126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

KyoLee
post Feb 2 2010, 12:24 AM

117 posts

gaia
refer to hellscream gunpla building.. which build in loose way.. so once done building u can disassemble easily to wash in water and assemble back for paint and cement

normally once u done the gunpla build in first time. when u disassemble u sure remember everything since u already done assemble it ^^
*hope it help*

normal process what i done is
cut>sand>build>un-assemble the parts for wash>build it again> paint> coat> done.. ^^

This post has been edited by KyoLee: Feb 2 2010, 12:25 AM
VincC454
post Feb 2 2010, 05:28 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

need opinion from here

since i end up making the blue parts abit too dark
what kind of finish you all think i should do? semi or gloss?

josephlimjh
post Feb 2 2010, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Feb 2 2010, 05:28 PM)
need opinion from here

I think it will look good in gloss, the shiny coat will probably make it look less darker. Anyway, have you finished the 0 Raiser? I read in Hobby fanatics that ppl said that once u combine the 0 raiser, the 00 gundam can't really lean forward cuz its too heavy.
erh_teo
post Feb 3 2010, 02:35 PM

Gloss coat will somehow deepen whatever color (except white laugh.gif).
VincC454, go for flat coat if you don't mind "pastel" effect.
inquisytor
post Feb 3 2010, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Feb 2 2010, 05:28 PM)
need opinion from here

I actually think the dark blue looks quite nice compare to the original lighter blue nod.gif
VincC454
post Feb 3 2010, 03:23 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

now my choice is to lighten the blue...

or go for flat/semi gloss topcoat

klay: dont really get..."pastel" effect?

This post has been edited by VincC454: Feb 3 2010, 03:27 PM
erh_teo
post Feb 3 2010, 03:41 PM

I also dunno how to explain.. a term which rayloke uses a lot.. pastel effect as in "powdery feel in terms of it's color"..
means not gloss at all gua..

i think yumoto's stuff is quite "pastel"..
http://www.geocities.jp/a2crafts/sp2.htm
VincC454
post Feb 3 2010, 04:01 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

really sked of flat finish one...
those frosting doh.gif
erh_teo
post Feb 3 2010, 05:33 PM

then sepray thin thin layer lor.. laugh.gif
RazerRazeTheWorld
post Feb 8 2010, 12:53 PM

125 posts

Guys im new to gunpla building. Im planning on handbrushing my S Gundam using acrylics paints. But i find it difficult to get acrylics paints like Gunze brand or Model Master. Tamiya acrylics as far as i know is not recommended for handbrushing.
Any suggestions? Should i try enamel? Im avoiding lacquer because its very toxic.
fyire
post Feb 9 2010, 01:59 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Feb 3 2010, 04:01 PM)
really sked of flat finish one...
those frosting doh.gif
make sure to spray on a hot dry day then smile.gif

and make sure to work fast too. the weather lately is damn unpredictable ler.. one moment hot and dry next moment rain like mad.

but I find that the moisture trap of my compressor makes a good indication on when its a good time to spray flat finish. I let the compressor run for 5 minutes or so, and if there's minimal moisture trapped in it, then I'll go ahead and spray the flat finish. otherwise I'll wait.
Vince1991
post Feb 9 2010, 06:14 PM

262 posts

some of my humble Seed models.. > <
im tired of seeing them posing on stands so im planning to make a gundam base or hanger(in the warships) with lighting..any sifus here know how to make one?

and 1 more question.. how and what do i use to paint the small tiny pilot(Kira Yamato, Shin Asuka etc etc)
Xzens1110
post Feb 13 2010, 01:29 AM

96 posts

i wana ask some question ..? why ther put some thinner into the colour and paint to the gundam ? ....why put thinner ? its a normal thinner ? o.O confuse @.@

after i spray my gundam ..its look weird the skin ==''..o.O what should i do after i spray my gundam ? .....

btw Tamiya enamel thinner only clean tamiya colour or ?

This post has been edited by Xzens1110: Feb 13 2010, 01:45 AM
moyong
post Feb 14 2010, 03:16 PM

Fish
751 posts

hi all,

would like to seek advise from people who have the 1/100 MG Shin Musha Sengoku No Jin.

