post May 30 2008, 09:06 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

here update some photo of sonus faber concertino domus.
my setup is

NAD3020A moded.
Marants CD-46
Van Den Hul D102MKIII RCA-RCA
Speaker Cable = DIY / Cable Talk 4

PcWork
post Jun 1 2008, 12:31 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ May 31 2008, 05:49 PM)
Grandspy:

Couple of years back with the Concerto (no Domus) was first launched, it received raved reviews from Stereophile with paired with the KAV-300i.

In the interest of Hi-Fi curiosity, maybe can arrange for your Domuses (or Domii ...)  to have a go with the KAV-300i (i've got one) and see hows the sound like if you haven't explored already.  smile.gif

BTW, my Concertos (1st Gen batch ) are still going strong after all these years (since 1997 i think).

Added on May 31, 2008, 5:53 pmSometimes also depends on  the DAC punya receiver interface and/or the transport punya transmitter interface. The myriad combination of these factors can be misleading and make people think one particular medium is better than the other.
QUOTE(grandspy @ Jun 1 2008, 12:26 AM)
Nice Pics PcWork!!
Nice setup!!! How effective is the jitter remover?
That's what I thought... KAV-300i could be the perfect match for the SF. BTW, mine are not the newer model of Domus(es?) but the earlier Concertos.. probably the same as yours?? Yes, I would like that very much... to have a listen to the 300i driving a pair of Concertos. I've listened to a 400xi paired with Concertos but not a 300i.  Hey, can I put your name up there as the owner of Concertos?
hey
how about a small gathering of sonus owner?
grandspy. wanna come over for listening my sonus?
i had tune it according to my taste.
it's very different with the one you listened at perfect hifi that day.
personally mine is smoother.
due to cable/ amp.

i has one epos ES-11 at my hand too.
=)

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jun 1 2008, 12:33 AM
PcWork
post Jun 3 2008, 12:30 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(grandspy @ Jun 1 2008, 12:53 AM)
Great idea!! That, we shall do.
I can imagine that. Your NAD is already warm and smooth. Good match for the SF? I'll bring some CDs smile.gif
well
it become more smooth and warm. =P
andrea bocelli and some flute songs is superb imho. well define, thick enough to represent the actual size of a flute.

QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 1 2008, 01:02 AM)
The jitter remover is playing main role in my system sweat.gif . Especially, when my transport is not match well with my old dac. Remove the jitter remover, high, vocal, bass, dynamic  become noting in my system. sweat.gif
May be my dac is too old, latest dac  like Benchmark DAC 1 got reclock function will solve the matching issue.

Added on June 1, 2008, 1:06 am

PCwork Bro, i am not  sonus owner. Can i join the audition? I really want to know the poison of sonus faber. biggrin.gif
no problem dude.
=P
if u wanna kena serious poison, do you wanna visit perfect hifi with me?
as bro grandspy did. hahaha

PcWork
post Jun 15 2008, 03:47 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

i am currently pairing Cable talk 4 cable to my Concertino. =P
will proceed with more run in and report in how's the sound
anyway. grandspy. i am currently back to sarawak. and i shall contact you after i go back to KL by 26th =)
by then we discuss out a time for a mini gathering for ppl who loved sonus. =)

PcWork
post Jun 23 2008, 01:00 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jun 23 2008, 12:15 AM)
To all Sonus Fans ....

i stumbled across a pair of lovely Guinarei's .... complete with the ori stands (the one with strings) ....

Anyone keen to go look-see look-see it ? haha
Guinarei hommage or Guinarei mommento?
PcWork
post Jun 23 2008, 02:23 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(grandspy @ Jun 23 2008, 01:35 AM)
Err... it's Guarneri Homage / Memento
unless you're talking bout China made SF  brows.gif
dun like that lah. u get what i mean mah..lol
ponosonic
sanny?
sonny?
=P
Guarneri = guanary.....
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jun 23 2008, 02:00 AM)
hahaha.. RM13K, old stock clearance.  i doubt if its made in China...
me mean my typo lah
even cheapest Sonus faber were maded in ITALY...

then it's the guarneri Homage. older version...
which gives a really big hit on high end bookshelve market.. =P though momento were yet another bigger hit..
=P

