127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 8GB Official Thread], Its what improved computers have become!

missgeek
post Nov 20 2007, 06:38 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(l3iTi @ Nov 20 2007, 01:49 PM)
Oh...thanks Kamen Rider for ur feedback...thanks to pigcat as well...
Well u guys tried it b4? Just wanted to know bout the speed only...56k modem faster or 3g faster tongue.gif
Just wondering if use it every night for this purpose, dunno how long will the battery last  hmm.gif  i mean the life span lar...
the speed is fast if you happen to surf in HSDPA areas. smile.gif This is one drawback in Malaysia, HSDPA only available in certain areas in Klang valley, mainly PJ and KL.
So, if you happen to stay in area in which only Edge or GPRS available, then it is as slow as a dial up.

I dont think it will affect the battery life span (but it will drain it pretty fast) because the USB is not acting like a phone charger too. They should do that way really, other phones is able to charge when u plug your phone to USB liow. So in terms of life span, I dont think it will affect lor, unles u also put ur charger in at the same time. I was told that it is better to charge the battery when it's empty(or beep already) instead of charging it all the times.

But dont know la... hmm.gif

pigcat
post Nov 20 2007, 06:46 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Anyone can answer my question...? sad.gif

I'm heading to nokia care tomorrow (too busy last 2 days) but I wish to confirm whether there's the chinese stroke on the keypads of the Avaxx/Zitron units? Thanks in advance... notworthy.gif
ViRaViRa
post Nov 20 2007, 06:49 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 20 2007, 06:46 PM)
Anyone can answer my question...?  sad.gif

I'm heading to nokia care tomorrow (too busy last 2 days) but I wish to confirm whether there's the chinese stroke on the keypads of the Avaxx/Zitron units? Thanks in advance... notworthy.gif
Yes, original sets will have it for sure smile.gif
D-Zire
post Nov 20 2007, 07:00 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Nov 20 2007, 06:37 PM)
CSL is not an authorised distributor. It's an AP company that provides 15 months warranty.
since CSL is not an authorised seller then if i wanna get AP set then might as well get ComSat right...why pay more when you can get the phone at a cheaper price? smile.gif

Now i'm comtemplating to get either Avaxx or ComSat....hmmmm.....
halia_merah
post Nov 20 2007, 07:01 PM

166 posts

emmmmmm.....interesting...

This post has been edited by halia_merah: Nov 20 2007, 07:01 PM
pigcat
post Nov 20 2007, 07:08 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Nov 20 2007, 06:49 PM)
Yes, original sets will have it for sure  smile.gif

Thanks for the reply! By the way do you own one? So you confirm about it that it has?

I'm going to ask for a quote tomorrow before spend another trip for nothing... biggrin.gif
TSAsh
post Nov 20 2007, 08:19 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 20 2007, 07:08 PM)
biggrin.gif Thanks for the reply! By the way do you own one? So you confirm about it that it has?

I'm going to ask for a quote tomorrow before spend another trip for nothing... biggrin.gif
Yes it has the chinese symbols thingy but i dont understand why would you need that tongue.gif You don't use pin yin ? Btw I think you should only go to the NCC in berjaya plaza because other branches would not have the spare parts yet, thus no keypad with them. I'm sure the HQ in berjaya plaza has it.

Called nokia hotline today and spoke to an operator about the free 3 months voice navigation thingy they told me that i have to wait for the 3 days trial to expire before I can activate the 3 months one... it was so hard for me to end the call because her voice was soooooooo sweet and she was so polite ewwwww ^^

This post has been edited by Ash: Nov 20 2007, 08:22 PM
HolyCross
post Nov 20 2007, 08:25 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Nov 20 2007, 05:04 PM)
do you have ATI CCC installed? if yes, uninstall it, got conflict with that prog and map loader
what is ATI CCC?? unsure.gif
ViRaViRa
post Nov 20 2007, 08:28 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 20 2007, 07:08 PM)
biggrin.gif Thanks for the reply! By the way do you own one? So you confirm about it that it has?

Yes, vy sure...Coz I'm a handphone seller sweat.gif

Zitron/Avaxx sets all comes with chinese character on keypad nod.gif
TSAsh
post Nov 20 2007, 08:30 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Nov 20 2007, 08:25 PM)
what is ATI CCC??  unsure.gif
ATI Radeon graphic utility
pigcat
post Nov 20 2007, 08:46 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

Thanks for the replies Ash and ViRa... biggrin.gif

Ash - I use pinyin but sometimes when i look at a word that I don't have a clue but want to type it down I have to use the stroke, so no stroke on the keypads I'll suffer to type it. I use it quite often...

