Technical Upgraded PS3 HDD yet?, technical discussion on PS3 HDD

GamersFamilia
post Sep 28 2011, 08:56 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

QUOTE(TheUndead @ Sep 20 2011, 03:46 PM)
Eh, how come I can perfectly understand it? tongue.gif
because some people are bit slow to understand , depending on the IQ laugh.gif
caloshwa
post Sep 29 2011, 06:09 PM

Hi all
i want to ask why my Fat Silver 80GB PS3 cant upgrade/detect HDD ?
that 160GB HDD is my fren (PS3 Slim) give me one
cute_boboi
post Sep 29 2011, 06:25 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(caloshwa @ Sep 29 2011, 06:09 PM)
Hi all
i want to ask why my Fat Silver 80GB PS3 cant upgrade/detect HDD ?
that 160GB HDD is my fren (PS3 Slim) give me one
Each PS3 encrypts its own HDD. Your friend PS3 HDD will not be readable in your PS3, unless you do a fresh "format and partition". Just follow the PS3 message to guide you to format it.

Also, prepare the PS3 latest firmware in another USB drive (download from internet into PC)

caloshwa
post Sep 29 2011, 07:29 PM

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Sep 29 2011, 06:25 PM)
Each PS3 encrypts its own HDD. Your friend PS3 HDD will not be readable in your PS3, unless you do a fresh "format and partition". Just follow the PS3 message to guide you to format it.

Also, prepare the PS3 latest firmware in another USB drive (download from internet into PC)
but i have use software Swissknife to detele and create FAT32 b4...
but also cant detect the HDD cry.gif
SUSSrious
post Sep 30 2011, 10:56 PM

265 posts

looks like my ps3 hdd rosak liao lo...
i cant back up my data from it T^T
canot sync my trophies as well T^T
gona lose everything T^T
everything in my ps3 is slow as snail now T^T
tplus1
post Oct 1 2011, 11:10 AM

1,148 posts

just upgraded to 640GB. perfectly fine!
eone
post Oct 1 2011, 06:54 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

just great, perfectly a year, my 320gb hdd drop dead, all gigs of games dloaded need to dload again, and about warranty, can i sent just the hdd to sony?

Added on October 1, 2011, 6:56 pm
QUOTE(Srious @ Sep 30 2011, 10:56 PM)
looks like my ps3 hdd rosak liao lo...
i cant back up my data from it T^T
canot sync my trophies as well T^T
gona lose everything T^T
everything in my ps3 is slow as snail now T^T
bro, same as mine, 2 days ago, kena dload all over again games purchased

This post has been edited by eone: Oct 1 2011, 06:56 PM
SUSSrious
post Oct 2 2011, 08:29 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Oct 1 2011, 06:54 PM)
just great, perfectly a year, my 320gb hdd drop dead, all gigs of games dloaded need to dload again, and about warranty, can i sent just the hdd to sony?

Added on October 1, 2011, 6:56 pm

bro, same as mine, 2 days ago, kena dload all over again games purchased
i upgrade my hdd to 500gb liao
^^
GamersFamilia
post Oct 2 2011, 08:49 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,774 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Oct 1 2011, 06:54 PM)
you cant , you have to send the ps3 itself to sony
tanseehua
post Oct 4 2011, 06:36 AM

519 posts

myPS3 slim is asking me to change more bigger HDDuser posted image lo. the process of backup and restore make memad(take too long hours)
console
post Oct 4 2011, 09:13 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(tanseehua @ Oct 4 2011, 06:36 AM)
myPS3 slim is asking me to change more bigger HDDuser posted image lo. the process of backup and restore make memad(take too long hours)
banyak prawn ni!!!
zenix
post Oct 4 2011, 11:34 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

i thinking wanna plonk an SSD into my ps3 or not brows.gif
WIlds
post Oct 9 2011, 11:27 AM

107 posts

Does PS3 Support 1 TB drive yet ?
zenix
post Oct 11 2011, 02:20 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

^ slowpoke
samowong
post Oct 12 2011, 12:33 AM

269 posts

Just got home today with a 500GB WD HDD to upgrade my stock 40GB PS3 HDD.
Ran through all youtube + lyn tutorials. Sounded really easy. So proceeded with the upgrade, backed up all my data.
Unfortunately, upon booting up with new HDD, PS3 did not ask to format HDD, only gave msg "correct hard disk not found"
Panic ++ sweat.gif
swapped new and old HDD in and out many times, made sure new HDD was FAT32 (used Mac, swisknife, etc) - still the PS3 couldn't detect the HDD.
Then, tried snipersnakes tutorial at start of thread -> the SELECT + START command -> it worked provided you reset the PS3 first (turn on & hold power button till u hear 2 beeps) and with firmware 3.72 in thumbdrive plugged in. Just follow the instructions, the PS3 will then finally "recognize" and proceed to format the new HDD.

Currently restoring my backup data to the new HDD
sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by samowong: Oct 12 2011, 12:34 AM
zenix
post Oct 12 2011, 01:27 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

when u done please do a tutorial wink.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Oct 12 2011, 02:19 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(samowong @ Oct 12 2011, 12:33 AM)
Just got home today with a 500GB WD HDD to upgrade my stock 40GB PS3 HDD.
Ran through all youtube + lyn tutorials. Sounded really easy. So proceeded with the upgrade, backed up all my data.
Unfortunately, upon booting up with new HDD, PS3 did not ask to format HDD, only gave msg "correct hard disk not found"
Panic ++  sweat.gif
swapped new and old HDD in and out many times, made sure new HDD was FAT32 (used Mac, swisknife, etc) - still the PS3 couldn't detect the HDD.
Then, tried snipersnakes tutorial at start of thread -> the SELECT + START command -> it worked provided you reset the PS3 first (turn on & hold power button till u hear 2 beeps) and with firmware 3.72 in thumbdrive plugged in. Just follow the instructions, the PS3 will then finally "recognize" and proceed to format the new HDD.

Currently restoring my backup data to the new HDD
sweat.gif  sweat.gif

zenix
post Oct 30 2011, 01:13 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

nobody tried with SSD yet?
whats the minimum size needed for the os itself?
knot_army
post Nov 1 2011, 10:31 AM

my console also have HDD problem last week,send back to SONY service center to change new HDD,and yesterday i got back my console and running well.

Symptom : take long time to load games, HDD led just keep on static not blinking as usual.
SSJBen
post Nov 1 2011, 12:29 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 30 2011, 01:13 AM)
nobody tried with SSD yet?
whats the minimum size needed for the os itself?
OS occupies 10% space of the storage drive.
You can go as small as 40GB or if you just want cheap thrills, the Kingston 20GB SSDNow.. laugh.gif

Is it worth slugging a SSD into a PS3?
Not really, atleast not for the cost you're gonna pay for.

48 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 >Top

0.0430sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:21 AM