PcWork
post Jun 25 2008, 03:51 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jun 24 2008, 10:33 PM)
hmmm... RM13k ....  so how .. any takers? smile.gif

Then can eat porridge for the next 6 months...
if can eat porridge for next 6 month and get a guarneri i already start eating it long time ago loh..
the problems is even i eat porridge for whole year also i won't be able to folk out the money for guarneri..
yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif
PcWork
post Jul 27 2008, 12:58 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(Tachikoma @ Jul 22 2008, 01:26 PM)
Definitely audition them... I've heard an audio analogue amp and CD + sonus faber bookshelf setup at a shop a few days ago, and it was kinda "mushy and tubey" sounding to my ears. Granted, the conditions were FAR from ideal.
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jul 22 2008, 09:33 PM)
The thing about SFs are that they are quite hard to drive (thats why they love Krell amps so much). But when driven with enough controlling power, they really sing.

When SFs are under powered, they will sound really sloppy, blurry, mushy, lazy, no dynamics,  etc etc . If severely underpowered, SFs can sound really shrill and harsh as well (coz the high end treble is clipping and it will sound really awful).

Got a good friend who drives a pair of Concertino (the original 1st gen. ones) with a MusicalFidelity XA-1 amp and a Micromega Minium CDP. Really bang for buck for a budget setup.
yeah.my sf is quite lazy and mushy now. haha
had tested my SF with Naim. it really like change a whole set new speaker. the characteristic is totally different . lol. smoothness is remain though.

QUOTE(hasyrein @ Jul 27 2008, 02:45 AM)
Greetin~ Audiophiles!

Hello all, my name is  Hasyrein. I'm new here at Audiophiles forum, I'm also new to hi-fi world. Last time only listen to computer headphone cool.gif

So, can i join this Sonus Faber club? I don't have any SF speakers but thinking off to get a pair of Concertino Domus (not enough money yet).

Currently my speakers is Epos ES11

PcWork,
I need your help since u also own ES11, how does SB concertino domus sounded over epos ES11 ? (especially on vocal)

My simple setup...

TEAC CDP - bought 2nd-hand online
Audiolab 8000A MK II Integrated Amp - bought 2nd-hand online
Epos ES11 Speakers - also bought 2nd-hand online
QED Qunex 2 interconnect - new
QED Original Speaker cable (Bi-wire) - new

Thx!
in vocal. Epos can't fight SF at all.
the micro detail. dynamic. smoothness .. the different is even larger then the prices different.
i upgraded from epos -> sonus.

PcWork
post Jul 27 2008, 09:48 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(mariobro @ Jul 27 2008, 09:23 PM)
Shippings gonna be a WOO AH... LOL
Spk stands do make alot diffrent..... in term of lowwwww.......
I got few spk stand from diffrent places... all doesnt sounds good as the original.
I think i'll go rob my friends house then.... if any of u you guys have info on these spk stand please tell me...
then i better saving up for concertino domus stand then. don't wanna wait it's out of phase then hard to find liao.

PcWork
post Jul 28 2008, 09:48 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(grandspy @ Jul 27 2008, 09:50 PM)
Had a good listen to the Bladelius amp today. Not the Thor but the much bigger brother. Still it gave some idea on characteristics of the amp. Tubey sounded it was indeed. And I did like it  biggrin.gif

hasyrein, welcome!
PcWork, so when is the SF listening session? long time overdue..  wink.gif BTW the top of the range SF speakers gave me goosebumps all over  sweat.gif
after AV fair kok.. my fren is busy for av fair now.
he already agree that we have our mini sonus faber fan club gathering at his shop.

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jul 28 2008, 01:26 AM)
Just asking, you guys got a decent listening room to audition the SF stuff ?
no we don't. but i was intended to hold a sonus faber gathering at hifi shop.
talking around. and ask shares some do and dont's on the sonus setup. =)

PcWork
post Jul 28 2008, 08:34 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 28 2008, 10:27 AM)
Pcwork, is it in Sri Hartamas?
perfect hifi in wisma MPL. =)
there are some sonus faber user who is not forumer of lyn, might able to join the meet.
i will prepare to send out invitation to them =)

lol sonus user should gets gathering though as we shared same taste.
L3/5A user always gather together for sharing their though and most important. introducing some nice music that play nice on l3/5A
really wish sonus also establish a club over malaysia user.
hehehe

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jul 28 2008, 08:36 PM
PcWork
post Jul 30 2008, 11:35 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Jul 30 2008, 01:59 AM)
been runing the callas for few months edi without issue...

but i dun think it can drive yours properly..sad.gif

moded by my father to 1 valve only each side instead of 2, need to be driven by a preamp
he by passed the preamp section of the amp?
the unison research i think is memang single ended wor.

