CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

kindaichi81
post Dec 22 2007, 11:04 PM

31 posts

I just got my HSBC credit card approved few days ago.. my credit limit is RM6k... is it normal? I worked in singapore... basic is more than SGD2.5k ..

how much is u guys credit limit for ur HSBC credit card?

kindaichi81
post Dec 23 2007, 10:28 AM

31 posts

anyone knows if the HSBC new credit card requires activation? (by calling the bank to activate the card), becos i am in sg most of the time, the mail will be posted to my house rite? I scare there will be any mail lost or something....

kindaichi81
post Dec 23 2007, 11:41 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Dec 23 2007, 10:48 AM)
nowdays no need to activate
can straight away use  biggrin.gif
no need to activate, like that it's very dangerous le... what if my card is lost in mail or anything...

if it's in sg, then it's ok, in malaysia, ........... shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

Added on December 23, 2007, 11:42 am
QUOTE(kindaichi81 @ Dec 23 2007, 11:41 AM)
no need to activate, like that it's very dangerous le... what if my card is lost in mail or anything...

if it's in sg, then it's ok, in malaysia, ........... shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
any knows what is the minimum amount spent before i can use credit card, in secret recipe restaurant?

Added on December 23, 2007, 11:44 ammy citibank credit card application is more than 1 mth liao, still no news man...

my HSBC one less than 2 weeks approved.. anyone knows why?

if want to compare, which bank is easier to get the credit card? Citibank? HSBC? Or Standard Chartered? whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kindaichi81: Dec 23 2007, 11:44 AM
kindaichi81
post Dec 23 2007, 05:23 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Dec 23 2007, 05:12 PM)
Hey, i have a question. If we are going on a vacation and we call the bank to increase the credit limit, is the credit limit increase permanent or temporary? I'm not going anywhere but I was wondering if I could get my credit limit to a new level. wink.gif
it will be temp only... to increase permanently... u must submit payslip that shows the increase on ur monthly salary... smile.gif smile.gif
kindaichi81
post Dec 24 2007, 07:44 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(muxx @ Dec 24 2007, 07:32 AM)
if my salary rm700 with official statement and i receive rental from my mum's rumah sewa tenant constantly rm850/month (i only can prove this by bank account statement)...can my application be considered approve over the  minimum rm1500/month requirement? I've tried with maybank but failed  cry.gif can anybody help me...?
dun think so... usually the bank won't accept rent as income i supposed... it's not official income to them....

kindaichi81
post Dec 25 2007, 06:29 AM

31 posts

Seems like its easier to apply for CC in MY.. You can also apply for CC in SG too with HSBC. from SG, the credit limit is 1.5x or depending on what you submit, the bank may at their discrestion may give you more (based on annual wage inclusive of 13 months and bonuses). However, its pretty strict in SG though and there is a central data based where banks can obtain information about your credit status and even blacklisting..
the requirement to apply credit card is lower... as long as u got rm1.5k salary and above, can apply already... singapore needs at least sgd2.5k and above, i have no prob getting credit card in sg... i have 8 banks credit card in sg.... tongue.gif tongue.gif

but it's harder to apply malaysia credit card if working in sg.... but lucky... my HSBC application is approved.. now waiting for citibank one to approve.. more than 1 mth liao still no news...

Added on December 25, 2007, 6:34 am
Seems like the CC is being used as an ATM card, which is very common in SG. but you have to tell the staff where to charge, they can't simply jus charge and thePIN is the authorising code to transaction... some how, some where, some one done something... not sure ... what the hell is wrong... didn't know so troublesome.. never experince this kind of thing before.

