QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 28 2007, 09:25 AM)
Since u are more interest in finance, you go ahead for P4 lah. But I prefer you take P6 also even you are not interested, cos Tax is very good and help u in future when u go to work in any industry.
But you must remember for all the Prof level paper, there is no the story for focus on calcullation or theory.
For eg P6, examiner can ask you to give advise on tax planning based on the senario. So beside write the theory, you also need to come out some calculation to support you advise.
Application is more important in all the prof level paper. Even in P4, the calculation is just a supporting for your application and not main answer. The question in P4 is very practical, if you don't know how to apply, you will fail in tis paper oso.
So, my advise is choose paper based on your interest, not based on calculation or theory.
yup.. in between finance and tax.. i will be more interested in finance.. coz tax involved a lot of memorising those tax law and rules which will make me
tax is very helpful in future when i work in any industry?? I thought it would be more applicable when working in tax consultation firm only.. haha.. im wrong actually..
QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 28 2007, 10:18 AM)
P4 also won't involve much calculation. The question in this paper is more practical than previous sitting.
Both P4 and P6 also, examiner will test you on Level 2 and Level 3 question, means ask you to apply, argue or analysis with your knowledge of that paper. You will see a lot of discuss, describe, identify, explain, assess and etc in the question.
So always remember calculation or memorise theory is not so important in any prof level paper. You can't learn theory by hard or practice calculation by hard in all this paper.
according to my lecturer, p4 involved 80% calculation and 20% theory.. this ratio make me so scare coz im not that super good in calculation..
but when i take a look at p4 pilot paper.. there's almost 50% calculation and 50% theory.. which is the same for p6 as well..
so now my final decision is taking p4.. hope i will not regret and able to manage to pass this paper..

Added on December 28, 2007, 4:11 pmQUOTE(pristina @ Dec 28 2007, 03:58 PM)
The last sitting of this year which means December 2007, one of the question of paper 9 taxation has been left out!!???
Real Property Gain Tax (RPGT) this is the most easier question we could scored high mark! And in ACCA too.
Will RPGT disappear in ACCA also?
yup.. if im not mistaken.. RPGT will be eliminated from the syllabus coz there will be no tax on RPGT since 1 April 2007..
This post has been edited by MickyMouse: Dec 28 2007, 04:11 PM