tinkerbel
post May 29 2008, 12:30 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@nicole_nic81,
Since Ur on the topic of platinum parking at 1U, I just like to double check some information; the parking isn't FOC, right? And parking charges are RM8 p/entry. Can U kindly confirm please?

Also, I read U have 200k+ reward points unredeemed. If it's not from Citibank, I suggest U check the expiry and make the redemption before it's wiped off. Most banks reward points are valid for 3 years.

With all the 'rubbish' that's happening in the market, I no longer hold onto the believe that a Gold credit card might have v high credit limit! We all certainly know that doesn't hold true for me sad.gif

@zenquix,
I don't suppose the agent can do much; but since U applied for that card why don't U just keep it? At least let the poor agent make some commission - just keep the card for 6 months onli mah - U don't want to use, then keep it at home lor wink.gif At least that's what I'm doing. I do intend to cancel my HSBC Gold Card but thought I'll wait another month so the person who signed me up would be entitled his commission [ok, I'm nice!] tongue.gif

@GuyzNexDoor,
Just what kind of 'travel' benefits does one get from a Platinum card? It's about the same as a Gold card if I'm not mistaken except insurance limit is higher for the Plat card.

@b00n,
I actually thought both Master and Visa now charges the same % to their merchants. I could be wrong since I ain't in retail. It is true that Visa used to charge slightly higher hence merchants in MY preferred Mastercard to Visa; but that has since changed [or so I thought].
nicole_nic81
post May 29 2008, 12:37 AM

271 posts

for HLB plat holders, u have to pay rm7/8 per entry.. last time it was free tho! but for other plat cc, have to pay rm10 now and last time it was rm7 only mad.gif

for mine, the points were like forever there! no expiry date printed out on the cc statement every month.. i just cheked.. i have 257K points now.. hmm.gif maybe they'd wipe out my points soon then sad.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 29 2008, 12:30 AM)
@nicole_nic81,
Since Ur on the topic of platinum parking at 1U, I just like to double check some information; the parking isn't FOC, right?  And parking charges are RM8 p/entry.  Can U kindly confirm please?

Also, I read U have 200k+ reward points unredeemed.  If it's not from Citibank, I suggest U check the expiry and make the redemption before it's wiped off.  Most banks reward points are valid for 3 years.

With all the 'rubbish' that's happening in the market, I no longer hold onto the believe that a Gold credit card might have v high credit limit!  We all certainly know that doesn't hold true for me  sad.gif
This post has been edited by nicole_nic81: May 29 2008, 12:39 AM
tinkerbel
post May 29 2008, 12:50 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@nicole_nic81,
I do know about the Plat parking @ 1U [the onli drawback is that it's not covered!] but I certainly didn't know it was FREE [or was that free to HLB plat holders onli?!]

If ur points are from HSBC, U might want to check the expiry date because they do expire - i've confirmed that. Points have a 3 year validity date so I do suppose points accumulated in Y1 will be wiped off in Y4, etc etc.

Y not change something? And U sure haf accumulated lots of points! smile.gif
nicole_nic81
post May 29 2008, 12:56 AM

271 posts

yea.. that parking suck in that sense.. it's not covered.. and when it rains, the floor is slippery n u could just slip and fall! yea it was FREE for HLB plat holders.. i remembered those cc sellers were selling that point.. everyone went to apply it.. then the parking was full.. now since HLB holders have to pay, boy, there's PLENTY of free parking spaces! hahahaha...

well i guess the points came from the insurance, my shopping, car tires, laptop and etc tongue.gif hmmm.. maybe i can exchange it for a trip! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 29 2008, 12:50 AM)
@nicole_nic81,
I do know about the Plat parking @ 1U [the onli drawback is that it's not covered!] but I certainly didn't know it was FREE [or was that free to HLB plat holders onli?!] 

If ur points are from HSBC, U might want to check the expiry date because they do expire - i've confirmed that.  Points have a 3 year validity date so I do suppose points accumulated in Y1 will be wiped off in Y4, etc etc.

