149 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

centaurfly
post Jun 25 2008, 01:33 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_Ng @ Jun 25 2008, 02:37 AM)
Hi, Bro centaurfly. I am pleased to know that there's another spider Hunter in Singapore rclxm9.gif

Firstly i need to apologise to Bro Mindstorm and Bro Viper for not logging in and contributing much to this forum blush.gif

Bro centaurfly, u can view my FS at http://www.arofanatics.com/forums/showthread.php?t=322916

Currently i have 1 Large and 1 meduim sized with me and another member AKA Heibee has a very fierce FS. We are also waiting for our Club president to set a date for our next FS meet. Hopefully we can meet up someday for Hunt or a FS Fight.

Cheers

Raymond_Ng
Hi Raymond, I just saw your spiders in the arofanatics forum some time back. Have not logged into that forum for some time since I sold off two arowanas. Definitely nice to meet up with fellow spidermen!

I just ranked a few of my FS today. These are FS with only normal pushing fight. Q7, displayed chop against lower ranked FS.

1. Labrador - (Huge) (caught@Labrador Park, 31 May 08).
2. Kranji - (Large)(caught@Kranji Reservoir Cark Park, 20 June 08)
3. Q7 - (Small, 7 legged)(caught@Springleaf Lane, 7 June 08)
4. Blackhead- (Medium) (caught@Woodlands, 6 June 08)
5. Jumpy - (Medium) (caught@Woodlands, 6 June 08)
6. Woody - (Medium, 7 legged) (caught@Woodlans, 6 June 08)
7. CryMama - (Medium) (caught@Woodands, 6 June 08)

Unranked - These two no fighting stance displayed, jump straight at any FS, dun care male or female!
1. Goblin - (Large) (caught@Mt Faber, 22 June 08)
2. Hobgoblin - (Small, 1 arm) (caught@Mt Faber, 22 June 08)

Will try to take the photos of the FS these days.

This post has been edited by centaurfly: Jun 25 2008, 01:47 PM
viper88
post Jun 25 2008, 04:16 PM

2,359 posts

Wow.. u are an expert FS hunter, got a lot FS fighters u caught there in SG thumbup.gif
Not easy to find large/big FS. SG also got alot FS ..just need to find the rite FS habitat place.
What type of leaves the FS u caught from?

Kaw.. u got 1 HUGE FS rclxm9.gif
- Labrador - (Huge) (caught@Labrador Park, 31 May 08).

2 Large FS. icon_idea.gif
- Kranji - (Large)(caught@Kranji Reservoir Cark Park, 20 June 08)
- Goblin - (Large) (caught@Mt Faber, 22 June 08)

4 mediums, 2 small fs.

I feel some normal FS that converted to chop FS will become weaker fast after some time like legs cant stick well or die fast.
Not all normal FS able to adapt or become healthy chop. Some of the normal fs will become a weak chop with no staying power to fight long but some strong/fierce fs will become very fierce and strong chop FS later on.

Keep your FS healthy and go fight with Raymond_Ng, Bonafida, Shawn, Heibee and Tututrain FS since all of them also in SG.

Cant wait to see your FS videos and pics. tongue.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Jun 25 2008, 01:33 PM)
Hi Raymond, I just saw your spiders in the arofanatics forum some time back. Have not logged into that forum for some time since I sold off two arowanas. Definitely nice to meet up with fellow spidermen!
I just ranked a few of my FS today. These are FS with only normal pushing fight. Q7, displayed chop against lower ranked FS.

1. Labrador - (Huge) (caught@Labrador Park, 31 May 08).
2. Kranji - (Large)(caught@Kranji Reservoir Cark Park, 20 June 08)
3. Q7 - (Small, 7 legged)(caught@Springleaf Lane, 7 June 08)
4. Blackhead- (Medium) (caught@Woodlands, 6 June 08)
5. Jumpy - (Medium) (caught@Woodlands, 6 June 08)
6. Woody - (Medium, 7 legged) (caught@Woodlans, 6 June 08)
7. CryMama - (Medium) (caught@Woodands, 6 June 08)

Unranked - These two no fighting stance displayed, jump straight at any FS, dun care male or female!
1. Goblin - (Large) (caught@Mt Faber, 22 June 08)
2. Hobgoblin - (Small, 1 arm) (caught@Mt Faber, 22 June 08)

Will try to take the photos of the FS these days.
centaurfly
post Jun 25 2008, 05:37 PM

34 posts

Beside FS, I am also interested in all other kinds of jumping spiders actually, I currently have now four other species in my collection.

