39 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Movies STAR TREK: Movies Discussion Thread, Next: ST3 for 50th Anniversary Year Film

killdavid
post May 9 2009, 08:59 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,633 posts

This is the best start trek movie ever. Great balance between action and drama. The casting is superb. Each character received fair screen time. Only minor disappointment for me was Simon Pegg's Scotty. The scottish accent felt unnatural and forced. Other than that great cast, great drama & suspense and great cgi.

Beats the crap out of the popcorn flick named X-men Origins: Wolverine.
nwk
post May 9 2009, 09:27 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(frega @ May 9 2009, 08:14 PM)
i sighed a little when it ended. i like it BUT, huge but...

it felt like a michael bay movie to be honest. so action packed, so flashy with the crazy lens flare use and FX, so...mainstream. which isnt necessarily bad, just didnt feel like star trek. no prime directive(yes there was no prime directive at that time) but its like it has no direction! If this were a parallel universe... there might be a possibility that the prime directive might not even come to existent in this timeline yawn.gif god that would suck so much.

it might be the end of the star trek we knew and love. bye bye sleek metal voyager, hello apple store voyager.

Chekov was so cute tho.
the prime directive is what made star trek boring. you can't do this, you can't do that, etc. i like this new star trek and the way it's going. nothing to hold them back now. anything goes and if the borg shows up in front of them, they will probably shoot first, ask questions later. i like it!!!!!!!! to hell with the prime directive!!!!!!
XenoFr3ak
post May 9 2009, 10:58 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Awesome movie .. even tho they screwed up the timeline .. but who cares laugh.gif
frega
post May 9 2009, 11:10 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ May 9 2009, 09:27 PM)
the prime directive is what made star trek boring. you can't do this, you can't do that, etc. i like this new star trek and the way it's going. nothing to hold them back now. anything goes and if the borg shows up in front of them, they will probably shoot first, ask questions later. i like it!!!!!!!! to hell with the prime directive!!!!!!
Yes it sounds exciting and fun, but...

ST is supposed to be a representation of the future, but noooo.... lets go back to our barbaric ways, shoot first, talk later? Starfleet is a para-military organization, there'll be rules and such. Its not a one-man show called the Enterprise and their big guns.

WTF Kirk promoted to Cadet -> Captain of the Federation Flagship when he's still picking up chicks in bars 3 years before?

WTF is with the shipyard on Earth when they werent making planet landing capable ships back then.

WTF is red matter that is capable of creating blackholes

WTF is being right in front of a blackhole and Enterprise just sits in front of it with and not being affected by it.

WTF happened to the blackholes that swallowed Vulcan and Nero's ship? Did it just poof? Blackholes DO NOT poof.

WTF is Nero's ship looking like a tentacled octopus when its a frakking mining vessel.

WTF is with the Romulan's tattoo, didnt even care to explain. Probably just there so they look badass, just like their ship. Hell they dont even look like Romulans.

GODDAMNIT, this just pisses me off so much.

BelowAverage
post May 9 2009, 11:20 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(frega @ May 9 2009, 11:10 PM)

ST is supposed to be a representation of the future, but noooo.... lets go back to our barbaric ways, shoot first, talk later? Starfleet is a para-military organization, there'll be rules and such. Its not a one-man show called the Enterprise and their big guns.

WTF Kirk promoted to Cadet -> Captain of the Federation Flagship when he's still picking up chicks in bars 3 years before?

WTF is with the shipyard on Earth when they werent making planet landing capable ships back then.

WTF is being right in front of a blackhole and Enterprise just sits in front of it with and not being affected by it.

WTF happened to the blackholes that swallowed Vulcan and Nero's ship? Did it just poof? Blackholes DO NOT poof.

WTF is Nero's ship looking like a tentacled octopus when its a frakking mining vessel.

WTF is with the Romulan's tattoo, didnt even care to explain. Probably just there so they look badass, just like their ship. Hell they dont even look like Romulans.

u nd to watch more star trek episode.
if they explain everything, it will be too loooooooooooonnnnnnnggg and booooooooorrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiinngggg.

