tishaban
post Oct 17 2008, 08:36 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 16 2008, 03:03 PM)
@ Tinkerbel,

i was asking about Maybank Petronas card, he reply Amex pulak... sweat.gif
I also said do the calculation yourself. The Amex was an example lah because it also provides 5x points similar to the Maybank Petronas card. Next time read the whole post tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tishaban: Oct 17 2008, 08:37 AM
SUSDavid83
post Oct 17 2008, 08:38 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 17 2008, 08:36 AM)
I also said do the calculation yourself. The Amex was an example lah because it also provides 5x points similar to the Maybank Petronas card. Next time read the whole post  tongue.gif
The 5x TP with AMEX is given to what kind of purchases? Petrol?

This post has been edited by David83: Oct 17 2008, 08:38 AM
tishaban
post Oct 17 2008, 08:52 AM

3,615 posts

I get 5x points on Amex for all purchases including gas stations although so far only Shell and Caltex accept Amex.

Here's how I do the calculations, slightly more detailed than cute_boboi's calculations.

- I spent around RM8k on Amex already this year, have almost 51k points.

- The redemption amounts is roughly 8500 points per RM50 at KFC/MPH/Petronas etc. that's about RM300 worth of vouchers.

- On my Amex statements, each RM1 spent gets me 1 point *plus* 5 extra points for a total of 6 points. Not sure how it works with other cards, look at your statements closely.

So RM300/RM8000 is around 3.7% which is way better than the 2% cash rebates with other cards.

SUSDavid83
post Oct 17 2008, 08:56 AM

52,874 posts

Why I couldn't find any info on 5x TP with AMEX from M2U website?
tishaban
post Oct 17 2008, 09:16 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 17 2008, 08:56 AM)
Why I couldn't find any info on 5x TP with AMEX from M2U website?
Good question, I don't know. Tinkerbel only gets 2x on regular purchases and 10x for special partners on her Amex Platinum. I only have an Amex gold card and I get 5x on everything. I looked on m2u and can't find anything about it too. I know Amex had a Turbo points option before, don't know if this is the one I'm on. Either way I'm enjoying my 5x points.

btw my calculations above is only valid when you reach the minimum amount of points. So assuming the minimum to get RM50 voucher is 9000 points (ie. spending RM1500) then using cards for points is only useful if you actually spend > RM1500.

cute_boboi
post Oct 17 2008, 09:40 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(reinani @ Oct 16 2008, 06:40 PM)
whats so good about Amex? I remember long time ago ppl stopped using Amex and go for Mastercard...
Not much to shout about Amex. yawn.gif It is not widely accepted in M'sia.
Only good thing is minimum 2x TP if I use my MBB Amex Credit Card on all purchases, if the merchant accept Amex. sweat.gif

Added on October 17, 2008, 9:42 amtishaban,

Are you using Amex Credit or Charge card ? hmm.gif

Previously when I start to use MBB Amex Credit card, MBB has 5x TP promotion for 1-2 years on all purchases. After that, reduce to 2x TP forever.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Oct 17 2008, 09:42 AM
joenjill
post Oct 17 2008, 09:56 AM

1,015 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:14 PM)
anybody using PBB cc now? i found nothing can be redeemed oh!?!?! Im having a Manchester United Mastercard, currently has 80000+ points but unfortunately, I dunno wat can be redeemed!
just tried to access PBB website? or try call help-desk for asking....
maybe can redeem Old trafford ticket?? tongue.gif thumbup.gif laugh.gif icon_idea.gif brows.gif
tishaban
post Oct 17 2008, 10:14 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 17 2008, 09:40 AM)
Are you using Amex Credit or Charge card ?  hmm.gif

Previously when I start to use MBB Amex Credit card, MBB has 5x TP promotion for 1-2 years on all purchases. After that, reduce to 2x TP forever.
I'm using the charge card. Still wondering what I should redeem with those points....

TSvin_ann
post Oct 17 2008, 10:23 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Oct 16 2008, 08:14 PM)
anybody using PBB cc now? i found nothing can be redeemed oh!?!?! Im having a Manchester United Mastercard, currently has 80000+ points but unfortunately, I dunno wat can be redeemed!
got thing can be redeem, the question is are the thing tht's you need, tht you want?

what i can see is PBB redeem's products is more to uncle aunty preferance. haha
deitel73
post Oct 17 2008, 11:26 AM

38 posts

Hi anyone who did comparison regarding credit card protection between HSBC and Citibank ??

Pls advise.

Added on October 17, 2008, 11:28 amThe website is show as belows :-

http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-bankin...protection-plus

http://www.citibank.com.my/APPS/portal/loa..._protection.htm

This post has been edited by deitel73: Oct 17 2008, 11:28 AM
tishaban
post Oct 17 2008, 11:41 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(deitel73 @ Oct 17 2008, 11:26 AM)
Hi anyone who did comparison regarding credit card protection between HSBC and Citibank ??

Pls advise.

http://www.hsbc.com.my/1/2/personal-bankin...protection-plus

http://www.citibank.com.my/APPS/portal/loa..._protection.htm
Aside from the convenience of cancelling all your cards in one go, what advantage do you really get from these products?

Also I don't understand the fraud protection part (RM4400 or RM300k after notification). BNM standards say you are only liable for the first RM250 for any fraudulent transactions.