1 x male Jolly telamonia (Telamonia festiva),
http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/s...s/pics/1135.jpg

1 x female bronze coloured spider, (dun know what species),

1 x female Heavy jumper (Hyllus diardi),
http://www.naturephotosociety.org.sg/Image...s/Photo%208.jpg

3x Male + 3 x female Larger Housefly Catcher (Plexippus paykulli)
http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/s...s/pics/1129.jpg
http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/s...s/pics/1128.jpg

viper88
post Jun 27 2008, 04:05 PM

2,359 posts

Today FS videos.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDTE3BZcNkU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjhiHNULsyw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxAHMLzkXZ4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJAM8LoE4L0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89DG85baewk

This post has been edited by viper88: Jun 27 2008, 09:20 PM
ass
post Jun 27 2008, 08:20 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Jun 25 2008, 05:37 PM)
Beside FS, I am also interested in all other kinds of jumping spiders actually, I currently have now four other species in my collection.

1 x male Jolly telamonia (Telamonia festiva),
http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/s...s/pics/1135.jpg

1 x female bronze coloured spider, (dun know what species),
1 x female Heavy jumper (Hyllus diardi),
http://www.naturephotosociety.org.sg/Image...s/Photo%208.jpg

3x Male + 3 x female Larger Housefly Catcher (Plexippus paykulli)
http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/s...s/pics/1129.jpg
http://habitatnews.nus.edu.sg/guidebooks/s...s/pics/1128.jpg
when u go hunting for FS always can see alot multi coloured jumping spiders...
last time i confused chrysilla versicolor for FS (on my first hunt) rclxub.gif

btw where u live? i live somewhere near springleaf area
viper88
post Jun 27 2008, 10:01 PM

2,359 posts

More FS fights in the evening. Partial chop FS.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YzV4IGZmlJQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkwS6o9j9Pk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDWkrks88yQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RO0JTakMBk8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=77Jx3UVz6Pg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V2PYr6Jo7wQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BW9rFODN9d8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xPqoiRy7qSs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajxgliRvDQc

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers icon_rolleyes.gif

TSmindstorm
post Jun 28 2008, 02:39 AM

900 posts

Viper, nice articles you found. It's interesting to know there are people who did studies on the fighting of jumping spiders. But I must say the points verified by the studies are pretty obvious to us in a common sense of way though.
But good that there is a sort of "prove". smile.gif

Wah, viper, I thot you said you let go all your FS caught from your Kelapasawit trip...

Partial chop fighting spider fights (27June2008)
Very interesting fight. At first seems like top one winning, then seems like bottom one winning...mana tau, top one eventually win.

Deflect chop attack. (27June2008)
Seems like the chop tried a jump-over?

Your one teeth seems to be winner in all the fights?
-----------------------------------

Mangrovejumper, seems you have another friend here, centaurfly, like you... having a interest not only in Thiania but other jumpers as well. Like you said, having fighting clips of other jumpers or between different jumpers would be a fairly interesting way to extend this hobby.

Right now I'm only keeping 2 big males. Bronze is probably bigger than jack but smaller than Bighead. Whiteleg is slightly smaller than Bronze. Bronze is a fierce chop now. Whiteleg is no match for him. Here are some close-ups.

Whiteleg
Bronze
Size compare... Whiteleg got really battered up while I tried to take more of these shots.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Jun 28 2008, 03:13 AM
Mangrovejumper
post Jun 28 2008, 08:08 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jun 27 2008, 11:39 AM)
Mangrovejumper, seems you have another friend here, centaurfly, like you... having a interest not only in Thiania but other jumpers as well. Like you said, having fighting clips of other jumpers or between different jumpers would be a fairly interesting way to extend this hobby.
Nice pictures. I guess I just like all spiders. As a kid, I used to spend hours looking at those tiny web weavers on the walls and ceiling of the house make their nests and capture their prey. Of course, compared to jumping spiders they're a boring lot. Once in a while I found those palm-sized fast runners in the bathroom and it was a most exciting time and even perhaps a bit scary.