I like JJAbram style.
keep it simple and awesome.

eg. Cloverfield, they didnt explain every bullshyt in the movie, which it makes it interesting.

perverdz
post May 9 2009, 11:29 PM

42 posts

Quite good. Fresh new retake on the franchise but i agree with those who feel its too mainstream-ish.
(But then again, it is mainstream!)

the green girl is hot too.
n00b13
post May 9 2009, 11:33 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(lycaphim @ May 9 2009, 08:25 PM)
Correction: So Kurtzman & Orci. See Transformers.
Kurtzman and Orci are the screenwriters, I doubt they had any say in the amount of lens flare used.

iman_210
post May 9 2009, 11:41 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(frega @ May 9 2009, 11:10 PM)

its simple yet entertaining..."sylar's" part is good...hahaha

This post has been edited by iman_210: May 9 2009, 11:42 PM
n00b13
post May 9 2009, 11:44 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(frega @ May 9 2009, 08:14 PM)
it felt like a michael bay movie to be honest. so action packed, so flashy with the crazy lens flare use and FX, so...mainstream. which isnt necessarily bad, just didnt feel like star trek. no prime directive(yes there was no prime directive at that time) but its like it has no direction! If this were a parallel universe... there might be a possibility that the prime directive might not even come to existent in this timeline yawn.gif god that would suck so much.
I beg to differ. Trek fans complain a lot about the action, always saying "this is not what Star Trek is all about!"

This is what the movies are all about. Ever since The Wrath of Khan, the best Trek movies have always been fast-paced outer space action-adventures. You want scientific exploration plus social issues, watch the various TV series. A movie has to be, first and foremost, fun.

Otherwise you end up with the very first Trek movie - Star Trek: The Motion Picture. Do you remember how that turned out?

frega
post May 9 2009, 11:44 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ May 9 2009, 11:20 PM)
u nd to watch more star trek episode.
if they explain everything, it will be too loooooooooooonnnnnnnggg and booooooooorrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiinngggg.

I like JJAbram style.
keep it simple and awesome.

eg. Cloverfield, they didnt explain every bullshyt in the movie, which it makes it interesting.
I probably watched more than you. They explain stuff in the series. Star Trek = science. Even tho its technobabble, its technobabble that made sense and some has real world implications.

If they made a advanced torpedo that can pass thru shields, they'll tell you, its transphasic torpedo and its in a state of flux, which is why it goes thru shield like it werent there. Simple, made sense.

Matter antimatter, which does exist outside ST, does indeed work like it is in ST, in that it annihilates each other and produces energy. And they use it as "fuel".

I'm sorry but I didnt watch Cloverfield. And this is not Cloverfield.

This is a franchise that has evolved since the 60s to what it is now. I do not agree of this dumbing down to make it as a summer blockbuster type movie so Paramount can make money. And why do I say this? Cause every dumb, dumb and dumbass will like "Oh it was awesome and cool, and the special effects were sooo badasss!" after they watch it under the influence of shrooms.

Meaning it was made to be flashy and simple so it'll sell sell sell.

Added on May 9, 2009, 11:50 pm
QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 9 2009, 11:44 PM)
This is what the movies are all about. Ever since The Wrath of Khan, the best Trek movies have always been fast-paced outer space action-adventures. You want scientific exploration plus social issues, watch the various TV series. A movie has to be, first and foremost, fun.
I'm sorry I was just expecting more from a futuristic franchise to do some explaining and not make up some liquid in red that can pop up blackholes with just a freaking drop.

I do not mind the action. But there's just serious plot issues and vast list of inaccuracies, ie not following simple STverse guidelines or you know logic.

This post has been edited by frega: May 9 2009, 11:55 PM
maxizanc
post May 9 2009, 11:54 PM

5,909 posts

Haha. Whatever you wanna say. I'm happy because i was not a Star Trek fan, otherwise i will not enjoy JJ Abram's Star Trek (just like you) or probably stop being Star Trek fan after watching it.

This post has been edited by maxizanc: May 9 2009, 11:57 PM
technophile
post May 10 2009, 12:09 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(frega @ May 9 2009, 11:44 PM)
I probably watched more than you. They explain stuff in the series. Star Trek = science. Even tho its technobabble, its technobabble that made sense and some has real world implications.

