CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

vin_ann
post Dec 22 2007, 08:52 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 22 2007, 08:37 PM)
They're doing promotion at Queensbay Mall.
and also every where in side the Robinson....

btw, Queensbay Mall got Robinson?
sancakAhNgau
post Dec 22 2007, 09:48 PM

55 posts

A few months ago, i lost my credit card and it was fraudently used by 3rd party amounted to RM3.5K.
These cilaka used my card to buy beer at Carrefour. But i wasn't aware i lost it until the bank called me to confirm the transaction
which i denied on the spot. The bank put my case as a lost card so i need to bear the cost but somehow they gave me 60% discount on that figure.
And until now i have already paid RM 1K to settle the disputed amount.
Anyway i hope to put this incident past behind me as i have moved but today this news came up , haiya....
Anybody out there got the same experience??? I still owe the bank abt RM400 on the disputed amount, should i use this acticle and dispute again?

Saturday December 22, 2007

Most unaware of RM250 limited liability

CARDHOLDERS need not pay more than RM250 whenever their lost or stolen credit cards are used by others. Yet, oftentimes, they end up paying much more.

This is because Bank Negara has not informed cardholders that they do not have to pay more than RM250 for fraudulent transactions carried out using their lost or stolen cards, when they had not acted fraudulently and had informed the banks about the lost or stolen cards as soon as possible.

This protection is given under Clause 13.2 of Bank Negara's Credit Card Guideline ("The cardholder's maximum liability for unauthorised transactions as a consequence of a lost or stolen credit card shall be confined to a limit specified by the issuer of credit cards, which shall not exceed RM250 provided the cardholder has not acted fraudulently or has not failed to inform the issuer of credit cards as soon as reasonably practicable after having found that his credit card is lost or stolen").

Banks know about Clause 13.2 but have chosen to ignore it. Instead they pursue cardholders for the fraudulent transactions.

They will tell cardholders that a clause in the credit card contracts states that all transactions carried out before the loss of the cards are reported to the banks, are deemed to be carried out by the cardholders.

Many cardholders then pay up because they are unaware of the RM250 limited liability.

Bank Negara should rule that:

ˇTHE RM250 maximum liability on fraudulent transactions is highlighted to cardholders in the card agreements as well as in the monthly card statements.

ˇBANKS are not allowed to insert any clause in the card agreement which is contrary to Clause 13.2.

ˇBANKS should refund all money in excess of the RM250 collected from cardholders whose cases clearly come under Clause 13.2.

S.M. MOHAMED IDRIS,
President,
Consumers Association of Penang

guanteik
post Dec 22 2007, 11:03 PM

2,661 posts

QUOTE(sancakAhNgau @ Dec 22 2007, 09:48 PM)
A few months ago, i lost my credit card and it was fraudently used by 3rd party amounted to RM3.5K.
These cilaka used my card to buy beer at Carrefour. But i wasn't aware i lost it until the bank called me to confirm the transaction
which i denied on the spot. The bank put my case as a lost card so i need to bear the cost but somehow they gave me 60% discount on that figure.
And until now i have already paid RM 1K to settle the disputed amount.
Anyway i hope to put this incident past behind me as i have moved but today this news came up , haiya....
Anybody out there got the same experience??? I still owe the bank abt RM400 on the disputed amount, should i use this acticle and dispute again?

Saturday December 22, 2007
Most unaware of RM250 limited liability

CARDHOLDERS need not pay more than RM250 whenever their lost or stolen credit cards are used by others. Yet, oftentimes, they end up paying much more.

This is because Bank Negara has not informed cardholders that they do not have to pay more than RM250 for fraudulent transactions carried out using their lost or stolen cards, when they had not acted fraudulently and had informed the banks about the lost or stolen cards as soon as possible.

This protection is given under Clause 13.2 of Bank Negara's Credit Card Guideline ("The cardholder's maximum liability for unauthorised transactions as a consequence of a lost or stolen credit card shall be confined to a limit specified by the issuer of credit cards, which shall not exceed RM250 provided the cardholder has not acted fraudulently or has not failed to inform the issuer of credit cards as soon as reasonably practicable after having found that his credit card is lost or stolen").

Banks know about Clause 13.2 but have chosen to ignore it. Instead they pursue cardholders for the fraudulent transactions.

They will tell cardholders that a clause in the credit card contracts states that all transactions carried out before the loss of the cards are reported to the banks, are deemed to be carried out by the cardholders. 

Many cardholders then pay up because they are unaware of the RM250 limited liability.

Bank Negara should rule that: 

ˇTHE RM250 maximum liability on fraudulent transactions is highlighted to cardholders in the card agreements as well as in the monthly card statements.

ˇBANKS are not allowed to insert any clause in the card agreement which is contrary to Clause 13.2.

ˇBANKS should refund all money in excess of the RM250 collected from cardholders whose cases clearly come under Clause 13.2.

