Credit Card Thread V3, Everything about Plastic World Fantasia

b00n
post May 28 2008, 09:49 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

Visa and Master is what is known as association which provided the network.
Same as Dinners, Amex, etc...

http://www.visa.com/globalgateway/gg_selec...ml?retcountry=1
http://www.mastercard.com/index.html
http://www.dinersclub.com/en/index.html
https://home.americanexpress.com/home/mt_pe...us_nu=globalbar

For easier illustration, can use the analogy of phone. Maxis, Digi, TM, Celcom etc....
TSvin_ann
post May 28 2008, 12:52 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Hybz @ May 28 2008, 09:07 AM)
Should i apply Master or Visa ? unsure.gif

Whats the main difference for both ?
no differents.
for some bank when u apply visa, they also gives u master. doh.gif
MilesAndMore
post May 28 2008, 01:11 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 28 2008, 08:25 AM)
@vin_ann,
It's not true about local banks not promoting their card credit cards.  CIMB is getting quite aggressive smile.gif
Yes. It's true. Lot's of discount as well.

QUOTE(David83 @ May 28 2008, 08:27 AM)
Example of CIMB aggressive promotional activity?
Discount at Guardian, Beauty And The Beast ticket, 50% off a branded bag (i forgot which brand) and a whole lot more.
GuyzNexDoor
post May 28 2008, 01:19 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ May 27 2008, 11:26 PM)
i kena annual fee on my mtv card sad.gif .. rm160 ... but after calling them they waived the fee for me .. lulz
I oso kena one, but already paid yesterday cry.gif Should give them a call 1st doh.gif Anyone has a standard letter for terminating CC? Currently i have 14 CC, but i only use 7 of them. Want to get rid the other seven. lazy to think what should i write in the letter, so it will great if somebody can give me a copy of the letter, PM me plz... i know i can call them, but normally their customer service people knows how to pujuk, end up i still keep paying their annual fee without using them sweat.gif that's why i prefer to put it in writing.

Thanks in advance..

This post has been edited by GuyzNexDoor: May 28 2008, 01:20 PM
shauyan
post May 28 2008, 01:37 PM

178 posts

14 CC ??? omg. why u want to keep so many cards? can ur wallet keep all these card?
I only keep 2 CC in my wallet. one is visa and another one is master. That's all. Last time I apply a Maybank Master card, they sent me 3 cards (master,visa,amex). I straight away email them to cancel 2 of them.
b00n
post May 28 2008, 01:46 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

14 and use 7?!.....
How do you keep track and how are you going to pay?!.........
Say one card owe RM500, 7 cards equates to RM3500.
Do hope you earn big bucks.
10k+ credit line is enough for me. So basically I only actively use 1 card. Like I mentioned before, I have to keep my RHB because of auto billing as it's my first card. Most of the time I only use HSBC.
GuyzNexDoor
post May 28 2008, 01:57 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(shauyan @ May 28 2008, 01:37 PM)
14 CC ??? omg. why u want to keep so many cards? can ur wallet keep all these card?
I only keep 2 CC in my wallet. one is visa and another one is master. That's all. Last time I apply a Maybank Master card, they sent me 3 cards (master,visa,amex). I straight away email them to cancel 2 of them.
these is my card:

AMEX = 1 - nvr use
Diners = 1 - nvr use
RHB = 2 (Evo and Visa) - nvr use
Maybank = 1 (AMEX Gold credit card) - use once a while
Citibank = 2 (Master Clear card and Visa clear card) - use regularly
HSBC = 2 (Master Gold and Visa Gold) - use regularly, my main card
Bank Islam = 2 (Master Gold and Visa Gold) - visa card use once a while, master card nvr use
Hong Leong = 2 (Visa Gold and MTV card) - visa used once, MTV nvr use
Alliance Bank = 1 (Master Gold) - used regularly b4, but this year nvr use

Oh yea, one more but managed to terminated it by not picking it up at Pos Laju Office (postman came but i wasn't around, i think after 3 months the card automatically terminated if i didn't pick it up). The card was Standard Chartered.

Standard Chartered = 1 (Master Platinum) - terminated edy (i think so coz the Standard Chartered people already stop calling me to pick the card).