I think we're missing out if the only jumper we know of is Thiania bhamoensis and nothing else. We wouldn't have seen the natural predator capture technique at the Seremban house if we didn't pick up a random Salticidae species. We wouldn't have seen the white "Long Legs" put a leg on each other's foreheads in a fight. How about golden spiders? Male ant spiders? They chop like crazy, even get their teeth entangled when they fight. I'm still waiting for someone to record a video of Portia sp. tricking another spider to become its prey.

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jun 24 2008, 07:57 AM)
Effects of body size on agonistic encounters between male jumping spiders (Araneae: Salticidae)
Dean B. Faber and Jeffrey R. Baylis

Department of Zoology, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 250 North Mills Street, Madison, WI 53706, U.S.A.

Whoa, I didn't know my school did research on saticidae. They must have gotten the spiders from elsewhere though, because the winters are exceptionally cold.
TSmindstorm
post Jun 29 2008, 03:26 AM

900 posts

while on the subject of other jumpers, here is an old clip I had...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48tCJmO4tCE

How to catch series...next.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bjcxNhvBGXw
viper88
post Jun 29 2008, 09:59 PM

2,359 posts

Yeah, i've let go all my FS earlier. Friday i off, nothing 2day so i go look for FS. Caught oneteeth and a few other FS from the place i let go my FS near my housing area. tongue.gif
I feel some of the FS tat i caught are Kelapa Sawit FS base on their average-small size + fighting stye partial light chop.

Direct chop
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rluppqHVBqU

Triple chop attack
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muS8fioMxtE

Mindstorm, last time u said Bronze and Whiteleg cant fight already... now Bronze is a fierce chop? Now become healthy and strong back?

I feel some of the FS tat going to become fierce chop will show symptoms like.. kecut, weak legs, less appetite etcs.
If the FS able to survive through the transition process, the FS will become strong and fierce chop FS.
Chaos still a weak chop..not fully converted to fierce chop yet i think.

So how many male FS u still have?
Your Bronze is quite big.

I only have Oneteeth now, its size is even smaller than Hope. Dun think its a tough fighter coz most of its opponent size is smaller and not strong also. Will try look for FS when free.
If cant find good opponent, will let Oneteeth go soon. Don't have any good hotspot to hunt FS nowdays.

v_viper88

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jun 28 2008, 02:39 AM)
Viper, nice articles you found. It's interesting to know there are people who did studies on the fighting of jumping spiders. But I must say the points verified by the studies are pretty obvious to us in a common sense of way though.
But good that there is a sort of "prove". smile.gif

Wah, viper, I thot you said you let go all your FS caught from your Kelapasawit trip...

Partial chop fighting spider fights (27June2008)
Very interesting fight. At first seems like top one winning, then seems like bottom one winning...mana tau, top one eventually win.

Deflect chop attack. (27June2008)
Seems like the chop tried a jump-over?

Your one teeth seems to be winner in all the fights?

Right now I'm only keeping 2 big males. Bronze is probably bigger than jack but smaller than Bighead. Whiteleg is slightly smaller than Bronze. Bronze is a fierce chop now. Whiteleg is no match for him. Here are some close-ups.
This post has been edited by viper88: Jun 29 2008, 10:01 PM
viper88
post Jun 30 2008, 09:08 PM

2,359 posts

Today went to Cheras Lookout Point to search for FS.

I saw a male bravia eats a small female FS at bamboo leaves. The bravia have some reddish dots colour on its abdomen.

Caught a green spider, dunno wats its species.. look poisonous. blink.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4nrOzYfyEw

Caught 4 average small size male FS from Spider Lily plants.

When about to go back time, i saw a black face FS inside bamboo leaves ..maybe is a red bamboo tree.

Attached Image .

At 1st i think no need catch coz i only look for male fs but the female fs looks quite big so i cut the leaves and bring it to open area and c...
WAH the FS is a very large/huge KING KONG size. Its head and lower abdomen is very huge...size about 10 sen coin.
Not sure whether it will mould and change to Giant male FS later. drool.gif

Here's the giant
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rcrrz2l6VLA

Search for awhile but cant find male FS there..

Later at home, let the new FS fight..all short fight 1-2 push/chop and ran..