Seems like many blur people serving customers and not knowing what is going on... scary man... because I used it often when in MY. I had this experience recently at Guadians. The sales staff swipe card and then tell me it can't be used because it requires a microchip on the CC. Something new to me as I had used it at Mid Valley Guardians... strange... that it can't be use. Another at TESCO on monday, staff ask supervisor to come because he felt... that's whatappear to me, that my HSBC card is fraud... he was looking "inside" out wondering and when supervisor came, she immediately swipe the card and get my purchase progressed after taking one look at it. in fact, I am goignt o write in to HSBC SG and ask them as I had few looks by staff serving me when I used the CC.
I think u are over-reacted already la.... malaysia credit card all comes with the EMV chip, and I think the cashier there is getting used of not swiping the card, but by reading it instead.... that's why they would think that urs is fake card... somemore malaysia HSBC credit card and sg HSBC credit card are of the same design, the staff maybe just overlooked it only...

I used my OCBC Titanium card, UOB Platinum card (comes with EMV) and DBS Black card in JB... no prob @ all.....

This post has been edited by kindaichi81: Dec 25 2007, 06:34 AM
kindaichi81
post Dec 25 2007, 05:14 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(jimmy701 @ Dec 25 2007, 05:10 PM)
ur citibank is apply in sg or in malaysia? n ur HSBC card is applied in sg or malaysia? impossible 1month still no news wor...
I worked in sg, i already got singapore credit cards from 8 banks long time ago... i just applied citibank malaysia and HSBC malaysia credit card, becos if I buy things in malaysia using my sg credit card, it will have exchange rate lugi... so i want to have a malaysia issued credit card...

i applied HSBC malaysia credit card in the start of dec, and i got it approved within 2weeks.. then the citibank malaysia i applied since end of nov, til now still no news. yet... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

kindaichi81
post Dec 25 2007, 09:20 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(jimmy701 @ Dec 25 2007, 05:18 PM)
omg...but what doc u were using for the citibank? or you can wait for a year then applied the citibank card with ur HSBC. liked that will be better and faster i think
wait for 1 year? forget it ba... too slow already... until then i won't be interested to get one anymore... i just want to get the card thru normal application...

the doc i give to citibank is 3 mths bank statements, payslip, employment letter... ic front and back photocopy...

Added on December 25, 2007, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 25 2007, 06:52 PM)
do u have call in to check on ur application status?

last time i applied with 1 agent. whose know 2 weeks later i called in to check on status, and they said they din received my applications...

since im urgently need it, i applied through my friend... so another 2 weeks waited for it. and on the day it approved my fren called me to inform me and ask me call the citiphone make arrangement for pick up. during lunch i go over the citibank jln ampang, got my card. hehe
i got call in to check my application status, they keep on saying dun have the record for my application...

i applied thru a sales person also... he said submitted my application liao, but after 2, 3 weeks i called in the hotline they told me never have my record, i told him abt this, then he bothered to check for me... after check, he said the status is pending for my income tax doc... that's why no record on system... i told him i only worked for 9 mths plus until now... no income tax doc yet.. then he said he will check again... then he reverted to me that after the credit card processing officer key into my application to the system, then it will show whether approved or denied... he said now is year end, so lesser staff working and it will slower...got such thing one meh? i am actually pretty frustrated already... as it took so long time liao... i think if there is still no status after next week, i will cancel the application liao... If i cancel the application, the sales person cannot get any commission rite? actually i hate those sale person, some of them, the follow up is super lousy... sometimes, i find that apply on my own, it is faster and better.... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

This post has been edited by kindaichi81: Dec 25 2007, 09:26 PM
kindaichi81
post Dec 25 2007, 10:02 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 25 2007, 09:44 PM)
yeah u right. u apply ur own or through other people the 1st sales person wont get the commission...

in my case, my 1st agent called me to ask me whether i got the card already o not... in fact i got my card through my fren... haha... din tell her tht i submit my application again.. haha...

btw, doc needed is 3 months payslip and photostated IC... tht's all. no more other things le...
u work for how long before u apply citibank card? i worked for only 9 mths, i think that's why he asked me for the 3 mths bank statements to prove my income?

kindaichi81
post Dec 25 2007, 11:07 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 25 2007, 10:43 PM)
the time i applied im not yet works full 1 years.

