Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

techie.opinion
post Aug 9 2012, 11:59 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 9 2012, 05:09 PM)
Yea I know that...been burnt in stocks before (that was when I do trading on purely technicals gambling reading) sweat.gif

DY and PE is only the initial screening...will look deeper into their financials, announcements and industry news nod.gif
Yeah that was true...

Added on August 10, 2012, 12:02 am
QUOTE(aronteh @ Aug 9 2012, 10:33 PM)
Good thought. notworthy.gif  Especially Malaysia REITs yield going lower from 6% to 5% before tax. Singapore REITs still going strong with 9% to 8% yield with no tax.
Does it show the momentum in malaysia property is going down or maybe stubborn for now... Many reason i would say... It could be the current prop price is too high... Scared?

This post has been edited by techie.opinion: Aug 10 2012, 12:02 AM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 10 2012, 11:26 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Aug 9 2012, 11:59 PM)
Does it show the momentum in malaysia property is going down or maybe stubborn for now... Many reason i would say... It could be the current prop price is too high... Scared?
er.. for the MY REITs' average DY% 5 to 6% (b4 tax) as posted by AronTeh, i don't think it is tied to any of the momentum and what not U are thinking about.
Just that market chased up the market price, thus at current market price for MY REITs, the expected DY% is lower/low.

Your thoughts posted, i think, are mainly affected by physical property buyers & builders, not directly related to REITs' market pricing.
Just thinking probabilities ar - not 100% gospel truths. notworthy.gif
SUSDavid83
post Aug 11 2012, 04:34 PM

52,874 posts

1.88% SC on CIMBCliks Online Unit Trust is extended to 31st August 2012

kparam77
post Aug 13 2012, 11:23 AM

952 posts

Bullish on fixed income products.

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM.../allys/Article/
TakoC
post Aug 13 2012, 09:19 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 11 2012, 04:34 PM)
1.88% SC on CIMBCliks Online Unit Trust is extended to 31st August 2012

This promotion is quite attractive especially for those that plans to top up/invest in equity. Wonder if I should make use of this promotion to invest or insist on waiting till after GE.
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 13 2012, 09:39 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Aug 13 2012, 09:19 PM)
This promotion is quite attractive especially for those that plans to top up/invest in equity. Wonder if I should make use of this promotion to invest or insist on waiting till after GE.
Bro, diff between normal and discounted SC, just a minor crash will wipe it all out laugh.gif
techie.opinion
post Aug 13 2012, 10:28 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Aug 13 2012, 09:19 PM)
Can't wait for GE done... Interesting to see how is the damage done from the results. Then we can talk based on experiences and maturity. Just a thought only.

Added on August 13, 2012, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 13 2012, 09:39 PM)
Bro, diff between normal and discounted SC, just a minor crash will wipe it all out laugh.gif
Keep the bullets for the bargain war...

This post has been edited by techie.opinion: Aug 13 2012, 10:29 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 13 2012, 10:36 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Aug 13 2012, 10:28 PM)
Can't wait for GE done... Interesting to see how is the damage done from the results. Then we can talk based on experiences and maturity. Just a thought only.

I'm keeping ammo for dividend stocks shopping brows.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 13 2012, 10:48 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Aug 13 2012, 10:28 PM)

Hehe - don't overload on bullets though.
What's the % of KLCI collapsing and collapse to how much?

From some crystal ball gazing by my brokers and their network of analysts:
Current Gov win: KLCI 1700-1744
Current Gov toppled or lose: 1300-1400 (which is no biggie, like a 2011 Sep 26th EU hiccup at low of 1310... woo scary.. laugh.gif )

If the above holds water and i assume "toppled/lose" is 49% or less of votes, i think it's a near impossibility.
Don't get 2/3 or 66.66% majority is probable.
49% or less of votes is... improbable IMHO as the majority of Malaysia ain't as "information connected" as Klang Valley, Penang & Perak.
Most average folks will think what they've been fed via TVs and prints. Heck, they've even made several songs & dances these days <i feel so.. like in China propaganda machination>

Just my POV ar - heheh.
Anyhow, i think i just want "2 packs of wolves to balance each other" and leave the poor sheeples like me alone to focus on life and the "pursuit of happyness" tongue.gif
Mind U, i'm no crystal ball gazer, just sharing what i've read. I'm more of a navel gazer and nose digger notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 13 2012, 10:49 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 13 2012, 10:53 PM

16,872 posts

Wong Seafood, GE-induced KLCI crash is a wet dream come true (hopefully) for many of us...janganlah ambil baldi air sejuk simbah on our head so soon la sad.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 13 2012, 11:00 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 13 2012, 10:53 PM)
Wong Seafood, GE-induced KLCI crash is a wet dream come true (hopefully) for many of us...janganlah ambil baldi air sejuk simbah on our head so soon la sad.gif
Heheh - gomenosai / sorry / ampun.
I too have put aside some % leh but now mainly coz the donkey KLCI is waaaay hot (but how hot is TOO hot?).

I'm just trying to share another perspective and er.. from my friends who are jumping up & down now as they've been going "nah.. cannot be real.. sure kablooey" since 2009.. 2010.. 2011 and now all time high. tongue.gif
Like i shared earlier - i think sooner or later, sure kabloey wan but the Q is sooner or later? i've no crystal balls too leh thus, balance a bit lor (Asset Allocation), maybe not like 80% to 100% fixed income vehicles. Then again, these investors may be laughing all the way to the bank if it happens sooner AND deeper than that miserable 1300 laugh.gif .