Spin fight
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C87wU2EDleI

Counter with strong push/chop
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HNjfJukyxtk

I put Oneteeth with the new Giant Bu. The new Giant BU FS head is 2X the size of Oneteeth head! shakehead.gif
Oneteeth also cautious and show fighting stance when saw the Giant Bu. No courting stance at all...could it because of the Huge size make Oneteeth prepare for any attack or could it be a male FS in disguise?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lb53j2KSEo

v_viper88

This post has been edited by viper88: Jul 2 2008, 08:55 AM
centaurfly
post Jul 1 2008, 01:18 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(ass @ Jun 27 2008, 08:20 PM)
when u go hunting for FS always can see alot multi coloured jumping spiders...
last time i confused chrysilla versicolor for FS (on my first hunt) rclxub.gif

btw where u live? i live somewhere near springleaf area
I now stay in Sembawang, used to live in Springleaf with my in-laws 3 years back. have propagated their garden with FS. Can catch FS when visiting them!

I have caught another 16 male FS! 11 from Lower Pierce Reservoir CP, another 5 from Bukit Batok Nature Park CP.

Now got a lot of FS. total....24 males...4 females.

Have fought the Huge Male (Labrador) with the Large Sup Pow (Goblin). Labrador cannot tahan the fighting powess of Goblin. Luckily No injuries. Will pit them again once I condition Labrador up to the task.

Also fought the one-arm small Sup-Pow (Hobgoblin) against a slightly larger FS. The larger FS, ended up as food for Hobgoblin after a brief fight!

Its hard to record the video-clip omo. Need more testing to perfect the skill.

viper88
post Jul 1 2008, 03:16 PM

2,359 posts

Wa.. so much FS u have now, need to feed and provide proper place so ants dun go and eat them instead.
I oso wish to populate FS in my house garden but theres not much leaves for FS to breed well.

I use my pda handphone camera to record video of my FS fights. It quite okla..just need to have good light to have a clearer shot.
You still haven't record any video of your FS fights? How about some pics?
Man.. i'm eager to see your HUGE and large FS... i belief other FS fans oso would like to see them.

Last time my FS Hope and Crossfire before converted to chop able to defend and counter attack chop FS quite well. Either your Labrador dun have much fighting experience or Goblin is too fast and fierce in its attack. How many chops attack Labrador able to withstand, tight arm lock technique or all open and bash each other?

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Jul 1 2008, 01:18 PM)
I now stay in Sembawang, used to live in Springleaf with my in-laws 3 years back. have propagated their garden with FS. Can catch FS when visiting them!

I have caught another 16 male FS! 11 from Lower Pierce Reservoir CP, another 5 from Bukit Batok Nature Park CP.

Now got a lot of FS. total....24 males...4 females.

Have fought the Huge Male (Labrador) with the Large Sup Pow (Goblin). Labrador cannot tahan the fighting powess of Goblin. Luckily No injuries. Will pit them again once I condition Labrador up to the task.

Also fought the one-arm small Sup-Pow (Hobgoblin) against a slightly larger FS. The larger FS, ended up as food for Hobgoblin after a brief fight!

Its hard to record the video-clip omo. Need more testing to perfect the skill.
This post has been edited by viper88: Jul 1 2008, 03:22 PM
centaurfly
post Jul 1 2008, 05:05 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jul 1 2008, 03:16 PM)
Wa.. so much FS u have now, need to feed and provide proper place so ants dun go and eat them instead.
I oso wish to populate FS in my house garden but theres not much  leaves for FS to breed well.

I use my pda handphone camera to record video of my FS fights. It quite okla..just need to have good light to have a clearer shot.
You still haven't record any video of your FS fights? How about some pics?
Man.. i'm eager to see your HUGE and large FS... i belief other FS fans oso would like to see them.

Last time my FS Hope and Crossfire before converted to chop able to defend and counter attack chop FS quite well. Either your Labrador dun have much fighting experience or Goblin is too fast and fierce in its attack. How many chops attack Labrador able to withstand, tight arm lock technique or all open and bash each other?
Have fought Labrador previously against all other FS before I caught Goblin. The result at least 8 wins, some long, some brief fight.

As its is much bigger, no need to exert much strength...smaller FS just one arm push and run away. Against Kranji, then my 2nd-king, slightly smaller than Labrador, it was a much longer fight, arm pushing, and Kranji retreated.

The fight between Goblin and Labrador was a chop and run thing...I let Labrador into the arena 1st and make sure it faces its opponent. When Goblin ascended the stage (about 4cm away), Labrador starts to put up its fighting stance, Goblin creep forward and jump, let fly a chop that sent Labrador running away instantly. Goblin is too fast and powerful, i think.

