Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

kparam77
post Jun 27 2011, 05:11 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(KyoX @ Jun 26 2011, 11:08 PM)
what is the different of capital growth and capital appreciation?
growth/appreciation/gain all similar.all means make profits.
kparam77
post Jul 2 2011, 10:30 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(steason @ Jul 2 2011, 05:35 PM)
may i know public mutual's distribution policy is dividend payout or automatic reinvest ?

where can i look for the distribution history of public mutual?
for epf =auto reinvest.
for cash = it deends on investor choice, payout or re-invest by tick at application form.

past 10 yrs distributions can be c at fund report/review at public mtual website.
kparam77
post Jul 18 2011, 02:35 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(syler89 @ Jul 18 2011, 02:25 PM)
hye..let say i have 3000 and i want to invest, which option would you suggest?
invest in unit trust?
waht is ur time frame? short term or long term.

unit trust for 3 yrs and above.

waht is ur risk appetite? conservative, moderate, aggressive.... recomened funds base on ur risk appetite..

do u hv backup $ for ur emergency, at least 6 months for ur monthly expenses.. if not don't invest first, get tready with backup 1st.

no comments for ins + invtsment... as im not very good on that.
kparam77
post Jul 18 2011, 03:37 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(syler89 @ Jul 18 2011, 03:30 PM)
i'm sorry.. a newbie here.. what is bank counter? is it the plan setup by the bank?
our fren suggesting, if u go for stock market, buy finance/bank sectors. blue chip. or u can go for dividends stocks.......dividends never lies.

if u intersted unit trust.... moderate funds available for u. dividend funds also better. if u bumi..... better stick with ASB. 8 -9% with bonuses because ur time frame abt 5 yrs.

whatever is invst with ur OWN RISK.

PM me or email to kparam77@yahoo.com if u interested in Public Mutul unit trust investment.

kparam77
post Jul 18 2011, 04:23 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(syler89 @ Jul 18 2011, 04:16 PM)
then how can i enter the market? do i need to open cds and trading acc?
bro....if u know abt cds/trading acc.... how come u don't know u cannot buy share wtithout doing so?

Added on July 18, 2011, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(syler89 @ Jul 18 2011, 03:52 PM)
yeah.. it a decision i've make for the future..anyway what is rate of return for public mutual fund for a year  whistling.gif ?
well i'm trying my best to learn  nod.gif . i've been reading about stock market. and i was wondering about your suggestion, if i go for finance sector what exactly they can offer me with 3000 i have?
rate of return for public mutual funds for a year or dividends for the funds?

rate of returns depends on fund performance..... not guaarantee.

The dividends payout for some of funds for the year 2010 as follows;still depends on fund performance and the dividends decide by FM......not guarantee also.

C= conservative
M = Moderate
A= aggressive.

PUBLIC SAVING FUND (M) – 13.6% /RM0.09 PER UNIT

PUBLIC GROWTH FUND (M) - 10.4% /RM0.05 PER UNIT

PUBLIC INDEX FUND (M) - 7.8%/RM0.05 PER UNIT

PUBLIC INDUSTRY FUND (M) - 9.2%/RM0.05 PER UNIT

PUBLIC AGGRESSIVE GROWTH FUND (A) - 12.2%/RM0.08 PER UNIT

PUBLIC REGULAR SAVING FUND (M) - 7.9%/RM0.045 PER UNIT

PUBLIC BALANCED FUND (CM) - 9.8%/RM0.07 PER UNIT

PUBLIC BOND FUND © - 5.3%/RM0.05 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ITTIKAL FUND (M) - 10.1%/RM0.08 PER UNIT

PUBLIC SMALLCAP FUND (A) - 11.2%/RM0.09 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC BOND FUND © - 4.7%/RM0.05 PER UNIT

PUBLIC EQUITY FUND (A) - 14.8%/RM0.045 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC EQUITY FUND (A) - 6%/RM0.0175 PER UNIT

PUBLIC MONEY MARKET FUND © - 2.5%/RM0.025 PER UNIT

PUBLIC FOCUS SELECT FUND (A) - 7.7%/RM0.02 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ENHANCED BOND FUND (CM) -2%/RM0.02 PER UNIT

PUBLIC DIVIDEND SELECT FUND (M) - 11.9%/RM0.03 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC OPPORTUNITIES FUND (A) - 7.7%/RM0.025 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC BALANCE FUND (CM) - 3.6%/RM0.01 PER UNIT

