Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

JuNz-V
post Sep 3 2008, 12:05 PM

Talk to the Stars!!
2,085 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Sep 3 2008, 09:07 AM)
May i know the kind of transportation from Singapore to KL besides plane? How bout bus? Do u think it will be available if i buy ticket on the spot? Any company to recommend and the fare cost??
i heard train also possible.. i dont have details on that..
i usally take bus, n the fare varies.. availability depends on seasons as well, off peak then u might get on da spot, but if peak then i don't think so..
Annie
post Sep 3 2008, 12:35 PM

234 posts

KL - SG => konsortium or aeroliner

Chrisky
post Sep 3 2008, 01:11 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

May i know the kind of transportation from Singapore to KL besides plane? How bout bus? Do u think it will be available if i buy ticket on the spot? Any company to recommend and the fare cost??
not sure abt weekends, if its normal weekdays, its easy to get ticket from Larkin. there will be plenty of those fella shouting "KL ! Sekarang !!!" once u step into the terminal. biggrin.gif
bbmars
post Sep 3 2008, 06:01 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ Sep 3 2008, 07:11 AM)
I see... I think for next job I have to ask and request employer to state it clearly on employment letter. Let say a job with $3K salary is actually consists of $2K basic salary + $1K variable component, that really sounds unsafe to me  blush.gif . In many application forms (i.e. job app), $2K vs $3K basic salary makes a big difference tongue.gif
I doubt it will be the case like you said. The variable part is possibly certain % of the salary. During the last recession, my variable was cut too, but <3% overall. My other colleagues who had higher pay had 5% cut whill mgt staff gets 10% depending... including minister (slightly higher pay cut). much depends on your level. but I can't imagine it would be of 30% , not logical unless, everything is agreed upon and signed by both parties. My variable portion is ~ 10% of my fixed salary. I do see merits in the variable portion, just that I am afraid some companies may take advantage of the situation and take advantage of its workers. So be sure what is written clearly if on contract.

this morning, I chated with a foodcourt chinese national selling fishball noodle, she told me she is entitled to 13month bonus too.
seantang
post Sep 3 2008, 08:21 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Sep 3 2008, 06:01 PM)
I chated with a foodcourt chinese national selling fishball noodle, she told me she is entitled to 13month bonus too.
Wow, yue-tan-mui also get 13 month AWS? I wonder if papaya farm girls do as well. Just joking tongue.gif

Dendroid_King
post Sep 3 2008, 09:32 PM

75 posts

Hi guys,

I m interested to work in sg as an audit assistant. I have 2 years working exp n I have a degree from UTAR. Could anyone please kindly help me? May I know is it easy to get one considering now is off peak? Or should I wait till peak period? I have tried jobstreet and its been rather dissapointing...

Thanks. thumbup.gif

J(o)y
post Sep 3 2008, 10:10 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Sep 3 2008, 09:32 PM)
Hi guys,

I m interested to work in sg as an audit assistant. I have 2 years working exp n I have a degree from UTAR. Could anyone please kindly help me? May I know is it easy to get one considering now is off peak? Or should I wait till peak period? I have tried jobstreet and its been rather dissapointing...

Thanks. thumbup.gif
Mayb u shd apply directly to the Big 4, as well as the second tiers, such as BDO, Grant Thornton, etc etc...
Audit is the highly sought after in MOST countries anyway!!!
bbmars
post Sep 3 2008, 11:17 PM

545 posts

Actually there are several of such thread under travel& living blog (singapore trip, budgetted hotel). Recent one still there. You can try 1st coach at Bangsar LRT next to 7-11 store. Cheaper than most with no surcharge and comes with a bottle of water and snack. Sitting lounge with coffee/tea/milo and biscuit at their office.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Sep 3 2008, 11:20 PM
abi
post Sep 4 2008, 08:32 AM

55 posts

it working in singapore is better than malaysia???
i red an article that a bio technologist can earn $3000 per month...... it is true??quite susprising... hmm.gif

any way anyone know the qualifications i need to be biotechnologist??? thumbup.gif

thank u so much rclxms.gif
Annie
post Sep 4 2008, 11:49 AM

234 posts

Xilinx Asia Pacific is looking for IC design engineer :

IC Design Engineer
Job responsibilities:
• Participate in the design and development of digital logic blocks
• Design implementation responsibilities include digital circuit & logic design, behavioral and RTL coding, logic synthesis and optimization, design for test, timing analysis, place & route, timing closure, formal and physical verification.
• Developing simulation test benches and test cases for the verification of block level functionality and chip level integration.
• Development and test of functional simulation models
• Verification and characterization of devices in silicon.

