65 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Iphone 3g officially in Malaysia.... SOON?

Eddx
post Mar 2 2009, 03:36 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

i got 1 from optus australia and after GST i get mine for rm1.8k...telco unlocked too...
deepan84
post Mar 2 2009, 03:38 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

dats damn cheap..u can get from NZ oso wat..d Forex is low at d moment..
Eddx
post Mar 2 2009, 03:42 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

it's a 16GB version btw...and i'm a happy iphone 3g user...i think SG set is around 2.4k right? why maxis is charging rm3.6k? (after the conversion done by the web provided on previous page)

This post has been edited by Eddx: Mar 2 2009, 03:42 PM
deepan84
post Mar 2 2009, 03:45 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ Mar 2 2009, 03:42 PM)
it's a 16GB version btw...and i'm a happy iphone 3g user...i think SG set is around 2.4k right? why maxis is charging rm3.6k? (after the conversion done by the web provided on previous page)
dats quite an obvious answer. maxis = money suckin company. their fone deals are never good. (except mayb touch HD..lol)
Eddx
post Mar 2 2009, 03:48 PM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Mar 2 2009, 03:45 PM)
dats quite an obvious answer. maxis = money suckin company. their fone deals are never good. (except mayb touch HD..lol)
did not really notice their phone price program..haha..i think maxis would b making a lot of money from this deal
g3n0c1d3
post Mar 2 2009, 03:59 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

like i said... i wont believe in rumors until i see it myself... as far as the price... yes.. we do tend to see unbelievable price if what ever telco successfully bringing in the phone.... this is not a make up story (as u all know our telco are much leech i might add)

as far as the rumors goes... i'll be sure counting the days by then....

jaybee
post Mar 2 2009, 05:59 PM

77 posts

lol....this thread is still alive?
DaViDcHiN
post Mar 2 2009, 07:16 PM

2,720 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ Mar 2 2009, 03:42 PM)
If it is going to be RM250 per month, I doubt who's going to sign the contract, it is really too much.
Kazachok
post Mar 3 2009, 06:41 AM

331 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 2 2009, 10:18 AM)
russia no 3G?
in saint petersburg got but
not yet in moscow.
maybe this year, or early next year i guess
bjkhan
post Mar 3 2009, 08:49 AM

178 posts

Take this story with a pinch of salt.

I work in a Telco Solution provider company so naturally I meet the Telcos pretty regularly. Yesterday I had a meeting with some senior mangers from Maxis in regards to some deal we were working on. Then my phone rang, and I took it out of my pocket and answered the call. After answering the call, I put my phone on the desk. My phone is actually a iPhone from Singapore. Then the Maxis guys asked me where I got it from. I told him my story on the phone. Then they said, within the end of the month Maxis will be launching the phone. Then the manager ask me how much I am paying for the phone bill. I told him I am using the Value Plan 80 + RM99 for the unlimited data package. Then he said most probably you will be getting a free iPhone. I asked why? They told me that Maxis is planning to offer a package which will cost around RM160 a month which comes with unlimited data package. Then they asked me if I have a existing contract. I said no, then they said then most likely they will offer you the phone in exchange to a contract. I told them I will be more than happy to sign contract and get the phone free.

Anyway, from the way they were telling seems like its pretty soon because previously when we talked they always say they don't when iPhone will come and everybody is asking from them.

But I still don't see Malaysia in the iPhone map. Or any info in the Maxis portal. I know there is a rumor that March 23 will have an Apple Media event. It could be announced there. Anyway, above is my exact script. I didn't ask anything more or less. So don't ask me if asked anything else.
PeeEl
post Mar 3 2009, 11:05 AM

3,612 posts

A little more to whet everyone's appetite but I am not a bearer of good news.

A friend of mine, which I found out just last night, whose company has been a staunch supporter of Maxis and incurs thousands of ringgit every month on their subscriptions with the latter was verbally (unofficially) offered free iPhones to be launched this month. But alas it is only for loyal and 'big' supporters not any odinary men or women on the streets.

But at the risk of sounding like a sour grape, to pay RM250 or even RM160 monthly on data commitment not to mention the voice plan charges with a 2 year contract, is it worth it? You do the maths.

Anyway, like Bro Gen has been unfailingly mentioning, it remains a rumour until something concrete materializes.

stringfellow
post Mar 3 2009, 02:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Oh what the hell, I'll spill!

Again, I feel that this is a case of "too little, too late". They (Maxis) may be able to entice present Maxis subscribers to sign blood contracts to get the iPhone, but what are the incentives of those who are not using Maxis as their service provider? And what's more, how is Celcom and DiGi going to react to this, as this move may be seen as an attempt towards monopolization?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Mar 3 2009, 02:17 PM
rx330
post Mar 3 2009, 02:21 PM

11,809 posts

ur brother told u one ar?
rm 160 sounds good.... time to get another white one perhaps? biggrin.gif
Kazachok
post Mar 3 2009, 03:00 PM

331 posts

160 too much ar.
i'm just a student.

stringfellow
post Mar 3 2009, 03:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 3 2009, 02:21 PM)
ur brother told u one ar?
rm 160 sounds good.... time to get another white one perhaps? biggrin.gif
2 sources. From the service provider side, and from the retail side.

But seriously, with just another 3 months for the new iPhone to come out, this is coming in too late. I'd rather them hold off the launch until the new model comes out this June/July.
rx330
post Mar 3 2009, 03:22 PM

11,809 posts

how true is the 3 moons later new iphone wor.... but if by that time maxis bringing in the new model, then the wait is still worth while
selinix
post Mar 3 2009, 03:43 PM

7,343 posts

I just wonder let's say the Iphone did officially make it to Malaysia by end of this month. Does that mean all the unlocked Iphones like those from Singapore can be warranty in here ?
rx330
post Mar 3 2009, 03:48 PM

11,809 posts

treat the iphone like appletv, no international warranty
kayx
post Mar 3 2009, 03:55 PM

112 posts

if it's RM160.. then its worth it.. coz assuming unlimited data cost is RM99/mo.. i'm paying RM61 for the phone for 2 years.. which works out to RM1464.. i feel its a good buy.. like an installment.. rumor or not.. i hope its true.. this will be the main reason i will switch from digi to maxis..
deepan84
post Mar 3 2009, 04:02 PM

White Rider
2,199 posts

sumthin better than nothin at d moment..

65 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:18 AM