Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

Mangrovejumper
post Jan 14 2008, 02:14 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 13 2008, 07:07 AM)
Went for another spider hunting this evening, this time at my housing area bananas tree.
Caught another average size adult spider. This one its nest is quite big coz its a banana tree. Saw few dead insects inside its
nest. After few attempts managed to get the spider out from its nest. Hurray.
Heres the pictures.

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers. icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88
Nice pictures, V_V88. Cute looking males. The second one looks slightly larger than the first one.
Thanks for sharing.
Mangrovejumper
post Jan 17 2008, 03:24 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(pitinn @ Jan 16 2008, 05:43 AM)
Mind to tell me where is his video clip?Youtube?
Aiya, the first post of this thread has 3 links la.

You can actually see which spider initiated the chopping/biting action on the first youtube link very well.
I counted 8 attempts at biting in the 7-second fight.

Quietman (the winner) has biting attempts #1, #3, #4 and #8 (last one, that won him the fight).

2-Big has biting attempts #2, #5, #6 and #7.
Mangrovejumper
post Jan 23 2008, 12:20 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 22 2008, 12:46 AM)
When his spider come out from the matchbox, it seems like wild and frenzy type movement ready to fight its opponent. His spider colour is light blue green and black type. Not like the normal light green black type.

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 21 2008, 4:46 AM)

Most of the time, the losing spider will just ran away. If fight with a very very fierce spider, the loser spider might end up with a broken arm, or got bitten to death. It will use its wide arms to grab/terkam its opponent and bite it fiercely till die without letting it run away. Normally the spider will
get ready with it fighting stance position and move closer to its opponent, it opponent will sense danger automatically "spider sense" and will get ready with fighting stance position also. When both spider is very close, they will exchange blows using their fighting arms, and try to bite each other when there's chance.

I've saw before my friend spider very fierce type terkam and bite its opponent spider which is still unaware/not ready to fight yet. The spider tat got hit by the surprise terkam attack will either die or injured and lose the fight. Only those really fierce and strong spider can give counter attack back like "mindstorm" spiders"  My friend's big strong and fierce spider some time also fight direct with few spider one after another one and still win. Undefeatable.  Seldom can get to see these type of fierce fighting spider tats on frenzy ready to kill off its opponent fast without waiting for the opponent to have a fair direct fight.  Saw my friend bite his finger and squeeze out some of his finger blood to feed his fierce spider, he says this will make the spider become frenzy and hunger to kill.. 

What you describe here is a chop spider/"sek pao". Training with a smaller spider will not convert it. I've managed to convert some by fighting normal behavior spiders with other chop males. Depending on how much they exhibit this frenzy behavior, they will appear somewhat "mabuk" when they walk. When faced with another male, a chop spider frequently will not even show an angry face. It will pounce and bite first without waiting for a response. So if you're fighting with a chop spider it is ESSENTIAL that it doesn't see the other male first.

Chop fighting spiders do not have the same interest in females as normal males. Therefore they do not have the tendency to leave their nests in search of females. They do not exhibit this frenzy behavior towards spiders of other types. Female chop spiders exist, but are very very rare.

I believe it's a disease that can be transmitted. I have no proof, but we see it in other animals (e.g. vicious aggression in rabid animals). One can also argue that it's a learned behavior. Imagine getting one and then converting all your other normal males to become chop. thumbup.gif

Whatever it is, it's not normal. They sure are the finest fighters though.