S.M. MOHAMED IDRIS,
President,
Consumers Association of Penang
was wondering... what if we fraud ourselves and report? then we ended up paying only RM250...
kindaichi81
post Dec 22 2007, 11:04 PM

31 posts

I just got my HSBC credit card approved few days ago.. my credit limit is RM6k... is it normal? I worked in singapore... basic is more than SGD2.5k ..

how much is u guys credit limit for ur HSBC credit card?

ychwang
post Dec 22 2007, 11:34 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(kindaichi81 @ Dec 22 2007, 11:04 PM)
I just got my HSBC credit card approved few days ago.. my credit limit is RM6k... is it normal? I worked in singapore... basic is more than SGD2.5k ..

i did not have hsbc, but my friend got his hsbc with limit 8k, his salary is less than rm2k
soitsuagain
post Dec 23 2007, 12:07 AM

Let's do it together!
3,807 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Dec 22 2007, 11:03 PM)
was wondering... what if we fraud ourselves and report? then we ended up paying only RM250...
It will only make yourself look cheap. Cannot afford, don't buy. Simple as that.
vin_ann
post Dec 23 2007, 09:32 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(kindaichi81 @ Dec 22 2007, 11:04 PM)

QUOTE(ychwang @ Dec 22 2007, 11:34 PM)
i did not have hsbc, but my friend got his hsbc with limit 8k, his salary is less than rm2k
i guess... different people got difference accessment....
tht y different limits is being given out...

mine only 4k when the 1st time salary 1.5k apply....

now after increament, they just increase RM500 for me only...
kindaichi81
post Dec 23 2007, 10:28 AM

31 posts

anyone knows if the HSBC new credit card requires activation? (by calling the bank to activate the card), becos i am in sg most of the time, the mail will be posted to my house rite? I scare there will be any mail lost or something....

feralee
post Dec 23 2007, 10:48 AM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(kindaichi81 @ Dec 23 2007, 10:28 AM)
anyone knows if the HSBC new credit card requires activation? (by calling the bank to activate the card), becos i am in sg most of the time, the mail will be posted to my house rite? I scare there will be any mail lost or something....
nowdays no need to activate
can straight away use biggrin.gif
quintessential
post Dec 23 2007, 11:25 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

just realized that giant doesn't allow the customer to use ambank nexg. hopefully, tune card and mol freedom are allowed.
kindaichi81
post Dec 23 2007, 11:41 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Dec 23 2007, 10:48 AM)
nowdays no need to activate
can straight away use  biggrin.gif
no need to activate, like that it's very dangerous le... what if my card is lost in mail or anything...

if it's in sg, then it's ok, in malaysia, ........... shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

Added on December 23, 2007, 11:42 am
QUOTE(kindaichi81 @ Dec 23 2007, 11:41 AM)
no need to activate, like that it's very dangerous le... what if my card is lost in mail or anything...

if it's in sg, then it's ok, in malaysia, ........... shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
any knows what is the minimum amount spent before i can use credit card, in secret recipe restaurant?

Added on December 23, 2007, 11:44 ammy citibank credit card application is more than 1 mth liao, still no news man...

my HSBC one less than 2 weeks approved.. anyone knows why?

if want to compare, which bank is easier to get the credit card? Citibank? HSBC? Or Standard Chartered? whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kindaichi81: Dec 23 2007, 11:44 AM
jimmy701
post Dec 23 2007, 02:43 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(kindaichi81 @ Dec 23 2007, 12:41 PM)

if it's in sg, then it's ok, in malaysia, ........... shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

Added on December 23, 2007, 11:42 am

any knows what is the minimum amount spent before i can use credit card, in secret recipe restaurant?

Added on December 23, 2007, 11:44 ammy citibank credit card application is more than 1 mth liao, still no news man...

my HSBC one less than 2 weeks approved.. anyone knows why?

if want to compare, which bank is easier to get the credit card? Citibank? HSBC? Or Standard Chartered?  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
well, HSBC is the easiest to get the cc, citibank is the most hard. citibank got many policies liked certain ppl cannot apply, but HSBC don hv such thing. citibank staff...well...who ever use citibank card should be know...
Your cases maybe held by citibank or they ignore ur case. better need to call them ask them to check lo
shakiraa
post Dec 23 2007, 04:05 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Dec 22 2007, 11:34 PM)
just got my direct access cc. super easy to apply. just pass my pay slip and education certificate. and they give me limit of 18k combined limit for master and visa.
vin_ann
post Dec 23 2007, 04:19 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Dec 23 2007, 04:05 PM)
just got my direct access cc. super easy to apply. just pass my pay slip and education certificate. and they give me limit of 18k combined limit for master and visa.
btw, ur direct access CC got PayPass ???
ychwang
post Dec 23 2007, 04:20 PM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Dec 23 2007, 04:05 PM)
what? 18k combine limit. what is ur salary?
jimmy701
post Dec 23 2007, 04:52 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Dec 23 2007, 05:05 PM)
what the... same question, how much is ur salary? 10k?
soitsuagain
post Dec 23 2007, 05:12 PM

Let's do it together!
3,807 posts

Hey, i have a question. If we are going on a vacation and we call the bank to increase the credit limit, is the credit limit increase permanent or temporary? I'm not going anywhere but I was wondering if I could get my credit limit to a new level. wink.gif
kindaichi81
post Dec 23 2007, 05:23 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Dec 23 2007, 05:12 PM)
Hey, i have a question. If we are going on a vacation and we call the bank to increase the credit limit, is the credit limit increase permanent or temporary? I'm not going anywhere but I was wondering if I could get my credit limit to a new level. wink.gif
it will be temp only... to increase permanently... u must submit payslip that shows the increase on ur monthly salary... smile.gif smile.gif
vin_ann
post Dec 23 2007, 06:27 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Dec 23 2007, 04:20 PM)
what? 18k combine limit. what is ur salary?
QUOTE(jimmy701 @ Dec 23 2007, 04:52 PM)
what the... same question, how much is ur salary? 10k?
haha... both of ur so quaries...
Darkmage12
post Dec 23 2007, 09:47 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 22 2007, 08:37 PM)
They're doing promotion at Queensbay Mall.
how come i didn't see it just now? do you have this card?

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:47 PM