wongmunkeong
post May 12 2011, 04:31 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(transit @ May 4 2011, 09:52 PM)
No one in this world can predict the market UP or DOWN :-)

DCA Approach will helping 3 parties, it is WIN-WIN-WIN situation. Some people is too focus to let other to earning the money.

(1.) Investor who don't need to monitor the market conditions, to have a fixed amount of money invested so that the averaging cost is lower in long term. **Value Averaging is good for those not a salary earner**, DCA surely work fit for those salary earner.

(2.) The Unit Trust Management Companies (UTMC) will have a fixed amount of new/fresh fund available anytime to invest in those counter when the market is DOWN trend. If there is not FIXED FUND available, the opportunity may be missed when the market in DOWNTREND. Therefore this part should not get OMITTED.

(3.) To provide little income for the Agent to support & servicing their investors in long term.

Every Business in this world needs cost regardless any types will needs capital. The capital can be any form such as knowledge, money or time. If you start up your own business, you will needs medium to huge capital.

Treat this service charge as part of your operating expense to the UT management companies to invest for you in order to earning higher returns. If your investment through a FSM or 3rd parties agent, there still needs to charge you little Service Charge in order to sustain the business model.

If investor cannot bear on this Service Charge (SC%) then please forget about the investment part. No FREE LUNCH in this world.
DCA is better than no planned method OR entry & exit rules. However, i do beg to differ - value averaging provides a better method in terms of risk management ($ at risk) vs. the returns (risk/reward ratio). Of course there will be Qs like "If the stock / fund drops so much, how can i cough up that much to value average ar?" - please google "TwinVest".

It's a similar discipline to DCA but ALLOCATING, not BUYING a specific amount of $ per period. Then based on the price / NAV, spend buy more or less.

Reasoning behind it is:
When markets are high, risk less (higher probability of heavier fall, lower probability of going higher due to "return to mean" / std deviation).
When markets are low, risk more (less probability of heavier fall, higher probability of going higher due to "return to mean" / std deviation)
wongmunkeong
post May 13 2011, 09:22 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ May 12 2011, 10:30 PM)
value averaging works better than DCA if:

1. if got the time to really monitor the market performance and calculate how much to invest per investment, for eg per month
2. if you got loads of $$ to top up the difference compared previous month
Agreed with U on no. 1, monitoring. Buy and Hold (blindly) isn't my cuppa tea, thus, monitoring once a month is good enough for me.

Item 2 - well, like i've mentioned, there are methods to control the "$ to top up the difference compared previous month".
If U've the time - read these books
http://www.amazon.com/Value-Averaging-Stra...s/dp/0470049774
http://www.amazon.com/How-Make-Stock-Marke...05246175&sr=1-1

U may also want to take a peek at a statistical study done on DCA and VCA
http://www.google.com.my/url?sa=t&source=w...iKp9zZOtt2huW4g

BTW, DCA or VCA or a mix of them, does not have to be done monthly leh, it's "per period" - which can be monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly, etc. The main thing is the consistency.
Of course going "too long" or "too short" a timeline per period is nuts.

wongmunkeong
post May 13 2011, 12:40 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Jutawan @ May 13 2011, 12:12 PM)
Tq for the links, i really appreciate it. Everything in this world involve 'risk' right, if you don't bother people, people do bother you right, if you a clever and patient driver in the road and does not want to involve in accident, other people who is a driver, not clever, drives impatiently will bang you car right. This is life... So, find the way to minimize the risk right? blush.gif
Yup yup - agreed. Risk management's the name of the game and continuous learning to manage risks is my goal - what to do, no silver spoon.
Some people say stocks (thus Equity mutual funds / unit trusts) are too risky but they do not realize that even driving is risky. A neophyte driving VS a learned & experience driver (especially having survived in India or Jakarta laugh.gif ) has a vast difference in risk due to learning & experience.
Finally a risk mgt bro rclxm9.gif

Would U be able to share your methods to manage risks in your investments?

