2008, 05:32 PM

1,219 posts

^ Err.. I think that guy is in Penang la.
welwitchia
post Sep 22 2008, 06:16 PM

1,219 posts

Yeah.. the 42" one.. I can't afford the 50" one and I can't possibly put a 50" in my room when my living room only has a 32"..LOL, my dad will strangle me. biggrin.gif
welwitchia
post Sep 24 2008, 05:03 PM

1,219 posts

If all goes well, I'll have my 42" PY800 this Saturday.. *Keeps finger crossed*

0.0466sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:24 AM