4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Technical Upgraded PS3 HDD yet?, technical discussion on PS3 HDD

TSsnipersnake
post Jun 6 2008, 10:31 AM, updated 13y ago

typical abah
2,652 posts

So, have you upgraded your stock PS3 HDD yet?

Fatty model

Slimlines

Since I see in so many places people moaning about PS3's game instal (most of the moaners dont even have a PS3), just to check if you guys have issues on this.

Thanks! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Dec 13 2009, 10:46 AM)
Just upgraded mine to 320GB yesterday (WD 2.5" SATA 320GB 5400RPM 8MB)

Tips:

1. Make sure you have an external HDD ready (formatted in FAT32)
2. Prepare proper screwdrivers (sharper the better). Those screws are machine-tight!
3. Prepare the latest PS3 firmware file (PS3UPDAT.PUP) because you'll need it for the first installation. Put it into a USB thumb drive or external HDD. Again, must be FAT32!
4. Backup using the Data Backup utility to the external HDD.
5. Replace the HDD
6. After replacing, plug in the USB disk or HDD that contains the firmware and press SELECT+START
7. Then, hold START for 5 seconds to confirm formatting the new drive.
8. Run the data restore utility to restore all the settings, game data, game saves (some games cannot be backed-up) that you have backed-up earlier.
9. Done. Enjoy your gaming on the new HDD. smile.gif
10. If you have any games downloaded from the Playstation Network, you need to reactivate them again. (No need to redownload and install). Go to your Download History under the Account Management settings in your PSN menu, select the game that you have downloaded earlier, press DOWNLOAD. You will see the screen which says "Activating, please wait...". Once this is done, the download screen will pop up. In this step, you can just skip it because all you want to do is to activate the game. If you don't activate the game after restoring them from the backup drive, you will receive an error saying that the "Copy-protection information is invalid"
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jan 2 2010, 12:14 PM)
I've said it before and I'll say it again, 7200rpm drives won't hurt the PS3 or the drive itself.
Even so, theoritically 7200rpm drives are hotter and obviously spins faster as well, and common sense would tell you that means it'll also fail faster.

In real-life conditions, that's not the way it is.
There are many other considerations to take note of. Like how the HDD is built, how many platter design, how the actuator head parks... and so on.

But all that said and done, 7200rpm drives are quite a bit more expensive than their 5400rpm counterparts.
So it definitely isn't worth the extra money for a mere 2-5 seconds of loading time decreament (considering the game installs data on the HDD that is).
This is my advice, if you wish to keep your VITAL details intact.(provided you dont have a big ass USB storage)

You will need a USB storage with the latest PS3 firmware in ROOT/PS3/UPDATE , at least 8bg. (if that you dont have, stop playing ps3 and buy a DS)

1. Synch all of the trophies. All accounts. You need to be online to do this.

2. Back up all your Photos, music and movies, either batch by batch to your PC OR delete them all.

3. Delete the game utilities instals.

4. Delete the PSN games.

5. Now you should have very minimal data, go to System Settings

6. Go to Utilities -- backup utilities

7. Insert your FAT32 formatted USB storage.

8. Choose BACKUP ALL DATA (or something like that)

9. Wait for it to finish. Once finished, take out the HDD and put the new one.

10.Once powered up, the PS3 will prompt you to format the HDD or not. If you choose NO, GTFO.

11.The after that, PS3 will ask you to put the USB storage with the latest firmare, so slam the sucker in the slot.

12.Firmware updating, and for God's sake, please wait for it to be finished.

13.After the process, the system will restart.

14.Go to Utilies, restore, and select restore. RESTORE ALL DATA.

15.Then the PS3 will have all the save data with the multiple accounts inside.

16.Redownload back the patches and the updates as well as the PSN games. Trophies? Synch them back to reobtain them.

This is MY GUIDE, and its working well for me. You guys may take this as a refference.

Gamers with big ass HDD USB storage can skip step 2 to 4 and step 16.

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Nov 7 2010, 11:11 PM
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 6 2008, 11:31 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

awwright!

I am also planning to upgrade soon, 160gb is not enough sad.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 6 2008, 12:31 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

mines filled with movies (non HD, my connection sucks monkey balls) mostly, family pictures and musics.
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 9 2008, 09:54 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

yes, you have to upgrade fast.nowadays installing games in HDD is a popular trend among devs.it saves some loading time AND your lens stress nod.gif

TSsnipersnake
post Jun 9 2008, 11:58 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Jun 9 2008, 11:05 AM)
My PS3 is dead. I need to back up my data; does anyone here offer PS3 backup services? I'll need to send in my 60 gb for repair and they said they are going to replace it, but all my data is going to be gone with it sad.gif
i dont think other PS3 can read your data, or anybody has any method of exploring your hdd?

TSsnipersnake
post Jun 9 2008, 12:24 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

aku guna WD lek jer nod.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 9 2008, 02:02 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ Jun 9 2008, 01:48 PM)
Haha, some guys here sure have the PornStation 3...
who doesnt tongue.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 9 2008, 08:22 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

40 gigs is definately not enuff bro. i can say 160 is the sweet spot nod.gif next month, if okay gonna grab the 320gb,hope no 3rods when put inside ps3 icon_question.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 9 2008, 10:48 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

org selatan pon layan seagate gaks..kilang dia kat singapore
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 9 2008, 10:58 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

biar betul dol? sampai 40+ dia telan laugh.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 11 2008, 12:58 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jun 10 2008, 11:56 PM)
tu yg aku heran...lepas format je, check storage dia tulis 205gb/232gb.. doh.gif  shakehead.gif  mana pi baki 27gb aku? !!! pastu research kat google deorang ckp PS3  reserve 12%...... rclxub.gif  27gb besaq tuh!!! shocking.gif  sweat.gif
buang skit pron tuh tongue.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 11 2008, 08:25 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

actually, the content of thje current hdd is keeping me back from upgrading more. where can i find spare 100+hdd to make the backup..sigh doh.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 15 2008, 02:29 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

nih berlagak pesen baru nih!!

tongue.gif

got one shop here in JB, (art and airbrush) when i showed them the LE design, they say they can do it, around 300
TSsnipersnake
post Jun 18 2008, 04:23 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

entah tongue.gif

but a new hdd is my priority now nod.gif

TSsnipersnake
post Jun 21 2008, 02:52 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

if you
1. store movies
2. store a hell of mp3s
3. store pics
4. lazy to delete old demos

then its a yes. My ps3 is the family's entertainment center, and it needs a big gut to qualify for such titles nod.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Aug 1 2008, 10:24 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

only sata buddy nod.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Aug 1 2008, 10:31 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

the laptop one :

TSsnipersnake
post Aug 1 2008, 10:34 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i have my eyes on 320 gb..the possibilities are ENDLESS!!!!
TSsnipersnake
post Aug 1 2008, 12:11 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

@ neoardi = hang sumbat sata tuh, ps3 hang buleh main game Wii laugh.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Aug 1 2008, 11:49 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(ah_heng @ Aug 1 2008, 04:03 PM)
My fellow PS-three-er,

Don't be too obsessed with having "ADDITIONAL Hard disk space" when you still haven't fully utilising it!!! Yeah... you need to download demos, but guys, it's demo!!! you like it, you buy the whole thing. You dun like it, delete it!!!

HDD is getting cheaper each day, and when you go uut and buy one u dun need, it's really waste of money...
you do know that you can store pics,movies MP3s inside a PS3 hdd aight?

its not like the PS3 is only capable of external storage with no copy function and the hdd is meant for demos only brows.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0538sec    0.60    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:26 PM