Mine's quite simple (though may not be easy).
Step 1 - Asset Allocation (though not buy into straight away for the sake of "balance")
Note: I've squirreled away 6 mths living expenses already, thus the below are the balance
a. Equities exREITs / Rental Properties: 33%
b. Bonds / Money Market / FD / EPF: 33%
c. REITs / Rental Properties: 33%

Step 2 - Methodologies / Entry & Exit Plans
Split the Allocated per Asset into
a. Programmatic (like DCA and VCA for entry & take profit rules if >=50% in less than 1yr OR >=25%pa) where there's no fear / greed in execution of buy/sell/switch
b. Value investing (like entries based on discounted Intrinsic Value OR NAPS/Price OR DY% and exits based on Trailing Stop Losses %)
c. Punting (for the devil in me - trading, a very small %)
These methodologies are mostly applied to Equity assets.

Step 3 - Buy, Hold, Monitor & Tweak
All entries are into filtered stocks/funds/properties
(pre-filter done way earlier based on track record of Company or Fund / Financial Ratios for the past 3 or more years)

Rinse & Repeat Step 1-3 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 13 2011, 12:43 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 09:21 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ May 16 2011, 08:31 AM)
Hi guys ~~ Hope you guys can help me .

Just want to inquire , how much do you need to invest to get a monthly returns of average of Rm500 in a average performing market , moderate aggressive types.

Thanks notworthy.gif
Hi Ghoss.

Based on an average annual return of 8%pa, to achieve $6K per year ($500 *12) = $75K. FYI - assuming 8%pa is a safe long term stats
Based on an average annual return of 10%pa, to achieve $6K per year ($500 *12) = $60K.

Take a look at the CAGR /pa statistics of most of Public Mutual's equity funds - it hovers from around 7% to 10%, median is approximately 8%
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 12:45 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ May 16 2011, 09:37 AM)
Thanks a lot  notworthy.gif

It's what I expected , btw do they pay the dividends monthly / quarterly or every 6 months ?

Thought of investing the money and use the dividends to pay for the monthly installments of a property , do you think it's a good idea?
You're welcome Ghoss.

Usually, PM's mutual funds pay dividends yearly, IF ANY.
Mind U, the CAGR / pa average returns is based on dividends reinvested AND NAV (ie. price) growth. Some funds may not throw out any dividends. U can of course sell some units to make the profits.

FYI - a lot of folks misunderstand mutual funds' dividends. In a pure cold logical approach, these dividends are paid from the NAV. In simple terms - when dividends are paid out, the fund's NAV falls to the exact amount taken out, thus waffor? heheh. Purely psychological.

Hm.. put EXTRA $ into mutual funds, to gain the returns and pay for a property's mortgage. It's a loaded Q leh tongue.gif
Personally, i'm doing these:
1. Loan from SCB Mortgage 1 - totally flexible. Plonk any extra $ into to knock off principal amount, thus saving interest to be paid. Anytime, write cheque / online transfer to pay stuff like credit cards, investments, etc.
Heck, no bank gives me 4.3%pa daily rest, thus, i use my M1 a/c as a storage for ammunation biggrin.gif

2. When there are value buys (REITs, Stocks) i draw down from the allocated amount in M1.
When i invest quarterly into PM's funds, i also draw down from the allocated amount in M1
Note that i ALLOCATE my $ in M1 for items via personal spreadsheet tracking.

3. My buffer $ is placed in:
3 months' expenses in M1
3 months' expenses in Public Bond Fund (only if crazy emergency i'll touch this mar, thus Bond now makes more % than M1's mortgage %)

Personally, i'd not wager big sum of $ into mutual funds (i ass u me cash?) to generate consistent $ yearly to pay for mortgage.
I'd rather put it in REITs or good public listed Companies (Nestle, Digi, LPI, PBank, etc.) at value buys or at high DY% rates. The DY% must be at least 2% difference from my mortgage % - just in case tongue.gif - it's a calculated risk.
Y all these instead of PM's equity funds? Simple - COST. Cash investment = 5.5% for PM's equity & balanced funds. EVEN if U can get a "discount" at agent's level (like me), the cost is STILL more than 3X the transaction cost of buying REITs or stocks. Lower cost = faster Break Even = Higher probability of profits & higher profits

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 16 2011, 01:23 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 01:22 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ May 16 2011, 01:10 PM)
^ notworthy.gif notworthy.gifnotworthy.gif

Totally blown my mind away.

What is M1  a/c ?