My wallet can fit 9 cards only excluding the IC and driving licence, but i normally keep 7 cards in my wallet. Yea, that's the reason i have to change my wallet once a year coz the card compartments easy to tear off. Now, i really want to get rid at least half of them. My fav card is HSBC coz they have a very good redemption items and the points needed to redeem the reward is reasonable.

Added on May 28, 2008, 2:03 pm
QUOTE(b00n @ May 28 2008, 01:46 PM)
14 and use 7?!.....
How do you keep track and how are you going to pay?!.........
Say one card owe RM500, 7 cards equates to RM3500.
Do hope you earn big bucks.
10k+ credit line is enough for me. So basically I only actively use 1 card. Like I mentioned before, I have to keep my RHB because of auto billing as it's my first card. Most of the time I only use HSBC.
Same as mine, prefer to use HSBC. BTW, i dun like to bring cash around, so normally i will use CC. Yea, some people thought i want to show off but it never cross my mine. i juz dun like to bring cash. Every month at least RM2.5k - RM3.5k of my salary will be used to clear my CC bill, but i can say i dun have much debts. I know how to manage my financial, in fact most of the time i pay full of the amount due. i juz use CC like other people use their cash.

This post has been edited by GuyzNexDoor: May 28 2008, 02:03 PM
shauyan
post May 28 2008, 02:29 PM

178 posts

Every month at least RM2.5k - RM3.5k of my salary will be used to clear my CC

Bro, u must be damn rich and high salary. Salute to u.
3.5k is my basic salary cry.gif
tinkerbel
post May 28 2008, 03:18 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@David83,
I've just double checked on the HSBC points - it's valid for 3 years. CIMB is promoting their Petronas card or whatever card isn't it?! *shrugs*

@MilesAndMore,
I also checked on the 'Administrative Charges' of 1% on HSBC credit cards - apparently my RM tells me there is no such charge to the customer and that is applicable throughout ALL HSBC cards. I told her I got a different information from the Card Centre CS and she tells me she will get back to me.

@Hybz,
Visa used to be accepted worldwide than Mastercard but that's not the case now so it's really a matter of preference. I believe Mastercard is probably more well accepted locally but as I don't work with the card centres I don't have the statistics to support it.

@GuyzNexDoor,
Y on earth do U even haf 14 credit cards to begin with?! *tsk tsk* I onli have 2 from Citibank and they've managed to mess that up! Just write a letter telling them U want to cancel ur credit card; no need to be fanciful or too long. Direct and straight to the point will be good enough. I don't have a sample for it though; sorry - I could give u a sample of a complain feedback letter though *grins*

I'll CRY if I had to carry 14 cards around! But ur rich so ... rejoice smile.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 28 2008, 03:24 PM
SnoWFisH
post May 28 2008, 03:21 PM

2,250 posts

shauyan: ur basic salary is more than my basic salary + bonus cry.gif cry.gif

btw i have a nexG card laaying around...i dont want to use it anymore...do i need to terminate it? i know its a prepaid cc, so i wont be able to spend more than what i have in the account....and eventually it'll go into negative because i dint pay monthly fee...will i get blacklisted if i just keep it?
tinkerbel
post May 28 2008, 03:27 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@SnoWFisH,
If it's going to go into negative balance, U might as well cancel it. At least that way, even if the banks continue to send u statements regularly, U can always tell them U've cancelled the card. It's also to keep a good track record.

I had some discrepancies with my latest Citibank bill (I was charged RM0.54 sen Finance Charges). Knowing my call is going to cost more than that, I decided to call the bank and ask them what it was for and apparently it was for some late charges of which I never even know! So I told them to go waive that damn thing - I wasn't going to let this RM0.54 sen ruin my credit standing !! *grins*

cute_boboi
post May 28 2008, 03:36 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

SnoWFisH,
Any financial related stuff, if you don't use it, better to clear it up properly. Like in your case, whether a dormnat CC or bank a/c, be clear cut about it. 5,10,20 yrs later, no need get chased by bank over this sum, and ppl will start arguing saying I didn't use it, forgot, etc. why must I pay, etc. ?