Job requirements:
• Bachelor/Masters Degree in Electronic Engineering with 1-2 years experience. Fresh graduates with outstanding academic performance will also be considered.
• A strong foundation in electronic circuit design and analysis
• Good analytical problem solving skills.
• Strong written and verbal communication skills
• Strong interpersonal skills and a team player

Anyone interested? pls PM me.
xyngfei
post Sep 4 2008, 04:32 PM

366 posts

Any places can introduction for me to take the dinner buffet?
budget for each person around < SGD 25
Annie
post Sep 4 2008, 04:54 PM

234 posts

safra japanese buffet

louismhc
post Sep 4 2008, 07:23 PM

466 posts

Jurong east japanese buffet nod.gif
If you willing to pay for those price my suggestion go to Boon Lay that shopping mall (Lower groud floor) u have more choice, coz last weekend i when there and their sashimi is very nice!!
Planning to go there again this weekend tongue.gif
nicvoo
post Sep 4 2008, 09:57 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(xyngfei @ Sep 4 2008, 04:32 PM)
marina sq yuki yaki 25 something forgot exactly how much

QUOTE(louismhc @ Sep 4 2008, 07:23 PM)
Jurong east japanese buffet nod.gif
If you willing to pay for those price my suggestion go to Boon Lay that shopping mall (Lower groud floor) u have more choice, coz last weekend i when there and their sashimi is very nice!!
Planning to go there again this weekend tongue.gif
lol tat place dun cost 25 only right hahaha 30++ almost 40

the mall called jurong point at boonlay mrt

can try suntec sizzeller or sakae sushi (only selected outlets) both also 35++ below 30

louismhc
post Sep 4 2008, 10:53 PM

466 posts

sakae sushi is not fresh enough le......jurong point that shop is damn nice.
I forget the name is on lower ground, right hand side first shop.
Find The Way
post Sep 5 2008, 07:33 AM

724 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Sep 3 2008, 06:01 PM)

I do see merits in the variable portion, just that I am afraid some companies may take advantage of the situation and take advantage of its workers.  So be sure what is written clearly if on contract. 
this morning, I chated with a foodcourt chinese national selling fishball noodle, she told me she is entitled to 13month bonus too.
Agree with you. I guess just have to be smart lo.
Chrisky
post Sep 5 2008, 09:04 AM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Sep 4 2008, 11:49 AM)
Xilinx Asia Pacific is looking for IC design engineer :

IC Design Engineer
Job responsibilities:
• Participate in the design and development of digital logic blocks
• Design implementation responsibilities include digital circuit & logic design, behavioral and RTL coding, logic synthesis and optimization, design for test, timing analysis, place & route, timing closure, formal and physical verification.
• Developing simulation test benches and test cases for the verification of block level functionality and chip level integration.
• Development and test of functional simulation models
• Verification and characterization of devices in silicon.

Job requirements:
• Bachelor/Masters Degree in Electronic Engineering with 1-2 years experience. Fresh graduates with outstanding academic performance will also be considered.
• A strong foundation in electronic circuit design and analysis
• Good analytical problem solving skills.
• Strong written and verbal communication skills
• Strong interpersonal skills and a team player

Anyone interested? pls PM me.
lol Annie u got any 'lubang' for like IT Support / Administator job ? tongue.gif

btw its raining day n night recently, damn sienz. sleep.gif
Annie
post Sep 5 2008, 10:26 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Sep 5 2008, 09:04 AM)
lol Annie u got any 'lubang' for like IT Support / Administator job ?  tongue.gif

btw its raining day n night recently, damn sienz. sleep.gif
so far no.
but will post it here if there is any opening

raining morning and evening, especially during rush hour
bluefox
post Sep 5 2008, 10:57 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(xyngfei @ Sep 4 2008, 04:32 PM)
Hey Hey,

Try this few

Budget around $25 not exactly buffet but will work out for comp's weekend meetup:nod:

hooters (with parties)
http://www.hooters.com.sg/chef_menu_1.htm
http://www.hooters.com.sg/specials.htm

Others F&B @ clarkeQ'
http://www.clarkequay.com.sg/store_blkd.htm

The tent Mongolian and grill (buffet)
http://www.thetent.com.sg/gallery02.html

New York New York - city hall mrt
Fish & Co - dhoby ghaut
Carls' junior -east coast
http://www.carlsjr.com.sg/live/sandwich.php - east coast park

http://www.flavor.sg/best-restaurants-in-s...s-in-singapore/

http://thefoodlaw.blogspot.com/search/labe...0Below%20S%2425

others
http://www.flavor.sg/best-restaurants-in-s...use-restaurant/

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by bluefox: Sep 5 2008, 11:18 AM
nameless
post Sep 5 2008, 03:12 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(bluefox @ Sep 5 2008, 10:57 AM)
Hey Hey,

Try this few

Budget around $25 not exactly buffet but will work out for comp's weekend meetup:nod:

hooters (with parties)
http://www.hooters.com.sg/chef_menu_1.htm
http://www.hooters.com.sg/specials.htm

Others F&B @ clarkeQ'
http://www.clarkequay.com.sg/store_blkd.htm

The tent Mongolian and grill (buffet)
http://www.thetent.com.sg/gallery02.html
New York New York - city hall mrt
Fish & Co - dhoby ghaut
Carls' junior -east coast
http://www.carlsjr.com.sg/live/sandwich.php - east coast park

http://www.flavor.sg/best-restaurants-in-s...s-in-singapore/
http://thefoodlaw.blogspot.com/search/labe...0Below%20S%2425 
others
http://www.flavor.sg/best-restaurants-in-s...use-restaurant/

icon_rolleyes.gif
is Hooters really serve by hot girls in their website images? drool.gif drool.gif

130 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:27 AM