128 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)

TSprincessintan
post Dec 7 2007, 10:02 PM, updated 18y ago

219 posts

This thread is meant for

*Strictly on serious talk regarding ACCA/CAT tuition providers
*comment on lecturers
*exam/study tips

please do not spam here ya...

Reminder from Moderator:

Here's a gentle reminder, with the thread being moved back to Education Essential, those who starts unrelated post to ACCA will definitely get a warning from the mods which would hardly happen if the thread remained at Kopitiam. Do remember that it was your call that this thread to be moved back here.

So read up the
1.Rules/Guidelines
2.How to Multiquote
3.Learn how to use "edit" located bottom right of your post.

1) Previous thread to refer: ACCA
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=116302&st=2600

2) Toughest ACCA Paper, Vote For The Most Challenging ACCA Paper
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...9&#entry9571649

3) ACCA Textbook,Revision Kits and Passcards by FTMS
http://my.ftmsglobal.com/downloads_enrolme...alOrderForm.pdf

4) Coolly's personally opinion on paper 3.5 and 3.7 in FTMS ( newly added )
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/379762/+340# (Post 359)

rclxms.gif Bulletin rclxms.gif

1) ACCA Official Website:
http://www.accaglobal.com

2) ACCA 2007 New Syllabus Info
http://www.accaglobal.com/horizon/

3) Lowyat ACCA/CAT's chat
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=362089

4) Lowyat Auditor Yam Cha Section
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=23&t=331577

5) FTMS Website
http://my.accaglobal.com

6) Mc Orange Website
http://www.mcorange.edu.my/programs.htm

7) Kasturi Website
http://www.ksacitycampus.com/

8) Global tuition providers
http://www.accaglobal.com/students/study_e...tion/providers/

9) Approved textbook publishers
http://www.accaglobal.com/students/publications/publishers

10) PAAC Home Study Programme(newly added)
http://www.paac.edu.my/Home%20Study%20Plan...d%20061206).pdf

11) Kolej Bandar Website
http://www.calow.biz/

thumbup.gif Recommended Lecturers thumbup.gif

Understand there are many people looking for part time course to pass their acca soonest possible and the followings are a few lectures recommended by people who had passed thier ACCA paper

The following recommended lecturers are based on individual's personal opinion...please use it at your own risk... laugh.gif

Note:The number shown in () refers to the relevant old syllabus paper.

Fundamentals Level - Knowledge module (F1-F3)

F1 Accountant in Business AB(1.3)
Chang Shew Leng (KSA)

F2 Management Accounting MA(1.2)
Low Chin Ann (KB)

F3 Financial Accounting FA(1.1)
Yap Kok Wah (KB)
Goh Wern Yit (KSA)

Fundamentals Level - Skills module (F4-F9)

F4 Corporate and Business Law CL(2.2)
Viknes (KSA)

F5 Performance Management PM(N/A)
Chow Kim Tai (FTMS)
Andrew Pang (KSA)

F6 Taxation TX (2.3)
Alan Yeo (KSA)
Low Chin Ann (KB)
Wong Paik Wan (McO)
Siva Nair (FTMS)
Choong Kwai Fatt (Segi) (Revision class only)

F7 Financial Reporting FR(2.5)
Haneef (McO)
Ms Menon (Sunway)
Joe Fang (KSA)

F8 Audit and Assurance AA(2.6)
Sheila (McO)
Philip Woo (KSA)
Low Chin Ann (KB)
Fung Chee Kong (FTMS) ( RI Only )

F9 Financial Management FM(2.4)
Daniel Ho (FTMS)
Andrew Pang (KSA)
Steve Lumby (McO) *RI only

Professional Level - Essentials (P1-P3)

P1 Professional Accountant(N/A)
Sheila (McO)
Philip Woo (KSA)

P2 Corporate Reporting CR(3.6)
Haneef (McO)
Ms Menon (Sunway)
Joe Fang (KSA)

