Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

nicvoo
post Nov 22 2008, 10:09 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Nov 22 2008, 12:40 AM)
Just some kind advices:-

1) Working in outskirts of SG usually pays more than working in the city. For eg: working in Tuas, Jurong can demand more salary than working in City Hall, Orchard or Marina Bay.

2) For rental, staying along the purple line usually is more expensive, follow-by Green line and the least expensive is the Red Line. But this depends whether are you staying near to City or not. For eg:-
Staying in Punggol rent may go up to $600, staying in Tampines maybe $550 and staying in Bukit Batok maybe just $500 for a same size room.
i lol-ed at ur "advise" outskirts of sg tuas jurong r all factories so u xpect a guy wif a business degree go to those places to work for higher pay? wat u say is solely industry dependent nuthing to do wif the areas u work. lol those bankers CEO brokers al in the cbd areas r havin lower pay then those workin in the "outskirts" of sg??

2nd one as long as u r within the city limits dun care wheter u say in a shack or in a condo it'll still b expensive irrelevant at all who doesnt know stayig further is more exp.

QUOTE(jasperng @ Nov 22 2008, 01:01 AM)
hey , .. im wondering what are available electronic or electrical companies in sg ? ... im referring to those which are well-known. well i only know there is national semicon. ..

hows the demand of e n e engineer in sg anyway ? .. planning to find job in sg mid of next year.
as of now the recruitment section in the papers hav almost 0 vacancies for manufacturing engineering posts compared to 6months ago u wanna coe in mid next year good luck

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Nov 22 2008, 01:57 AM)
i need some advise from experience ppl.. this is my scenario:

i've already been in Singapore for 1 month +.. as my visa expired for the first month, i went out to Johor n came back to renew my visa and prolong the staying period..
then i got an extension of another 1 month..

so question is, are there such rules or regulation stating that i cannot be in Singapore for 2 months, n that i have to go back for 1 month before coming back to sg again??

experience ppl pls advise, its kinda urgent..
btw, my purpose here is to job hunt n it has been 1 month+ since i came here..

thanks in advance..
http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=180&secid=178 more info here instead of letting us provide u wif the wrong info
Chrisky
post Nov 22 2008, 11:27 AM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Nov 22 2008, 01:57 AM)
i need some advise from experience ppl.. this is my scenario:

i've already been in Singapore for 1 month +.. as my visa expired for the first month, i went out to Johor n came back to renew my visa and prolong the staying period..
then i got an extension of another 1 month..

so question is, are there such rules or regulation stating that i cannot be in Singapore for 2 months, n that i have to go back for 1 month before coming back to sg again??

experience ppl pls advise, its kinda urgent..
btw, my purpose here is to job hunt n it has been 1 month+ since i came here..

thanks in advance..
there is so-called quota of the continuouns social visit pass (the 14-days 1) being issued to u. if u exceed it u gonna need to wait a month to b granted entry again. not too sure abt exactly period though.

i know this bcoz i kena b4. i was being rejected entry at Woodlands checkpoint for this reason n hav to go back KL right after i juz reach JB. doh.gif
WyjSwmW
post Nov 22 2008, 11:32 AM

862 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 22 2008, 09:17 AM)
How can that be?

All the high paying jobs in high paying industries, HQs etc are in the CBD, Shenton Way, Orchard etc.

At the end of the day, I don't think it's "area" specific, but organisation specific. The best paying jobs in Sg are the global & regional responsibility ones at the MNC HQs. In terms of industry, it's the banks hands down... although that's a bit doubtful nowadays.

This is absolutely true, this is wat companies in Tuas/Bukit Batok must do to attract employees.
All of us like to work in CBD. If those companies in the outskirts don't pay about $200 to $300 more, no one will be willing to work in Tuas area where you cant assess there by MRT.

This is what I experience, last time I got a job offer in Tuas, they willing to pay me $4000 but in City Hall, they willing to pay me $3,750 only. Both companies are listed and are in the similar industry and my designation oso the same. So in the end, I work in Tuas.

2nd one as long as u r within the city limits dun care wheter u say in a shack or in a condo it'll still b expensive irrelevant at all who doesnt know stayig further is more exp.

Didn't I mentioned that you must compare the furthest area with the same size room? How can you compare the rent in Orchard with the rent in Bukit Panjang? You must compare the similar condo in Punggol, Bukit Panjang and Boon Lay for example.