Notice all i'm sharing is a view of IF IT HAPPENS... HOW DEEP? if it's not deep a fall enough, "no feel" so to speak leh. Well, that's personally speaking only lar. U may find 1300+/- a very good / deep fall. Me - i sneeze at it lor sweat.gif.

wei, don't shoot the messenger ar notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 13 2012, 11:10 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 13 2012, 11:06 PM

16,872 posts

I'm not gonna withdraw all my FDs, sell all my UTs and dive headfirst when KLCI kaboom la, my ammo for KLCI is barely 25% of my UT portfolio. laugh.gif

Just wanna try to snap up some good divvy counters when it happens icon_idea.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 13 2012, 11:12 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 13 2012, 11:06 PM)
I'm not gonna withdraw all my FDs, sell all my UTs and dive headfirst when KLCI kaboom la, my ammo for KLCI is barely 25% of my UT portfolio. laugh.gif

Just wanna try to snap up some good divvy counters when it happens icon_idea.gif
er.. Pinky, 25% of yr UT portfolio only (eg. yr UT portfolio is say 60% of investable assets and thus, it's 25% * 60%?) icon_rolleyes.gif
OR
25% of your investable assets shocking.gif ?

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 13 2012, 11:12 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 13 2012, 11:19 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 13 2012, 11:12 PM)
er.. Pinky, 25% of yr UT portfolio only (eg. yr UT portfolio is say 60% of investable assets and thus, it's 25% * 60%?)  icon_rolleyes.gif 
OR
25% of your investable assets  shocking.gif ?
it's the former, so that IF kaboom does indeed happens, my investment portfolio would be 20% KLCI stocks 80% UTs icon_rolleyes.gif

I kena burnt once (not very badly lar...continue reading this to see why I'm not putting too much faith in direct stock investing...), not that keen to be too gung-ho with stocks anymore. Saw with my own eyes how stock manipulation happens... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Aug 13 2012, 11:21 PM
techie.opinion
post Aug 13 2012, 11:56 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 13 2012, 11:19 PM)
it's the former, so that IF kaboom does indeed happens, my investment portfolio would be 20% KLCI stocks 80% UTs icon_rolleyes.gif

I kena burnt once (not very badly lar...continue reading this to see why I'm not putting too much faith in direct stock investing...), not that keen to be too gung-ho with stocks anymore. Saw with my own eyes how stock manipulation happens... shakehead.gif
Huhuhu... Perhaps the price in year 2008 will do edi... No rush and stick with the real meaning of the investment... Not a scheme cepat kaya... Need time wor. Vision and mission must be clear... Retire comfortabaly... Do what we can't do now and before... As of now work hard to earn money and spend wisely. Just my thought as an example, other people may have their own direction.
SUSPink Spider
post Aug 14 2012, 12:03 AM

16,872 posts

Sometime in 2010 I was exploring trading...

I was holding this large cap gaming stock
No negative news flow whatsoever
All of a sudden there was this huge volume traded that day, selling pressure was tremendous it's just like a freefall
Broke past my stop loss price, and so I sold
Next day it rallied
If this is not manipulation, tell me what is this shakehead.gif

Thus, I gave up on trading. Long-term value investing for dividend still can be considered. Only when kaboom happens will I consider to enter biggrin.gif
wongmunkeong
post Aug 14 2012, 09:52 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Aug 13 2012, 11:56 PM)
Huhuhu... Perhaps the price in year 2008 will do edi... No rush and stick with the real meaning of the investment... Not a scheme cepat kaya... Need time wor. Vision and mission must be clear... Retire comfortabaly... Do what we can't do now and before... As of now work hard to earn money and spend wisely. Just my thought as an example, other people may have their own direction.
Whoa.. bro, 2008 "prices" = KLCI at 838.28 lowest.. THAT would be a real lelong bargain shocking.gif
I think the local erection won't have such an impact, UNLESS combined as a 1-2-3 combo of erection + EU kabloey + Japan or US kabloey
Just a thought ar, no crystal balls notworthy.gif
aronteh
post Aug 14 2012, 01:04 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 14 2012, 09:52 AM)
Whoa.. bro, 2008 "prices" = KLCI at 838.28 lowest.. THAT would be a real lelong bargain  shocking.gif
I think the local erection won't have such an impact, UNLESS combined as a 1-2-3 combo of erection + EU kabloey + Japan or US kabloey
Just a thought ar, no crystal balls  notworthy.gif
Wah so early wet dream already tongue.gif But everything is possible if you want it bad enough icon_idea.gif
techie.opinion
post Aug 14 2012, 06:27 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 14 2012, 09:52 AM)
Whoa.. bro, 2008 "prices" = KLCI at 838.28 lowest.. THAT would be a real lelong bargain  shocking.gif
Just a thought ar, no crystal balls  notworthy.gif
We do not know leh... Now most economy heated edi..
kparam77
post Aug 14 2012, 11:59 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(techie.opinion @ Aug 14 2012, 06:27 PM)
We do not know leh... Now most economy heated edi..
LOCAL MARKET, almost touching the ceiling, BE-CARE-FULLLLLLLL

0.1367sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:41 PM