177 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

TSazarimy
post Apr 30 2008, 10:10 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

well, i know UTM offers naval architecture as well as marine engineering. i know there's another recently upgraded university that has both courses as well, but i'm not sure which one. the new names are confusing laugh.gif

yes, u can enter naval architecture or marine engineering with poly diploma.
destroyer
post Apr 30 2008, 10:28 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

can i do double degree at a same time which is naval architecture and marine engineering since both course are closely related.

for UTM, we need to have 3.5 matriculation pointer to enter most of the degree course in UTM am I right?

you know, i changed my mind because I think I'm not creative enough to enter architecture. That's why, I want to enter matric as it will give me more time to grown up and find what I trully interested to go into.

Could you elaborate more on naval architecture Mr. Azarimy. since you've friends who once worked in marine industry. do they tell you anything about their job?
TSazarimy
post May 1 2008, 06:25 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 30 2008, 02:28 PM)
can i do double degree at a same time which is naval architecture and marine engineering since both course are closely related.

for UTM, we need to have 3.5 matriculation pointer to enter most of the degree course in UTM am I right?

you know, i changed my mind because I think I'm not creative enough to enter architecture. That's why, I want to enter matric as it will give me more time to grown up and find what I trully interested to go into.

Could you elaborate more on naval architecture Mr. Azarimy. since you've friends who once worked in marine industry. do they tell you anything about their job?
+ i'm not sure. u have to inquire directly. people would say architecture and landscape are very alike, yet nobody has ever taken a double degree in both.

+ yes. u need 3.50 and above. but i'm not sure what the real minimum requirements are.

+ well, nothing more than what i've described earlier. they did not become naval architects, but assumes a naval architect's job. they are not qualified to do it in the first place.
silencio87
post May 1 2008, 04:10 PM

" Freedom is From Within"
1,546 posts

hello there!!

I bet there are many architects +archy students here. I need some opinions. Which technical pen is better,Faber Caster or Rotring ???? Apparently,my old technical pens are no longer usable.It smears so much now with just a tiny dot doh.gif *blame it on me for not taking good care of them >.<*

So,since now im getting a new one.Im just curious..which is better?

thank you!

~Siilencio87

gildil
post May 1 2008, 07:54 PM

40 posts

I use Rotring

never tried Faber Caster except for colour pencils
TSazarimy
post May 1 2008, 09:09 PM

10,672 posts

to me, it's almost the same, so it boils down to how u use it. if u like pens heavier on the tip, try rotring. if u like it heavier on the end, then try faber castell. i can see no difference in line quality or maintenance of both brands. these are two top of the line brands, u cant find anything better than these two.
aprisis
post May 1 2008, 10:20 PM

266 posts

i had this question for a long time in my head.

let's say an architect designs this building. this person has no knowledge in interior designing. is it ok for the person to hand over this task to another?
TSazarimy
post May 1 2008, 10:30 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ May 1 2008, 02:20 PM)
i had this question for a long time in my head.

let's say an architect designs this building. this person has no knowledge in interior designing. is it ok for the person to hand over this task to another?
hand over the task to whom? it's very hard to find architects that have no knowledge in ID, bcoz practically u will learn ID extensively during 1st year, and repetitively during 2nd year and 3rd year throughout. however, there are times that an architect doesnt have enough time to do ID. in such cases, he could employ a consultant (another architect or int designer) for that task. ofcourse, this is included in the original fees, meaning the client will not pay more. the consultants will be paid from what the client pays u, relatively reducing the overall fees that u will get.
aprisis
post May 1 2008, 10:36 PM

266 posts

so that means its unlikely that an architect dunno ID?

at 1st i had the impression that ID is not part of architecture doh.gif
TSazarimy
post May 1 2008, 10:38 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ May 1 2008, 02:36 PM)
so that means its unlikely that an architect dunno ID?

at 1st i had the impression that ID is not part of architecture doh.gif
where did u get that? biggrin.gif

ID is part of architecture, it's a subset of it. all architects can do ID. it's just a specialization of what an architect does. u might be mistaken it to landscape architecture. now that is something that is distinctively different from architecture.
aprisis
post May 1 2008, 10:54 PM