Mangrovejumper
post Jan 25 2008, 10:50 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jan 24 2008, 12:45 AM)

Banglo spider win easily. Just short push and the new bigt spider gave up and ran.  Try to fight again 2nd time but still lose and ran.
Haiz.. why not fierce 1? rclxub.gif Big oso leh.. tongue.gif 

Banglo king looks like a good fighter. Is the new one a young male? It may explain the short fight.
Mangrovejumper
post Jan 26 2008, 05:42 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 25 2008, 12:08 PM)

Added on January 26, 2008, 3:17 amDate - 25/1/08 (Fri)

I took out my mosquitoe repellent branded "OFF". I smeared some onto a leech as it was biting my hand. Off it fell. Aha. It works. Yes, this brand of mosquitoe repellent contain the active ingredient DEET and leeches are afraid of it. I was once told by my fishing friend that he sprayed baigon onto his boots whenever he fishes deep in the jungle and no leech would climb up. Maybe baigon contain similar chemical. So i started smearing OFF around my shoes and my arms and on all those @#%$
leeches climbing on me. All fell off. Phew, problem settled. Continue hunting.

Pacat gigit boleh keluarkan darah kotor!" WALAU.

Walau is right. I have no idea people in a modern country can still believe in the false medical practice of Blood Letting. It was debunked since the 19th century, man. All it causes is anemia.

Thanks for the post. It is a very funny one. One comment on your mosquito repellent. It may not be the DEET that the lintah-lintah reacted to. It could be the alcohol in liquid.

BigLeaf looks like a good sized challenger.

Mangrovejumper
post Jan 29 2008, 09:02 AM

240 posts

Whoa, I'm envious. Sounds like it was good fun.

I don't know if Ulu Ulu places necessarily have the best fighting spiders. Bighead was caught in the middle of the city, in a place with very few predators and a gardener to take care of the plants. Unfortunately you have to pay to get in. tongue.gif
Mangrovejumper
post Jan 30 2008, 10:18 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 28 2008, 11:18 PM)
On Sunday before I met viper i also went to scout for spiders.

I was in kepong and went to a nearby forest. Still outside in civilized area before reaching the forest, I found the most crippled male I ever caught in my life from the wild..five legs only. Wonder how it lost so many legs. 2 from left, and one from right. May have been attacked by ants. When I drop him, he doesn't bother climbing up his own web, he just drop all the way.

The most cacat male I've seen was one with only 2 front claws. He must have just gotten hurt recently, because I doubt he could catch anything with just 2 legs. I once saw a chop female that was very hurt too, but I don't remember the details.

Thanks for posting the variant Thianias. Very cool to look at.

I'm thinking, to find a challenger to Bighead, you have to go back to the same place he was caught.

This post has been edited by Mangrovejumper: Jan 30 2008, 04:18 PM
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 2 2008, 03:50 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jan 31 2008, 12:21 PM)
Too bad we don't have a pic of AJAX, your aclaimed all time HUGE spider.  (Some people say that tai sui pao(big water spider) cannot fight...but that was certainly not the case). Interestingly dry areas usually you get small spiders.

Also today I saw a tiny baby in the container of the female i mated with THE Quietman. Walao... only one left... I fed the female and then inspect her nest a bit.. as i suspected...she had two nest! The first one on the bottom leave already empty...dunno when babies came out. There was another one on the top leave with eggs still inside. Anyway I took the last survivor baby of the first nest and kept it in another container. I placed a leave and some soil with springtails for it as food. Hopefully it will eat it. Tomorrow I'm thinking of removing the female and let the second batch of eggs develop without her.

Some notes and challenges I faced when trying to breed fighting spiders
1. Gestation period(from mating to laying eggs) of a virgin female takes about 18 days(so far one account only)
2. A female can lay 2 broods of eggs in one leave nest(2 accounts-one wild and one from quietman's wife)
3. Female cannot hold back laying eggs when time is up even if no suitable nest as a female has been seen laying eggs on the side of a porcelain pot/vase hence it is opened(account by mangrovejumper)
4. Females would eat their own eggs if you tear their nest and expose their eggs even if you close it back immediately
5. Eggs laid and removed from females may not hatch. They can just turn brown and dry up.
6. Once I took home a batch of eggs with the female and separated the female. The nest I open to see the eggs. After that I just left in a container...guess what happened. Next day I noticed it turned brown! Few more days, it looked dried up and shrunken! What happened?? Did they female bite the eggs and kill them as I was transporting her home because of the movement and stress? Or... was it because of LIGHT? I remember once my brother kept a batch of eggs and managed to hatch all of them after what seems like a long long time(maybe 2 weeks or a month). I also remember he kept it in a matchbox...dark inside. So I am thinking that strong light may somehow kill the eggs that's why eggs removed from female but exposed wont hatch!