I asked as might as well I invest money and get the returns to pay on the mortgage rather than  paying the mortgage and still need to pay the installments afterwards .
Oops - sorry Ghoss for the "short forms". M1 a/c = Standard Chartered's Mortgage One account. A totally flexible home loan with overdraft cheque + online + ATM services.

Er.. "I asked as might as well I invest money and get the returns to pay on the mortgage rather than paying the mortgage and still need to pay the installments afterwards ."
whatcha mean?

If U want to "invest to generate yearly $ to pay for mortgage", most prudent method IMHO (just an opinion) is to go into investments where it NEARLY (nothing is 100%) SURE PAYS NET DY% >= mortgage % +2% (just in case).

Me - if i've got say $200K lying around doing nothing in FD, i'd plonk 50% in REITs (split into shopping, hospita, plantationsl & commercial/industrial) to get net DY% of about 6% to 7% and another 50% into Bond Funds (personally i'd do AmDynamic Bond Fund + PBond) netting about 6%pa
These are all "ass u me-ing" my mortgage is at 4%pa lar. If my mortgage is at 6%, forget it - i'll drop the $200K into my Mortgage One account and knock down the principal first (thus dont need to pay interest on the $200K) and at any time market crash, take out and go on a buying spree rclxms.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 01:40 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ May 16 2011, 01:30 PM)
True also , I asked my friends . They told me the best way is do own research and invest in share but low risk low profit = vice versa sweat.gif

Assuming the mortgage < IOR , might as well invest and get the money to pay the installment .
Ghoss - my apologies but i beg to differ. Low risk = high profits IF done right biggrin.gif
Imagine it's end 2008 (end Oct 2008 onwards) to 1st or 2nd quarter 2009. That's the time where risk is extremely low + profits is extremely high. Imagine buying LPI ($8+ to $9), PBBank (at $7.50), DIGI (at $19 to $20), TWRREIT, BSDREIT, STAREIT, etc. U will be laughing all the way to the bank, even if U had enough guts to put in 33% of your full ammunition.

wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 02:05 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ May 16 2011, 01:51 PM)
True as well , now I'm contemplating in between forex / stocks rclxub.gif

Which one should I pickup hmm.gif
Which one are U more comfortable with? the "style" i mean
eg. Forex - U better watch it carefully, especially if U r running with a 100:1 leverage. Read-up in the same LYN forum -there's something on FOREX. Horror stories and Good stories.
eg2. Stocks - U good at telling / reading financial ratios if U doing investments? OR good in technical analysis (fear/greed/volume/candlesticks/ etc.)?

Me - i'm a slow fler blush.gif thus i like slower stuff - aint looking to replace my main job leh, thus i'm more into Stocks, REITs, Properties, Bonds (and the equivalent UTs / MFs).
Personally - i'd prefer to OWN an asset generating $ VS. owning the $
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 09:18 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ May 16 2011, 08:56 PM)
Brother wong, thanks for the knowledge sharing. It is fantastic, i guess u at least read > 50 investment books. Low Yat forum's standard has been decreasing with many new comers asking where, how to invest kind of basic questions.

I am still finding the best investment tools for me.

I am using leveraging method to invest. Public Bank do offer UNIFLEX facilities whereby u can pledge your UT for OD facility, MOA is around 80% with OD interest rate of BLR-1%, u can then withdraw the fund to reinvest or just use the OD as a spare cash. I am a low risk investors, so i park my money in one of the Public Bond Funds, which generate 7.7% average for the last 3 years, so basically it is good enuf to cover the OD interest.

REITS is something that i have not tried yet. Even KLSE has some ETF counters where investors can buy into index at low cost (compared to UT) but unfortunately it is not actively traded so it would have liquidity problem when we want to sell.

One question, u have list the rented property under equity (catagory a), why shdnt it under catagory C?
CheahCW, hehe - Category A shd read as "Equities exREITs / exRental Properties" hhehehe. wub.gif paiseh, typed too fast, just did a "/" I baka.

