177 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

TSazarimy
post Jun 19 2008, 03:46 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Jcizz @ Jun 19 2008, 05:11 AM)
hie, anyone can give some opinion on what kind of job to expect with a part 1 degree from an unaccredited university?
i.e. the Job scope, expected salary, highest position possible in a company (big and small). I intend to work.. long term.
What will the future be like if I don't intend to pursue part 2? Any direction or wisdom is greatly appreciated.
I thank u guys in advance..
I'm near the completion of my part 1.. with average results
most firms nowadays wont have any problem hiring u. but when talking about salary and position, dont expect too much. without accreditation, firms are more weary about the capabilities of the potential employees, meaning u will be subject to a probation period. with a part 1 equivalent degree, u should expect to work as a draftperson or technical assistant. the highest u can be is architect assistant.

without a part 2, u'll never be an architect, and without any financial backing, it would be next to impossible to open ur own practice.
Jcizz
post Jun 19 2008, 04:10 PM

32 posts

wow, thanks for the speedy reply!

Is it advisable to work with Part 1 for 2 years or so before getting a part 2?
I'm kinda tight financially. Loan's one of my only option.
Unless there is a way to gain entry to part 2 in any IPTAs with a degree from an IPTS? I actually did in an IPTS with loan. Looks like after graduation, I'll have a lot of paying back to do.. lol

This post has been edited by Jcizz: Jun 19 2008, 04:12 PM
TSazarimy
post Jun 19 2008, 08:29 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Jcizz @ Jun 19 2008, 08:10 AM)
wow, thanks for the speedy reply!

Is it advisable to work with Part 1 for 2 years or so before getting a part 2?
I'm kinda tight financially. Loan's one of my only option.
Unless there is a way to gain entry to part 2 in any IPTAs with a degree from an IPTS? I actually did in an IPTS with loan. Looks like after graduation, I'll have a lot of paying back to do.. lol
u can work for as long (or as short) as u want after part 1. nobody's gonna stop u. ur part 1 degree is valid until u die, so u can work for 15 years and then come back for a part 2 nobody would care wink.gif.

as for u second question, no, there is no direct intake from IPTS' degree into part 2 in an accredited IPTA. but u can apply and join at 3rd year (final year of part 1), and then continue for part 2. that's the cheapest option u can have (total 3 years of study).
bononoz
post Jun 19 2008, 09:59 PM

190 posts

Hello again , and thanks for your help about the interview process.. i got architecture at USM
now, any suggestions on things we should bring/get ready before going for archi course?
europology
post Jun 19 2008, 11:27 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(bononoz @ Jun 19 2008, 09:59 PM)
Hello again , and thanks for your help about the interview process.. i got architecture at USM
now, any suggestions on things we should bring/get ready before going for archi course?
Basically everything you gonna need can be bought there. But if you have already had geometrical tools, watercolour and colour pencils (serious!), do bring along. Don't forget your brushes and pencils too. Other archi tools can be bought there. You'll be told what to buy and where to get when starting your studio classes.

This post has been edited by europology: Jun 19 2008, 11:29 PM
LuLu90
post Jun 19 2008, 11:52 PM

