Technical Upgraded PS3 HDD yet?, technical discussion on PS3 HDD

ckj123
post Aug 14 2011, 12:51 AM

QUOTE(gigantor @ Aug 13 2011, 11:30 PM)
er small screwdriver? can la. u eat nasi more lol
Got it already! biggrin.gif I ate BANYAK NASI just for that. awesome job, sony.
eetfukouijaaa
post Sep 5 2011, 07:36 PM

36 posts

80 to 500GB reporting in! Feels nice not to be so restrained by such a small HDD space, now i can install all my games!

Added on September 5, 2011, 7:44 pm
QUOTE(terryfu @ Aug 3 2011, 12:07 AM)
Hi. Anyone facing this problem? Posting here as the other thread got minimal replies.

Cannot Start. The Correct Hard Disk Was Not Found

When it Occured : Was playing Dragon Age II when the game hang, and I did a reset. After reset, the error message came out yesterday around 1 am.

What has done so far : I've looked at a few websites, and all ask to do soft reset and enter Bios. However, following the instructions, I can't even get into the Bios, and the error message keeps appearing.

PS3 Specs :
1. PS3 Slim - Latest Firmware (3.66 I think)
2. 500 HDD Seagate Momentus XT hybrid drive (bought about 6 months ago) - 60% filled.

Other Notes : A few games hang on my PS3 happened before (Dragon Age II, Assassin's Creed (both II & Brotherhood), normally around 1-2 times after about 50+ hours of play).

Anyone who experience this, appreciate to share what you did. I have tons of saves and if I had to reformat the drive, would like to recover them first.Als

Also, I've placed back my original 120 GB HDD and they ask to update to firmware 3.66 - Problem is, when I put in the USB drive (FAT32 format), it keeps saying could not find 3.66 firmware. Do any of you guys face this issue when updating via USB drive to 3.66? The 3.66 firmware on the site is the same size as 3.65 firmware but can't be coincidentally same right?

Going to have PS3 withdrawal symptons soon  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Oh yes I encountered that problem too bro, you just have to switch on the PS3. Hold the power button until you hear 2 beeps, that should reset your whole system. I thought my PS3 was dead when I saw that message, thankfully google was by my side again. lol when you reset it, you NEED to have the latest software update ready to install (ver 3.70 and above). Without that update, you can't do anything. The PS3 will give you a step by step installation guide, after the system has installed the software update, all you need to do it restore all your games and everything. Mines working fine, I'm playing away happily, but I forgot to sync trophies though D: lol hopefully you have all your stuff backed up.

This post has been edited by eetfukouijaaa: Sep 5 2011, 07:44 PM
qudeenz360
post Sep 6 2011, 07:06 AM

5,761 posts

Easy & simple upgrade new HDD..
Gilthoniel
post Sep 10 2011, 01:29 PM

the Doctor is IN!
1,718 posts

Many google searches reveal that PSN games downloaded before DON'T need reactivation or redownload... But over here it says deactivation needed, which is true?

Added on September 10, 2011, 1:30 pmOh and if I upgrade my macbook's hdd, can that old 250gb be used for the ps3? should be same size and sata

This post has been edited by Gilthoniel: Sep 10 2011, 01:30 PM
naziaf
post Sep 10 2011, 10:14 PM

244 posts

When I upgraded my HDD a few months back, I didn't deactivate my games. Just had to re-activate when using the new HDD.
ckengyo
post Sep 17 2011, 08:56 PM

New ps3 slim from 160gb straight to 1tb. Nothing to back up. Just need a thumb drive with new driver. Very easy DIY jobs. Just out of curiosity, after download, back to menu will freeze a couple of seconds. Then only can proceed to other. Is this normal? Or 1tb take time to search?
3xC
post Sep 17 2011, 09:02 PM

275 posts

upgraded from 120 stock to 640g on a slim. 3 days over still going strong.