Yeah - saw PB's offer UNIFLEX for levering on pledged Mutual Funds from PM. I've got a hair trigger with leveraged investments, especially when the supporting vehicles are Equities (eg. Equity Funds). I've yet to calc the spread if I pledge my bond funds though - may be worthwhile hehe. However, with OPR thus BLR, going up and up.. i suspect i wouldn't be doing it any time soon until another CRASH and then.. BWHAHAAHAH I'LL JUMP IN (1 foot only lar, not 2 - risk mgt man, risk mgt brows.gif )

ETFs in KLSE is er.. hm.. how to put it nicely.. not worth my time so far. I can't use it for trading, can't "see" the details for direct investments control, can't really save much Vs mutual funds (fundsupermart 2% only! and i'm my best customer for PM funds brows.gif ) if U think longer term and using SWITCHING instead of selling and buying.

REITs - may i share a very simple method, see whether worth your time or not?
1st step - filter for REITs having consistent ROE & ROTA of 8% and more every year. REITs need returns to pay dividends mar & i expect 7% to 8% dividend yield.
2nd step - filter from there, REITs with D/E < 0.6 (0.8 if U can stomach higher leverage). D/E = debt to equity ratio used in running the business
3rd step - wait for the filtered REITs to hit a DY% of 9% (coz i want net 8%pa mar) OR Price / NAPS (net asset per share) < 70% (hey, buying $1 of assets for 70cents' good!) hehe.
In end 2008 & 1st quarter 2009 I made a killing (by buying) and still making now due to some which i'm still holding, which is bring in NET DY% ranging from 8% to 10%pa, EXCLUDING price increase (ie. capital growth).

Books? i read about 1 to 2 books every 2 to 3 days (depending on job load & stress).
However, after a while, most of them... samey samey once U absorb the basics. It costs me a bomb testing some of the methodologies with real $ and real time (2 to 4 years) but worth while at the end of the day as "sure-ity" (well 80%+ lar) is there and there's a host of combo methodologies to use as market changes. Yes yes - i'm a NerKy (Nerdy Turnkey) laugh.gif
I'd tip my hat to 1 book which made a heckuva difference for me - T Harv Ekar's "Millionaire Mind", with the % spell out for net income allocation. I used that as a basis and customized to my personal wants/views.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 16 2011, 09:31 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 10:05 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ May 16 2011, 09:40 PM)
PB Islamic Bond pays 12% for the last 1 year, i did UNIFLEX around 1 year ago, so it is still worthwhile to do it comparing to cost of fund of 5.3%. I also have no balls to do UNIFLEX under 100% Equity, my Mutual fund investment now is 20% Equity, 80% bond.
From the way u write i know that u read a lot of books. i have the same feeling, after reading many books, the theories are basically the same, will check on Millionaire Mind, if given a chance.
Since KLSE index is at its historical height, so is it too late to invest in REITS? as the price already at its peak?
I invest in property direct, holding several properties, mostly landed residential and also commercial office for flipping. Have very good paper gain for now as i started to invest in 2009, will sell them immediately upon VP and sit tight with cash profit and wait for the next property investment cycle, but wonder where to park my money after sold all the props.
Ah - a Property bro! rclxm9.gif I need to learn much much more on direct property investments. So far, no matter how i calculate it, it doesn't make much sense to me VS paper assets as i'll be locking up a huge % of my $ in 1 transaction + illiquid. Having said so, like paper investments, i've forced myself to get into it in 2009 also - got a "starter" service apartment with positive cash flow with 16% to 18% down payment & 28 yrs loan fixed rate ING 4.8%pa, in Casa Subang.
I still don't get it - even with the leverage, if i sell now, all in all, i'll get a net profit of CAGR/pa of only about 38%pa (if i compare to personal cash outlay only, ie. cash on cash returns). I'm kinda thick and slow me thinks wub.gif Is there i topic somewhere in LYN that can point me (i'm a good digger once pointed, digging hungrily drool.gif ) to the right direction for residential and commercial properties?

Hm.. since i dont believe i've a working crystal ball, i never invest by thinking too high/too low. I buy value biggrin.gif, just like my grocery shopping and cash back credit cards.
For trading - i buy value too when volume spikes.
Thus, is KLSE too high to go in? er.. depends lor. Different strokes for Different Folks.
FYI - lots of folks (contrairians?) said 2010 was too high to buy in... i made, several transactions, >=25%pa returns in mutual funds and of all things, in PIX (index fund - though not strictly an Index Fund per se) using programmatic approach of TwinVest. Google that word - you'll find a host of interesting stuff. It's a combination of DCA & VCA & it's one of the tested methods that i've used real cash & time testing (also DCA, Trend, Counter-Trend, etc.) for mutual funds.

