Credit Card Thread V3, Everything about Plastic World Fantasia

tishaban
post Jul 3 2008, 12:54 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 2 2008, 07:26 PM)
I called MBB today to check my application status and also asked about if there's any extra financial charge for oversea transactions.

The telebanker said no and only exchange rate determined by Visa/Mastercard International.
Sorry I don't believe this. MBB has consistently charged 2% on top of the exchange rate. I just checked some of my purchases when I was in Phuket earlier in June and it's definitely has the 2% surcharge compared to the exchange rate on xe.com

Can't recall what Citibank or SCB has been charging me, I haven't used them recently biggrin.gif

SUSDavid83
post Jul 3 2008, 12:56 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jul 3 2008, 12:54 PM)
Sorry I don't believe this. MBB has consistently charged 2% on top of the exchange rate. I just checked some of my purchases when I was in Phuket earlier in June and it's definitely has the 2% surcharge compared to the exchange rate on xe.com

Can't recall what Citibank or SCB has been charging me, I haven't used them recently biggrin.gif
The exchange rate published by the banks and xe.com or money exchanger could be different. I have no experiences over overseas transaction.
TSvin_ann
post Jul 3 2008, 01:04 PM

10,912 posts

perhaps the xe.com rate is the net rate, while the rates in visa/master already add in the 2%?
tht y slightly higher. ?
ronnie
post Jul 3 2008, 01:41 PM

Not enough stars
21,318 posts

Where can we view Visa or Mastercard's exchange rate when they charge to my credit card bill ?
asiatrader98
post Jul 3 2008, 02:19 PM

1,485 posts

interesting rclxms.gif
http://www.moneysection.com/forum/index.php
no annual fee cc
http://www.moneysection.com/No_Annual_Feelist.php?cmd=reset

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Jul 3 2008, 02:20 PM
cute_boboi
post Jul 3 2008, 02:30 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jul 3 2008, 12:49 PM)
Yep, I notice it. I think KLCC ToysRUs shifted from Avenue K (3rd/4th Fl) to KLCC Concourse (next to KFC, ex-Times bookstore)

I want to buy something there, but ToysRUs S'pore is selling cheaper by 28% shakehead.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 3 2008, 03:26 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I check my previous MBB overseas posting. By comparing the exchanged CC local amount and FX historical data. Indeed it is around 2% higher. Perhaps Visa/Master/Amex uses BNM exchange rate?

Edit: Something I found:
http://www.bankinginfo.com.my/04_help_and_...ntPrefLangID=1&

Are there any differences in terms of authorisation process, fees and charges imposed when I use my credit card to make purchases locally or overseas? How is the exchange rate determined?

The authorisation process, fees and charges are the same when you make purchases using your credit card regardless of your location. However for purchases made overseas, the transaction amount is subjected to the exchange rate determined by the credit card payment schemes (eg. Visa and MasterCard). The conversion of currencies will be done automatically when the transactions are made. The exchange rate is normally determined based on the mid-point of the prevailing buying and selling rates of the exchange of foreign currency against Ringgit.
This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Jul 3 2008, 04:55 PM
tishaban
post Jul 3 2008, 04:55 PM

3,615 posts

I checked Bank Negara's exchange rate

http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php

and xe.com's exchange rates. They don't match exactly but for the dates that I was in phuket the difference is only around 0.5%. Too lazy to check Visa's exchange rate...

http://www.corporate.visa.com/pd/consumer_...er_ex_rates.jsp

I still think MBB charges a fee. At least Amex is up front in saying that they do.

tinkerbel
post Jul 3 2008, 06:07 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

I believe MBB does charge a rate though I've no idea what that is. Citibank charges 1%.

Kindly refer to Post #1 for rate details - those stated has been verified accordingly biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jul 3 2008, 07:47 PM

52,874 posts

CIMB and DA card holders,

Do aware of more rebates from KFC, MPH, Tesco and Isetan.

Details available in the PDF file.
arsenal
post Jul 3 2008, 10:31 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

KFC only 1st day????haihz...
navilink
post Jul 3 2008, 11:03 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

MPH one...10% or 15%? coz i think i saw somewhere 15%...rclxub.gif
TSvin_ann
post Jul 3 2008, 11:04 PM

10,912 posts

OMG...

1st day of the month already passed... have to waits until 1 Aug... doh.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 3 2008, 11:17 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@navilink,
U get 15% discount on books purchased (if it falls under a certain code). U also get 10% rebate off ur CC. Hence, if U purchase the book this coming Sun, ur total discount is 15+10=25%
SUSDavid83
post Jul 4 2008, 06:46 AM

52,874 posts

DA got discounts at World of Sports right? The brouchure I received it said that only selected branches.

Anybody could confirm?
navilink
post Jul 4 2008, 08:14 AM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 3 2008, 11:17 PM)
@navilink,
U get 15% discount on books purchased (if it falls under a certain code).  U also get 10% rebate off ur CC.  Hence, if U purchase the book this coming Sun, ur total discount is 15+10=25%

wow nice discounts there!! thanks for the info...but need wait till next month also...sad.gif
tinkerbel
post Jul 4 2008, 08:31 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@navilink,
No need - 1st Sun of Jul is this Sun *grins*
iluvena
post Jul 4 2008, 08:48 AM

425 posts

quick question need a quick answer on new BNM rulings.

conditions:
if cc statement is on 28th every month.

question:
if we purchase something and the transaction date in the statement is on 20th, how is the calculation?
the finance charges apply from 20th or 28th?
tinkerbel
post Jul 4 2008, 08:49 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@iluvena,
Applies from 20th.
TSvin_ann
post Jul 4 2008, 09:04 AM

10,912 posts

OMG...
just now suddenly received call from my aunty who is HSBC hardcore.

she said, swipe 7 times CC, guarantee can get 1 return ticket to Singapore.

she even added, HSBC prizes never let people disappointed.

125 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:57 AM