This post has been edited by WyjSwmW: Nov 22 2008, 11:40 AM
J(o)y
post Nov 22 2008, 01:33 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Nov 22 2008, 11:32 AM)
This is absolutely true, this is wat companies in Tuas/Bukit Batok must do to attract employees.
All of us like to work in CBD. If those companies in the outskirts don't pay about $200 to $300 more, no one will be willing to work in Tuas area where you cant assess there by MRT.

This is what I experience, last time I got a job offer in Tuas, they willing to pay me $4000 but in City Hall, they willing to pay me $3,750 only. Both companies are listed and are in the similar industry and my designation oso the same. So in the end, I work in Tuas.
I think u are referring to certain jobs, which are available in both central and outskirt areas.
Probably, an accountant who station in outskirt is getting more than an accountant station in central, as there are some companies where their HQ is in outskirt areas.

But of course for auditors / bankers all are in central. While engineers / manufacturing workers mostly will be in outskirt, so not comparable.
nicvoo
post Nov 22 2008, 02:21 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Nov 22 2008, 11:32 AM)

Didn't I mentioned that you must compare the furthest area with the same size room? How can you compare the rent in Orchard with the rent in Bukit Panjang? You must compare the similar condo in Punggol, Bukit Panjang and Boon Lay for example.
u were mentioning tat staying along the green/re/purple lines would be cheaper if the guy who doesnt know much bout sg reading this forum will take it tat avoid the purple line coz sumone mentioned at its xpensive compared to red n green which is totally untrue it isnt along which "line" u stay the price of rent is subjected primarily the location (town n non town) 2nd accessability (mrt lrt bus) 3rd facilities around the area (shoppin center,market etc) 4th the neighbourhood so on n so forth
Annie
post Nov 23 2008, 09:27 PM

234 posts

anyone got retrenched?
terencetoo
post Nov 24 2008, 10:38 PM

3,246 posts

hie guys...i would like to know the procedure of getting letter of approval from JPJ Malaysia...

I pass my BTT (Basic Theory Test) in my driving license and what they need is the letter of proof where i drive in Malaysia...i visited the www.jpj.com.my but dono where to seek the information...and 1 session indicate i need to pay rm150 per yr to convert my driving license?

As what i told by my frens in singapore (malaysian) they just take a letter from JPJ and bring it back to Singapore and hand it to Traffic Police at the driving center and pay $50 for the conversion.

Anyone here can help me to clarify the procedures?

Appreciate it. Thanks!
LXG
post Nov 25 2008, 11:26 AM

144 posts

Hi Guys, just started to work in SG. hee hee.... good to know that there are so many Malaysian in SG too. smile.gif
washabushi
post Nov 25 2008, 11:32 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Nov 24 2008, 10:38 PM)
hie guys...i would like to know the procedure of getting letter of approval from JPJ Malaysia...

I pass my BTT (Basic Theory Test) in my driving license and what they need is the letter of proof where i drive in Malaysia...i visited the www.jpj.com.my but dono where to seek the information...and 1 session indicate i need to pay rm150 per yr to convert my driving license?

As what i told by my frens in singapore (malaysian) they just take a letter from JPJ and bring it back to Singapore and hand it to Traffic Police at the driving center and pay $50 for the conversion.

Anyone here can help me to clarify the procedures?

Appreciate it. Thanks!
prob u can ask val
he got his license edi..
vincentmoo
post Nov 26 2008, 05:11 PM

107 posts

Don't know whether is suitable to post here. I have 2 grassland bus ticket to go back ipoh on 22nd Jan 2009 10.20pm departure from golden mile. Anyone interested pls call 91463799(singapore) selling at $110 each
JuNz-V
post Nov 26 2008, 09:32 PM

Talk to the Stars!!
2,085 posts

has anyone tried applying for e-xtend?

i'm really confused, i've heard ppl saying that i cannot stay more than 60 days within a 90 days period in sg.. if so, i would have to go back for 1 month before returning..

some say theres no such thing, some say it only depends on your current embarkation card (30 Days), some say this some say that.. rclxub.gif
n i've been to ICA website, called the hotline several times, been to ICA building to inquire but no exact answers and only different answers.. headache sweat.gif

So, without taking any chance, i'm going to try for e-xtend to get another 1 month of stay here in sg.. any advise to how this system works?