Oh.. i dunno if this will be interesting to U and the folks here reading this Fund topic - i've done a compilation and added 2 columns of statistics for Public Mutual funds' historical data.
10, 5, 3 & 1 yr ending 2011
10, 5, 3 & 1 yr ending 2010
10, 5, 3 & 1 yr ending 2009
10, 5, 3 & 1 yr ending 2008 (as a comparison on how bad crashes can be on Mutual Funds - yo yo! WHO said die-worsi-fication is good to protect yr investment take a look at this! Diversification shd be done across different categories of Assets, eg. Bonds, Equities, Alternatives, Cash Equivalents)

Shocking.. and eye opening - especially PSmallCap. Looking @ 2009 to 2011, it's INCREADIBLE. It's CAGR/StdDev is more than 1! ie. it cannot lose!
However, take a look at it for the years ending 2008. I think one of them shows PSmallCap hitting -32%+ CAGR drop

Note - all these statistics were pressed out of Financial Advisor just for idea sharing purposes ar - use at yr own risk tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 16 2011, 10:20 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  PM_10__5__3__1yr_stats_for_years_ending_2011__2010__2009___2008.zip ( 94.6k ) Number of downloads: 297
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 10:23 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(transit @ May 16 2011, 10:16 PM)
Good Sharing on the data of Public Mutual Fund. Keep it up, brother. Loving it :-)
Transit, thanks for the feedback. I'm just wondering whether anyone out there can actually make heads/tails of a crazed rat's ramblings in Excel bwhahaah. During spare time, i either read or test statistics - NerKy by nature (Nerd + TurnKey Automation kinda person). Any feedback on how it can be more useful is greatly appreciated - it may help adjust my personal methodologies too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 16 2011, 10:24 PM
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 10:40 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ May 16 2011, 10:34 PM)
the interesting part abt prop investment is LEVERAGING.

U come up with very minimum and using OPM to invest, for RM1mil prop, u come up with RM50K to RM100K (depending on developers), if the prop grow to RM2.0mil (it is achieavable in many cases in KLV if u invest in 2009), then your return will be RM1mil net over 50K initial deposits (for the case of 5/95). 20 times return or 2000% return. But for prop investment it will need different expertise, networking, studies, and etc.

The best forum on this topic is not in Lowyat.
Bwhahah - ok ok, best forum on this topic isnt LYN. Can point me to the other forum ar? heheh. notworthy.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 10:54 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(transit @ May 16 2011, 10:47 PM)
Wong, the data in Excel Spreadsheet is really detailed analysis for all funds under PMF (Public Mutual Fund) for the past 1, 3, 5 and 10 years. BTW, may I know whether if you are using FP Advisor (software by Public Mutual) or other software for this data mining? If that is not FP Advisor software, may I know what is thw other tools to do this kind of detailed data mining. I like to learning from you. I like to do data analysis during my spare time as well.  notworthy.gif
I just used FPAdvisor using specific dates (not the built-in 10, 5, 3,1), then add in my own conditional formatting to automatically highlight certain stuff for my eyes to pick-up tongue.gif + 2 additional columns which i think FPAdvisor needs but tak da (IMHO lar):
a. CAGR/STDDEV for ascertaining how much % probable that investment in that fund could have lost $
b. Total returns / Total Benchmark returns for ascertaining how well that fund did Vs. its benchmark

wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 11:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(transit @ May 16 2011, 10:58 PM)
Wong: Just wondering if there is any reason those Alpha 30 or Alpha 40 fund is not in the list? Are they too new to be in the 1 year list?  sweat.gif
I think so - not ripe enough yet (1 yr old FULL minimum). Even in Personal Money mag - lots of new funds not listed, mostly belum cukup ripe yet (min 1yr old FULL)
wongmunkeong
post May 16 2011, 11:34 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ May 16 2011, 11:25 PM)
what about PFES? i thot this fund has at least 5 years track record?
Got ar PFES, definitely in the 2011 and 2010 end files - do a search in Excel.
Bro - the files are named in such a way that the 10, 5, 3, and 1 yr ENDS on 20110512, 20101231, etc.
Thus, PFES may not be in 2008xxxx and 2009xxx for certain years (most probable = 10yrs & 5 yrs)