PUBLIC FAR-EAST SELECT FUND (A) - 6.7%/RM0.0175 PER UNIT

PUBLIC SELECT BOND FUND © - 4.4%/RM0.045 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC DIVIDEND FUND (M) - 4%/RM0.0125 PER UNIT

PUBLIC REGIONAL SECTOR FUND (A) - 7.6%/RM0.0175 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ASIA ITTIKAL FUND (A) - 3.8%/RM0.01 PER UNIT

PUBLIC GLOBAL SELECT FUND (A) - 4.1%/RM0.0075 PER UNIT

PUBLIC FAR-EAST DIVIDEND FUND (M) - 2.0%/RM0.005 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ENHANCED BOND FUND (CM) - 2.8%/RM0.03 PER UNIT

PUBLIC FAR EAST BALANCED FUND (CM) - 7.1%/RM0.015 PER UNIT

PUBLIC GLOBAL BALANCED FUND (CM) - 2.4%/RM0.005 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ASIA DIVIDEND FUND (M) - 3.5%/RM0.0075 PER UNIT

PUBLIC CHINA SELECT FUND (A) - NO DIVIDEND

PUCLIC ISLAMIC MONEY MARKET FUND © - 2%/RM0.02 PER UNIT

PUBLIC FAR-EAST PROPERTY & RESORTS FUND (M) - 4.6%/RM0.01 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC SELECT BOND FUND © - 4.8%/RM0.05 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ASIA BALANCED FUND (CM) - 3.3%/RM0.0075 PER UNIT

PUBLIC SOUTH-EAST ASIA SELECT FUND (A) - 3.7%/RM0.01 PER UNIT

PUBLIC SECTOR SELECT FUND (A) - 8.6%/RM0.025 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC SECTOR SELECT FUND (A) - 3.5%/RM0.01 PER UNIT

PUBLIC CHINA ITTIKAL FUND (A) - NO DIVIDEND

PUBLIC FAR-EAST CONSUMER THEMES FUND (A) - 13.3%/RM0.035 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC SELECT TREASURES FUND (A) - 4.9%/RM0.0125 PER UNIT

PUBLIC CHINA TITANS FUND (A) - 6.9%/RM0.015 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC OPTIMAL GROWTH FUND (A) - 2%/ RM0.005 PER UNIT

PUBLIC FAR-EAST TELCO & INFRASTRUCTURE FUND (A) - 8%/ RM0.025 PER UNIT

PUBLIC CAPITAL PROTECTED SELECT PORTFOLIO FUND © - NO DIVIDEND

PUBLIC ISLAMIC SELECT ENTERPRISES FUND (A) -4.1%/RM0.0125 PER UNIT

PUBLIC ISLAMIC INCOME FUND © - 3.3%/RM0.035 PER UNIT/ RM1.0319

PUBLIC SELECT ALPHA-30 FUND (A) - 7.5%/RM0.025 PER UNIT/ RM0.3378

PUBLIC NATURAL RESOURCES EQUITY FUND (A) - 5.6%/RM0.015 PER UNIT/

PUBLIC AUSTRALIA EQUITY FUND (A) - NO DIVIDEND

PUBLIC ISLAMIC ASIA LEADERS EQUITY FUND (A) -2.9%/RM0.0075 PER UNIT

PUBLIC FAR-EAST ALPHA-30 FUND (A) - NO DIVIDEND

This post has been edited by kparam77: Jul 18 2011, 04:30 PM
kparam77
post Jul 18 2011, 05:54 PM

952 posts

[quote=syler89,Jul 18 2011, 04:49 PM]
[quote=kparam77,Jul 18 2011, 04:23 PM]
bro....if u know abt cds/trading acc.... how come u don't know u cannot buy share wtithout doing so?

Added on July 18, 2011, 4:30 pm

as i mention before i'm still learning about the market. so that why i came across some of the word used... unsure.gif
anyway...thanks for the info. i appreciate that.. notworthy.gif

[/quote]

OIC - maybe this link [URL=http://www.bursamalaysia.com/website/bm/bursa_basics/]may help u for better understand abt stock market.[/URL]
best of luck.
kparam77
post Jul 22 2011, 08:08 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Jul 22 2011, 07:19 PM)
I just wondered what a company like Public Mutual and the like get when the collect money from people, invest, then give it back to people.
They minus the management cost, but what else?