P3 Business Analysis BA(3.5)
Michael (McO)
Parminder (KSA)
Wong Siew Choo (FTMS)
Martin (FTMS) *RI only

Professional Level - Options (P4-P7)

P4 Advanced Financial Management AFM(3.7)
Daniel Ho (FTMS) *august07 intake only
Andrew Pang (KSA)

P5 Advanced Performance Management APM(3.3)
Andrew Pang (KSA)
Chow Kim Tai (FTMS)

P6 Advanced Taxation ATX(3.2)
Choong Kwai Fatt (SEGI)
Chow Chee Yan (McO)

P7 Advanced Audit and Assurance AAA(3.1)
Fung Chee Kong (FTMS)
Jackson (KSA)

icon_rolleyes.gif Quick Link for ACCA Past Year Papers icon_rolleyes.gif

Guide:

1) Click on the following link and then click on the paper u want to find...
2) Under the paper link,click Past Exam Papers
3) Please choose the variant you want
4) Then you can get the relevant past year papers for your reference.

~~ Part 1 ~~
http://www.accaglobal.com/students/study_e...l_scheme/part1/

~~ Part 2 ~~
http://www.accaglobal.com/students/study_e...l_scheme/part2/

~~ Part 3 ~~
http://www.accaglobal.com/students/study_e...l_scheme/part3/

This post has been edited by stevanistelrooy: Dec 7 2007, 11:07 PM
soul_project
post Dec 7 2007, 10:41 PM

Stars for sell. Pls PM !
4,358 posts

my last paper wednesday .. argh ..
gosh i don't like p3 man ..

i revise those questions .. analyse analyse till my brain jam dy ..

hope fast fast complete the exam n hv holidays .. smile.gif
coolly
post Dec 7 2007, 10:45 PM

1,171 posts

haha..okok...so princess intan u are the leader here..

maybe u can consider copy some of the link from my 1st post in v2 and put at ur 1st post..

Added on December 7, 2007, 10:54 pmReferring to b3llad0nna post under version 2..

i think CKF is not teaching for next sitting for normal class..but u can double check with SEGI just in case he changed his mind...hehe..

for revision class...erm,if not mistaken he will conduct,but subject to confirm la...

This post has been edited by coolly: Dec 7 2007, 10:54 PM
scorpiok
post Dec 7 2007, 10:57 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(soul_project @ Dec 7 2007, 10:41 PM)
my last paper wednesday .. argh ..
gosh i don't like p3 man ..

i revise those questions .. analyse analyse till my brain jam dy ..

hope fast fast complete the exam n hv holidays .. smile.gif
same here...but no choice...
next week got to take 3 subject...sigh~
so panic now~~P1 P2 and P3 icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
TSprincessintan
post Dec 7 2007, 11:04 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(coolly @ Dec 7 2007, 10:45 PM)
haha..okok...so princess intan u are the leader here..
maybe u can consider copy some of the link from my 1st post in v2 and put at ur 1st post..
haha. where got im the leader. lol. i thought of copying your first post, but scared la. who knows got copyright ke? u dont mind coolly??

Mod note's:-I've done it for you guys. princessintan : not fun anymore dry.gif

This post has been edited by princessintan: Dec 7 2007, 11:56 PM
yyteik
post Dec 7 2007, 11:12 PM

..::Upgraded::..
1,172 posts

http://www.accaglobal.com/documents/exam_script_booklet.pdf
http://www.accaglobal.com/documents/crs.pdf

is this the 2 documents that we need to fill up in the exam???
how to fill this up correctly??? first timer.. hee.. if i see these papers.. i knoe how to fill up.. but i need advice on how to fill it up correctly...
must use ink pen izzit??
keith_hjinhoh
post Dec 7 2007, 11:23 PM

Need My Service?
2,656 posts

QUOTE(yyteik @ Dec 7 2007, 11:12 PM)
http://www.accaglobal.com/documents/exam_script_booklet.pdf
http://www.accaglobal.com/documents/crs.pdf

is this the 2 documents that we need to fill up in the exam???
how to fill this up correctly??? first timer.. hee.. if i see these papers.. i knoe how to fill up.. but i need advice on how to fill it up correctly...
must use ink pen izzit??
Black ink pen only.
No worry as the invigilator will be there to guide you to fill in. Just hands up when you dont know.

