Household [Home-Applicances] Ceiling Fan, KDK, Panasonic, Euro Uno, Mistral
SUSleechers
Feb 10 2012, 01:43 AM
Just measure my ceiling and the lowest is 7.9 ft. Each ceiling have different height, i dunno why. Perhaps because of plaster ceiling.
Problem i faced right now is low ceiling, all of ceiling installed with conventional ceiling fan hook. Is it possible to take out the hook and replace it with ball joint mount so i can installed baby fan from kdk? Should i cut the plaster ceiling?
adrianjc
Feb 10 2012, 03:03 AM
Ended up getting Panasonic Nami Jr ceiling fan's for my house. Problem is that my ceiling is a little low but the Nami fan fits in just well and is way cheaper than the KDK alternatives which had more functions and were more expensive.  Bought the fans from Legend SS2 at RM385 each. This post has been edited by adrianjc: Feb 10 2012, 03:06 AM
SUSleechers
Feb 10 2012, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(adrianjc @ Feb 10 2012, 03:03 AM) Ended up getting Panasonic Nami Jr ceiling fan's for my house. Problem is that my ceiling is a little low but the Nami fan fits in just well and is way cheaper than the KDK alternatives which had more functions and were more expensive.  Bought the fans from Legend SS2 at RM385 each. adrian, what is the height of your ceiling, measure from floor to ceiling? and when installed this nami fan, can you touch the fan?
adrianjc
Feb 10 2012, 06:13 PM
QUOTE(leechers @ Feb 10 2012, 08:57 AM) adrian, what is the height of your ceiling, measure from floor to ceiling? and when installed this nami fan, can you touch the fan? My floor to ceiling height is about 9.5 feet. I can't touch the fan at that height. The height of the actual fan itself is about 13 inches, its not as high as the normal fans which are about 18 inches.
SUSleechers
Feb 10 2012, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(adrianjc @ Feb 10 2012, 06:13 PM) My floor to ceiling height is about 9.5 feet. I can't touch the fan at that height. The height of the actual fan itself is about 13 inches, its not as high as the normal fans which are about 18 inches. 9.5 ft is a good clearance. mine is 7.9ft.. i am in dilemma whether to install ceiling fan or not.
weikee
Feb 10 2012, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(leechers @ Feb 10 2012, 10:04 PM) 9.5 ft is a good clearance. mine is 7.9ft.. i am in dilemma whether to install ceiling fan or not. 7.9ft, put ceiling fan very dangerous.
adrianjc
Feb 10 2012, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(leechers @ Feb 10 2012, 10:04 PM) 9.5 ft is a good clearance. mine is 7.9ft.. i am in dilemma whether to install ceiling fan or not. I would say forget the ceiling fan, save up some cash and get the Dyson stand fan.
phoenix69
Feb 11 2012, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(adrianjc @ Feb 10 2012, 11:29 PM) I would say forget the ceiling fan, save up some cash and get the Dyson stand fan. Or the cheaper China variant
wongzai
Feb 11 2012, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 10 2012, 10:10 PM) 7.9ft, put ceiling fan very dangerous. Baby fan not advisable as well?
weikee
Feb 11 2012, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(wongzai @ Feb 11 2012, 12:17 PM) Baby fan not advisable as well? Baby fan take about 10" to 12", so you have clearance of 6.9 feet. Stretch your hand, possible fingers can chop off. If watch TV exciter and jump up.. Head can chop off.
phoenix69
Feb 11 2012, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 11 2012, 12:22 PM) Baby fan take about 10" to 12", so you have clearance of 6.9 feet. Stretch your hand, possible fingers can chop off. If watch TV exciter and jump up.. Head can chop off. definately do not , put yer hands up, put yer hands up (like in a concert)
wongzai
Feb 11 2012, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 11 2012, 12:22 PM) Baby fan take about 10" to 12", so you have clearance of 6.9 feet. Stretch your hand, possible fingers can chop off. If watch TV exciter and jump up.. Head can chop off. okok.. get it now, thanks for sharing
ozak
Feb 11 2012, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Feb 11 2012, 12:24 PM) definately do not , put yer hands up, put yer hands up (like in a concert)  Don't be worry lah. The ceiling fan won't chop off your head or hand. Ceiling fan spin fast but no power or torque. You can put your hand up and stop it. It is design in this way for the safety.
weikee
Feb 11 2012, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 11 2012, 02:38 PM) Don't be worry lah. The ceiling fan won't chop off your head or hand. Ceiling fan spin fast but no power or torque. You can put your hand up and stop it. It is design in this way for the safety. Chopping is on the extreme  . But it sure can cause fingers fracture when you switch on the highest speed. Especially when the blade is made of metal.
adrianjc
Feb 11 2012, 05:43 PM
A classmate in school got a really nasty cut from those normal KDK fan blades when getting over excited about an announcement of school holidays.
His cut required 8-10 stitches if I remember correctly.
weikee
Feb 11 2012, 06:59 PM
Advice already given, if still prefer to put ceiling fan than have to be careful.
ahsee
Feb 11 2012, 09:30 PM
anyone using rubine ceiling fan?SA told me that Rubine provide 10 yrs warrant,is THAT TRUE?
SUSleechers
Feb 12 2012, 12:09 AM
Thanks for the advice. Actually 7.9ft is the lowest height out of all three rooms and living hall. No problem for living hall i think since it is more than 8ft. I am more concern about safety. And if i scretch up my hands i will definitely touch the fan since i am a tall person. Will think again on how to solve this problem. to put or not to put.
Added on February 12, 2012, 12:15 amJust to share out, just found out that the culprit of my low ceiling is because of 8 inch downlight. According to my uncle who did all those wirings, he chose 8inch because it will be easier for me to change bulb later on. Got much more low length downlight but will get a little tricky to change bulb for noob like me. Damn. He should consult me first before going with such setup. Anyway lesson learned.
This post has been edited by leechers: Feb 12 2012, 12:15 AM
adrianjc
Feb 12 2012, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(leechers @ Feb 12 2012, 12:09 AM) Thanks for the advice. Actually 7.9ft is the lowest height out of all three rooms and living hall. No problem for living hall i think since it is more than 8ft. I am more concern about safety. And if i scretch up my hands i will definitely touch the fan since i am a tall person. Will think again on how to solve this problem. to put or not to put. Added on February 12, 2012, 12:15 amJust to share out, just found out that the culprit of my low ceiling is because of 8 inch downlight. According to my uncle who did all those wirings, he chose 8inch because it will be easier for me to change bulb later on. Got much more low length downlight but will get a little tricky to change bulb for noob like me. Damn. He should consult me first before going with such setup. Anyway lesson learned. Wow that's a super huge downlight. I'm only using 4" for my place. This post has been edited by adrianjc: Feb 12 2012, 10:23 AM
phoenix69
Feb 12 2012, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(leechers @ Feb 12 2012, 12:09 AM) Thanks for the advice. Actually 7.9ft is the lowest height out of all three rooms and living hall. No problem for living hall i think since it is more than 8ft. I am more concern about safety. And if i scretch up my hands i will definitely touch the fan since i am a tall person. Will think again on how to solve this problem. to put or not to put. Added on February 12, 2012, 12:15 amJust to share out, just found out that the culprit of my low ceiling is because of 8 inch downlight. According to my uncle who did all those wirings, he chose 8inch because it will be easier for me to change bulb later on. Got much more low length downlight but will get a little tricky to change bulb for noob like me. Damn. He should consult me first before going with such setup. Anyway lesson learned. Low Ceiling with big downlight.,,,, How is the effect??