So many FS, dun know how to really rank them in the short term. Some better fighting FS e.g. Q7 (fighting with chop and constantly winning fights against other FS), becomes cowardly after pitting it and losing against Kranji. http://s.lowyat.net/style_images/1/folder_...icons/icon5.gif

viper88
post Jul 1 2008, 10:07 PM

2,359 posts

Your Goblin vs Labrador fight like Jack vs Bighead / Chaos vs Hope. Some FS able to deflect/block chop FS attack and counter attack it back fiercely, some just good at normal direct fight.
After some time, i feel your Labrador will oso become a fierce chop also. Some FS tat lost to chop FS becomes no mood to fight for few days/week.. later it will suddenly become fierce chop also.

Your Labrador size is bigger than Heibee's Leviathan ?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/608348/+600

Looking forward for your FS pics n videos.. do spend some time to take ur FS pics n videos.

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Jul 1 2008, 05:05 PM)
Have fought Labrador previously against all other FS before I caught Goblin. The result at least 8 wins, some long, some brief fight.

As its is much bigger, no need to exert much strength...smaller FS just one arm push and run away. Against Kranji, then my 2nd-king, slightly smaller than Labrador, it was a much longer fight, arm pushing, and Kranji retreated.

The fight between Goblin and Labrador was a chop and run thing...I let Labrador into the arena 1st and make sure it faces its opponent. When Goblin ascended the stage (about 4cm away), Labrador starts to put up its fighting stance, Goblin creep forward and jump, let fly a chop that sent Labrador running away instantly. Goblin is too fast and powerful, i think.

So many FS, dun know how to really rank them in the short term. Some better fighting FS e.g. Q7 (fighting with chop and constantly winning fights against other FS), becomes cowardly after pitting it and losing against Kranji. http://s.lowyat.net/style_images/1/folder_...icons/icon5.gif
This post has been edited by viper88: Jul 1 2008, 10:08 PM
rexoxo
post Jul 2 2008, 12:45 AM

426 posts

nice!!!
do you guys keep this as a pet or just for fighting purpose??
where can i get one??

viper88
post Jul 2 2008, 08:51 AM

2,359 posts

Both but i like to keep them as fighter. You can see at 1st page all the exciting /good FS fight compile by Mindstorm.
I'll keep the strong and fierce fighter and train them to fight with other fierce FS.

Keeping FS is like keeping a betta/fighting fish.
The fighting fish have nice colours and when flare its tail, looks cool.
Same goes for Fighting spider, it got nice long arms, exotic green/blue stripes colour and when its ready to fight, it will show fierce fighting stance.
Some FS have excellent fighting skill and can fight very well. If you have 2 excellent FS fighting each other, it will be a very exciting fight coz both FS will try their very best to defeat each other and don't ran away easily. rclxms.gif

You can hunt for FS at Spider Lily plants, bamboo leaves, nipah, palm oil, wild pepper, orkid etcs.
Or if u lazy to go catch, you can buy from ppl who have FS like me or Mindstorm. tongue.gif

QUOTE(rexoxo @ Jul 2 2008, 12:45 AM)
nice!!!
do you guys keep this as a pet or just for fighting purpose??
where can i get one??
This post has been edited by viper88: Jul 2 2008, 09:01 AM
centaurfly
post Jul 2 2008, 10:04 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jul 1 2008, 10:07 PM)
Your Goblin vs Labrador fight like Jack vs Bighead / Chaos vs Hope. Some FS able to deflect/block chop FS attack and counter attack it back fiercely, some just good at normal direct fight.
After some time, i feel your Labrador will oso become a fierce chop also.  Some FS tat lost to chop FS becomes no mood to fight for few days/week.. later it will suddenly become fierce chop also.

Your Labrador size is bigger than Heibee's Leviathan ?
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/608348/+600

Looking forward for your FS pics n videos.. do spend some time to take ur FS pics n videos.
I have taken pics of some of my FS, will upload tonight if possible, will compare the pics of Labrador against Leviathan.

viper88
post Jul 2 2008, 03:44 PM

2,359 posts

Get some videos oso.

kthxb

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Jul 2 2008, 10:04 AM)
I have taken pics of some of my FS, will upload tonight if possible, will compare the pics of Labrador against Leviathan.
ass
post Jul 2 2008, 08:37 PM

65 posts

pics pics!! rclxms.gif

149 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:05 AM