QUOTE(wkfoong @ Jul 11 2008, 12:19 AM)
Bro,Your system very very 'geng' leh.. Really dunno what it sounds like. I also dreaming of owning a Krell but I will probably aim at 300i coz no budget..
Hi-Fi Sonus Faber, The artisan of sound
Jul 11 2008, 08:14 AM
1,829 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Bolehland |
Jul 22 2008, 08:14 AM
Aug 1 2008, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(wkfoong @ Jul 31 2008, 01:27 AM) It's actually RM9900, to be exact. How I wish to have the amount of cash to grab it and a pair of Sonus.. Added on July 31, 2008, 1:39 am I know someone who may want to let go a KAV-400xi for RM7k. 18 months old, mint condition (9/10), complete with box and manual. |
Aug 1 2008, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(PcWork @ Aug 1 2008, 12:55 PM) i tested krell. not sure which model. but it's intergrated in perfect hifi. Wah.. Trying to inject more poisons. pair with my own pair of SFCD. seriously nice. speed. transparencies. smooth is top notch i ever heard from my own speaker. the only amp that i like more than the krell is audio research. it's matching my personal taste more. |
Aug 2 2008, 02:03 PM
Aug 2 2008, 02:44 PM
Aug 5 2008, 10:15 AM
Is SF standmounters good in bass? I have gone through some of the specs of the Domus. The Concertino's frequency response can reach until 50Hz while the Concerto can reach as low as 35Hz. Well, the diff of 15Hz is quite huge. Same goes to the prices, I bet.
Aug 6 2008, 07:58 AM
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Aug 5 2008, 08:42 PM) paper specs very misleading. Alot of other factors come into play like front or rear facing bass-reflex ports, height of the stands, distance from back wall, room conditions...etc. I see.. I have been reading some webpages and many said that a square room is not good. That's one of the issues I have. I even think that given the size of my room, I can hardly get a pair of floorstanders such as Concerto D.dont forget amp capability too .... thats why it's best if u can audition in your own listening enviro. This post has been edited by car_o_scope: Aug 6 2008, 07:59 AM |
Aug 9 2008, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 9 2008, 03:46 PM) Today i have a chance to make audition with Ayre AX-7E and Krell KAV 400xi int. amp pair with Canton speaker with Jazz music. Bro, you really had a great time auditioning them. Here's my feedback and review Ayre - bright, detail, but it's not my taste and finding it stress my ears after long hour listening. Krell - warm, depth, tonal clarity, i am able to distingush various music instruments, very comfortable listening. Cheers. |
Aug 11 2008, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Aug 11 2008, 07:41 PM) Well bro, thats just one event. I guess you are trying to say that there should be a nice shop selling Krells in KL. But when I see a KAV-400 stacked amongst the other junk at some place like Hi-Way laser (for example)..... jatuh standard lah. Not that I have anything against Hi-Way (i'm actually a Hi-Way supporter and have bought a lot of HT and Plasma other stuff from them). Its just that generally the retail image of Krell is being presented very POORLY in KL (or Malaysia even?). The new agents should really do something about it, unless they are just contended with low/mid-class hifi sundryshops peddling Krells. Whilst its true that Krell does not depend on retail frontage alone to sell, but the presentation is equally if not more important for a high-end brand like Krell. Even that Taiwanese speaker brand USHER gets a decent dress-job and presentation by CMY. Shame-shame on the current Krell distis. |
Sep 15 2008, 08:44 PM
Sep 15 2008, 09:13 PM
Are Sonus Fabers cheaper across the causeway? It seems that there are tonnes of Hi Fi stuffs there and they are cheaper.
Sep 15 2008, 09:30 PM
Sep 17 2008, 09:42 PM
Sep 21 2008, 06:28 PM
Just wanna ask few questions...
Would you guys consider buying 2nd hand Amplifier to drive your wonderful Sonus Fabers? So scared of those modified units that are being sold.. Do you think there is a high probability in falling into such trap? |
Sep 22 2008, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 21 2008, 08:25 PM) Guys, I do not know how to check or detect whether the unit has been modified. It is important we should actually listen to the Sonus Faber loudspeakers in proper setups rather than merely relying on others' opinion in this forum or some reviews in audio magazines alone. IMO, second hand amplifiers are generally fine with me but I may not be able to accept those units which have been repaired/modded before. When we are buying second hand amplifiers or other used gears, Caveat Emptor ! I would not realise that the sound is not original. Getting a new unit will cost a bomb. |
Sep 22 2008, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Sep 22 2008, 05:55 PM) Go by the equipment's outer general appearance, whether screws have been opened up before and etc. As a general rule, avoid amplifiers which are too old as the need to re-cap them may arise. Yup. I have shortlisted some brands. You should be able to tell from the sound you are hearing vs sound of the same amplifier brand new. If you cannot tell them apart, why the need to buy that particular amplifier? For brand name sake? I never subscribe to such belief. Bottomline, trust your eyes, ears and instinct. Happy hunting and enjoy the music. Anyhow, I am not going to get one in a hurry. |
Sep 24 2008, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Sep 24 2008, 06:51 PM) yup.. for example: a good partner to the Concertino Domus/ Home would be like a present day model Exposure Integrated Amp. Exposure XX is good enough to get the good tunes out of Concertino Domus / Home?Using anything less than something in the Exposure's class would be an insult to the SonusFaber, but a RM15K amp would be serious overkill. Of course, "overkill" is better than "insult", if one must choose between the 2 scenarios. |
Sep 24 2008, 09:40 PM
Sep 24 2008, 10:34 PM
I have not driven a pair of Sonus Concertino Domus with my Exposure XX but I can feel that it will not be able to expose the real abilities of the Sonus.
| Change to: | 0.0409sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:12 AM |