Interesting scientific observations. With the amount of data you'll have by the end of this year, you can probably publish a paper on it!

Ajax was from a time where we didn't have enough resources and guidance to document our experiences. It was also from a time that I always had at least one chop spider among my collection. Those were the days when hot spots were bountiful and KL wasn't as developed as it is now. I agree that the biggest fighting spiders always tend to live in areas with plenty of moisture and adequate shade, but enough sunlight. I've never found big males in the middle of the hutan belantara.

Did Quietman's female get enough food to keep her satisfied? I assume she ate all the rest of the hatchlings.

The "big spider star" nest that I had 2 months ago didn't have a female watching over the batch of eggs and they hatched even though the leaf got dry and turned brown. So I'm not really sure if the mother is needed to care for the eggs, other than guard them against predators.
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 6 2008, 03:03 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 5 2008, 10:17 PM)
current ranking

Bighead
Bigguns
Blurman!!
Bigleave
Thickarms
Bro1
Topman
Bro2

Sounds like your prediction of Blurman came true.

Bighead looks so fat. He looks a little bit darker now and more mature, but probably just hitting his peak.

It's interesting that in your journeys you haven't yet encountered:
1. A chop
2. A red teeth male
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 7 2008, 08:34 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 6 2008, 06:46 PM)

[attachmentid=394841]

We found a lot of females with eggs in this kinda plant, but no males.

This post has been edited by Mangrovejumper: Feb 7 2008, 08:35 PM
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 11 2008, 09:12 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 10 2008, 07:01 AM)

Decided to name it as ARCHILLIES. laugh.gif Havent let it fight yet. Hope its a great fighter.

I had an Archilles a long time ago too...he was a normal spider that turned into a chop.
Hope you have a good one there!
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 13 2008, 07:52 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 13 2008, 02:44 AM)
BIGHEAD MET HIS MATCH!!! notworthy.gif  AND RECORD LONGEST TIME DOCUMENTED MATCH... a gruelling 22 seconds match!!!

The match was painful to watch. I winced a few times before it ended.

Archilles is a very very aggressive fighter. How he pushed Bigguns out of the way, then he tilted his head multiple times to try to bite Bighead. I think Bighead will become a better fighter with this type of experience once he heals. Both spiders had to be exhausted after a fight like that.

I like the chop. It's funny how he was ignored by the other male until he started biting. I hope you can use him to convert the other spiders to become chop.
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 14 2008, 03:34 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 13 2008, 12:12 PM)
Hope you enjoyed it, man. This one's for you... the captor. biggrin.gif How wonderful the camcord and internet is, being able to share our passion halfway across the world and with everyone.

Wah, use the small chop to convert Bighead??!! High risk having arm broken off or being eaten leh...
Archilles seems to be more active, I agree. He also seems darker in the head. Did he look like that to you?
Knowing that temperature affects the speed of the spiders, would they become better fighters in the afternoon than at night?

I had the feeling that Bighead wasn't going to give up on the fight. It's like a boxer getting pushed to the ropes and bloodied, but stayed on and won the fight. I never thought that he was a good fighter technique wise. He has size and pushed the other spiders around. Have you noticed that he's never the aggressor on fights (i.e. never chops first)? . It's very surprising that he had the "fight till I die attitude" yesterday.