HI... im now starting form 6 n still hesitating if i shud take science stream or commerce... currently i m in commerce n taking ekons, p.perdagangan, maths. S n seni visual. izzit possible 4 me 2 get into local uni assuming dat my results r gud? im not a bumi.. shud i change stream when i still can since every1 is saying dat i need physics n math. T to get architecture course. its dat true?
europology
post Jun 19 2008, 11:57 PM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(LuLu90 @ Jun 19 2008, 11:52 PM)
HI... im now starting form 6 n still hesitating if i shud take science stream or commerce... currently i m in commerce n taking ekons, p.perdagangan, maths. S n seni visual. izzit possible 4 me 2 get into local uni assuming dat my results r gud? im not a bumi..  shud i change stream when i still can since every1 is saying dat i need physics n math. T to get architecture course. its dat true?
Not really. Most of them are art stream and matrix students.
TSazarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 12:04 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(LuLu90 @ Jun 19 2008, 03:52 PM)
HI... im now starting form 6 n still hesitating if i shud take science stream or commerce... currently i m in commerce n taking ekons, p.perdagangan, maths. S n seni visual. izzit possible 4 me 2 get into local uni assuming dat my results r gud? im not a bumi..  shud i change stream when i still can since every1 is saying dat i need physics n math. T to get architecture course. its dat true?
no, u dont need add maths at all to take architecture. physics? not so much. there's only one chapter in physics that u'll ever use in architecture - load. the rest all can throw away LOL.
bononoz
post Jun 20 2008, 01:33 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(europology @ Jun 19 2008, 11:27 PM)
Basically everything you gonna need can be bought there. But if you have already had geometrical tools, watercolour and colour pencils (serious!), do bring along. Don't forget your brushes and pencils too. Other archi tools can be bought there. You'll be told what to buy and where to get when starting your studio classes.
I see... books etc all buy there la ... good rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bononoz: Jun 20 2008, 01:33 AM
europology
post Jun 20 2008, 01:38 AM

Pantheon of Goddesses
4,261 posts

QUOTE(bononoz @ Jun 20 2008, 01:33 AM)
I see... books etc all buy there la ... good  rclxms.gif

Maybe you can PM me your name so I'll tell you what to do in detail in USM upon starting the new semester. wink.gif

This post has been edited by europology: Jun 20 2008, 01:59 AM
naughty11
post Jun 20 2008, 03:23 AM

44 posts

hi sir azarimy,

I have been reading this thread since I was applying for local uni.
I have a decision to make. Well, I am offered architecture courses from UM and NUS, and I don't know which university should I go. I went through a hard time going through the admission interview at NUS, so I don't want to miss thee golden chance. I wanted to go NUS at first but due to financial constrain I have to think wisely. Can you enlighten me?
TSazarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 07:16 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(naughty11 @ Jun 19 2008, 07:23 PM)
hi sir azarimy,

I have been reading this thread since I was applying for local uni.
I have a decision to make. Well, I am offered architecture courses from UM and NUS, and I don't know which university should I go. I went through a hard time going through the admission interview at NUS, so I don't want to miss thee golden chance. I wanted to go NUS at first but due to financial constrain I have to think wisely. Can you enlighten me?
well, it's totally up to u. both are equally good, depending on which emphasis u wanna concentrate on.

UM is one of the best school of architecture in malaysia, provides both RIBA and LAM recognition. it's in KL and it's an IPTA, meaning it's very cheap.

NUS is one of the top architecture schools in south east asia. however it is expensive, and only provides RIBA recognition. u still need to sit for ur LAM.

financial constrain might render NUS option moot entirely.
croviax
post Jun 20 2008, 01:31 PM

32 posts

I'm currently taking diploma in architecture at Alfa college.

1. I heard that there's a course or subject called architectural engineering for degree.What's the difference between that course/subject with the normal ones? Is it more to engineering part instead of design?

2. And can i continue my studies at any local U for my degree? Is it hard to get?

3. Lastly, what happen if my CGPA are low.Let say 2.0 only.But my portfolio is very good.Which one will they see?

TSazarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 05:15 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(croviax @ Jun 20 2008, 05:31 AM)

1. I heard that there's a course or subject called architectural engineering for degree.What's the difference between that course/subject with the normal ones? Is it more to engineering part instead of design?

2. And can i continue my studies at any local U for my degree? Is it hard to get?

3. Lastly, what happen if my CGPA are low.Let say 2.0 only.But my portfolio is very good.Which one will they see?
1. architectural engineering is a degree course that is a combination of both architecture and civil engineering. it is not available in malaysia at the moment. the architectural engineering degree qualifies u as both an architect and civil engineer at the same time. so imagine the architecture subjects u have now, and add what ur civil engineering friends are learning, and u'll get a basic idea of what architectural engineering is all about.

2. yes, u can. yes, it is hard especially with a diploma bcoz u'll be competing with other diploma holders from other IPTSs and IPTAs including all polytechnic diploma schools.

