ACCA (v3), our future chartered accountants :)

MickyMouse
post Dec 13 2007, 02:34 AM

68 posts

hey guys..

if i wan to take Ms. Menon's class for P2.. can i just tuition 1 subject in Sunway? or i have to take the whole course?
MickyMouse
post Dec 13 2007, 06:34 PM

68 posts

i wanna take P2 for nex sitting.. thinking wan to go for Ms. Menon.. but is it only available for sunway students?
MickyMouse
post Dec 19 2007, 04:03 PM

68 posts

hey guys.. between P6 Advanced Taxation and P4 Advanced Financial Management

wanna ask which paper is consider more useful and slightly easier?
MickyMouse
post Dec 19 2007, 10:07 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(HBK-reloaded @ Dec 19 2007, 06:46 PM)
well,for optional paper, there not much difference which one is easier or tougher, the only thing is how much the topic that need to be covered. Between P4,P5 there have this drawback and benefit, for e.g, P5 question in exam is quite excessive mostly on question 1 where it provides every information from point 1-x..view pilot paper section A..compare to P4 the case/scenario is short, but more focus on calculation..however, P5 now much on theory and explain compare to 3.3 previously..P4 maintain the same as 3.7..where financial calculations and explanation is the main ingredients. icon_rolleyes.gif
hmm.. if like that.. do u think Adv Tax is better coz it's more focus on theory.. where as Adv Financial Mngt is mosly on calculation.. im thinking wanna take which paper.. very rclxub.gif
MickyMouse
post Dec 21 2007, 10:47 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(Zoeee @ Dec 21 2007, 12:01 AM)
i will go for Joe Fang P2 & Parmindar P1... ya, oso wondering how the P1 paper itz better with audit lecturer? Coz.... i agreed philip woo good at understanding, but i cant go Sun 10-5pm class.. then Jackson, i only been to F8 IRC... okok...(he is audit lecturer) then parmindar(IT background) been to IRC for 2.1.. okok. Anyone taken Parmindar n Jackson P1, can comment on it? (teaching style)

Anyway, my combination for new sem:

P1-parmindar
P2-joe fang
P3-parmindar
P4-daniel ho
wah.. u r going to take 4 subject in ur new sem?

3 core paper already can make u die.. hehe.. just my personal opinion.. no offence..
MickyMouse
post Dec 27 2007, 07:45 PM

68 posts

hi all seniors..

wanna ask those who took previous old scheme on 3.2 Advanced Taxation and 3.7 Strategic Financial Management.. between this two option.. which one is consider more easy to pass?
MickyMouse
post Dec 27 2007, 08:38 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(roy_pck @ Dec 27 2007, 08:14 PM)
it depends on your interest. you can pass a paper easily if you have deep interest in it.

me myself had taken 3.2 before and failed terribly. in my opinion P6 is getting more theoritical nowadays. thus i have chosen to take P4 in this coming sitting. smile.gif
actually i dun really lik calculation since im suck in my accounting..

on the other hand, i dun hav interest in taxation..it's kinda boring subject.. it's more on theoretical based rather than calculation..

i like finance.. coz i plan to work in banking and finance field..
as i know.. p4 is focus on finance.. and it more on calculation rite..
i really doubt myself in calculation.. tat's y i am very confuse to choose in between p4 and p6.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by MickyMouse: Dec 27 2007, 08:40 PM
MickyMouse
post Dec 28 2007, 04:09 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 28 2007, 09:25 AM)
Since u are more interest in finance, you go ahead for P4 lah. But I prefer you take P6 also even you are not interested, cos Tax is very good and help u in future when u go to work in any industry.

But you must remember for all the Prof level paper, there is no the story for focus on calcullation or theory.

For eg P6, examiner can ask you to give advise on tax planning based on the senario. So beside write the theory, you also need to come out some calculation to support you advise.

Application is more important in all the prof level paper. Even in P4, the calculation is just a supporting for your application and not main answer. The question in P4 is very practical, if you don't know how to apply, you will fail in tis paper oso.

So, my advise is choose paper based on your interest, not based on calculation or theory.
yup.. in between finance and tax.. i will be more interested in finance.. coz tax involved a lot of memorising those tax law and rules which will make me rclxub.gif

tax is very helpful in future when i work in any industry?? I thought it would be more applicable when working in tax consultation firm only.. haha.. im wrong actually..

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 28 2007, 10:18 AM)
P4 also won't involve much calculation. The question in this paper is more practical than previous sitting.

Both P4 and P6 also, examiner will test you on Level 2 and Level 3 question, means ask you to apply, argue or analysis with your knowledge of that paper. You will see a lot of discuss, describe, identify, explain, assess and etc in the question.

So always remember calculation or memorise theory is not so important in any prof level paper. You can't learn theory by hard or practice calculation by hard in all this paper.
according to my lecturer, p4 involved 80% calculation and 20% theory.. this ratio make me so scare coz im not that super good in calculation..

but when i take a look at p4 pilot paper.. there's almost 50% calculation and 50% theory.. which is the same for p6 as well..

so now my final decision is taking p4.. hope i will not regret and able to manage to pass this paper.. smile.gif

Added on December 28, 2007, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(pristina @ Dec 28 2007, 03:58 PM)
The last sitting of this year which means December 2007, one of the question of paper 9 taxation has been left out!!??? ohmy.gif
Real Property Gain Tax (RPGT) this is the most easier question we could scored high mark! And in ACCA too.
Will RPGT disappear in ACCA also?
yup.. if im not mistaken.. RPGT will be eliminated from the syllabus coz there will be no tax on RPGT since 1 April 2007..

This post has been edited by MickyMouse: Dec 28 2007, 04:11 PM
MickyMouse
post Feb 18 2008, 10:27 PM

68 posts

hi everyone..

i passed my P1 and P2.. but failed in P3

i expect to pass all except P2 coz i got no confident at all.. but ended up get 64 for it..

my P3 is 47 marks.. do u think i shud ask for review?

MickyMouse
post Feb 19 2008, 08:09 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(nadia_0077 @ Feb 19 2008, 01:19 AM)
I think Colly, you may be Kwai Fatt ! haha or his mistress. Well, thanks for being so 'touched'. You are just like his DOG. and by the way, my fav lecturers are Bob, Michael,Sheila,Andrew Phang and Menon, what say you now! If you dont wanna improve your language, then anytime you are bound to be looked down by high executives wherever you go. Thats the
reality of life if you find it hard to accept and im still trying to improve on my language, be it chinese or english! Birds of same feather always together, i guess i know from all these which category of birds you belong and wish to
belong to! A person who refuse to admit his/her mistakes will NEVER learn.
don't u think u r too arrogant to say this statement to ppl? pls respect other ppl and talk in a professional way..

MickyMouse
post Feb 22 2008, 12:16 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(scorpiok @ Feb 21 2008, 10:56 PM)
yaya~~i though so~~
coz in tarc, person who has fail muz fail P3...
other than that, 99% from my class pass p1..
but looking at the passing rate, is quiet unbelievable~~

by the way, coursemate, seems like u fail ur p3 too...
dun be sad...gambateh in following sitting...

but looking at those optional paper passing rate, i oso scare scare le~~
yes.. most of the tarcian failed p3.. included me as well.. cry.gif

0.0406sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:49 AM