80 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Optoma HD65 Kakis, technical, tweaking, screenshot.........

Synco
post Sep 23 2008, 11:39 PM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Sep 23 2008, 09:43 PM)
coz i chicken brand ma takut overheat...

Added on September 23, 2008, 9:46 pm

reading back the avs thread, the optoma tech guy actually said kenot move it within 5min nia after shutting down.. but he did say kenot say kenot turn it on within 8 hours after shutting down .. need to wait till the bulb has totally cooled down.. wonder y 8 hours so extreme
er what i heard from the optoma sales rep said as long as the bulb cool down , u can switch it back on .
the more u switch it on and off the easier the bulb spoil , like if u watch 6 hours straight then fine but if on and off 4 to 5 times a day then the bulb wont last as long as u watch 6 hour straight. but again if the myth of 8 hours cool down is true , no point getting a PJ to suffer laugh.gif
mys_terious
post Sep 23 2008, 11:54 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Sep 23 2008, 11:39 PM)
er what i heard from the optoma sales rep said as long as the bulb cool down , u can switch it back on .
the more u switch it on and off the easier the bulb spoil , like if u watch 6 hours straight then fine but if on and off 4 to 5 times a day then the bulb wont last as long as u watch 6 hour straight. but again if the myth of 8 hours cool down is true , no point getting a PJ  to suffer  laugh.gif
these guidelines r supposed to prolong the life of the bulb.. if u dont follow it doesnt mean it will paucah straight away.. for my case i did everything to prolong the life of the bulb n it paucah at below 100 hour .. maybe i should ask lilian tu where to place my pj for better luck with the pj bulb life..

if the 8 hours cool down is true i would like to recommend these bulbs to the eskimos nod.gif
htkaki
post Sep 24 2008, 12:08 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

So far, I have not receive any complaint yet on the bulb 'paucah' (touch wood). All in all, more than 20 units. Only 1 time whereby the bulb burnt open switched on for testing.

Oh yes, do you guys use automated power regulator for your pj?
Synco
post Sep 24 2008, 12:12 AM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 24 2008, 12:08 AM)
So far, I have not receive any complaint yet on the bulb 'paucah' (touch wood). All in all, more than 20 units. Only 1 time whereby the bulb burnt open  switched on for testing.

i use power conditioner
same rite?
mys_terious
post Sep 24 2008, 12:14 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 24 2008, 12:08 AM)
So far, I have not receive any complaint yet on the bulb 'paucah' (touch wood). All in all, more than 20 units. Only 1 time whereby the bulb burnt open  switched on for testing.

how muchy each.. any brand and model to recommend?
htkaki
post Sep 24 2008, 12:17 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

There is Koss avr (1000VA) for less than RM90.

I am a bit 'kiasi'. I feel that the electricity in our home is never consistent and there are bounds to be spike or surge which will spoil our electrical appliances in the long run.

Synco, power conditioner same as avr
toytoy
post Sep 24 2008, 12:29 AM

875 posts

yeah, better safe than sorry, buy a UPS tongue.gif

but i no money lah sad.gif

Checked with the screen seller, he suggest i buy the bigger one coz 1" is not enuff to stretch and fix on the frame sad.gif

Shipping itself costs USD35.75 whereas screen only USD49.99. Will reach my house within 6-10days. Not bad hehe. If i order now next weekend can get liao and it all comes to RM300 oni.

Hmm can i use a partition (gypsum) board as a screen? I got contractor who can do it for me. Will it be too heavy to hang? hehe, i can paint any color i want using gypsum board and it's totally flat (I think) biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Sep 24 2008, 08:29 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

toytoy, please take some photos of your DIY screen when it arrives.

The UPS / Automated Power Regulator is cheap now. Sure can afford as it is abt the price of a BD movie only
toytoy
post Sep 24 2008, 09:22 AM

875 posts

Sure, of coz i'll post the pics.

But i still can't decide to buy the screen from ebay or DIY it using gypsum board.

Is it advisable to use gypsum board? My carpenter will provide the frame, and my plaster ceiling guy can provide the gypsum board. "cantum" them together and paint it with white paint can do? hehe.