Do they get profit from it? I thought they try to reduce the management cost as minimal as they can!
pls read this master prospectus at http://www.publicmutual.com.my/OurProducts...Prospectus.aspx to read the relvevant chargers by PM.

u can manage ur money by ur self by investing directly in stocks. only need to pay the brokerage, diskoun for online as well.

if u give ur money to unit trust managemt company to manage ur money...... of couse u need to pay them.

kparam77
post Aug 9 2011, 08:08 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 9 2011, 03:36 AM)
While reading this thread I came across these two terms: growth stocks and dividend stocks. So are growth stocks non dividend paying stocks? like the gold stocks?
growth stock - focus on capital growth and give dividedns(if any) while dividedns stock will give dividedns.

take note - dividedns from the share it self, not from additional income by stock company.
kparam77
post Aug 9 2011, 12:57 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(wiraman @ Aug 9 2011, 12:46 PM)
Dear All,

i m a newbie in the unit trust investment. A friend(just started as unit trust agent) of mine recommended that I invest in Hwang DBS Select Balanced Fund, Bond Fund or the Select Dividend fund. My risk appetite is that I would not want a fund which is risky. All this while i have been placing my extra money(RM20K) in FD. As such, if anny funds which could generate better return than FD is always welcome + also I belive there are some hidden charges in unit trust ie mgmt fee etc.

Appreciate comments/help from all sifus

better returns than FD, must take some risk also.

relevenat charges/fees.
1.service charge
2. managemnt fee
3, trsutee fess
4. switching fee (if u do switching)

if u read this topic from beginning, u will know how to start.

1.ur age?
2. ur risk factor = conservative.
3. any chances to EPF scheme plan?
4. waht is ur expectation frm this investment? waht is ur goal? Rm500K, Rm1mil? or more and ur time frame?

kparam77
post Aug 9 2011, 02:33 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 9 2011, 01:03 PM)
After all that stupidity (learn from own mistakes), i'm still not seafood leh  blush.gif
The time i am seafood is the time when i'm feeding the fishes with my body.. ie. game over. Before that, permanent L plate suck on my forehead  brows.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 1:06 pm

Bro - havent U noticed lots of newbies just shoot Q (and very basic Q summore) WITHOUT searching/reading up first & structuring proper Qs?

U have great patience - me, i just ignore until good Q comes heheh. Salute!  notworthy.gif
ya bro, sometime the don't know how to start.

Added on August 9, 2011, 2:38 pm
QUOTE(monsta2011 @ Aug 9 2011, 01:07 PM)
Thanks so much for the reply that really help notworthy.gif so if dividend yield is > than cash flow yield then should think twice before investing in the company cos the company is most likely paying the divi out of retained earnings.
u need to c the fundemandal of the company (company current status and future planning + debt of the comany) before decide to enter to that company. if the dividedns is high but the fundmendal is not so good, u need to be careful.

buy DIVIDEDNS DON'T LIE BOOK and read for better understanding abt dividedns stocks.

This post has been edited by kparam77: Aug 9 2011, 02:38 PM
kparam77
post Aug 9 2011, 04:17 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Aug 9 2011, 03:41 PM)
hey guys, i am holding a PAGF fund in public mutual and i noticed it drop a lot!! i think the US bad economy is effecting the whole world. at the same time, i do have one money market fund. my agent told me to switch all my PAGF fund into the money market because it is safer there. Do i need to switch now?
UR AGENT ALREADY ADVICE U. JUST GO FOR IT. .....WAIT,...... MARKET LOOKS LIKE RECOVERING. THIS MORNIING -70 AND -13 JUST NOW.

U NEED TO PLAN STOP LOST FOR SWITCHING. WAHT IS UR STOP LOST 5%/10%??