Added on May 17, 2011, 8:04 am
QUOTE(double7 @ May 16 2011, 11:14 PM)
Hi all, I have a question. Is buying unit trusts like buying other stocks? i.e. need to use a broker?
Hi Double7. Nah - U can get it from Sales Agents or Investment Agents. Banks' "over the counter" pun ada. However, please be "picky" UNLESS U know what U want and have a methodology of investing - mostly are Sales oriented fellows brows.gif

Transit & fellow investors, 1 last Excel to share - year ended 20071231 for 1, 3, 5. 10years.
Note the CAGR CRAZY returns - would this confirm then when things are far from "average returns", they tend to snap back to average (return to mean)?
Your ideas / feedback would be great - taking into account the other stats ending for 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 May
Attached File  PM_10__5__3__1_Years_as_at_20071231.zip ( 15.66k ) Number of downloads: 62

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 17 2011, 10:23 AM
wongmunkeong
post May 23 2011, 12:29 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Ladies & gentlemen, anyone heard of "Bear Mutual Funds" being run by fund houses in Malaysia? It doesn't matter whether they are foreign or local focus. Google turned up lots of foreign fund houses' bear funds on Malaysia tongue.gif though no results (1st 3 pages) being run by Malaysian Fund Houses.

What are Bear Mutual Funds?
"Bear" mutual funds are a special class of funds that sell short, buy put options, sell futures contracts, use leverage or employ other strategies to increase in value as the underlying assets decrease in value. Conversely, if the underlying assets increase in value, a Bear ETF will decrease in value. Out of a universe of 12,500+ mutual funds and about 2,000 ETFs offered for sale in the US, there ain't many of 'em! (See also Bear ETFs.)

Most Bear mutual funds track the inverse of an index, such as the S&P 500 or the Dow Jones Industrial Average, or a specific industry sector, such as financial or bio-tech stocks.
wongmunkeong
post May 23 2011, 01:04 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ May 23 2011, 12:42 PM)
I heard my friend who working in CIMB securities department, she said most of malaysia mutual funds not involve in short selling like futures and options. But I found some mutual funds in SG & HK, they have applied the futures trading in the funds. this is one of the example shown in attachment.

For this example, you can see that the allocation for futures is 73%, ETF 14% and equity just 11%. This mean that if facing economy crisis, this fund still got a way to escape it by trading with futures but if 90% is equity, most likely this fund will go downtrend locking with the crisis.
Thanks RSTusa. That's what i'm planning to do - Asset Allocate a xx% for "IF kaka happens, this automatically...", thus i can focus on other stuff ;P
wongmunkeong
post May 24 2011, 10:09 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(megatron88 @ May 24 2011, 10:01 AM)
hi fellas, im new here and just started thinking to invest some portion of my income into funds. as a beginner with low $$ bullet, can big brothers here recommend me how to start or which fund to go with? thank you~  rclxms.gif

p/s: am looking at cimb or pbb funds at the moment hmm...  rclxub.gif
Hi Megatron. Congrats on choosing to start. May i suggest U take a look at the ZIP file i uploaded here for a big pix: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1577849/+413

wongmunkeong
post May 24 2011, 12:24 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(megatron88 @ May 24 2011, 10:39 AM)
wah... read through it. headache haha tongue.gif so many numbers...
blush.gif cannot help it lar - personal financial planning, $ mgt, risk mgt and investment all numerics. If someone tells U U don't need to be numeric literate, be very very careful with that fellow tongue.gif. U know what usually follow the words "Trust me... would i lie?" brows.gif

Having said that, the numbers aren't rocket science - i'm just an IS/IT fler + my SPM results for general maths is Credit 3 only if i remember correctly, no AdMaths wub.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 24 2011, 02:32 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jun 7 2011, 07:48 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Jun 7 2011, 07:10 AM)
This is subjective question.  rolleyes.gif  hmm.gif  biggrin.gif
Transit, it's not subjective - U just need a Crystal Ball to look into the future tongue.gif. Lend it to him lar, dont hog it laugh.gif

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0610sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:23 AM