This post has been edited by JuNz-V: Nov 26 2008, 09:34 PM
terencetoo
post Nov 26 2008, 10:44 PM

3,246 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 25 2008, 11:32 AM)
prob u can ask val
he got his license edi..
val? in this forum?

i hope he's not taking the whole things here include the practical test smile.gif

Whaa really no one here converted their driving license hmm.gif

COE $2 only hehe cool.gif
washabushi
post Nov 26 2008, 11:52 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Nov 26 2008, 10:44 PM)
val? in this forum?

i hope he's not taking the whole things here include the practical test smile.gif

Whaa really no one here converted their driving license  hmm.gif

COE $2 only hehe cool.gif
aiya...
in that case i suggest u to call those driving skool is da best...
call up like bbdc to check it
MPIK
post Nov 26 2008, 11:58 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(vincentmoo @ Nov 26 2008, 05:11 PM)
Don't know whether is suitable to post here. I have 2 grassland bus ticket to go back ipoh on 22nd Jan 2009 10.20pm departure from golden mile. Anyone interested pls call 91463799(singapore) selling at $110 each
Wah why so expensive? $110 for 1 ticket 1 way? normal price is only $27 for normal express bus or $47 for high class bus. Are you buying at $47 to resell it at $110? Maybe you can scan and post the receipt here bcos my gf who is from Ipoh is interested to buy but only the price is freaking expensive.

BTW, maybe you can sell it Garage Sales as mods won't allow any selling being conducted over here in this thread.

Kthxbye,

This post has been edited by MPIK: Nov 27 2008, 12:01 AM
washabushi
post Nov 27 2008, 12:55 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Nov 26 2008, 11:58 PM)
Wah why so expensive? $110 for 1 ticket 1 way? normal price is only $27 for normal express bus or $47 for high class bus. Are you buying at $47 to resell it at $110? Maybe you can scan and post the receipt here bcos my gf who is from Ipoh is interested to buy but only the price is freaking expensive.

BTW, maybe you can sell it Garage Sales as mods won't allow any selling being conducted over here in this thread.

Kthxbye,
yeah i dont understand also...
http://www.grassland.com.sg/golden-schedule-other.html
J(o)y
post Nov 27 2008, 01:38 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 27 2008, 12:55 PM)
probly he meant RM110 or $110 for 2 tickets instead of "each"

aicescko
post Nov 27 2008, 02:57 PM

115 posts

project base in singapore @ this moment.. anyone mind to tell me... any place for cheap and branded sales ? I come here for 3 weeks ady.. and suprisingly... I didt buy anything...

I wan to buy perfume... I heard that People's park in Chinatown do sells those 'tester' perfume.. anyone know which shop and price range from ? or where can I get cheap perfume ?

got to be quick cos I will back to KL next week....
sukhoi37
post Nov 27 2008, 09:00 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

just back from EXPO sitex.
it sux, no nice gals no good promo.
wasted my time. doh.gif

Added on November 27, 2008, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(aicescko @ Nov 27 2008, 02:57 PM)
project base in singapore @ this moment.. anyone mind to tell me... any place for cheap and branded sales ? I come here for 3 weeks ady.. and suprisingly... I didt buy anything...

I wan to buy perfume... I heard that People's park in Chinatown do sells those 'tester' perfume.. anyone know which shop and price range from ? or where can I get cheap perfume ?

got to be quick cos I will back to KL next week....
you should go to Bugis area, OG and Bugis Junction are great for shopping at the moment. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sukhoi37: Nov 27 2008, 09:02 PM
mONSTers
post Nov 27 2008, 09:35 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Nov 26 2008, 11:58 PM)

Kthxbye,
QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 27 2008, 12:55 PM)
QUOTE(J(o)y @ Nov 27 2008, 01:38 PM)
probly he meant RM110 or $110 for 2 tickets instead of "each"
i not so sure but bus from sg->kl on night of 23rd jan selling at freaking price of S$70. Asked at Golden Mile Complex 3 weeks back. it's alisan.
Supreme Allied Commander
post Nov 27 2008, 11:29 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Nov 27 2008, 10:00 PM)
just back from EXPO sitex.
it sux, no nice gals no good promo.
wasted my time. doh.gif

Added on November 27, 2008, 9:02 pm

you should go to Bugis area, OG and Bugis Junction are great for shopping at the moment. biggrin.gif
Yeap just came back as well thinking of getting that LCD monitor from Samsung

130 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:07 PM