MY STOP LOST 10%, SO FAR I LOST ONLY 5%.....I STILL WAITING FOR 5%.
kparam77
post Aug 11 2011, 10:33 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(bakkutt3h @ Aug 11 2011, 10:20 AM)
hi sifus, i've just checked my maybank FD where its already yielded for some time like since my kindergarden till now(25yo), say 8-10k inside(current), and the interest rate is 2.85%......i was thinking is it rather low for the time being?
wah....just realise-ah?? not time being..its always...... but of cource safe.

do u thnik this is the time to move to other investment vehicles... if unit trust..im here for u.
kparam77
post Aug 11 2011, 11:07 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 11 2011, 10:55 AM)
FD is safe? heheh - not from constant inflation (unless there's a deflation) tongue.gif
IMHO, best to have some in FD, Bonds, Equities (at the very least 3 asset classes), preferably including REITs/Properties. Fellow may also want to look at metals/alternatives after building a basic base to spring from.
ya correct;

FD = 3% - inflation 3% = 0 %
kparam77
post Aug 11 2011, 01:11 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(bakkutt3h @ Aug 11 2011, 12:57 PM)
hmm ya is safe.....but at least giv me something like 1-2% p.a. thats better....=)
what 1-2% only... better keep in FD. or go for BOND. but u still very young..25old?

why 1-2% only? don't want more than that around 6-8% pa.

8% - inflation 3% = still got 5%.
kparam77
post Aug 11 2011, 04:22 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(bakkutt3h @ Aug 11 2011, 03:58 PM)
sorry for mislead, i mean 2.85 + 1 or 2% p.a or more than what i expected....sad.gif
tat is 5%, the better but not the best ............... AS 1 malaysia. (but still has risk.. u need to read the AS1M prospectus)

want to try the great public mutual?

r u will happy with 6%? balanced fund? 60% in equity and 40% in BOND. it can fit ur taste.

but u still can go for BOND funds. more safer than equity funds. (but stil has risk too.)

u can start read this topic from beginning to get some idea abt UT investment.

kparam77
post Aug 12 2011, 09:48 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(bakkutt3h @ Aug 11 2011, 08:43 PM)
hmm yea....quite interested in UT.....will take a look, and 6% is projected rite?

kinda looking into some fast 1.....although i know the risk....
ya, hv a look for public balanced fund in master prospectus and fund review. u can understand abt this fund.

but don't buy it u don't know abt the product.

don't confuce with capital gian and dividedns payout.

http://www.pk31-publicmutual.blogspot.com maybe helpful for u.

at age of 25, u shud to go more than 6%. but no harm maintain 6%.

Added on August 12, 2011, 9:56 am
QUOTE(valve_300b @ Aug 11 2011, 06:25 PM)
ya right, Public China funds all -ve... ask those who bought it, they'll all give their agent a tight slap !
waht will agents get if shows +ve?

This post has been edited by kparam77: Aug 12 2011, 09:56 AM
kparam77
post Aug 16 2011, 08:02 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(MonkeYee @ Aug 15 2011, 09:07 PM)
hi all. i tried to do some investment. but i do not know which is the best for me. any suggestion? biggrin.gif thanks
do u want to invest with unit trust?

waht is ur investment objective? reitremnt plan? or just for profit taking?
kparam77
post Aug 17 2011, 10:34 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(bux @ Aug 16 2011, 08:41 PM)
yes, please enlighten me...i am interested, for profit taking. Currently i only withdraw every 3-4 mths from EPF to public mutual funds (local market)
profit taking, there r so many strategy for profits taking.

for epf, u need to set ur profit taking target , 10% 20%. and also cut loss target.

if u reach ur target, switch to BOND. take note of the switching fees. if market in down trend, switch with cut loss to bond as well.

when market recover, switch all or partialy (u need to plan it), back to equity, (no SC, only switching fee)

and again the 2nd round of profit taking.

do not sell back the unit, . if u use EPF scheme, just play switching methods. because if u want to invest back, need to pay another SC.

u can apply this for CASH as well.
kparam77
post Aug 17 2011, 10:37 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(MonkeYee @ Aug 17 2011, 01:02 AM)
Then I think u better take savings plan. It is so much better!
saving plan, let the compunding interest work for the money and the profits in long term.

recomedned - PSF, PRSF.
kparam77
post Aug 31 2011, 10:12 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Aug 31 2011, 08:11 PM)
In all fairness, nobody can say for certain whether LSI or DCA is the better investment method. The reason is that adopting both methods in a different period would give different results depending on the prevailing market conditions.

For example, if you made a lump sum investment right when the FBM KLCI bottomed out in end March 2009, there's no way that the DCA method could give you better annualised returns. In a nutshell, it all boils down to market timing and whether you can catch the market's peaks and trenches.
agreed,
but, do we know, when will be next bottom line. Maybe DCA cannot give the best returns as lump sump which invest in bottom line. but DCA still a better strategy to give lower average price over the time.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0612sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:33 PM