126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

TheFalcon
post Nov 11 2008, 10:09 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Nov 10 2008, 05:57 PM)
What is best denki price? Never saw the console for sale at BD 1U sad.gif.

Sony center at 1U selling at RM1799 with 2 games right? Weird, since sonystyle allows 0% for RM1599 basic unit. 12 months about RM135 i think
Ikano got sell? Or you mean curve sony style? GH quoted me RM1.85k wo. The other seller's location mostly in KL/Cheras. Too far for me. I prefer PJ/BU area smile.gif.

Thanks guys for your help!
BD got
but if im not wrong
only BD KLCC
same price as Sony Center

Ya, Sony Center 1799 with 2 games (Siren and a The Best Game, either Ratchet, Resistance, or Ninja Gaiden)
Centers only sell package with games
Style if I am not wrong sells basic unit too

Btw, FYI, theres a 2 or 3% extra charge for installment method
This is standard, I've done installment on few stuff, all also got this charge
I think thats why GH quoted 1.85? (or maybe games package different)
sphiroth
post Nov 11 2008, 12:09 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(TheFalcon @ Nov 11 2008, 10:09 AM)
BD got
but if im not wrong
only BD KLCC
Ya, Sony Center 1799 with 2 games (Siren and a The Best Game, either Ratchet, Resistance, or Ninja Gaiden)

I've bought mine from Sony Style. They told me they only sell PS3 in package (1799 with 2 games or 1899 with 2 games and one extra controller). They game are either Siren or Soul Caliber + either Ratchet, Resistance, or Ninja Gaiden.

The installment are 0% interest (rm150 per month) but only for Citi, Maybank and SC card holder.
yujin86
post Nov 11 2008, 12:18 PM

1,740 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Nov 11 2008, 12:09 PM)
I've bought mine from Sony Style. They told me they only sell PS3 in package (1799 with 2 games or 1899 with 2 games and one extra controller). They game are either Siren or Soul Caliber + either Ratchet, Resistance, or Ninja Gaiden.

The installment are 0% interest (rm150 per month) but only for Citi, Maybank and SC card holder.
yes it is 0% for these card holders.
i am using maybank 0% interest
u can check on www.sonystyle.com.my

Added on November 11, 2008, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Nov 11 2008, 09:04 AM)
Yup. I'm using a 5 year old HITB system which only supports DD5.1 and DTS.

No problem there smile.gif
icic
thanks ya bro

This post has been edited by yujin86: Nov 11 2008, 12:27 PM
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2008, 12:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(Wind1110 @ Nov 11 2008, 04:04 AM)
Which means it's only noticeable when you're playing in a larger view ? I guess you're right, it's hard to notice the differences with rough eyes. I believe there is slightly a difference but can't judge the differences with our naked eyes. I've personally tested resolution between 720p & 1080i(HD Ready), and it does significant though.
Not to say theres no difference, but its just not enough to pay a premium for a full HD panel at a relatively small screen. More over, so many games aren't even native 720p for god's sake.... More upscaling will need to be done on a full HD panel for games.
daijoubu
post Nov 11 2008, 02:37 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

QUOTE(TheFalcon @ Nov 11 2008, 10:09 AM)
BD got
but if im not wrong
only BD KLCC

Darn BD in KLCC too far >.<. Guess i'll stick with Sony Style.

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Nov 11 2008, 12:09 PM)

Weird, sony style online sells PS3 in basic unit, RM1599. Will try calling them and check.

Thanks guys =D
abel
post Nov 11 2008, 02:51 PM

571 posts

i have the little question i saw have a optical output and my amp dont have the HDMI input soo can i use HDMI carry the video signal to my LCD and optical to my amp for the DTS thanks
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 11 2008, 02:57 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Nov 11 2008, 02:51 PM)
i have the little question i saw have a optical output and my amp dont have the HDMI input soo can i use HDMI carry the video signal to my LCD and optical to my amp for the DTS thanks
Yup, that's what I do. Optical to my amp, and HDMI to the LCD TV.
sphiroth
post Nov 11 2008, 04:48 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 11 2008, 12:56 PM)
Not to say theres no difference, but its just not enough to pay a premium for a full HD panel at a relatively small screen. More over, so many games aren't even native 720p for god's sake.... More upscaling will need to be done on a full HD panel for games.
Agreed with you. If you notice, most Full HD LCD are 40"++.

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Nov 11 2008, 02:37 PM)
Darn BD in KLCC too far >.<. Guess i'll stick with Sony Style.
Weird, sony style online sells PS3 in basic unit, RM1599. Will try calling them and check.

Thanks guys =D
Last time I check Sony website (before purchasing), it must be bought in package.

QUOTE(abel @ Nov 11 2008, 02:51 PM)
Can. thumbup.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2008, 06:43 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

For me personally, I wouldn't take a Full HD panel over a 720p one at a size no less than 50"+, doesn't apply to monitors however.... laugh.gif
terbang
post Nov 11 2008, 06:55 PM

14 posts

i want to buy the PS3..suggest me the shop either Sony Centre, Sony Style, GH, GS or Sg. Wang..

i don want to be cheated by someone that change the laser..

please PM me..

thanks anyone...
geekster129
post Nov 11 2008, 08:20 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(terbang @ Nov 11 2008, 06:55 PM)
i want to buy the PS3..suggest me the shop either Sony Centre, Sony Style, GH, GS or Sg. Wang..

i don want to be cheated by someone that change the laser..

please PM me..

thanks anyone...
You can try to contact Alex (Play On Enterprise - Sg. Wang 3rd floor). Recommended game console seller. Had a good shopping experience getting a copy of LittleBigPlanet from him. His LYN Id is alexwlh.