The small chop can be used to convert the smaller males first as a trial. From my anecdotal observation, the chop attribute can be passed on by:
1. Repeated fights (not no-shows) with a chop.
2. Living in the nest previously inhabited by a chop. Replace the chop with a normal male after the chop has been staying at a nest for 1 week.
It's either a learned trait (e.g. madness), or a disease. Whatever it is, it can be passed on.
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 16 2008, 11:42 AM

240 posts

They way they fight, I'm suprised we don't catch more cacat chops with less than a full set of legs. 6leg huge, I don't doubt that he lost his legs from fights. Looks like you have struck gold in the new area you went to.

It won't be long now before Bighead picks up the chop trait now that you have 3 chops spreading it around.

The black female fights like a chop. Interestingly it also shows an angry face and sometimes waits to advance. Perhaps it's partially chop. Most chops do not have the patience to wait for the opponents' cue before attacking.

You now have proof that chop is an acquired behaviour (bred, not born). They can't/won't breed once they pick it up. I bet if you put the 6leg with a normal female, he won't mate either.
We also know that not all fighting spiders acquire it in their lives. So it's not an age-related behaviour either.
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 16 2008, 12:04 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Feb 15 2008, 08:59 PM)
This spider feeds what? You guys catch it for petting it or just want to see them fight?
Makan other live insects. Catch as a pet to watch and to fight. Cannot pet la...so small, mati ooo if you put your finger on it.
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 19 2008, 06:39 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Feb 18 2008, 02:34 AM)
urm, doesnt fighting spiders constitute animal cruelty....

if dog fighting and cock fighting is illegal, shouldnt spider fights be wrong as well? legally and morally......
Viper said it well.

Another thing I can add is, the spiders are free to run away if they lose. Cock fighting or dog fighting is usually done in an enclosed area where the loser has no where to run...which is really inhumane.

Fighting them will also safely train them to be better prepared for future encounters when we let them back into the wild. If you have followed this thread, you would have noticed that most of the spiders that are caught are eventually let go. Remember that they are territorial; therefore, they must fight (and avoid predators) to survive.
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 20 2008, 02:43 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 19 2008, 09:17 AM)

..saw this nice spider...looks like family of golden spider/spider besi(as viper call it)...

Wah, haven't seen this type of spider since I was a young boy. I wish you could have taken it home and have it square off with a golden spider. I guess I just have a soft spot for "ghost" spiders...I always tend to experiment with non FS species. Long legs, ant spiders, hantu kuning, etc.

Kelapa sawit seems to be a very strong fighter, so maybe there is some truth to the belief of FS in palm oil plantations being very geng.

Mangrovejumper
post Feb 21 2008, 08:11 AM

240 posts

Excellent fight. Should put it on youtube for everyone to enjoy.

It's hard to see on the video, but I didn't think there was a size difference between the two. As
a matter of fact, the blue one may have a slightly larger head than the green one. I assume the bluish
one is Spartan. I agree that he's very good at changing directions and counter attacking.

Mindstorm: Did Sixleg ever win Bigguns? He shouldn't be ranked above Bigguns if he didn't win.

Mangrovejumper
post Feb 22 2008, 07:08 PM

240 posts

RIP Biggun.

You may be in a better position to tell, but I'm not sure if Bighead has lost the edge. The losses he had was to a chop that is about the same size (or even slightly bigger) than him. I didn't think he's a very aggressive spider anyway, and chops are hard to beat...even with less than 8 legs.

The japanese spiders don't look very interesting. Ant spider, hantu kuning and long leg fights are more exciting than that.

F1: check out Mindstorm's youtube clips if you have time. They are impressive.
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 24 2008, 03:19 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 23 2008, 08:46 PM)
*sigh.. this morning when i check on Archilles, i found it not moving and looks like dead already.. cry.gif Its arms and legs position all bend.
Sorry man. Looks like he's left us. I've never seen a bloated stomach like that before. I wonder if it could have been due to the venom from the other spider. Probably got hurt in the abdomen and then died from poisoning.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0982sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:01 AM