Added on December 7, 2007, 11:24 pmGuyz, how good is Kolej Bandar in lecturing P1,P2,P3? Any review from our LYN member before? I heard the price of it is quite attractive.

This post has been edited by keith_hjinhoh: Dec 7 2007, 11:24 PM
vin_ann
post Dec 8 2007, 01:14 AM

10,912 posts

Congras on the V3.....

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

let's make ACCA more popular....
babysept
post Dec 8 2007, 02:29 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(scorpiok @ Dec 7 2007, 10:57 PM)
same here...but no choice...
next week got to take 3 subject...sigh~
so panic now~~P1 P2 and P3 icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
ello course mate =p

hows study goin??

had my F9 and it was quite bad =x

gud luck wit ur 3 papers next week!

Added on December 8, 2007, 2:43 am
QUOTE(scorpiok @ Dec 7 2007, 06:21 PM)
basically is juz a graph that shows all the activities in a company..
and there are 2 types of activities which is primary and supporting...the definition read urself..

and this framework is to use by a company to identify 'value activity' which is activity that create value to customer.

basically, the value can be differentiate to low price(low cost strategy) and quality(differentiation strategy) which encourage a customer to buy a product.

Other than that, we may used it in the review current position question, we use it to identify the linkages internally and externally(linkages network). and there may some advantage related to having robust linkages for eg strong linkage which supplier so the supplier will understand our company well and deliver the quality of material and send it timely.so we can hold lower lvl inventory and save cost...and etc..

for the implementation for service industry, actually not very clear about wat u asking about?
is which part of implementation??
coursemate, need some help wit CMMI.. anyone pls?? im quite confused wit it.. cant really understand by reading the Kaplan's text!

QUOTE(b3llad0nna @ Dec 7 2007, 07:34 PM)
There is a whole pull out on ACCA ... all kinda information la smile.gif from colleges tht provide acca, to all the medalist and finalist for last sitting... etc etc.. TAR & Sunway plantinum status.. hehe almost all the other college, segi, mcorange, ftms gold status...

Looks like HELP college also offering acca from next yr onwards!.. I guess ACCA is becoming more & more famous..Haha!!

neway i dont think u can find it online.. Just check thurs newspaper, the star if i'm not mistaken.. there's a PULL OUT.

McOrange's schedule is out. chow kim tai is lecturing for paper P5 next sem. everything else almost the same. Michael only coming for IRC next sitting.
Just wondering, is CKF lecturing for advance tax next sitting in segi?? what days are his classes normally..and the fees.
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif ANYONE ATTENDED MS.MENON's F7 course this sitting ???? Could you please share her tips!!! My friends badly need it.. hehehee.. so prettyyyyyy prettyyyyyyyyy pleaseeeeeeee... F7 TIPS biggrin.gif Thanks in advance! blush.gif
LOL.. saw that whole thing bout ACCA..
and Tarc is forever the same stingy type.. alwaz make small advertisement, this time.. less den 1/4 of the page and its in black and white..
compare wit Sunway, whole page with colour..

gosh, its like their honour for getting the platinum status, oni 2 in msia, tiny bit of the 10% worldwide ACCA approved tuition provider =p

This post has been edited by babysept: Dec 8 2007, 02:43 AM
scorpiok
post Dec 8 2007, 03:04 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(babysept @ Dec 8 2007, 02:29 AM)
ello course mate =p

hows study goin??

had my F9 and it was quite bad =x

gud luck wit ur 3 papers next week!