1. Do you guys paint it or spray topcoats?
2. Do you guys spray "flat" coats on the red parts?

It's my first kit so i don't dare to do any sudden moves laugh.gif

1wing
post Feb 15 2010, 03:10 AM

Hey guys
I am new to this painting job n stuff. So i got a couple of *noob* questions
1) between spraying, painting using a brush, or painting using a marker, which is better?
2) do i need apply to my gundam parts before painting?
3) do i like need to multi paint the parts?
4) the topcoat, what is the different between flat and the other types?

i have tried using the gundam marker to paint. when it was dried, i put some maskin tape over it to do another paint job. when i remove the masking tape, the paint was sorf of like "tercabut" together with the masking tape cry.gif . is it because the paint is not completely dry or cause by other reasons. rclxub.gif
after that incident, i have put all my painting job on halt. please help me icon_question.gif
z3r0717
post Feb 15 2010, 08:46 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Xzens1110 @ Feb 13 2010, 01:29 AM)
i wana ask some question ..? why ther put some thinner into the colour and paint to the gundam ? ....why put thinner ?    its a normal thinner ?  o.O confuse @.@
after i spray my gundam ..its look weird the skin ==''..o.O what should i do after i spray my gundam ? .....
btw Tamiya enamel thinner only clean tamiya colour or ?
Yes you need to put thinne with the paint to paint your gundam... The thinner you use is HOBBY Thinner not Industrial thinner(this one use for cleaning your stuff)
It is same like adding water to watercolor paints before painting...
Tamiya enamel thinner is to mix with tamiya enamel paints

QUOTE(moyong @ Feb 14 2010, 03:16 PM)
hi all,

would like to seek advise from people who have the 1/100 MG Shin Musha Sengoku No Jin.

1. Do you guys paint it or spray topcoats?
2. Do you guys spray "flat" coats on the red parts?

It's my first kit so i don't dare to do any sudden moves laugh.gif
1. This one totally depends on you, either you wanna just top coat it or spray the whole kit
2. Same answer as question 1

QUOTE(1wing @ Feb 15 2010, 03:10 AM)
Hey guys
I am new to this painting job n stuff. So i got a couple of *noob* questions
1) between spraying, painting using a brush, or painting using a marker, which is better?
2) do i need apply to my gundam parts before painting?
3) do i like need to multi paint the parts?
4) the topcoat, what is the different between flat and the other types?

i have tried using the gundam marker to paint. when it was dried, i put some maskin tape over it to do another paint job. when i remove the masking tape, the paint was sorf of like "tercabut" together with the masking tape cry.gif . is it because the paint is not completely dry or cause by other reasons. rclxub.gif
after that incident, i have put all my painting job on halt. please help me  icon_question.gif
1. Best result for painting is AirBrush > Spray Can > Hand Paint > Gundam Marker
2. you need to apply Primer/surfacer on the gundam parts b4 spraying, this is to make the paint stick better and check any errors on the kit(Scratches etc...)
3. Yes, this is because you need to separate them(cause different colors)
4. the name already tells you the difference
Flat - flat
semi gloss - half glossy
Gloss - gloss.....

I assume the masking tape you are using is not hobby type therefore paints easily peel off
1wing
post Feb 15 2010, 11:24 AM

I C.
ye, the maskin tape was the normal masking tapes. *saving cost*
the spray cans, can i use the industrial spray can or must it be the hobby ones?
for beginners, between enamel, laquer and acrylic, which kind of paint is suitable?

for SD gundams, some of them comes with shiny parts, what should i do to protect them?
zheyuen
post Feb 15 2010, 07:11 PM

206 posts

can anyone post/gimme link of an old tutorial regarding shading with real touch markers?
golbeza
post Feb 17 2010, 12:07 PM

58 posts

guise, need some herp here. how do i do these custom panel markings? or rather wat shall i use to do this? any tutorials to it? unsure.gif , thanks !! >_<

This post has been edited by golbeza: Feb 17 2010, 12:08 PM
inquisytor
post Feb 17 2010, 05:53 PM

QUOTE(golbeza @ Feb 17 2010, 12:07 PM)
guise, need some herp here. how do i do these custom panel markings? or rather wat shall i use to do this? any tutorials to it?  unsure.gif , thanks !! >_<
http://www.clubhyper.com/reference/rescribingda_1.htm

Or you can do the below:
1. Plan and design the line as you like, draw them out on the kit using a pen/pencil
2. Stick dymo tape (You can get this at stationary shop, the tape use to print letters on top) along the line you drawn.
3. Use a scriber (can substitute with sewing needle or blade) and scribe along the dymo tape.
4. Finish off with sanding.

126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.3661sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:51 AM