PcWork
post Aug 1 2008, 12:55 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 30 2008, 10:15 PM)
After visiting Norman Audio's Krell product on recent KLAV show, looking eagerly  drool.gif on this amp now, as the price of Krell KAV400xi dropped below RM10k.

Would try to audition on the amp with SFCD.  Any SF fan club members have done this setup and audition?  What's your feedback?
i tested krell. not sure which model. but it's intergrated in perfect hifi.
pair with my own pair of SFCD. seriously nice.
speed. transparencies. smooth is top notch i ever heard from my own speaker.
the only amp that i like more than the krell is audio research. it's matching my personal taste more.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Aug 1 2008, 12:55 PM
PcWork
post Aug 1 2008, 09:18 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Aug 1 2008, 07:47 PM)
Audio research which you mention is integrated amp or pre/power?
intergrated also
i think it's 55i
i comparing both intergrated.
for me. pre/power configuration is a dream that is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO FAR away from me.
lol

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 1 2008, 08:43 PM)
if i have a chance and perfect hifi has Krell KAV 400xi, i would like to do a critical listening if it suit my taste (jazz, classical, new age) not fast pace music pairing with my SFCD. thanks for sharing your experience, pcwork

If i can bring Krell back to my home for test audition, that will be superb (My dream), as other components such as speaker cables, analogue cables, surely provide different result from hifi shop.

Not like country in US that you can bring home to test with certain written agreement.  I hope to see the first hifi shop in Malaysia can offer this.

Cheers
i do listen it with jazz and classical.
the fastest song i listen is take dake "ju ju"
most of my song collection were jazz.... janis ian..andrea bocelli sort of things.
the speed i mean is not for fast pace of music. it's really accurate... when we talking about detail. we can often say micro detail. however this speed i am refering is. making the sonus faber free from "lagg". or the speed for micro detail that it doesn't makes the sound sticky... hopes u get what i mean. my experience is i listening to Yo-yo Ma. the extra speed and extra accuracies makes the cello sounds realistic. which pops in my mind that "hm.. this sounds more like cello to me.." and the emotion really did well. controlling SF really great. which i don't even can obtain same amount of emotion with my own setup although i blast it with much louder volume. the emotion is just not there.
as compare to primare setup i tried in CMY. primare is good for proac. but imho. Krell / Audio research is more fun for Sonus.

PcWork
post Aug 2 2008, 02:00 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Aug 1 2008, 10:09 PM)
What a great analysis, pcwork!

I am not too much for detail or too accurate, as long as i can listen to all kind of music instruments and well defined as if the musician are playing in front of you, naturally, feel comfortably, grainless, never stop from listening...

I am looking forward to audition audio analogue puccini settanta, krell kav400xi with SFCD when i am really free.

Cheers
when i bought my SFCD. i thinking of "AS SMOOTH AS POSSIBLE" and those words slaps in my brain deeply.
hence i was thinking i don't even upgrade my amp from NAD.
i am quite happy with heavily modified NAD. however. now. after i tested the krell with my own sonus, i really miss the "control" of the amp.
it's not matter of how loud. it's matter of controlling. and the speed / accuracies will truly add refinement on reproducing the great minor notes that is SO important in orchestra / vocal / jazz... which it truly brings great information about emotion of the players / singer.
however. i also tested the audio analoge.. which IMHO. its not my cup of tea.. i don't know why. i prefer my own NAD more than the 10X higher price audio analoge.. it's too digital for my ear imho.
=P
i think if i were to describe it...

my NAD = photo that is blured, but smooth enough for ppl to see the object. but not micro detail. and it's more emphasise on the scene itself.. rather than all detail. u can enjoy the picture of the scene. but it's not that clear.. so some might as well call it as "ART" feeling. nothings to wow about any accuracies, or any superior comes from the picture. to enjoy the picture is just purely from the scene(songs) itself, and perhaps the skill / angle taking by the photographer (tuning of accesories such as cable)