QUOTE(ckengyo @ Sep 17 2011, 08:56 PM)
New ps3 slim from 160gb straight to 1tb. Nothing to back up. Just need a thumb drive with new driver. Very easy DIY jobs. Just out of curiosity, after download, back to menu will freeze a couple of seconds. Then only can proceed to other. Is this normal? Or 1tb take time to search?
1tera? is it supported? as far as i know, it still not supported.

and most probably it need some time.
zenix
post Sep 19 2011, 01:30 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

1TB is not becoz not supported dun have hdd that can fit into ps3
shahreza2000
post Sep 19 2011, 02:15 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 19 2011, 01:30 PM)
1TB is not becoz not supported dun have hdd that can fit into ps3
1tb 9.5mm hdd aldy announced for shipping last month by manufacturers

next month available?
SSJBen
post Sep 19 2011, 02:39 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

9.5mm 2.5" 1TB HDDs are already available actually.
Western Digital, Samsung and Seagate all have.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 19 2011, 02:39 PM
zenix
post Sep 19 2011, 03:51 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

anyone wanna give it a shot wink.gif
ckengyo
post Sep 20 2011, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 19 2011, 03:51 PM)
anyone wanna give it a shot wink.gif
yes, just did. in the pass 2.5 hdd is more then 9.5mm which cant fit in the bracket.
my wd new 2.5 is just 9.5mm. i just bought my ps3 slim this raya from sony style after price drop. nothing 2 back up so just slot in the new hdd plus new firmward in a thump drive & that it.
not sure whether is 1tb problem or 2 large space 2 travel, after download, back to menu will freeze a couple of seconds. Then only can proceed to other. so those who interesting 2 upgrade may or may not encounter this problem.
TSsnipersnake
post Sep 20 2011, 02:45 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

I really cant comprehend the 'english' these people using rclxub.gif
shahreza2000
post Sep 20 2011, 02:58 PM

62 posts

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif

TheUndead
post Sep 20 2011, 03:46 PM

177 posts

Eh, how come I can perfectly understand it? tongue.gif
neoardi
post Sep 20 2011, 03:58 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(ckengyo @ Sep 20 2011, 12:21 PM)
yes, just did. in the pass 2.5 hdd is more then 9.5mm which cant fit in the bracket.
my wd new 2.5 is just 9.5mm. i just bought my ps3 slim this raya from sony style after price drop. nothing 2 back up so just slot in the new hdd plus new firmward in a thump drive & that it.
not sure whether is 1tb problem or 2 large space 2 travel, after download, back to menu will freeze a couple of seconds. Then only can proceed to other. so those who interesting 2 upgrade may or may not encounter this problem.
2 large space 2 travel rclxub.gif
maybe this book can help thumbup.gif
sjn hassan
post Sep 27 2011, 03:39 AM

Member's of MAKAN MEGGI club
3,544 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Sep 20 2011, 02:45 PM)
I really cant comprehend the 'english' these people using rclxub.gif
they giving me 3 weeks vakaysun for not using england language laugh.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Sep 27 2011, 07:14 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Sep 27 2011, 03:39 AM)
they giving me 3 weeks vakaysun for not using england language  laugh.gif
narutokun83
post Sep 27 2011, 09:55 PM

2,108 posts

Guys, was trying to upgrade my PS3 Slim HDD but the freakin screw feels like its bolted on tightly... thus i striped all four of the screw on the HDD bracket. Tried the "needle nose" and drill method but the screws are insanely tight on mine.
I'm now looking for a new HDD bracket to house my new 320 GB. Any ideas or where to get one locally (found 1 on ebay but i want to try local first).
zenix
post Sep 28 2011, 02:30 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(ckengyo @ Sep 20 2011, 12:21 PM)
now i thinking wanna try SSD onot brows.gif

QUOTE(TheUndead @ Sep 20 2011, 03:46 PM)
Eh, how come I can perfectly understand it? tongue.gif
hehehe....our england powderfool mah laugh.gif

48 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0539sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:20 AM