Jun 25 2008, 03:51 AM
6,489 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Serdang |
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jun 24 2008, 10:33 PM) if can eat porridge for next 6 month and get a guarneri i already start eating it long time ago loh..the problems is even i eat porridge for whole year also i won't be able to folk out the money for guarneri.. |
Jul 11 2008, 12:19 AM
34 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
It may be food for thought that Krell is often used by Sonus Faber at their factory when they design their speakers. Sonus faber's founder, Franco Serblin and Krell's founder, Dan D'Agostino, are great friends, hence the synergy.
http://hifi4sale.blogspot.com/2008/03/krel...aber-domus.html Sonus Faber Stradivaris were also designed using Krell power amps. Check out Ken Kessler's review of the Stradivari and SF factory visit in Hi-Fi News April 2004. here at Absolute Sounds' website (UK distributor for Krell & Sonus Faber) QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jun 1 2008, 04:24 PM) yea sure no prob. I am also using a Monarchy DIP ( the very 1st Gen also) and its now doing a wonderful re-streaming the output of my Apple Airport Express' S/PDIF output. Without the DIP, the Airport's stream makes the sound really rough and edgy. And this ain't serious listening but "convenience" listening to the stuff in my iTunes library. The DIP is totally awesome despite being 10+years old. Also great for converting Toslink to Co-ax or AES/EBU interface, if you wanna try different sounds. Now the newer model DIPs should be even better owing to improvements in digital timing accuracy from higher grade clock chips/Crystals. For serious listening, I got a Theta Jade transport (the one that pioneered the built-in buffer memory to reduce jitter just like Theta's Jitter-Jail standalone) , Wadia 12 DAC, then Mr. Krell, then Apogee Slant-6 hybrids. All XLO Signature-series AES/EBU (balanced) links for digital and analog, then bi-wired to the Apogees. All in a purpose built room with Robert Harley's top choice dimensions of 10-14-19. Before the Krell, I was driving the Concerto with an Exposure XX. Very smooth, but not quite enough power and the Concertos are abit power hungry. Incidentally, both the Concertos and the Apogee are using the same 6inch VIFA woofer driver. Added on July 11, 2008, 12:46 amI have a Krell KAV-400xi on (not on standby, but actually on) 24 hours a day, most of the day without aircon. Yes, it runs quite warm, but it's great sounding. John Atkinson's test is actually running 67W continuously at 8 ohms. In any case, at that kind of power levels, you have to be listening at really, really deafening/high levels and using very inefficient speakers (85DB/W/m or lower) with low impedance. In the real-world, you should be having no issues and wonderful sound instead, as what Wes Phillips discovered. Full review here: http://stereophile.com/integratedamps/205krell/ BTW, the KAV-400xi is a good match with the SF Concerto Domus and Grand Piano Domus. QUOTE(auronthas @ May 26 2008, 05:59 AM) No problem, it's good to share among forumers and i want to know more from others too on your experience. This post has been edited by wkfoong: Jul 11 2008, 12:46 AMAdded on May 26, 2008, 6:02 am I read Stereophile Editor-in-Chief, John Atkinson's measurement on Krell 400xi that he encountered overheating problem, hence, i worry if Krell 400xi can operate for long hour, or it may need a good ventilation system. Just my concern. |
Jul 11 2008, 02:44 AM
2,464 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Jul 11 2008, 08:14 AM
1,829 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Bolehland |
Jul 11 2008, 11:46 PM
1,346 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Krell is definitely well match but it is way above my budget.