If they made a advanced torpedo that can pass thru shields, they'll tell you, its transphasic torpedo and its in a state of flux, which is why it goes thru shield like it werent there. Simple, made sense.

Matter antimatter, which does exist outside ST, does indeed work like it is in ST, in that it annihilates each other and produces energy. And they use it as "fuel".

I'm sorry but I didnt watch Cloverfield. And this is not Cloverfield.

This is a franchise that has evolved since the 60s to what it is now. I do not agree of this dumbing down to make it as a summer blockbuster type movie so Paramount can make money. And why do I say this? Cause every dumb, dumb and dumbass will like "Oh it was awesome and cool, and the special effects were sooo badasss!" after they watch it under the influence of shrooms.

Meaning it was made to be flashy and simple so it'll sell sell sell.

Added on May 9, 2009, 11:50 pm
I'm sorry I was just expecting more from a futuristic franchise to do some explaining and not make up some liquid in red that can pop up blackholes with just a freaking drop.

I do not mind the action. But there's just serious plot issues and vast list of inaccuracies, ie not following simple STverse guidelines or you know logic.
well think of it this way as a fan. if they keep producing sleep inducing movies like before (but not wrath of khan, that one rocks!), there will never be anymore star trek and we will be end up watching the same Original Series till we are 90.

you gotta understand that the current movie going generation has the attention span of a goldfish. if you can't produce something that can't keep up with that, and at the same time making a long time fan like me happy, then might as well don't do it.

i'd rather see this franchise going into this hip and trendy direction (which is still canon) rather than having to sit thru the same old crap like Star Trek : Generations.

try telling a random kid/teenager about how warp engines supposed to work after they watched the movie, most probably they will say they dun care about that crap as long as they can enjoy the movie.

i wish hardcore fans like you can stop being elitist for a change. the essence of the story is still there, not like Deadpool being raped into some guy who came out from Mortal Kombat (i'm still angry about that, they've killed my beloved Deadpool). be happy that the series that we love is still here, and will probably stay for long while not forgetting fans like us.
maxizanc
post May 10 2009, 12:20 AM

5,909 posts

Yeah. The reason why Watchmen couldn't impress many people.
killdavid
post May 10 2009, 12:42 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,633 posts

Just like The Watchmen and practically every remake or adaptation the elitist will come bashing this and complaining that.

- Movie leaves out scientific explanation: If they go in details, they lose the attention span of non-geeks and young generation audience. Movie Bombs in box-office and the end of a franchise.

- Movie stays true to the old films, more character study = snooze-fest. Ppl complain not enough action like The Watchmen. Critics will say its not trying anything original and not pushing boundaries.

Lets face it. Who would be so kind/stupid to fork out money from their own pockets just to please a bunch of hardcore geeks? Its all about the money. ST is an old franchise, it needs to connect with the younger audience to keep it alive. It can't survive by pleasing the elitist.

maxizanc
post May 10 2009, 12:45 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ May 10 2009, 12:42 AM)
Just like The Watchmen and practically every remake or adaptation the elitist will come bashing this and complaining that.

- Movie leaves out scientific explanation: If they go in details, they lose the attention span of non-geeks and young generation audience. Movie Bombs in box-office and the end of a franchise.

- Movie stays true to the old films, more character study = snooze-fest. Ppl complain not enough action like The Watchmen. Critics will say its not trying anything original and not pushing boundaries.

Lets face it. Who would be so kind/stupid to fork out money from their own pockets just to please a bunch of hardcore geeks? Its all about the money. ST is an old franchise, it needs to connect with the younger audience to keep it alive. It can't survive by pleasing the elitist.
Yeah man. You spoke for me. laugh.gif
azarimy
post May 10 2009, 01:36 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(frega @ May 9 2009, 03:10 PM)

in the military, u can advance quickly if u perform in the field. similarly, starfleet conforms to naval structure.

good question!

this is explained in the tie-in comic miniseries.

they're outside the event horizon. this is also explained in the comics.

it's still there. blackholes dont get bigger. if u noticed, u cant see the stars behind the "hole". contrary to popular beliefs, black holes are spherical, not a two dimensional like a sinkhole.

i believe this is in the comics as well.

also in the comics as well.
n00b13
post May 10 2009, 01:42 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(frega @ May 9 2009, 11:44 PM)

What's with the Genesis device in Wrath of Khan? How can a machine the size of a pillar create life? What kind of science is that?