266 posts

is there an opt to skip ID? cuz i think i'm damned in ID.. sad.gif
TSazarimy
post May 1 2008, 11:10 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ May 1 2008, 02:54 PM)
is there an opt to skip ID? cuz i think i'm damned in ID.. sad.gif
in architecture education?

no.

it's integrated and part of the education system. u dont jump straight to designing tall buildings. it always start from the smallest: either ur own clothing, a sculpture or a tent/shelter, then moving on to ur own room or a room for 2 people, and later on a house for 2-4 people. eventually u'll design the entire city. no skipping. architects do everything.
yuktsi14
post May 1 2008, 11:15 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

doing architectue at limkokwing next year
^.^
aprisis
post May 1 2008, 11:19 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 1 2008, 11:10 PM)
in architecture education?

no.

it's integrated and part of the education system. u dont jump straight to designing tall buildings. it always start from the smallest: either ur own clothing, a sculpture or a tent/shelter, then moving on to ur own room or a room for 2 people, and later on a house for 2-4 people. eventually u'll design the entire city. no skipping. architects do everything.
i believe i asked this b4, but well: including plumbing, wires, etc?
myesarah
post May 2 2008, 12:49 AM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 27 2008, 06:20 PM)
well, for one thing, IPTAs dont often take fresh graduates to become part of the teaching staff unless they have some serious achievements under their belt. when i graduated in 2001, there wasnt any permanent vacancies, so the faculty had to apply to the administration for more fundings. so i had to wait for the opening, which apparently took 10months. so i became a part time lecturer rather than just wait and do nothing.

only if there were an opening readily available, and a 3.50++ with a bunch of dean's list and other awards, could one be taken directly into the teaching staff. even so, the faculty will have to screen them through interviews. great at learning doesnt mean u'll be good at lecturing. in my case, i had a 1 year long interview (via part time teaching), so the real interview was pretty much nothing.
no. at the moment interior design does not have an accreditation system, but they do have a society for it. check out MSID.
whoahh,, a 1 year long interview? wow, i didn't know it's that hard to be a lecturer.

btw, the streamlining result has been announced yesterday. and guess what? i'm accepted in the Applied Arts & Design program!! that means, I'll be able to take ID in the 2nd year!!! wohooo!!!~~~ i'm so so so so happy!

oh, thanx, i'll check out the MSID website after this.

a lot of people (esp my mom) keep telling me that i shouldn't have applied for ID in the 1st place and that i should've applied for architecture instead. they say that being an ID in malaysia doesn't promise me (or anyone taking ID) a bright future, and that it may be hard for me to get a job and survive in this field, and so on. is it true? is this really what's happening out there? hmm.gif icon_question.gif

don't get me wrong, i'm totally not against the fact that studying in architecture is a much better option than studying in ID, because after graduating in architecture, you're able to do ID, landscape, and so on. but then, i didn't put architecture as my 1st choice as i'm afraid that i won't be able to handle the pressure of studying architecture. and i kind of think that i love ID more than architecture. am i making a right decision by choosing/studying ID?

and what should i do to 'shine' in the ID field when i'm working someday?

This post has been edited by myesarah: May 2 2008, 01:09 AM
TSazarimy
post May 2 2008, 01:33 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(aprisis @ May 1 2008, 03:19 PM)
i believe i asked this b4, but well: including plumbing, wires, etc?
yes.

QUOTE(myesarah @ May 1 2008, 04:49 PM)
whoahh,, a 1 year long interview? wow, i didn't know it's that hard to be a lecturer.

btw, the streamlining result has been announced yesterday. and guess what? i'm accepted in the Applied Arts & Design program!! that means, I'll be able to take ID in the 2nd year!!! wohooo!!!~~~  i'm so so so so happy!

oh, thanx, i'll check out the MSID website after this.

a lot of people (esp my mom) keep telling me that i shouldn't have applied for ID in the 1st place and that i should've applied for architecture instead. they say that being an ID in malaysia doesn't promise me (or anyone taking ID) a bright future, and that it may be hard for me to get a job and survive in this field, and so on. is it true? is this really what's happening out there?  hmm.gif    icon_question.gif

don't get me wrong, i'm totally not against the fact that studying in architecture is a much better option than studying in ID, because after graduating in architecture, you're able to do ID, landscape, and so on. but then, i didn't put architecture as my 1st choice as i'm afraid that i won't be able to handle the pressure of studying architecture. and i kind of think that i love ID more than architecture. am i making a right decision by choosing/studying ID?