If you all think it's workable then i'll try it out. If not i paiseh to ask for the materials from the contractor tongue.gif

Screen from ebay = RM300, Gypsum board screen = "Almost" free. Coz i dunno my contractor will charge me or not. Hehe.

This post has been edited by toytoy: Sep 24 2008, 09:56 AM
htkaki
post Sep 24 2008, 09:37 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

toytoy, do you have the special paint like the one that ycs used for his DIY?
toytoy
post Sep 24 2008, 10:11 AM

875 posts

No wor, i don have special paint wor.

I still have some leftover of ICI Maxilite from my reno. Thinking of using that with the gypsum board. See how it turn out first.

Are borders important for the screen? For 106" screen how big the border shud be? hehe
ycs
post Sep 24 2008, 10:24 AM

4,231 posts

my diy screen like this from plywood- 8' x 4'

plywood from my previous reno and just buy some timber, nails, brackets, paint and a couple of days work...

toytoy
post Sep 24 2008, 10:30 AM

875 posts

Cool, but why the screen looks uneven from the reflection?

4'x8' is 106" right? hehe, exactly like what i m building biggrin.gif

U think gypsum board and maxilite is a good idea? I tried projecting my office projector on the wall (gypsum board and maxilite) and it looks ok. biggrin.gif

I m thinking 'adding' the border to the 106" board rather than painting the existing board with black paint which makes the screen smaller.

i'll get some good quality black card board or something similar, fold it and glue it to the side of the frame. Is that a good idea?

This post has been edited by toytoy: Sep 24 2008, 10:31 AM
ycs
post Sep 24 2008, 10:39 AM

4,231 posts

optical illusion.. the screen is level.

there's no right or wrong..just have to try it out

maxilite is water-based emulsion paint (i think) so can rub off by hand .. just make sure that the paint doesn't give hotspots i.e. direct reflections from pj.
toytoy
post Sep 24 2008, 10:44 AM

875 posts

True True, i'll try it out first. hehe biggrin.gif

Added on September 24, 2008, 11:47 amThe carpenter said gypsum board is to heavy. He say he help me find plywood. Which i think is fine.

I m thinking to buy those water proofing paint which is a bit rubberish. Apply a few layer of this paint on the plywood will help to cover the tiny holes. Then will paint it with maxilite to give it a final matte finish.

Carpenter say help me build the screen, damn happy, no need headache tongue.gif

This post has been edited by toytoy: Sep 24 2008, 11:47 AM
nira_110
post Sep 24 2008, 12:54 PM

147 posts

My current lamp hours is 520. Doctor gave me MC so i can watch TF BD at home. Again! rclxm9.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by nira_110: Sep 24 2008, 12:56 PM
rx330
post Sep 24 2008, 01:17 PM

11,809 posts

holy..... 520 hours... . notworthy.gif

toytoy, lucky u check biggrin.gif blardy seller gaveme wrong info tongue.gif
i would adviceu to go wtih the kain, its worth it
toytoy
post Sep 24 2008, 02:00 PM

875 posts

hmm, try to save some money first keke. See how the plywood turn out to be. if cannot then i buy kain. Coz the plywood free wan. Kain needs rm300. Finance cum Home Minister oledi bising hehehe.
htkaki
post Sep 24 2008, 02:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(nira_110 @ Sep 24 2008, 12:54 PM)
My current lamp hours is 520. Doctor gave me MC so i can watch TF BD at home. Again!  rclxm9.gif  drool.gif

Kak Nira, I guess your HD65 is the most utilised among us here biggrin.gif

So, your BD collection is increasing eh? tongue.gif

dirtrun
post Sep 24 2008, 02:23 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(nira_110 @ Sep 24 2008, 12:54 PM)
My current lamp hours is 520. Doctor gave me MC so i can watch TF BD at home. Again!  rclxm9.gif  drool.gif
Wow,

My Pj is almost 19mths old n I hv clocked less than 400hrs.. no fight woh..

Keep up d gud work..
Dirtrun

80 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:23 AM