More info: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=732391&hl=

Added on November 11, 2008, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 11 2008, 06:43 PM)
For me personally, I wouldn't take a Full HD panel over a 720p one at a size no less than 50"+, doesn't apply to monitors however.... laugh.gif
You mean this?

The price tag for this TV was also in its "Full HD 1080p" goodness

NOTE: This photo was taken a year ago. (1/12/2007)

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 11 2008, 08:40 PM
daijoubu
post Nov 11 2008, 08:23 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

got it for RM1590 at some game shop in BU. Basic set only =.=. Anything wrong i have to go back to Sony people.
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2008, 08:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Nov 11 2008, 08:20 PM)

Added on November 11, 2008, 8:22 pm

You mean this?

NOTE: This photo was taken a year ago. (1/12/2007)
That about cuts it! drool.gif
That TV alone enough for you to buy a luxurious car liao..... sweat.gif

Though thats what projectors are for!! laugh.gif
xbox360ps3
post Nov 11 2008, 11:13 PM

326 posts

bought mine at best denki 1u. 1799 for sc4 and ninja gaiden. Used maybank cc for 0% interest. 3% extra charge.

What i was told all bd are selling. Package same like sony during launching. Another package around 2k for etra controller
gsuave
post Nov 12 2008, 01:30 AM

165 posts

umm..how do I play multiplayer network games? Coz I notice everytime I start my game, I will automatically sign off PSN.

Also, when I choose the multiplier option, I can seems to be able to download the update patch.

I have an SG set, with US PSN acct. Is this caused by the region problem?
SSJBen
post Nov 12 2008, 01:47 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(gsuave @ Nov 12 2008, 01:30 AM)
umm..how do I play multiplayer network games? Coz I notice everytime I start my game, I will automatically sign off PSN.

Also, when I choose the multiplier option, I can seems to be able to download the update patch.

I have an SG set, with US PSN acct. Is this caused by the region problem?
Check if your NAT is type 2 or 1.
If not set a dedicated IP for your PS3 and open a port it under your modem/router.

May I know what game are you stating?
gsuave
post Nov 12 2008, 02:08 AM

165 posts

battlefield bad company gold edition.

If my game is R3, does that mean my acct also have to in R3?
vorchiel
post Nov 12 2008, 08:07 AM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(gsuave @ Nov 12 2008, 02:08 AM)
battlefield bad company gold edition.

If my game is R3, does that mean my acct also have to in R3?
matching disc & PSN ID region is only needed if a game has locked DLCs

1. game updates are released based on the disc region (update server info is hardcoded on the disc). you will be able to update the game using any PSN ID.

2. PS3 will download its firmware update according to the console region (hardcoded in the firmware). however you can update manually from any mirror because of Sony's universal firmware approach (same goes to PSP & PS3).

3. you can play online using any PSN ID on any region disc.

4. DLCs can only be used with the matching region (disc region & PSN region). once the DLCs are successfully installed on a PS3, there are 2 situations:
a) for unlocked DLCs, you can play with other PSN ID (any region) on the PS3, (eg: LBP, SingStar, StardustHD)
b) for locked DLCs, you can only play using the PSN ID that are used to buy those DLC. (warhawk, GT5P EU)
geekster129
post Nov 12 2008, 09:13 AM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Nov 12 2008, 08:07 AM)
matching disc & PSN ID region is only needed if a game has locked DLCs

1. game updates are released based on the disc region (update server info is hardcoded on the disc). you will be able to update the game using any PSN ID.

2. PS3 will download its firmware update according to the console region (hardcoded in the firmware). however you can update manually from any mirror because of Sony's universal firmware approach (same goes to PSP & PS3).

3. you can play online using any PSN ID on any region disc.

4. DLCs can only be used with the matching region (disc region & PSN region). once the DLCs are successfully installed on a PS3, there are 2 situations:
   a) for unlocked DLCs, you can play with other PSN ID (any region) on the PS3, (eg: LBP, SingStar, StardustHD)
   b) for locked DLCs, you can only play using the PSN ID that are used to buy those DLC. (warhawk, GT5P EU)
There is actually one thing that comes into my interest about DLC. I know that all my DLC is saved as "Game Data" on my PS3.

Say that I have downloaded the DLC and for some reason I have accidentally deleted my DLC, and if I go in to the Playstation Store to redownload it, will that DLC be locked forever from being redownloaded? Another concern are time limited DLCs, like those pumpkin head and "Angkasawan" LBP costume.

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 12 2008, 09:14 AM
vorchiel
post Nov 12 2008, 09:50 AM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Nov 12 2008, 09:13 AM)
There is actually one thing that comes into my interest about DLC. I know that all my DLC is saved as "Game Data" on my PS3.

Say that I have downloaded the DLC and for some reason I have accidentally deleted my DLC, and if I go in to the Playstation Store to redownload it, will that DLC be locked forever from being redownloaded? Another concern are time limited DLCs, like those pumpkin head and "Angkasawan" LBP costume.
If you downloaded a DLC, no matter free or paid, it will be associated to that PSN ID. You can view your download list and download it from there for unlimited times, even if the listing has been removed from the PSN Store, given that the PSN ID can only be active on up to 5 PS3s. That is the loophole that DLC sharers use.

SingStar DLCs are more convoluted if compared to other titles because SingStar DLCs are cross-region compatible. However SingStar songs can only be downloaded onto one PS3, meaning that the 5-machine rule doesnt apply(not shareable). The songs can be used by all users on that machine though.

126 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:39 AM