Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access

TSvin_ann
post Sep 9 2008, 08:01 AM

10,912 posts

hey guys it's Tuesday,

i saw the Big Cash Rebate at Carrefour of Maybank advertisement. Previously if im not wrong, i thought it's only for Maybank Amex card, now im reading the Terms n Conditions stated below the advertisement in The Sun Newspaper :

Cash Rebate is only applicable to all Maybank Credit Cards and American Express Charge and Credit Card.

Yeah, anyways, today also planned to do shopping.
tachlio
post Sep 9 2008, 08:43 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

When i get CC, do it had any rule that i had to follow to cancel the card(Not Yet active)
ronnie
post Sep 9 2008, 08:47 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Does the merchant actually verify with the bank on the signature you sign ? If not why do I need to sign ?
hye
post Sep 9 2008, 09:04 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Sep 9 2008, 08:43 AM)
When i get CC, do it had any rule that i had to follow to cancel the card(Not Yet active)
If I'm not mistaken, unactivated cards will be automatically cancelled after 6 months. However, I suggest you make that call to the bank (they may even request you to write in depending on the bank) and cancel that card - get a good night sleep knowing you have cancelled that card properly. On some occasions, they will ask you to reconsider your decision but it is entirely up to you.

Bro ... U r acccesing the thread from Tokyo ? Cool !

Added on September 9, 2008, 9:07 am
QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 9 2008, 08:47 AM)
Does the merchant actually verify with the bank on the signature you sign ? If not why do I need to sign ?
No they don't but it is a requirement that you sign the card as per Mastercard and VISA International rules. Read what is stated behind - "Card is not valid unless signed". Some merchant will refuse to accept your card if you don't sign - it all depends on your luck whether you can get away with it.

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 9 2008, 09:07 AM
tachlio
post Sep 9 2008, 09:12 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 9 2008, 09:04 AM)
If I'm not mistaken, unactivated cards will be automatically cancelled after 6 months. However, I suggest you make that call to the bank (they may even request you to write in depending on the bank) and cancel that card - get a good night sleep knowing you have cancelled that card properly. On some occasions, they will ask you to reconsider your decision but it is entirely up to you.

Bro ... U r acccesing the thread from Tokyo ? Cool !
haha u still rmb i going tokyo?

Really thk for all the help so far...

Till now because last time i very rush so i apply as many card as i can hope can get any of them b4 i go Tokyo

now Hong Leong, Standard Charard, CIMB DA, UOB n Diners call me said my card is approve rclxub.gif
I scare later MBB n HSBC said on the way also.. so planning to cancel the card once i get sweat.gif

cham suddently feel i holding too many card if get lost my card i die hard doh.gif

so i thinking to keep DA + UOB first... diners still considering tongue.gif
zenwell
post Sep 9 2008, 10:01 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 9 2008, 08:01 AM)
hey guys it's Tuesday,

i saw the Big Cash Rebate at Carrefour of Maybank advertisement. Previously if im not wrong, i thought it's only for Maybank Amex card, now im reading the Terms n Conditions stated below the advertisement in The Sun Newspaper :

Cash Rebate is only applicable to all Maybank Credit Cards and American Express Charge and Credit Card.

Yeah, anyways, today also planned to do shopping.
means today if shop at carrefour with Maybank CC will get cash rebate? how many %? today only?
TSvin_ann
post Sep 9 2008, 10:16 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Sep 9 2008, 10:01 AM)
means today if shop at carrefour with Maybank CC will get cash rebate? how many %? today only?
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/promotions/may...our/index.shtml

Super Tuesday 10% rclxms.gif

Normal day 5%..

Horey, just now received call from GSC CS, telling me tht all error transactions will be do the reversal. all problems solved.

it's quite efficient. yesterday give card number today know the result.
babylabbit
post Sep 9 2008, 11:10 AM

4,339 posts

Up to 10% and cap at RM 50 per month ? adoiii
zenwell
post Sep 9 2008, 03:16 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 9 2008, 10:16 AM)
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/promotions/may...our/index.shtml

Super Tuesday 10%  rclxms.gif

Normal day 5%.. 

Horey, just now received call from GSC CS, telling me tht all error transactions will be do the reversal. all problems solved.

it's quite efficient. yesterday give card number today know the result.
up to a maximum of RM50.00 means RM5.00 rebate per month only. sad.gif

no worth my petrol to run there though. tesco is nearer biggrin.gif
TSvin_ann
post Sep 9 2008, 03:29 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(babylabbit @ Sep 9 2008, 11:10 AM)
Up to 10% and cap at RM 50 per month ? adoiii
QUOTE(zenwell @ Sep 9 2008, 03:16 PM)
up to a maximum of RM50.00 means RM5.00 rebate per month only.  sad.gif

no worth my petrol to run there though. tesco is nearer  biggrin.gif
Cash Rebate is up to a maximum of RM50 per cardmember per month only.

did ur reading / understanding got wrong or it's my wrong??

it's cash rebate of RM50.

it's spend RM500 (500 x 10%= RM50) per month for carrefour for it provided in Tuesday only?

it's spend RM1000 (1,000 x 5% = RM50) per month for carrefour for it provided spend other than Tuesday.

@zenwell,

no 1 is force u go to Carrefour, im just sharing.... icon_rolleyes.gif

zenwell
post Sep 9 2008, 06:19 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 9 2008, 03:29 PM)
Cash Rebate is up to a maximum of RM50 per cardmember per month only.

did ur reading / understanding got wrong or it's my wrong??

it's cash rebate of RM50.

it's spend RM500 (500 x 10%= RM50) per month for carrefour for it provided in Tuesday only?

it's spend RM1000 (1,000 x 5% = RM50) per month for carrefour for it provided spend other than Tuesday.