and what should i do to 'shine' in the ID field when i'm working someday?
well, it is totally up to u. u know what u're capable of. if u think architecture is way too much pressure for u, then dont.

the reason why people say ID has little or no future is bcoz architects can do it. and there are more architecture graduates produced each year in malaysia than ID. so if the architecture graduates couldnt find architecture jobs, where do u think they'd branch into? get what i mean?
BridgestoneRE711
post May 2 2008, 03:22 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

Azarimy ,
being lead by dr.rashid for 2 semester , i must say that guy rocks ! he is leading us ahead from the others with breath-taking ideas . hehehe .
the thing is , i wanna ask that Revit architecture software is popular or not ? is it well used by other institute or architecture firm ?
TSazarimy
post May 2 2008, 03:55 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ May 1 2008, 07:22 PM)
Azarimy ,
being lead by dr.rashid for 2 semester , i must say that guy rocks ! he is leading us ahead from the others with breath-taking ideas . hehehe .
the thing is , i wanna ask that Revit architecture software is popular or not ? is it well used by other institute or architecture firm ?
if u like dr. rashid, try dr. khairul. ideas is one thing, but implementation is another. khairul is both. total mindfak.

i'm not sure how popular revit is, as i dont use it. but it's one of the options of softwares that u can learn to produce drawings or 3d modelling etc.
Benjamin911
post May 2 2008, 08:19 PM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

QUOTE(silencio87 @ May 1 2008, 04:10 PM)
hello there!!

I bet there are many architects +archy students here. I need some opinions. Which technical pen is better,Faber Caster or Rotring ???? Apparently,my old technical pens are no longer usable.It smears so much now with just a tiny dot  doh.gif *blame it on me for not taking good care of them >.<*

So,since now im getting a new one.Im just curious..which is better?

thank you!
~Siilencio87
I am using Rotring and it rocks. However, Faber Caster is definitely a good quality brand as well. In the end, I don't think you would go wrong with either brands. biggrin.gif

Added on May 2, 2008, 8:37 pm
QUOTE(mrg18 @ Apr 28 2008, 01:18 AM)
ben911 may i ask which course did you take in taylors ?? The diploma in architectural technology or the bachelor of science ?
Diploma in Architectural Technology.

The Bachelor of Science [HONS] [Architecture] program at Taylors requires Diploma, A-Levels, Foundation, or STPM; which I do not have.

Nevertheless, with this Diploma, I would be able to apply to most of the universities in the world later on; to further my Architecture studies.

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: May 2 2008, 08:52 PM
yuexia
post May 3 2008, 11:52 AM

46 posts

gosh...i feel dizzy.

one of my teachers (i'm temporary teaching in my former high school ^^) lent me 2 discs and a book on AutoCAD and i'm *trying to* learn how to use it. but i'm so confused by all the commands! totally alien to me. Mass-Group? RCP? FLR? >.<

i'm actually following the 'AutoDesk Learning Assistance': read the instruction, click on the other window, apply the instruction, click the assistance window, read instructions again, click the other window, back and forth, back and forth. i do Not think this is at all productive nor effective. why can't i just find someone to teach me?!! =.= ...now That's a good idea hmm.gif maybe i'll ask around see if any of my friends knows how to use it smile.gif

neeeway, i was just thinking, do i really need to know how to use this AutoCAD thing? (honestly i didn't even know such a software exists until that teacher mentioned it to me. cos' he knows i'm applying for Architecture. then turns out even my Dad has heard about it!! cos' he asked me about the software when he saw me struggling with it in front of the computer sweat.gif ) do archi students really use this software? or is there any particular software recommended? that teacher said it would be better if i know how to use it cos' then i can do 3D stuffs unsure.gif

i heard that people use CorelDraw too? or is it only for graphic design? i've used it before but only to arrange texts and pics tongue.gif a group of us were compiling a book (sort of like an anthology) comprising students' poems, short stories, etc. i suppose there is still a lot other functions i have not really explored...

177 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:55 PM