Anyone have more info?

sweetcat
post Oct 17 2008, 11:59 AM

185 posts

wanted to ask, first time apply CC, isit the bank where u bank in salary is much more easier? like i m using UOB all the while, shud i stick back to UOB or try some local bank?
hye
post Oct 17 2008, 12:16 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 17 2008, 11:41 AM)
Aside from the convenience of cancelling all your cards in one go, what advantage do you really get from these products?

Also I don't understand the fraud protection part (RM4400 or RM300k after notification). BNM standards say you are only liable for the first RM250 for any fraudulent transactions.

Anyone have more info?
If you read the T&C carefully, the fraud protection works for any transaction that is done AFTER you report that your card is lost. What it means is that ... you are still liable for anything done before the report is made. Honestly, just make sure you call your banks after your wallet is stolen/lost.
yiivei
post Oct 17 2008, 12:16 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

ush~ i hav receive my DA credit card.. can i choose x to activate it first. since the xpire period is 2013...

do i juz call up to activate when i need to? do i need to request anything after tat?

how does the secure e-pay works? can register upon activation or can register straight away witout activation?

and for the ATM usage, can i apply for the pin to be send by calling the cs.. or do i need to mail the form provided?

btw~ i received 2 cards. i only intend to activate 1.. which 1 recomemnded most? my sole purpose is to pay my CPA fees online..

This post has been edited by yiivei: Oct 17 2008, 12:17 PM
SUSDavid83
post Oct 17 2008, 12:17 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Oct 17 2008, 11:59 AM)
wanted to ask, first time apply CC, isit the bank where u bank in salary is much more easier? like i m using UOB all the while, shud i stick back to UOB or try some local bank?
Doesn't really matter but it gives higher chance of getting the application successful. biggrin.gif
sweetcat
post Oct 17 2008, 12:20 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 17 2008, 12:17 PM)
Doesn't really matter but it gives higher chance of getting the application successful. biggrin.gif
oh, izzit?

i heard that those which is not local bank has higher requirement in terms of basic salary needed...

like i m 1.8k per month, m i eligible? coz some said need 2 k per month for a normal visa / master card cry.gif
tgeoklin
post Oct 17 2008, 12:40 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(sweetcat @ Oct 17 2008, 12:20 PM)
oh, izzit?

i heard that those which is not local bank has higher requirement in terms of basic salary needed...

like i m 1.8k per month, m i eligible? coz some said need 2 k per month for a normal visa / master card  cry.gif
Nah, you are good, unless got some adverse credit history etc tongue.gif
zephyryu
post Oct 17 2008, 01:00 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Oct 17 2008, 12:16 PM)
ush~ i hav receive my DA credit card.. can i choose x to activate it first. since the xpire period is 2013...

do i juz call up to activate when i need to? do i need to request anything after tat?

how does the secure e-pay works? can register upon activation or can register straight away witout activation?

and for the ATM usage, can i apply for the pin to be send by calling the cs.. or do i need to mail the form provided?

btw~ i received 2 cards. i only intend to activate 1.. which 1 recomemnded most? my sole purpose is to pay my CPA fees online..

if you don't call them, they will call you to ask whether you have received the cards or not and they will ask to activate it on the spot...

you only have to register at their website in order to activate the secure e-pay, only then the cards can be used for online transaction... and from my experience you need to ask cs the date for the bills also since the secure e-pay activation will request for it...

for the atm pin, i tried asking cs if i can get it without sending the form but they said cannot, must send the form only then will get...

for DA, it seemed that only mastercard is useful since using mastercard will get you the 2% petrol rebate but not the visa card... you can activate both but you don't have to use both since the cards are free for life without any pre-requisite requirement

yiivei
post Oct 17 2008, 01:14 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(zephyryu @ Oct 17 2008, 01:00 PM)
if you don't call them, they will call you to ask whether you have received the cards or not and they will ask to activate it on the spot...

you only have to register at their website in order to activate the secure e-pay, only then the cards can be used for online transaction... and from my experience you need to ask cs the date for the bills also since the secure e-pay activation will request for it...

for the atm pin, i tried asking cs if i can get it without sending the form but they said cannot, must send the form only then will get...

for DA, it seemed that only mastercard is useful since using mastercard will get you the 2% petrol rebate but not the visa card... you can activate both but you don't have to use both since the cards are free for life without any pre-requisite requirement
oo. so then i juz wait for thier calls. hehe~ save cost.. then i juz activate both card.. since mastercard is good for petrol rebate and visa is for my online transactions. and since im paying my fees online, tat mean secure epay is a must for me to be activated rite?

btw~ if i were to buy things at shop, i juz bring alone the card and swap it? tats all? if like this, then wat if my card got stolen, then they can swap it?

SUSDavid83
post Oct 17 2008, 01:21 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Oct 17 2008, 01:14 PM)
oo. so then i juz wait for thier calls. hehe~ save cost.. then i juz activate both card.. since mastercard is good for petrol rebate and visa is for my online transactions. and since im paying my fees online, tat mean secure epay is a must for me to be activated rite?

btw~ if i were to buy things at shop, i juz bring alone the card and swap it? tats all? if like this, then wat if my card got stolen, then they can swap it?

If your card stolen, immediately call the CS to cancel your card or freeze your account.

125 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:36 AM