btw, i intro my colleague who just works 4 months to apply citibank also got his card le...
so do u think citibank is hard to apply or not?

kindaichi81
post Dec 25 2007, 11:27 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 25 2007, 11:13 PM)
actually hard o not is not under ur hand lol... if u qualify shd have no problems, since every CC is so competitive.

remember the colleague i mentioned just now... at 1st his application is failed.

reason: verification is fail.

i thinks the time citibank called to my HR department to verify the information, they pass it to wrong person or dun know what ever reasons get fail to verify.

later my fren called me and ask who is the HR person in charge and i to find out and tell her.

then after tht, dun know how long my fren's application is get through.
Sian... tired of waiting... seriously speaking.. the efficiency in malaysia is still .......

i have nvr encountered such long wait for my application of credit card in sg....

anyway, at least i got one malaysia credit card now.. HSBC visa classic... good for using in malaysia already....
kindaichi81
post Dec 26 2007, 12:56 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(jimmy701 @ Dec 26 2007, 12:55 AM)
well...malaysian's working attitude, especially malay staff. very slow and always got problem. not looking down on them but sometime really upset on their attitude on serving customer.
exactly ..... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

kindaichi81
post Dec 26 2007, 10:50 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 26 2007, 09:59 PM)
i always pay in FULL....  rclxms.gif
yup, i always pay in full also.. the bank must be hating me, becos i make them have not even a single chance to earn any cent of the interest from my credit card bill.. hahaha

kindaichi81
post Dec 26 2007, 11:06 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 26 2007, 10:51 PM)
Well, if majority of the subscribers did that, then it may hurt them. But if just a small percentage, then you know the answer.

I also pay my CC bills in full. For HSBC, I always overpay since the CDM accepts on RM 100, 50 and 10 notes.
i would choose to pay my malaysia hsbc credit card bill via maybank2u instead... too troublesome to visit the branch to deposit money... and somemore cannot pay in exact amount, while the excess amount in the credit card account will not earn interest too... the transport fee to travel to the branch cost more than the rm2 fee for using maybank2u to pay too...

and the most important is, it is too dangerous in JB already, i would rather pay the rm2 instead of risking my self to go out purposely for just paying the bill @ the branch....
kindaichi81
post Dec 27 2007, 01:48 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 26 2007, 11:49 PM)
if u got account with HSBC... u can do auto-debit.
yeah... me too... never paid earlier... paid on time...
i have the powervantage singapore account, but i dun have any HSBC malaysia account, do not need so many malaysia savings account, one will do, maybank is good enough.....

kindaichi81
post Dec 27 2007, 07:20 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 27 2007, 12:17 PM)
I just submitted an application for CIMB DA.
u work in sg or malaysia?
kindaichi81
post Dec 28 2007, 12:20 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Dec 27 2007, 08:44 PM)
u are late....  tongue.gif

im just submitted on 24 Dec 06...  tongue.gif

let's see how fast we can get our card...
are u working in singapore as well?

if i work in sg, can apply the CIMB DA also rite? u submit the application urself or thru agent?

kindaichi81
post Dec 28 2007, 02:49 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(kelvin89 @ Dec 28 2007, 01:50 AM)
wow...seems liked CIMB quite many ppl apply
I think it is good to apply as a permanent spare card becos no annual fee @ all... so unless u can cancel urself or the product is discontinued, if not, u can continue to hold this card, even u are out of job etc... haha

kindaichi81
post Dec 28 2007, 03:54 PM

31 posts

called HSBC Malaysia today, asked if they had posted me the card, they said yesterday the postlaju ppl had tried to post to my house, but no one is around, so they left a note in my house mailbox, and i need to go to postlaju to collect the card myself... sianz.. anyone knows where is the postlaju in JB? and what is the operating hrs?
kindaichi81
post Dec 28 2007, 07:21 PM

31 posts

I called the citibank malaysia hotline to check my credit card application, they said my application is not successful... how come ah? my HSBC one is approved..how come citibank one is failed? mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

0.0309sec    1.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:57 AM