But i heard Audio Analogue Puccini Settanta is quite well match with Sonus Faber speakers. Due to busy schedule, i still have no chance to make audition. Auronthas Added on July 11, 2008, 11:49 pm QUOTE(wkfoong @ Jul 11 2008, 12:19 AM) I have a Krell KAV-400xi on (not on standby, but actually on) 24 hours a day, most of the day without aircon. Yes, it runs quite warm, but it's great sounding. Well noted, thanks for clarification to all of us. John Atkinson's test is actually running 67W continuously at 8 ohms. In any case, at that kind of power levels, you have to be listening at really, really deafening/high levels and using very inefficient speakers (85DB/W/m or lower) with low impedance. In the real-world, you should be having no issues and wonderful sound instead, as what Wes Phillips discovered. Full review here: http://stereophile.com/integratedamps/205krell/ BTW, the KAV-400xi is a good match with the SF Concerto Domus and Grand Piano Domus. This post has been edited by auronthas: Jul 11 2008, 11:49 PM |
Jul 12 2008, 12:27 AM
1,061 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(wkfoong @ Jul 11 2008, 12:19 AM) It may be food for thought that Krell is often used by Sonus Faber at their factory when they design their speakers. Sonus faber's founder, Franco Serblin and Krell's founder, Dan D'Agostino, are great friends, hence the synergy. To add on, even Krell's first foray into making loudspeakers like the LAT-1 (or was it the LAT-0.. can't remember) was actually a licensed replica of the Guineari (i never bother to spell it right...) , except that instead of using wood, Krell used aluminium instead. Imagine that! http://hifi4sale.blogspot.com/2008/03/krel...aber-domus.html Sonus Faber Stradivaris were also designed using Krell power amps. Check out Ken Kessler's review of the Stradivari and SF factory visit in Hi-Fi News April 2004. here at Absolute Sounds' website (UK distributor for Krell & Sonus Faber) Added on July 11, 2008, 12:46 amI have a Krell KAV-400xi on (not on standby, but actually on) 24 hours a day, most of the day without aircon. Yes, it runs quite warm, but it's great sounding. John Atkinson's test is actually running 67W continuously at 8 ohms. In any case, at that kind of power levels, you have to be listening at really, really deafening/high levels and using very inefficient speakers (85DB/W/m or lower) with low impedance. In the real-world, you should be having no issues and wonderful sound instead, as what Wes Phillips discovered. Full review here: http://stereophile.com/integratedamps/205krell/ BTW, the KAV-400xi is a good match with the SF Concerto Domus and Grand Piano Domus. |
Jul 22 2008, 12:18 AM
1,339 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
wkfoong, thanks for the info.
If I were to go for Krell, I shall need to find a used unit. Anyone selling? |
Jul 22 2008, 12:52 AM
a KAV-300i goes for about RM3K to 5K these days ...
More than ample power to drive a SF up to the Extrema level. The newer KAV-400xi is much more refined, but does not punch as strongly as the 300i (according to the guru at Audio Image). Maybe can consider a Krell pre/power combo like a KSA-100 with a KRC-2 or similar ? This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Jul 22 2008, 12:52 AM |
Jul 22 2008, 08:14 AM
1,829 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Bolehland |
Jul 22 2008, 01:26 PM
2,864 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE But i heard Audio Analogue Puccini Settanta is quite well match with Sonus Faber speakers. Due to busy schedule, i still have no chance to make audition. Definitely audition them... I've heard an audio analogue amp and CD + sonus faber bookshelf setup at a shop a few days ago, and it was kinda "mushy and tubey" sounding to my ears. Granted, the conditions were FAR from ideal. |
Jul 22 2008, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Jul 22 2008, 01:26 PM) Definitely audition them... I've heard an audio analogue amp and CD + sonus faber bookshelf setup at a shop a few days ago, and it was kinda "mushy and tubey" sounding to my ears. Granted, the conditions were FAR from ideal. Thanks for feedback, so you like 'tube' sound? are u listening to AA Primo?I like more natural sound rather than analytical (sharp) as long as the music instruments are well defined especially classical music and jazz. |
Jul 22 2008, 09:33 PM
The thing about SFs are that they are quite hard to drive (thats why they love Krell amps so much). But when driven with enough controlling power, they really sing.
When SFs are under powered, they will sound really sloppy, blurry, mushy, lazy, no dynamics, etc etc . If severely underpowered, SFs can sound really shrill and harsh as well (coz the high end treble is clipping and it will sound really awful). Got a good friend who drives a pair of Concertino (the original 1st gen. ones) with a MusicalFidelity XA-1 amp and a Micromega Minium CDP. Really bang for buck for a budget setup. |
Jul 27 2008, 02:45 AM
9 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Greetin~ Audiophiles!