3. with a CGPA of 2.00, i dont think they'd even look at ur portfolio. average diploma holders applying to IPTAs hold atleast a 3.30. anything less than that, u need about 2 years working experience. it doesnt mean u cant apply with a 2.00. there are too many diploma holders around right now waiting for a chance to further studies at a university, and most of them are already good achievers with exceptional portfolios. so u need to compete against them.
croviax
post Jun 20 2008, 08:06 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 20 2008, 05:15 PM)
1. architectural engineering is a degree course that is a combination of both architecture and civil engineering. it is not available in malaysia at the moment. the architectural engineering degree qualifies u as both an architect and civil engineer at the same time. so imagine the architecture subjects u have now, and add what ur civil engineering friends are learning, and u'll get a basic idea of what architectural engineering is all about.

2. yes, u can. yes, it is hard especially with a diploma bcoz u'll be competing with other diploma holders from other IPTSs and IPTAs including all polytechnic diploma schools.

3. with a CGPA of 2.00, i dont think they'd even look at ur portfolio. average diploma holders applying to IPTAs hold atleast a 3.30. anything less than that, u need about 2 years working experience. it doesnt mean u cant apply with a 2.00. there are too many diploma holders around right now waiting for a chance to further studies at a university, and most of them are already good achievers with exceptional portfolios. so u need to compete against them.
Oh man, u scared me already tongue.gif

Haha.Anyway, what's the advantages and disadvantages of taking architectural engineering instead of the normal architecture course besides job opportunities?
TSazarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 09:36 PM

10,672 posts

mostly the advantage lies at job opportunities. i cant imagine what advantage they would have in academic terms, other than learning more stuff, being recognized as both, and the capability and qualification of both fields.

job wise, imagine getting both the fees of an architect AND an engineer. enough said.
LuLu90
post Jun 20 2008, 10:21 PM

But i checked on de internet, 1 of de basic requirement from STPM to enter UM n USM is principal in physics n math T. According to my choices of courses(ekons, maths S, P. perdagangan n seni visual), it doesn't match at all T_T.

Plus i heard dat art stream student who apply 4 architect, will probably get something else like interior architecture n landscape architect. Pls tell me its crap. Cos im aiming 4 real architecture, which means i wanna b an ARCHiTECT.

And another thing is, do i stand a lower chance than science stream students who apply 4 architecture? (assuming dat they n i get 4 A's for STPM)

that's all so far. thx =)
KimRoss
post Jun 20 2008, 10:50 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

QUOTE(croviax @ Jun 20 2008, 01:31 PM)

croviax. which batch are you in? =D

*anyone went for the TranXXit workshop?*
TSazarimy
post Jun 20 2008, 11:03 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(LuLu90 @ Jun 20 2008, 02:21 PM)
But i checked on de internet, 1 of de basic requirement from STPM to enter UM n USM is principal in physics n math T. According to my choices of courses(ekons, maths S, P. perdagangan n seni visual), it doesn't match at all T_T.

Plus i heard dat art stream student who apply 4 architect, will probably get something else like interior architecture n landscape architect. Pls tell me its crap. Cos im aiming 4 real architecture, which means i wanna b an ARCHiTECT.

And another thing is, do i stand a lower chance than science stream students who apply 4 architecture? (assuming dat they n i get 4 A's for STPM)

that's all so far. thx =)
UM's intake is controlled by the ministry directly. the university have no control over what kind of students they gonna get. but i'm pretty sure USM has an open policy for architecture like UTM. heck, being the premiere university for engineering, u'd think UTM might emphasis more on science subjects, right? fortunately for u, that's not the case. for architecture, the intake is very open. an arts stream student stands equal chance as any other students.

for ur 2nd question, if u dont apply for the other courses,♦ u wont get them. so dont mengada2 put other courses if u dont want them.
croviax
post Jun 21 2008, 02:11 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(KimRoss @ Jun 20 2008, 10:50 PM)
croviax. which batch are you in? =D

*anyone went for the TranXXit workshop?*
Ross.I'm your classmate lah.Haha.Go figure tongue.gif

177 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled