It's confirmed that keith farmer is teaching in kasturi this coming sitting...
ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)
Dec 14 2007, 11:43 PM
118 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Puchong |
It's confirmed that keith farmer is teaching in kasturi this coming sitting...
Dec 20 2007, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(HyeoshinX @ Dec 20 2007, 09:35 PM) Excuse me, I'm just wondering that since i'm going off to college soon, i'm going to take up accounting courses... i was just wondering did any of you have any knowledge on accounting before you took up the subject?? i am also from science stream when taking spm. but if you concentrate and work hard, you are sure to pass.i have to admit i suck in accounts but i still want to take up accounting in college...is it still possible for me to be successful in the future and not regret my decision? |
Dec 21 2007, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(annvogue @ Dec 21 2007, 04:23 PM) If in term 2 i want to change my subject in KSA.....meaning after results is out..Does KSA charge any fees for that? I guess going to repeat 2 papers la....As for this coming intake i will take F9,P1,P2........ if you pay for first term only, you can change any papers without any charge. i tried that once..Added on December 21, 2007, 10:18 pmanyone been to parminder's class? how is it a? as compared to sheilla in p1, who's better?? This post has been edited by VpIc: Dec 21 2007, 10:18 PM |
Dec 23 2007, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 23 2007, 12:05 PM) The technique is very easy, just study hard June 1998 to Dec 2006 PYQ, then answer Q will not difficult. F4 is not that easy to study. it's different from the previous 2.2.with 2.2 you can pass just by studying past year questions now the current f4, thee are additional topics which there are no past year questions and there are no choice as you need to answer all 10 questions. if you are taking this coming sitting exams, it's advisable to drop partnership, corporate governance. focus more on tort, agency, employment, malaysia legal syste, contract and company. this is hell of lot... |
Dec 23 2007, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 23 2007, 09:13 PM) For internal control, actually Philip mentioned different won't be much from F8, that's why he more concentrate in the Turnbull Report. For COSO, he also cover it but not too much. In the his set of Q & A, there is a question regarding the COSO, I think it should be sufficient for us to study and answer the COSO question. had you attended farmer's class before? how does he teach his standards?According to ur comment about Parmindar teaching method for P1, I think the style was same as his P3 oso lah. I think Parmindar ok also lah for P1. P2, some said Keith farmer good and same said Joe Fang ok. So I think I will choose Keith Farmer. Added on December 23, 2007, 9:22 pm Don't worry, Philip can finish the syllabus for P1 on time and give test also to help student answer exam question. And his class actually is from 10am - 6pm, extra 1 hour every leason. After I see the time table, It is 2 more extra day (10am - 6pm) as compare to last sitting, I think that one is for him teach student answer the exam question. So you no need to worry too much for attend his class. P2, according to my friends, he is good in Consol and ok ok for standard. But I think I will go for Keith Farmer. Added on December 23, 2007, 10:30 pmbtw, anyone heard about any acca camp coming up? they did not had one this year. wonder do any one of you hear any news?? This post has been edited by VpIc: Dec 23 2007, 10:30 PM |
Dec 25 2007, 05:49 PM
Dec 27 2007, 09:10 PM
Dec 29 2007, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Dec 29 2007, 06:43 PM) May I ask for the Oxford Brooke degree? if you are submitting your degree before 31 march, you will be sitting for the old syllabus. after that, you will be taking the new syllabus.If I take this degree at Jan 08. I am still follow an old syllabus or new syllabus? How to determine the first class? first class depends on 2 things, according to the briefing i got. first is your average acca marks from your part 2 and secondly, your marks for the thesis that you submit. |
Dec 30 2007, 12:35 AM
does anyone heard about any acca camp coming up??
Dec 30 2007, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Dec 30 2007, 03:38 PM) let me confirm here,P2 under keith farmer for KSA,is the timetable has been amended?coz based on the latest i view that the original 10 and 17 january is conducted by Joe Fang..compare to the ksa website timetable are you sure about that?? any confirmation from the college?? |
Dec 31 2007, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(niu_niu @ Dec 30 2007, 11:15 PM) By 1 Jan 2008! actually it's not a matter of paying or not. it depends on acca clearing those bank drafts and credit card payments. i got shocked when i got my annual return form and see i still have my examination fees outstanding. i asked the bank and they say the bank draft had not been lodged into the acca account yet. how inefficient. Hopefully u still got time 2 pay.... Well, this is the 1st time i paid the fees on my own. Went to the post office n sent the bank draft. I found that this method dont really work n quite expensive n time consuming too. Until now, my balance in myacca a/c still shows a bal 90pounds unpaid. May i know, from anyone previous experiece, how long will it take for acca process it this time got it paid online. directly clear. you can try paying online. Added on December 31, 2007, 1:02 am QUOTE(kelvinlee1983 @ Dec 30 2007, 11:48 PM) Last time I went to his 2.3 revision class in nov 2006. maybe his rugi may mean opportunity costs. he used the time to teach revision, the money earn not enough to cover the losses the few days he dun work.. He kept saying that he rugi to form the IRC. The class had 200+++ student. Like this also can rugi. This post has been edited by VpIc: Dec 31 2007, 01:02 AM |
Dec 31 2007, 09:48 PM
Jan 2 2008, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(cleon @ Jan 1 2008, 08:22 AM) thank for the advice. regarding Mr Low, he is focusing on too many different papers now. i do not think any one is capable in mastering taxation, audit, management accounting for all levels. he is to diverted and he will not be able to focus on the needs of the students. he is a happy go lucky lecturer. if you are serious, it is advisable to find other lecturers.any comment on :- F6 - Low Chin Ann, Wong Paik Wan F7 - Spencer Cheah ,Yap Kok Wah, Goh Wern Yit F8 - Joey Wong , Low Chin Ann, Jackson Chan as for mr yap, he is a very rough lecturer. he focus on calculation only and theory is by yourself. ms goh is pregnant now, so she will be out for at least 2 months. i feel that if you are going to take p2, it is advisable to take lecturers who are teaching both F7 and P2 as they are inter related. as for Joey, i do no think he does have an acca qualification. his background is in IT. i wonder why is he teaching audit. as for Jackson's class, it will be very dry. you need to read before the class in order to understand what he is teaching. additional reading is essential as he does not cover the whole syllabus. regarding Mr Spencer and Ms Wong, i have no comments as i do not meet them nor under them. |
Jan 5 2008, 12:58 AM
QUOTE(melthq @ Jan 3 2008, 03:21 PM) it's optional. but if you want to get it cheap, it will be the best to do it now, as this is the final sitting that they charge you 50 pounds. the next sitting will be 75 pounds.Added on January 5, 2008, 12:59 am QUOTE(HHalphaomega @ Jan 3 2008, 11:12 PM) I attended Parminder's (KSA) class before and from that I can conclude he's good in his IT/IS subjects as well business models. His notes is also complete. according to what i see in her 1.3 class in kasturi last time, she does not appear to be a good lecturer to me. it is almost impossible to ask her any additional questions as she will dissappear and will only appear during lessons.I've attended Ms Wong's (FTMS) class and can safely say she is very dedicated lecturer and usually gives extra classes where possible and ensures she covers every part of the syllabus. She is also very good at the subject. Hope this helps you. This post has been edited by VpIc: Jan 5 2008, 12:59 AM |
Jan 6 2008, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(Zoeee @ Jan 6 2008, 02:42 PM) HIhi, happy new year for everyone!! New Sem starting! Gambateh!! the timetable says no class. but i heard that he is going to add an extra class on the 10th.Wna ask anyone attend to Joe Fang P2 here? Wna ask the second week of Jan got class or not? From timetable only written K. Thx! wait for the confirmation from the college or call the college and ask... |
Jan 7 2008, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(Blackhart @ Jan 6 2008, 11:15 PM) I need advice here,I'm going to take P2 and am normally a Sunway student.The problem is that I strongly dislike Menon's style of teaching since 2.5 with Sunway's signature overlong hours of classes (which I have little tolerance for) plus extra classes to finish the syllabus.Her style of teaching is like expecting 100% of the students are eager to get world prize, leaving less enthusiastic students (like me if you wish to switch to joe fang, try talking to him first. he may help you scrap past your paper.However,she's admittedly well versed with her stuff and often praised as a good teacher.Should I take the safe way and continue learning P2 from her since my fundamental knowledge from 2.5 was from her (although my foundation is still quite shaky)?Or should give Joe Fang from KSA a try?I'm afraid I can't follow his lectures since I came from Menon's school of teaching.All I need is to know enough to pass this dreadful paper once and for all, help please confirmed that joe famg got class on the 10 Jan, 10am to 5pm |
Jan 7 2008, 11:31 PM
it's not advisable. especially when f5, you need to master both theory and calculation. master any one, and you will fail the paper.
f6, the amount of things need to study is a lot. then include f7, which understanding of conso, published accounts, cash flow, ratio and ifra must be at fingertips in order to get comfortable marks. so i think 3 papers should be more then enough since this is your first sitting. |
Jan 8 2008, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(carlosandy @ Jan 8 2008, 10:08 AM) Actually it is depend on individual lah! Some people feel that can take 4 papers study full time, but some ppl thing it is difficult to take 4 papers. please update your information please?F5 to F7 will involve a lot of calculation. You need to spend a lot of time to practice the calculation. Beside calculation, you also can't skip theory cos no more optional question in this paper. ACCA know, last time a lot of candidates try to skip question on more theory and gain marks from calculation, so under new syllabus they don't allow student skip theory question. For F8 Audit & Assurance, this is a killer paper in fundamental level. A lot of student die in this paper since Alan Lewin become examiner. You need to understand a lot of audit procedures for this paper. If I'm not mistake, the passing rate for this paper last time was a lowest in Part 2. So it is very depend on individual. But for me, it is very hard for me to take 4 paper together even study full time. So may be u try 3 paper first lah if u thing u can't do it. For lecturer notes, if you attend the class where he/she can provide you with good lecturer notes and teach you step by step to answer past year question, it should be enough for you study for ACCA exam. Text book may be only use for other reference purpose when u can't understand from lecturer notes. For SEGi College, I think it is not a good choice for you cos only left Kwai Fatt in SEGi currently. A lot of ex-SEGi very good lecturer like Sheila, Vikness, Hannef already went to other college. So currently beside Kwai Fatt, I'm not sure other SEGi lecturer good or not. May be u can try my recommendation lecturers in below lah:- F5 - Andrew Pang (Kasturi) , Chow Kim Tai (FTMS) F6 - Alan Yeow (Kasturi), Siva Nair (FTMS) , Choong Kwai Fatt (SEGi, IRC only) F7 - Keith Farmer (Kasturi), Joe Fang (Kasturi), Haneef (Mc Orange) F8 - Philip Woo (Kasturi), Sheila (Mc Orange), Fung Chee Kang (FTMS) Chow Kim Tai is not teaching in FTMS anymore. He is teaching in McOrange only for paper P5. please do not recommend lecturers who are not teaching anymore. it's quite misleading. |
Jan 9 2008, 04:37 PM
Jan 11 2008, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(jesswcp @ Jan 11 2008, 12:44 AM) Which lecturer is better in teaching F7? for this paper, i suggest that you attend joe fang's class.Keith Farmer (Kasturi), Joe Fang (Kasturi), or Haneef (Mc Orange) Or other? Please recommend, cos i wanted to start to attend class.... thank thank thankSSS~ his method for conso, published accounts, cash flow and ratios is different from other lectuerers, which is quite fast in the examinations. people tend to be unable to finish the paper, but under his class, students have the speed to finish and still have time to check. besides that, that 3 parts will eventually give you maximun of 75 marks, which is far more than the passing mark. |
| Change to: | 0.0556sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:30 PM |