Hello all, my name is Hasyrein. I'm new here at Audiophiles forum, I'm also new to hi-fi world. Last time only listen to computer headphone So, can i join this Sonus Faber club? I don't have any SF speakers but thinking off to get a pair of Concertino Domus (not enough money yet). Currently my speakers is Epos ES11 PcWork, I need your help since u also own ES11, how does SB concertino domus sounded over epos ES11 ? (especially on vocal) My simple setup... TEAC CDP - bought 2nd-hand online Audiolab 8000A MK II Integrated Amp - bought 2nd-hand online Epos ES11 Speakers - also bought 2nd-hand online QED Qunex 2 interconnect - new QED Original Speaker cable (Bi-wire) - new Thx! |
Jul 27 2008, 02:57 AM
Jul 27 2008, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Jul 22 2008, 01:26 PM) Definitely audition them... I've heard an audio analogue amp and CD + sonus faber bookshelf setup at a shop a few days ago, and it was kinda "mushy and tubey" sounding to my ears. Granted, the conditions were FAR from ideal. QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jul 22 2008, 09:33 PM) The thing about SFs are that they are quite hard to drive (thats why they love Krell amps so much). But when driven with enough controlling power, they really sing. yeah.my sf is quite lazy and mushy now. hahaWhen SFs are under powered, they will sound really sloppy, blurry, mushy, lazy, no dynamics, etc etc . If severely underpowered, SFs can sound really shrill and harsh as well (coz the high end treble is clipping and it will sound really awful). Got a good friend who drives a pair of Concertino (the original 1st gen. ones) with a MusicalFidelity XA-1 amp and a Micromega Minium CDP. Really bang for buck for a budget setup. had tested my SF with Naim. it really like change a whole set new speaker. the characteristic is totally different . lol. smoothness is remain though. QUOTE(hasyrein @ Jul 27 2008, 02:45 AM) Greetin~ Audiophiles! in vocal. Epos can't fight SF at all.Hello all, my name is Hasyrein. I'm new here at Audiophiles forum, I'm also new to hi-fi world. Last time only listen to computer headphone So, can i join this Sonus Faber club? I don't have any SF speakers but thinking off to get a pair of Concertino Domus (not enough money yet). Currently my speakers is Epos ES11 PcWork, I need your help since u also own ES11, how does SB concertino domus sounded over epos ES11 ? (especially on vocal) My simple setup... TEAC CDP - bought 2nd-hand online Audiolab 8000A MK II Integrated Amp - bought 2nd-hand online Epos ES11 Speakers - also bought 2nd-hand online QED Qunex 2 interconnect - new QED Original Speaker cable (Bi-wire) - new Thx! the micro detail. dynamic. smoothness .. the different is even larger then the prices different. i upgraded from epos -> sonus. |
Jul 27 2008, 04:17 PM
72 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Jun 20 2008, 06:16 PM) Very beautiful stands in metal and walnut specially made for Sonus Faber Concertino/Concerto/Minima/MinimaAmator loudspeakers Can anybody tells me where can i buy these stands in malaysia ? i have been looking for this stand for a long time.Its for sf concerto home. |
Jul 27 2008, 06:11 PM
If you are in Penang, can try to ask Sound-Concepts if they got any stock lying around ... but i doubt if they do .
If in Klang Valley .... I think you're pretty much outta luck. But there's aways E-Bay ! (God bless the Internet). hahahaha |
Jul 27 2008, 09:23 PM
72 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jul 27 2008, 06:11 PM) If you are in Penang, can try to ask Sound-Concepts if they got any stock lying around ... but i doubt if they do . Shippings gonna be a WOO AH... LOLIf in Klang Valley .... I think you're pretty much outta luck. But there's aways E-Bay ! (God bless the Internet). hahahaha Spk stands do make alot diffrent..... in term of lowwwww....... I got few spk stand from diffrent places... all doesnt sounds good as the original. I think i'll go rob my friends house then.... if any of u you guys have info on these spk stand please tell me... |
Jul 27 2008, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(mariobro @ Jul 27 2008, 09:23 PM) Shippings gonna be a WOO AH... LOL then i better saving up for concertino domus stand then. don't wanna wait it's out of phase then hard to find liao.Spk stands do make alot diffrent..... in term of lowwwww....... I got few spk stand from diffrent places... all doesnt sounds good as the original. I think i'll go rob my friends house then.... if any of u you guys have info on these spk stand please tell me... |
| Change to: | 0.0323sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:34 PM |