Krell = sort of carl zeiss with superb combination of aparture setting. depth of field.. nice contrast.. nice focus... clear at places that it should be clear., blur at places it shall blur, super accurate tone of colour(accurate white balance) , red means red, blue means blue (which in this case, grate tonality). well.. it's all great for me.. while in this other hand. i feel that audio research were sort of leica.. also all great for me. and i like leica more than zeiss though =P

Audio analoge = Photoshop created computer CG. which super detail from the front to the end. which imho.. fake to my ear though. pls note my words that the setup is what i tested at perfect hifi, with my own sfcd, and the cable patched by alvin on the setup. i not sure why it's like that. but i just don't like it. i might needs another listen to clearly appriciate it's benefits.

hopes it give a greater ideal.
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Aug 2 2008, 01:25 AM)
Krells really can rock SFs ...

In fact, there was this "killer combo" in the 90s ... the KAV-300i  rocking a pair of Extremas .. and at that time, it was the ONLY Integrated that could drive the Extremas. Needless to say, the KAV-300i got pretty toasty to the touch after about 30mins or so working on the Extremas at normal listening levels.

In case some of you'll haven't noticed, the SF Extrema is (perhaps the only one of its kind) really one hungry power sucker, so hungry that even its PASSIVE CROSSOVER has a HEATSINK protruding out the rear of the cabinet !!.

Imagine that for a loudspeaker ... u need a HEATSINK for it's Crossover alone !
lol
extrema is truly extreme that it's the heaviest bookshelve ever produced i guess.
each of the bookshelve comes nearly 80KG..
=P

This post has been edited by PcWork: Aug 2 2008, 02:02 AM
PcWork
post Sep 16 2008, 06:19 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Sep 15 2008, 09:28 PM)
If you have the budget, by all means go for Sonus Farber. The sound is very nice, even pair it with budget intergrated amp. 
Kns PcWork poison me lol  laugh.gif
QUOTE(TarePanda @ Sep 16 2008, 01:45 PM)
Just wonder...

Does Contertino Domus better than Concertino Home?

Which one will you choose?
domus is slightly LESS bright.
imho. but concertino home use thick solid wood. while domus sort of cut cost version on the enclosure (using slice of solide wood and stick with "skin" )
but the driver wise. some said domus has better driver. some said they prefer home driver.
domus currently using vifa tweeter with ring radiator. and if i am not mistaken, shall be scanspeak midbass.
while home is using both scanspeak tweeter and midbass (or audio technology?)

but from my experience. domus sound slightly more suitable in newer song. such as faye wong, celine dion, while home needs serious amp to drive it. and once it's driven well. i think home is slightly better. while domus easier to drive and easier to come out good sound. but it doesn't goes as excellent as home at super nice amp setup.

so MY PERSONAL POINT OF VIEW : if you has higher budget. go for concertino home. else go concertino domus. easier to handle.

PcWork
post Sep 17 2008, 05:52 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

QUOTE(TarePanda @ Sep 17 2008, 09:00 AM)
Super nice amp mean like Krell, Ayre, etc? Those amp which cost around RM10k? sweat.gif
yeap
sort of that kinda of things.
=)

PcWork
post Oct 17 2008, 05:26 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

hm.. the amp arguement brings me to think about same theory as some guys spend plenty of money to plays antique car rather than buying a mitshubishi EVO 8. which they money they spend is much more than enough for evo8.

well. my golden rules is.. since it is my money. as long as i justify and happy with what i spend for, then it's hell worth to spend my hard working time to earn the money, and buy what i dream for, and what i wished for. no matter what taste of me, worth or not.
this also comes into case i think that people actually purchase somethings with certain percentage of consideration in their heart. my real life case was, when i was in form 6. i spend RM 330 for a sony discman. and i remember my female classmate, they all with a funny face said that "if i have RM 300 i definately go spend and make my hair straight, rather than buy that pieces of electronic junk"
lol.

