AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V3, Thread stays on V3 till October.Read 1st
danieljoey
Jul 24 2008, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 24 2008, 10:23 PM) y not? 4870 got better dual slot cooler le.. We are on naked setup... QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 24 2008, 10:28 PM) In that case it's better off getting a 3rd party cooler  . But i've seen coolice 4850 overclocking the result not impressive. Max. OC only gains 1-2FPS in Crysis  Yeah.. 4870 is better.. The setup we tested this noon... GPU score is 7k on P and 5k on H.. default clocks... bottleneck by cpu.. AMD X2 4000+ only.. Pic... This post has been edited by danieljoey: Jul 24 2008, 11:09 PM Attached thumbnail(s)
ben3003
Jul 24 2008, 11:17 PM
Naked setup doesnt justify anything.The air is properly dumb out from the back while the 4850 might have some air trapping behind. ANd also, the heatsink for 4870 is biggger, summore the fan is also bigger, of coz 4870 is giving better cooling at higher fan speed. U can see how puny is the 4850 fan.
This post has been edited by ben3003: Jul 24 2008, 11:17 PM
zeustronic
Jul 24 2008, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(danieljoey @ Jul 24 2008, 11:30 PM) We are on naked setup... Yeah.. 4870 is better.. The setup we tested this noon... The fan as loud as hand dryer zzzz, 50% still can stand. Borrow us u Q9450 i wanna test  .
owikh84
Jul 25 2008, 12:01 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(n0v4m4r1n3 @ Jul 24 2008, 11:56 PM) Will be an ATi HIS HD4850 owner soon...... Hohohohohho  Welcome to red team. EDITED This post has been edited by owikh84: Jul 25 2008, 12:02 AM
danieljoey
Jul 25 2008, 12:21 AM
QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jul 24 2008, 11:52 PM) The fan as loud as hand dryer zzzz, 50% still can stand. Borrow us u Q9450 i wanna test  . U go get mobo then i sponsor proc
Archaven
Jul 25 2008, 12:45 AM
QUOTE(danieljoey @ Jul 24 2008, 10:30 PM) We are on naked setup... Yeah.. 4870 is better.. The setup we tested this noon... GPU score is 7k on P and 5k on H.. default clocks... bottleneck by cpu.. AMD X2 4000+ only.. Pic... how about max oc on crysis at least 1680x1050 ?
danieljoey
Jul 25 2008, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 25 2008, 12:45 AM) how about max oc on crysis at least 1680x1050 ?  Nope didnt test...
Archaven
Jul 25 2008, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(danieljoey @ Jul 25 2008, 12:51 AM) for me.. gameplay result better than benchmarks
danieljoey
Jul 25 2008, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 25 2008, 12:53 AM) for me.. gameplay result better than benchmarks  Will test again tmr
ivanchin99
Jul 25 2008, 01:31 AM
It'd be nice if you could test 4850 in a naked environment
danieljoey
Jul 25 2008, 01:59 AM
QUOTE(ivanchin99 @ Jul 25 2008, 01:31 AM) It'd be nice if you could test 4850 in a naked environment  I ask my friend see he want to test or not
Roland San
Jul 25 2008, 03:03 AM

Just got a 4870. Installed 8.7 clean on a fresh Vista on brand new HDD. Temps were hovering at 76 degrees idle, so then I set it to manual at 50%.
Holy hell it was so loud I couldn't hear myself think 0.o
It's now at 31% and 49 degrees idle, any more and the volume would significantly increase.
Gonna get a HR-03GT, as it is now the card is too hot and noisy.
Edit: I just put it under some load, temps shot up to 65 degrees but fan didn't adjust. In manual mode, the fan will not increase with the temperature, even if it hits a critical threshold?
This post has been edited by Roland San: Jul 25 2008, 03:09 AM
wingwp
Jul 25 2008, 03:37 AM
it depends on game developer to allow external AA setting, in tis case edge detect is unable to work in GRID however wen I try edge detect in Age of Conan it works but fps drop alot.. QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 24 2008, 07:11 PM) I got 1 question: I set the AA setting to 4x "Edge Detect" but it wont show any effect in GRID. I turn off the AA in GRID menu edi but still no effect.
zeustronic
Jul 25 2008, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(ivanchin99 @ Jul 25 2008, 02:31 AM) It'd be nice if you could test 4850 in a naked environment  I've test naked environment on HD4850 fan speed @ 50% idle 45C & long hours gaming @ 66C  .
juine
Jul 25 2008, 11:20 AM
Seriously I really wonder how you people can bear with the noise it make when it pump up the fan speed..
when the first time I buy.. I put in and test whether can start.. 5 min later .. I stripped it naked and put in on with Thermalright HR03 GT and artic silver 5.. then enjoy my card starting from there till now..
run a benchmark on 3dmark06 to test stability, checking the temp and no f***in noise which I cannot bear especially when I play game. so far the longest game I play on it was The Witcher for like 5-6hours of gameplay.. no lock up or crash bullshit...
so far so good.. I loved it.. and I highly recommend you to get the 3rd party cooler.. if you plan to run crossfire get thermaltake duoorb...
I got my thermalright last time for sgd95.. ya I know fukin expensive.. but.. I wanna tell you it fukin worth every penny! : D
iostream
Jul 25 2008, 11:24 AM

QUOTE(juine @ Jul 25 2008, 11:20 AM) Seriously I really wonder how you people can bear with the noise it make when it pump up the fan speed.. when the first time I buy.. I put in and test whether can start.. 5 min later .. I stripped it naked and put in on with Thermalright HR03 GT and artic silver 5.. then enjoy my card starting from there till now.. run a benchmark on 3dmark06 to test stability, checking the temp and no f***in noise which I cannot bear especially when I play game. so far the longest game I play on it was The Witcher for like 5-6hours of gameplay.. no lock up or crash bullshit... so far so good.. I loved it.. and I highly recommend you to get the 3rd party cooler.. if you plan to run crossfire get thermaltake duoorb... I got my thermalright last time for sgd95.. ya I know fukin expensive.. but.. I wanna tell you it fukin worth every penny! : D Different ears have different acceptance levels. Different casings have different noise isolation capabilities too.
juine
Jul 25 2008, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(iostream @ Jul 25 2008, 11:24 AM) Different ears have different acceptance levels. Different casings have different noise isolation capabilities too. ic.. my casing used for 8 years www.. the old skool CM ATC210C www.. and I know my casing wasn't so good at air ventilation and the noise isolation... that's why I'm more skeptical on that both part. I loved my casing.. and still no have plan to upgrade.. if I wanna upgrade .. probably will be a really expensive one.. otherwise.. I can't bear to part with it.. got feeling with it liao.. : D
butthead012
Jul 25 2008, 11:34 AM
the fan for GC is loud when its running at 80% - 100% try to turn it down to 40-50%... its real quiet... when u are gaming or stress it then only turn up the fan speed... that's real easy with Riva Tuner...
if u are lazy to always tune it then get Hr-03 or arctic accelero ~ they are nice and quiet...
Dickong
Jul 25 2008, 11:44 AM
I am using 8.7 driver but the riva tuner doesnt work with the driver .