Same goes to other transactions like water, electricity, quit rent, assessment, and the most important car ownership transfer, etc.
Feigning ignorance is not bliss all the time.

Anyway, a dormant bank a/c after 7 years, you will get a letter from the bank, within 1 month it will transfer the unclaimed monies to BNM.

SnoWFisH
post May 28 2008, 03:37 PM

2,250 posts

the things is, they never send me any statements. i have no idea what is the status of my card and i dont plan to use it ever since i gotten my da card.

oh well i guess its time to pay a visit to the bank tomorrow. can i cancel it at any branch?
cute_boboi
post May 28 2008, 03:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ May 28 2008, 03:37 PM)
the things is, they never send me any statements. i have no idea what is the status of my card and i dont plan to use it ever since i gotten my da card.

oh well i guess its time to pay a visit to the bank tomorrow. can i cancel it at any branch?
That's the right move. Spend some time, effort and money to goto counter to clear it up. Yes, you can cancel on the spot, make sure they FULLY cut the chip in half AND multiple part of the magnetic strip of the card (if you know how chip and magnetic strip works and how data is stored). Or give you some acknowledgement that they cancel it. Otherwise, the staff might just take the card and go out pump petrol... tongue.gif even if they cut ONLY the magnetic strip wink.gif it is still usable.

Be alert and write down their name, your queue number, date and time, branch location, etc. Just in case, we are in M'sia, any stupid thing is possible to happen. I believe you can do it at any branch which has multiple-type counter service for CC.

Sorry, but I'm a bit kiasu on this kind of things.

he-sham
post May 28 2008, 03:55 PM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

i'm a fresh graduate & just start working for one month.... which bank allow me (or easier) to apply for a classic credit card ?

i read through this thread but no one mention about BSN credit card ?? i heard we can request for easipayment with 0% interest for item above rm500...
clawhammer
post May 28 2008, 03:57 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ May 28 2008, 03:55 PM)
i'm a fresh graduate & just start working for one month.... which bank allow me (or easier) to apply for a classic credit card ?

i read through this thread but no one mention about BSN credit card ?? i heard we can request for easipayment with 0% interest for item above rm500...
If you meet the minimum requirements, you can apply for any banks. However it would be easier if you're working for a multi-national and a good proof of income.
tinkerbel
post May 28 2008, 03:59 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@he-sham,
I don't know much about BSN's Credit Cards [act, I don't know much about local bank's credit cards]. As a fresh graduate, U probably should be able to qualify for a DA Graduates Credit Card.

Also, with the market being so competitive out there, banks are probably willing to offer U a card smile.gif
iluvena
post May 28 2008, 04:10 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(GuyzNexDoor @ May 28 2008, 01:19 PM)
I oso kena one, but already paid yesterday  cry.gif  Should give them a call 1st doh.gif  Anyone has a standard letter for terminating CC? Currently i have 14 CC, but i only use 7 of them. Want to get rid the other seven. lazy to think what should i write in the letter, so it will great if somebody can give me a copy of the letter, PM me plz... i know i can call them, but normally their customer service people knows how to pujuk, end up i still keep paying their annual fee without using them sweat.gif that's why i prefer to put it in writing.

Thanks in advance..
this is sample letter from me.. i use it to terminate my cimb virtual mastercard.

Your Name
Your address Date

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

CIMB Bank Card Center

Dear Sir,

Re: Virtual Credit Card No. XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX Cancellation Request

I wish to terminate the above virtual credit card facility because I never use it. Hope you could consider the above matter. Your kind cooperation is highly appreciated.

(Your Name)

Your HP No
GuyzNexDoor
post May 28 2008, 04:14 PM

486 posts

Thanks, really appreciate it. icon_rolleyes.gif Can save some money now coz annual fee oso quite high.
babylabbit
post May 28 2008, 06:46 PM

4,339 posts

most effective way to cut...

go to any of the bank branch...see the customer service ....
borrow gunting cut infront of them...
they will fill in a form.for u....stating the card have been cut n cancel...
anything happen....u got prove u cancel already....

happy.gif

p/s: n u will get a call back ask why cancel just say something lo ahhaha...dont ever agree again coz they very effective to send u back a new card smile.gif

125 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:16 AM