in my mind, that the discman is hell much more important for me as compared to my hair. but for them. hair is much more important than the music. so in my mind, music is 90% and my hair is 10%, but for girls hair is 90% but music is 10%. hence. i can understood that, some people have 50%-50% for sound and the outlook of the setup. some has 90% for sound yet 10% for outlook. some has 80% for outlook and yet 20% for sound. it just personal preference.
on top of that. for those who has high percentage of considering the sound. some prefer mid. some prefer heavier bass, some prefer faster speed, some prefer dynamic, micro dynamic, sound stage, depth, transcient detail, quieter background.... all in depend on the song they listening to. hence in different people there are different percentage of sound they will prefer to. it's really no need to discuss the things is worth or not.it might not worth for me. but some people can appriciate it will feel it's hell worth. and after i think through of that, i stop putting my personal taste on other people. i found that in world wide forum. there's common that people who bought certain things will wish that other people to say that they buy hell good things with hell worth price. but what is the point? in the end. you are the one who purchase the things and enjoy. does other people opinion really that important for you to justify your money is well spend or not ? one of my friend spend RM 80K on a single watch. well, for me, as long as he love it, as long as he feel worth for him to work hard, earn the money, and buy the watch, for praide, or what ever reason. then it's hell worth it. a well spend money i will say. of course. opinion still an opinion as a reference for you to decide either to buy the things or not. but in the end , final decision still depend on the person who will folk out the money and purchase.

i think it will be more healty if we can discuss about the characteristic of certain equiptment. just discuss. if some one decided to purchase it on top of what ever reason they have. we shall be happy for them. as they had spend the money and purchase what they want. i often see some person in this forum condame other people for saying "your headphone not good.. this this this brand this model is much better yet price almost the same".. lately i just feel tired to participate in this kind of arguement.

even when i buy my sonus faber, i heard a lot of comment from the other shop which sells other brand, that the speaker they are selling can offer better speed lah.. better bass la if compare to sonus faber concertino domus. no doubt there are better speaker out there. some tell me to get opera callas gold, some told me get proac studio 110, some KEF, some B&W. but i know what i want. hence i still go for it.

so. some might argue that equiptment might be over price. as a good example. BOSE. however, there's no other brand can offer the "size" , nor flexiblity of the speaker, which yet producing "ok" sound. we are not talking about audiophile, worth or not here, or some one can buy sonically better setup with similar price. some might just need a back ground music. rather than serious hifi sound. instead for them ,. they will be more prefer to have smaller, easier to hide away speaker with ok sound. rather than super ugly speaker which makes their living room damn ugly messy yet sound good.

some people prefer slimdevice squeezebox (i read a lot of review of it, and i am buying a pinnacle network music system too ). doesnt' mean they don't appriciate high end music. however, it's more into consideration of the flexible of using it, convinient of using it. mean while it provide acceptable range of sound.
different people has different acceptable standard to certain equiptment.
hence i seldom participate in this discussion of amp and matching problem. for me. i am heck happy with my sonus faber + NAD + Marantz. hence it's no point comparing with other people. they are definately much more advance, better system outthere. however, i am really glad for what i can afford, this is so far the best enjoyment i can archieve with the budget that i can afford. i had tried as several friend brings their tube amp (KT88 / 6550 / EL34), or solid state amp. which some of them were with "big name" ... but it just not the sound i want. then i drop back using NAD though. and the money i stand by for amp upgrade ended up in purchasing better cable.

well. just some nagging comment of what i am thinking. nothings so special about sonus though.
but it's what that drive me to purchase sonus faber, and with the thinking, it is also why i never regret until now after my purchase of SFCD. each time i take off the cloth that i cover sonus faber and let it sing. i feel hell happy. and i can't help but keep thinking "this is really good.. this is what i had been looking for.. this is what i want"

This post has been edited by PcWork: Oct 17 2008, 05:43 PM
PcWork
post Oct 17 2008, 09:41 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

lately seriously busy.
most of the time i will be staying in lab for my research. this situation might continue until january or february. or even longer.
currently. i really spend less time in my house. works from 9am until 2mid night in lab everyday. even got time to go home earlier also i will spend on my sonus, do some reading, and even learn to play a flute.
other than that.. i seriously not much time left for online and talk. today is exceptional as i have to sit infront of computer and settle my assignment which due at next week. lol
quite fun also i can still post in lyn.

PcWork
post Nov 23 2008, 07:30 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

lol. we have a new member today.
who bought a concertino domus.. =P

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0389sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:26 AM