For that matter, how can aliens simply be humans with bumpy foreheads?

Face it, scientific accuracy has never been Trek's strong point. smile.gif

technophile
post May 10 2009, 03:09 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 10 2009, 01:42 AM)
What's with the Genesis device in Wrath of Khan? How can a machine the size of a pillar create life? What kind of science is that?

For that matter, how can aliens simply be humans with bumpy foreheads?

Face it, scientific accuracy has never been Trek's strong point. smile.gif
this and a lot of things too.

Added on May 10, 2009, 3:23 am
QUOTE(gunnerz_123 @ May 10 2009, 12:31 AM)
ya man ... some techno babble is fine with me ... but too much just bores me to de core ... i loved how jj spiced n sexed it up star trek for de next generation of fans ... his casting of all de characters was almost flawless ... especially zachary quinto as spock ... damn ... its just like patrick stewart was picked to be professor x ... let's see how this moves on in an alternate reality for de crew/cast of USS Enterprise  whistling.gif
lotsa possibilities that excites me about this whole new timeline in the canon history :

1. the Borg will probably be encountered earlier thanks to advancement brought over by the old Spock, probably the Borg was the one that created V'ger, therefore the V'ger incident can be avoided and intercepted.

2. Khan Noonien Singh will forever be a prisoner.

3. peace with the Klingons will be achieved sooner.

4. Spock having human wife!!

there's so many what-ifs that we have now that the series has been restarted and brought back to a new timeline..

This post has been edited by technophile: May 10 2009, 03:23 AM
defaultname365
post May 10 2009, 03:28 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Watched 8.45pm show on Saturday.

One word - - remarkable.

I am not a Star Trek fan, yet somehow, I know the names "Spock" and "Captain James T. Kirk". What this movie delivers is beyond just a movie - it is filled with moments that make you want to jump out of your seat or gasp for air. It is intense. It is fast paced. And it is Star Trek - something that I was never into. I daresay I only watched like 5 minutes worth of Star Trek TV series.

The movie started beautifully. Then the plot takes off from this point. It is humorous, it is serious, it is all out action. It is stylized heavily and it is damn gorgeous. The production design is astounding. The shiny bits of the interiors, the lights, the constant lens flare, all add up to the visceral experience that the movie has to offer.

The plot is simple. Yet it is intriguing. I loved the way J.J. Abrams did this movie. It is for everyone. Star Trek fans should be very, very pleased with the end result. And movie go-ers like me, enjoyed it thoroughly. Very satisfying.

Almost all aspects of this film exceeded my expectations, albeit a few lengthy argumentative scenes and witty words-smith bickering.

The cast is another achievement - - they are fit perfect for the roles. Zachary Quinto of "Heroes" fan does an incredible job of playing the uber popular "Spock". It is very refreshing to see how Star Trek is portrayed here.

The visual effects - - eye popping. Every moment of the action is as if it went through 15 filters and quality checks. It is very, very polished. Its like a movie with no edges, everything is so polished.

Watching the trailer and getting excited is one thing. Watching the movie and then feeling satisfied is another.

I sincerely recommend this movie to ANYONE, including non sci-fi folks. This is an amazing piece of entertainment. I just can't find something that I didn't quite like so much. I so want to watch this movie again. Perhaps a couple of weeks from now.

My rating : 9 / 10

Verdict : Pure genius. The action sequences are nothing short of breathtaking. It is a roller coaster ride and it is one damn fun movie to watch.

This post has been edited by defaultname365: May 10 2009, 03:29 AM
Reimao
post May 10 2009, 03:42 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

Its a uber cool and fun movie. Nothing less and nothing more.

Its soooOOo Space-y thus appealing to the boys more. laugh.gif

Some 'emotional-believe-in-yourself-scene' could be a lil boring though. But everythin else is juz fine. Truly entertaining.

Now, Bring on Angels & Demons~

39 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0161sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:25 AM