@zenwell,

no 1 is force u go to Carrefour, im just sharing....  icon_rolleyes.gif
oh yeah, it is rebate up to RM50.00. mean tuesday spend RM500.00max will get rebate. Haha. Sorry Just now I read too fast. that means I will go Subang carrefour I think.
muscaa
post Sep 9 2008, 06:36 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Sep 9 2008, 03:16 PM)
up to a maximum of RM50.00 means RM5.00 rebate per month only.  sad.gif

no worth my petrol to run there though. tesco is nearer  biggrin.gif
they are clever lah, usually carrefour and giant give discount/sale during weekend.
not much of cheap stuff we can buy from them on tuesday shakehead.gif
TSvin_ann
post Sep 9 2008, 10:47 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Sep 9 2008, 01:07 PM)
A: Hello, I am calling from XXXX and to do verification on your credit cards. Which banks you are using now for the credit cards? CitiBank, Alliance?
Me: No, I cancelled them.
A: Then which bank you have now?
Me: Maybank
A: Is the card starts from 5428 or 5400?
Me: 5400
A: After the 5400, the 4 numbers are 6700 or 6800?
Me: 6800
A: What is the expired date of the card?
Me: 09/2009
A: Not correct sir....

(Pandai, she knew I tricked her

Me: Wait, I go to see now:
Me: XX/2010
A: Correct
A: What is the 8 digits number after 5400 6700?
Me: XXXX XXXX (I started to bomb her)
A: Ok
A: Have you signed the card? Make sure you signed it and no body can misuse when they obtained.
Me: Ok
A: Can you read me the 3 numbers on the signature place?
Me: 001
A: Not correct sir...
Me: Correct la... it is 001
A: Can you please read me your IC number.
Me: No, I can't give you. Since you wanted to verify me, you should have it.
A: No, we can't tell you. You must tell us.
Me: Insisted not telling. Why not you tell me my IC number and I answered you correct or incorrect.
A: No, cannot.
Me: No, I can't give like that since I can't verify your identity. Somemore you are not using Maybank official phone number. You are using DiGI.
A: Sir, we use DiGi business plan and this is our call.
A: You can give me your IC?
Me: No.

Hanged up.....
rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

I will call DiGi later and to verify the phone.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/787129

take notes.... do not simply give credit card number or IC to people...

well done Jack.

hye
post Sep 10 2008, 08:08 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

HSBC CS once alerted me of such scams. Be careful guys but do not be discouraged from buying things online.
agrace
post Sep 10 2008, 10:26 AM

49 posts

hi all, i'm new here. just want to share my dissastisfaction on Maybank. i applied Maybank SonyCard somewhere in June, and faxed over the docs on the same day. In Jul, i called up several times to check on my application status. but was told that it was still "processing". i asked the CSO whether they hav received all the docs, they said yes.

Fine, so i decided to continue to wait. i called up almost every wk but all they can said is still processing. so i decided to wrote in, finally someone replied me somewhere in Jul, one mth later after my application. she said my application is still pendign as i did not provide for my relative details & my IC is not clear. i was really fed up. it took them one mth to discover this!?? i emailed them to info the followign day. guess what, another mth has past. i've still yet to receive the card. i emailed the CSO again, ask her to expedite. she promised so but still no news. i wrote to them again to complain on the svcs, etc etc. finally they email me 2 days ago to inform me that the card is (finally) approved.

it actually took them > 3 mths to process a cc application!!? according to their site, all applications approved up to 31 Aug are entitled to life time annual fee waiver. but the card is only approved in Sep, i dont know whether this is why they are delayign my card. anyway, i hav write in again, lets see how long do they take to revert to me this time

ruztynail
post Sep 10 2008, 10:27 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

for CIMB Direct access.. do i need to include my degree certificate and business card? necesary ar??
tachlio
post Sep 10 2008, 11:26 AM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

Last week i apply DA, they told me must had cert! but due to some problem i said i unable pass the cert 1st. so i give them my payslip and offer letter..

I scare DA fail so i apply petronas mastercard too....

The next tuesday they call me said my card is pass and on the way to me ~(I been told the card arrive my home on thurday but no one at home so it pass back to pos office, i call them they said will resend to my company this week)

On the same friday, they call me again said my petronas mastercard also approve~ @@ i direct said dont want ady...

So i think if u provide enought thing to CIMB the cert really doesn't concern.

Somemore they process really fast !! thumbs up for CIMB this time!!

For MBB i also apply, later i wanna call them said don need process le.. 2 week plus no even call me, need me call them n said in progessing , due slow. somemore my salary is direct go MBB why need so many document.. really dissapointed with MBB.

BTW, Hong Leong, UOB, n Standard Charted all had call me in one week time. HL i get ady, UOB on the way too. SC still in progress but i wanna cancel HL n SC liao~
hye
post Sep 10 2008, 12:02 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Sep 10 2008, 10:27 AM)
for CIMB Direct access.. do i need to include my degree certificate and business card? necesary ar??
Yes ... because Direct Access is a product for graduates only. They have a different product for non-graduates.
ruztynail
post Sep 10 2008, 12:13 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

but i hv the cert thingy. but no business card ler.. how?! lol
jeff_ckf
post Sep 10 2008, 12:20 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Sep 10 2008, 12:13 PM)
but i hv the cert thingy. but no business card ler.. how?! lol
No business card is needed la...only certificate from where you graduated

125 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:45 AM