coursemate, need some help wit CMMI.. anyone pls?? im quite confused wit it.. cant really understand by reading the Kaplan's text!
same same la~lets gambateh together la~~
for the F9 i saw ppl say is quite ok, how come u say u r doing very badly?

for the CMMI(5 lvl process), it is a model that use to design a software..
but now a days, it used to identify which lvl of a organization's process are..
for the detail at every lvl, i think u better look at the pilot paper Q3(if not mistaken) answer, its answer quite well, by read the answer is much more easy to understand than lookin at the text book..
babysept
post Dec 8 2007, 05:52 AM

162 posts

QUOTE(scorpiok @ Dec 8 2007, 03:04 AM)
same same la~lets gambateh together la~~
for the F9 i saw ppl say is quite ok, how come u say u r doing very badly?

for the CMMI(5 lvl process), it is a model that use to design a software..
but now a days, it used to identify which lvl of a organization's process are..
for the detail at every lvl, i think u better look at the pilot paper Q3(if not mistaken) answer, its answer quite well, by read the answer is much more easy to understand than lookin at the text book..
was kinda sick on that day itself.. den college hall, blardy cold..

cant really answer some Q also.. nub =p

btw, jus a reminder for u coursemate, bring jacket, wear long sleeve shirts and long pants!

also, last but not least, bring only black pen, no blue pen is allowed!

jiaaa you!

and thanks for the advice on CMMI, will hav a look later!
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 8 2007, 11:13 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

on the contrary, CMMI is not a software design methodology. CMMI is a company assessment method to assess whether a company has what it takes to produce good software consistently.

---

Exam centers, at least Srisedaya and sunway are pretty cold, so some sweaters are advised.

---

hahaha, sunway pretty much screams about their 'successes' XD i guess the 'peer pressure' in sunway is much higher compared to outside.

bunch of nerds studying acca everyday, don't feel stress oso hard.

--

P1 on monday.. crap.
Anyone covered kaplan text alraedy?

ellimist
post Dec 8 2007, 11:51 AM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Lol text? I just read Mr Goh's notes. (ur with Mr Goh too rite?)
littlediana
post Dec 8 2007, 12:07 PM

498 posts

f7 i only studied and done Q1 and Q3
so worried will fail
seems like no mood to study...... sweat.gif
these few days no mood ....
remainder of the syllabus seems alot

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Dec 8 2007, 12:32 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

hahaha like there's any other lecturer in sunway doing p1.. ><
haha, his notes ar.. very pening kepala la, so many words.. i see oso no mood... dunno which is point which is not. frankly i feel like p1 very little stuff to write about ler, all the points seems so.. pointless and obvious.

darn stupiiiiid.

hahaha, as for F7.. it's not raelly as bulky as it seems... just menon's notes very alot XD but frankly core principles actually very little only... ><

jamesme135
post Dec 8 2007, 01:00 PM

56 posts

me too, no mood to study F7.....
esp...after did badly in F8

F7 - need to know and memorize all the workings.....
if forgot to do 1 step, the answer's wrong..........
- also need to memorize the definition and etc....

ellimist
post Dec 8 2007, 02:28 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Dec 8 2007, 12:32 PM)
hahaha like there's any other lecturer in sunway doing p1.. ><
haha, his notes ar.. very pening kepala la, so many words.. i see oso no mood... dunno which is point which is not. frankly i feel like p1 very little stuff to write about ler, all the points seems so.. pointless and obvious.

darn stupiiiiid.

hahaha, as for F7.. it's not raelly as bulky as it seems... just menon's notes very alot XD but frankly core principles actually very little only... ><
Eh,his P1 notes is unbelievably thin for a core paper subject la laugh.gif New subject,no big fat notes compilation yet
But I get what you mean,sometimes u really wonder what to write for this subject sweat.gif

Shadap u,F7 is relatively bulky,and P2 is retardedly bulky laugh.gif
Zoeee
post Dec 8 2007, 03:15 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(babysept @ Dec 8 2007, 05:52 AM)
was kinda sick on that day itself.. den college hall, blardy cold..

