Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

aprisis
post Feb 26 2008, 05:08 PM

266 posts

how much would it cost to take the architecture course? (rough estimation)
aprisis
post Mar 25 2008, 06:32 PM

266 posts

Today i attended a career talk, and the guys in charged (from taylor or sunway cant recall) said that taking English Literature actually helps in landing a job on the architecture field. izit really that necessary?
aprisis
post Mar 25 2008, 10:38 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 25 2008, 07:38 PM)

that's rubbish.

what u need is exquisite language proficiency, be it in BM or english, although it is preferred that u could master both. in malaysian architecture, u tend to juggle between both languages when u deal with clients (english/BM), contractors (english/BM), other consultants (english), local authorities (BM) and so on.

u need to be good, but not to the point u need to take english literature. i dont think those incharge knew exactly what english literature is all about. tell me their names, i'll get them fired from their school tongue.gif.
i dunno their names since i listened only partially. but i was sure i heard, "if employers see 2 applications, 1 with EL and another 1 without, the 1 with EL will be put in a category and will be considered 1st. that moment i was like, omgwtfbbq?
aprisis
post Mar 27 2008, 01:05 AM

266 posts

is there actually much difference between ADP and the one offered in Taylor (not sure which)? from what my counselor told me ADP is only 4 years while the latter 1 is 6 years. She also said the syllabus are identical but a 2 years gap?
aprisis
post Mar 27 2008, 05:54 AM

266 posts

Yeah american degree program smile.gif

aprisis
post Mar 27 2008, 04:25 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Mar 27 2008, 06:05 AM)
i still dont get u. u're comparing which ADP with which course?

if u're talking in general, american architecture courses are very different and not widely accepted in malaysia. a close colleague of mine, a Phd already with an associate professor title, had to take the LAM part 1 and 2 exams bcoz his archtiecture degree from university of miami (one of the prestigious architecture schools in the UK) is not recognized in malaysia.

my point is, they are VERY different.
sorry sorry tongue.gif

i had to wait for a friend of mine to confirm.

its ADP and Melbourne Degree Programme. do u know anything about them?
aprisis
post Mar 27 2008, 06:03 PM

266 posts

not very detail, but i juz wanna know y the difference in years doh.gif
aprisis
post Mar 28 2008, 10:13 PM

266 posts

@azarimy

let's say i do take up architecture, from ur view, which kind of course should i take?

sry if i'm bugging..coz i'm a form5 without much knowledge about these but dun wanna wait till spm is over to get knowing doh.gif
aprisis
post Mar 28 2008, 11:09 PM

266 posts

oops..i thought there's different kind of them?
aprisis
post Mar 29 2008, 12:37 AM

266 posts

erm..ok..

how do i become a full fledged architect? is gaining work experience a must? or once i graduate i'm officially one?
aprisis
post Mar 29 2008, 06:18 PM

266 posts

ok, so after i graduate, i'm a part 2 architect, another 2 years of work experience i'm into part 3 already?

Added on March 29, 2008, 6:21 pmfrom the chart there isnt part 3. so i assume everyone automatically upgrades to part 3 after 2 years?

This post has been edited by aprisis: Mar 29 2008, 06:21 PM
aprisis
post Mar 30 2008, 07:46 PM

266 posts

if for example a building collapses or something similar, will the architect in charge of it be found responsible? from what i heard even if there's flaw in the design the architects will be exempted.
aprisis
post Mar 30 2008, 08:10 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Mar 30 2008, 07:57 PM)
Usually, the Civil Engineer & the Structurer Engineer are the ones responsible for any structurer failures in the building.

If the building collapses, expect the entire construction team to be responsible. (In the future, when I am the Architect, I will never want such thing to happen to my building.)
entire construction team? does that include architects? or they're in the designer team?
aprisis
post Mar 30 2008, 08:42 PM

266 posts

the engineers and contractors are selected not by the developer but architect?
aprisis
post Mar 30 2008, 11:02 PM

266 posts

when architects design a building, must it be detailed? or will a simple sketching with angles, scale, etc do? i mean, must the blueprint consists of everything like, "will the building withstand the wind force..etc"?
aprisis
post Mar 31 2008, 12:29 AM

266 posts

@azarimy

is that a design of a wall?
aprisis
post Mar 31 2008, 07:20 PM

266 posts

izit possible to further my studies in NZ instead of UK/ Aus? do i get the same results?
aprisis
post Mar 31 2008, 08:38 PM

266 posts

^ i mean izit same as studying in UK/Aus?
aprisis
post Apr 16 2008, 07:12 PM

266 posts

now i'm in some deep shit. my father doesn't agree with my choice of taking up architecture. he keeps pressing that i'd be working like a contractor if i do. and he prefers me taking business related courses instead = =
aprisis
post Apr 16 2008, 07:46 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Apr 16 2008, 07:30 PM)
well, u should tell him that architects and contractors are two different profession, requiring two different qualifications. to become a contractor, u need a degree/diploma in building construction or construction management. architects do learn about those, but not as deep or specialized. so even if u hold an architecture degree, u should leave expert builders to do the construction. we architects are simply less qualified than they are.
architects can work pass the retirement age izit true?

0.0653sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:54 PM