Y not change something?  And U sure haf accumulated lots of points! smile.gif
tinkerbel
post May 29 2008, 01:38 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@nicole_nic81,
Dat sure is a lot of shopping trips. Well U could alwiz check how many Enrich points U can convert ur existing HSBC points and see if it's gonna take U somewhere biggrin.gif
nicole_nic81
post May 29 2008, 01:40 AM

271 posts

it's er.. combination of my hubby's points and my points tongue.gif he gave me a supplementary card

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 29 2008, 01:38 AM)
@nicole_nic81,
Dat sure is a lot of shopping trips.  Well U could alwiz check how many Enrich points U can convert ur existing HSBC points and see if it's gonna take U somewhere  biggrin.gif
thtan
post May 29 2008, 06:50 AM

77 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ May 28 2008, 10:39 PM)
Why not you just call the customer service and ask? biggrin.gif After that share with us
I called customer service before posting. They don't know the answer, that's why I asked here. Waiver is subject to approval by RHB credit card centre. If possible, I don't want to pay the RM500 annual fee.

This post has been edited by thtan: May 29 2008, 06:51 AM
tinkerbel
post May 29 2008, 08:12 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@thtan,
Through my conversation with Citibank there are certain "criterias" for which waiver can happen except those criterias aren't published and only they know. If ur card is expiring soon, U could call up the bank to make a request [Citibank tells me they don't do 'automatic waiver' but if a customer called to request and if he met these criterias, a waiver will be granted].

I did get a waiver off my annual fees in Y2007 [somehow I just decided to ask since I was on the line with them]. Once [prolly in Y2004/2005] I tried calling for a waiver but I didn't get it (maybe I just didn't push hard enough, neither did I threaten to close my account).

Anyhow, back to ur case. If RHB does grant u the waiver, at least u've saved RM500 otherwise all u've lost would just be some time and well, probably a couple of sens making that call biggrin.gif Worst come to worst, do what everyone does; threaten the bank [it might just work if U use this card as ur primary card but if it's dormant, I doubt so]
jchong
post May 29 2008, 09:07 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(thtan @ May 29 2008, 06:50 AM)
I called customer service before posting. They don't know the answer, that's why I asked here. Waiver is subject to approval by RHB credit card centre. If possible, I don't want to pay the RM500 annual fee.
Rather poor that RHB CS doesn't have the answer. Or perhaps they do not have a published criteria for waiver. Other plat cards I've seen, some say you have to swipe at least 12x a year (no amount stated), some say at least RMxxxx spending per year.
jchong
post May 29 2008, 09:10 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(nicole_nic81 @ May 29 2008, 12:37 AM)
i just cheked.. i have 257K points now..  hmm.gif maybe they'd wipe out my points soon then sad.gif
How long have u been accumulating to get 257k points?

I redeem my points every 3-4 months, then again I aim for the smaller items like RM50 or RM100 vouchers.
nicole_nic81
post May 29 2008, 09:34 AM

271 posts

i think it has been 2 years alreay.. me and my hubby bought our 46" LCD with the card, our PA insurance every month, his car's tires, his laptop, my macbook, my ipod, my wedding ring and etc tongue.gif

QUOTE(jchong @ May 29 2008, 09:10 AM)
How long have u been accumulating to get 257k points?

I redeem my points every 3-4 months, then again I aim for the smaller items like RM50 or RM100 vouchers.
jchong
post May 29 2008, 09:59 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(nicole_nic81 @ May 29 2008, 09:34 AM)
i think it has been 2 years alreay.. me and my hubby bought our 46" LCD with the card, our PA insurance every month, his car's tires, his laptop, my macbook, my ipod, my wedding ring and etc  tongue.gif
You're definitely using your CC to the max! My first choice for payment is also CC, even for small amounts like RM10-20. If the vendor accepts, why not biggrin.gif

Other things you can also consider charging to CC are utility bills, house assessment, handphone bill, etc. Those things give me several hundred extra points every month.
TSvin_ann
post May 29 2008, 10:10 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(nicole_nic81 @ May 29 2008, 09:34 AM)
i think it has been 2 years alreay.. me and my hubby bought our 46" LCD with the card, our PA insurance every month, his car's tires, his laptop, my macbook, my ipod, my wedding ring and etc  tongue.gif
wah.. im also like u. everything pay via CC.