cant really answer some Q also.. nub =p

btw, jus a reminder for u coursemate, bring jacket, wear long sleeve shirts and long pants!

also, last but not least, bring only black pen, no blue pen is allowed!

jiaaa you!

and thanks for the advice on CMMI, will hav a look later!
Can use BLUE Pen to answer?? Coz arr~~ i personally dun like use black pen answer coz...the paper sheet alreadt black ..... so theform i fill in with black n answer with blue?? Can? will they mark my answer?? rclxub.gif

N for conso, joe fang ask us use black for the figure given n blue for the answer we do oo.... hmm.gif

n wna ask arr~~ can use short form for exam F7? like b/f, urp (unrealised profit) use nca for non current asset?? Can ? icon_question.gif

N any tips for F7 to share or emphasis on f7?? Not so good....mark for correct figure right? n oni mark working if figure wrong....but seem like we need can balance it in exam oo... how?? blink.gif

Added on December 8, 2007, 3:20 pmI mean its like we never can balance the b/s in the exam.... some note dunno how to do n then sometime calculator press wrong.... tongue.gif now my f7 revision is like doing auditing...do question while looking at the answer... hehe blush.gif

This post has been edited by Zoeee: Dec 8 2007, 03:20 PM
babysept
post Dec 8 2007, 04:57 PM

162 posts

QUOTE(Zoeee @ Dec 8 2007, 03:15 PM)
Can use BLUE Pen to answer?? Coz arr~~ i personally dun like use black pen answer coz...the paper sheet alreadt black ..... so theform i fill in with black n answer with blue?? Can? will they mark my answer??  rclxub.gif

N for conso, joe fang ask us use black for the figure given n blue for the answer we do oo.... hmm.gif

n wna ask arr~~ can use short form for exam F7? like b/f, urp (unrealised profit) use nca for non current asset?? Can ?  icon_question.gif

N any tips for F7 to share or emphasis on f7?? Not so good....mark for correct figure right? n oni mark working if figure wrong....but seem like we need can balance it in exam oo... how??  blink.gif

Added on December 8, 2007, 3:20 pmI mean its like we never can balance the b/s in the exam.... some note dunno how to do n then sometime calculator press wrong.... tongue.gif  now my f7 revision is like doing auditing...do question while looking at the answer... hehe  blush.gif
ermm.. im not so sure bout that, but i think our exam entry slip, has stated th rules and regulations behind our details..

but i think, using black pen is gud...

bcuz even exams in coll, lecturers requested us to use black pen..

cuz it would be easier for them to see and mark..

Added on December 8, 2007, 5:00 pm
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Dec 8 2007, 11:13 AM)
on the contrary, CMMI is not a software design methodology. CMMI is a company assessment method to assess whether a company has what it takes to produce good software consistently.

---

Exam centers, at least Srisedaya and sunway are pretty cold, so some sweaters are advised.

---

hahaha, sunway pretty much screams about their 'successes' XD i guess the 'peer pressure' in sunway is much higher compared to outside.

bunch of nerds studying acca everyday, don't feel stress oso hard.

--

P1 on monday.. crap.
Anyone covered kaplan text alraedy?
got no kaplan text for P1, only P3..

but lecturer did photostat chapter 12-14 for us, for the professional ethics and i find it quite usefull..

This post has been edited by babysept: Dec 8 2007, 05:00 PM
ellimist
post Dec 8 2007, 05:13 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Black pen refers to the filling of student details I believe.(on ur booklet,attendance slip)

I've always used blue pen for my answer script

@Zoeee : don't wry about balancing the b/s. If pass/failures were determined by that,most of the students would be failing especially at higher lvls laugh.gif
No seriously,just post as much answers u can from ur workings. As Menon (frm sunway) would always say,pick up as much marks as possible,especially the easier ones.Don't bother too much bout the harder marks tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: Dec 8 2007, 05:15 PM

128 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:03 AM