QUOTE(jchong @ May 29 2008, 09:59 AM)
You're definitely using your CC to the max! My first choice for payment is also CC, even for small amounts like RM10-20. If the vendor accepts, why not  biggrin.gif

Other things you can also consider charging to CC are utility bills, house assessment, handphone bill, etc. Those things give me several hundred extra points every month.
u right. u can opt for auto-debit for bills payments. i got subscribe for 1 year, it's really enjoy. but then i decided to pay manual, where i can control my payment. tongue.gif delay abit.
jchong
post May 29 2008, 10:19 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(nicole_nic81 @ May 27 2008, 01:26 AM)
i've always tempted to get a citibank card.. don't know why.. maybe coz it's NOT a local bank tongue.gif
I remember a few years ago Citibank was *the* card to get. Maybe because of the strong branding and offers attached to the card.

And yeah some people also attracted because it's not a local bank. I always wondered about that... is there any diff between whether issued by local bank or foreign bank? Friends mentioned that foreign bank has better coverage overseas (e.g. when travelling) compared to local bank but I doubt that. I've never had any problem with my MBB card overseas.
wvt
post May 29 2008, 11:25 AM

102 posts

Guys,I have a noob question.

There is a Plus highway logo behind my Maybank Petronas card,so does that mean I can use it like touch and go whenever I passby the Plus toll or i can reload my touch and go card's credit using the CC on the Plus counter? hmm.gif
jchong
post May 29 2008, 11:40 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(wvt @ May 29 2008, 11:25 AM)
Guys,I have a noob question.

There is a Plus highway logo behind my Maybank Petronas card,so does that mean I can use it like touch and go whenever I passby the Plus toll or i can reload my touch and go card's credit using the CC on the Plus counter? hmm.gif
Is your card Visa?

My Visa card also has a PLUS logo, but I don't think it refers to our highway. I think its the PLUS network for ATMs, meaning you can use your CC to withdraw cash from ATMs around the world which are part of the PLUS network.

shauyan
post May 29 2008, 03:27 PM

178 posts

The PLUS sign is nothing to do with our expressway. It is network for ATM that you can withdraw money all around the world. I think only VISA using PLUS, and Master is using CIRRUS, if i'm not wrong. But using PLUS or CIRRUS will need to kena administration charge by the bank.
TSvin_ann
post May 29 2008, 04:10 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(shauyan @ May 29 2008, 03:27 PM)
The PLUS sign is nothing to do with our expressway. It is network for ATM that you can withdraw money all around the world. I think only VISA using PLUS, and Master is using CIRRUS, if i'm not wrong. But using PLUS or CIRRUS will need to kena administration charge by the bank.
it's normal.

i have been using my HSBC Malaysia ATM card with PLUS logo to withdraw money in UK and Europe. but each time withdrawal kena charge RM5 per transactions.

btw, for CC, i dare not to withdraw money, since it's an advanced cash, interest kaw kaw.
tinkerbel
post May 29 2008, 04:57 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@wvt,
If U look at the PLUS logo again, U'll notice the logo is different from our PLUS Highway logo smile.gif

@jchong,
From as far as I can remember, Citibank had alwiz been promoting their credit cards; other foreign banks onli started doing so in the recent years. I agree with U re foreign vs local banks' credit card - Citibank HAS failed me in the past when I tried to use it in Australia.

Admittedly, I've never held a local bank's credit card [up till when I applied for my DA Graduate card but that card remains dormant]

For a local bank, PBB is quite good. I don't know about their credit cards though cause surprisingly they've never bothered to offer me one despite it being my primary bank.
Underhill
post May 29 2008, 05:17 PM

This too shall pass
567 posts

would having RM60k+ in current account with other bank help in determining my cc credit limit?

125 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:22 AM