I'm going to phone them first and get quote, also call the AP guys if they would do it for me if I have the spare parts cause the phone actually got warranty anyway, so don't waste. nod.gif

PS: I've been to Berjaya NCC (thanks Ash for the tips and save me lots of phone calls and trips) today cause I got pass by there, and they'll do the software for me for only a mere RM30 but I have to go back tomorrow again cause it was quite late and nobody can do it at the moment...MUCH cheaper than I thought... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Nov 20 2007, 08:49 PM
Garfie
post Nov 20 2007, 09:10 PM

= Teh Retired Buaya Master =
3,951 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Nov 20 2007, 06:49 PM)
Yes, original sets will have it for sure  smile.gif
Well I think it depends on the region. Like my set. It's original from nokia and branded vodafone but there is no chinese keystrokes or whatsoever on the keypad...so not really sure about this issue actually. But yeah, the ones that I bought back in Malaysia do have some chinese keystrokes, so to the earlier thread reply, do check it out with them...
HolyCross
post Nov 20 2007, 09:19 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Nov 20 2007, 08:30 PM)
ATI Radeon graphic utility
how to check my n95 8gb got install this software or not? unsure.gif
xpresside
post Nov 20 2007, 09:35 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Nov 20 2007, 09:19 PM)
how to check my n95 8gb got install this software or not? unsure.gif
not ur handphone,
ur pc
ViRaViRa
post Nov 20 2007, 09:52 PM

4,625 posts

QUOTE(Garfie @ Nov 20 2007, 09:10 PM)
Well I think it depends on the region. Like my set. It's original from nokia and branded vodafone but there is no chinese keystrokes or whatsoever on the keypad...so not really sure about this issue actually. But yeah, the ones that I bought back in Malaysia do have some chinese keystrokes, so to the earlier thread reply, do check it out with them...
Err, my original was either Zitron or Avaxx. The rest are considered AP.
My mistake, should replace original with authorised laugh.gif
pigcat
post Nov 20 2007, 09:58 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

ViRa san do you have any idea how much a keypad cost?hmm.gif

I'm facing a dilemma now, I don't know if I should purchase a keypad from Nokia and let the AP to do it, or simply let Nokia do it but will totally void the AP warranty (they do provide valid warranty and all written black and white) cause there's stickers covered the screws... ohmy.gif

Anyway I think my handset is rock solid that I don't think I need warranty anyway, wish me good luck lol...

This post has been edited by pigcat: Nov 20 2007, 09:58 PM
den
post Nov 20 2007, 10:15 PM

Plebeian
1,643 posts

QUOTE(jep @ Nov 20 2007, 06:04 PM)
There's an option for 7 days, 30 days, 1 year, and 3 year.

7 Days - $9.37
30 Days - $11.53
1 Year - $101.01
3 year - $115.45

Oh yea..before you guys saying...waaa..that's cheap...may i remind you...it's in DOLLAR!  sweat.gif
that's very expensive and like not worth it.

do you think the gps is still useful w/o the voice navigator?
does in still have the distance and turning direction on top left if i don't purchase the voice nagivator?
and is it possible to add shops/some landmark on the map on your own?

This post has been edited by den: Nov 20 2007, 10:16 PM
TSAsh
post Nov 20 2007, 10:18 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Nov 20 2007, 09:58 PM)
ViRa san do you have any idea how much a keypad cost?hmm.gif

I'm facing a dilemma now, I don't know if I should purchase a keypad from Nokia and let the AP to do it, or simply let Nokia do it but will totally void the AP warranty (they do provide valid warranty and all written black and white) cause there's stickers covered the screws... ohmy.gif

Anyway I think my handset is rock solid that I don't think I need warranty anyway, wish me good luck lol...
my best idea would be to try selling off your ap set now while the price is still high and get an original set instead smile.gif You'll be more than satisfied if you do so
norazwan79
post Nov 20 2007, 10:21 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

I dont mind bought AP set because i always change my phone every 4-6 months. So thats why i prefer AP set. Reason? If i wanna sell/trade in, the price not much different with ori set. For example, current price for used N95 is rm1600 AP and rm1800 ORI. If buy new, price different about RM400. For n95 8gb price different for both set is RM600. U can imagine when u want to sell ur phone next time, the price different for ap/ori maybe only rm200. icon_rolleyes.gif
pigcat
post Nov 20 2007, 10:30 PM

Back to LYN...
892 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Nov 20 2007, 10:18 PM)
my best idea would be to try selling off your ap set now while the price is still high and get an original set instead smile.gif You'll be more than satisfied if you do so

I think I'll just keep it, maybe change keypad after using it a while, like few months then only I change it. I don't know, but that's probably how I might end up.

If I'm selling it and get authorized set I don't think I'll be more happier, even if anything kong liao I might just take the money and pay for the service rather than pay for the price difference for the authorized set + money lost to have it sell off as 2nd hand. For that kind of money I can replace LCD screen and the camera already...Say if so dai gat lai si I got the authorized set but dropped, I end up paying 2 phones liao...I can just buy a 4 figure price tag phone for my gf eh...I've had same experiences in the past so I know. sweat.gif

I'm happy with the set I got cause I find no reason to sell as it's working so well now, so maybe I'll just load new software first. laugh.gif

Added on November 20, 2007, 10:36 pm
QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Nov 20 2007, 10:21 PM)
I dont mind bought AP set because i always change my phone every 4-6 months. So thats why i prefer AP set. Reason? If i wanna sell/trade in, the price not much different with ori set. For example, current price for used N95 is rm1600 AP and rm1800 ORI. If buy new, price different about RM400. For n95 8gb price different for both set is RM600. U can imagine when u want to sell ur phone next time, the price different for ap/ori maybe only rm200. icon_rolleyes.gif

Yeah that make sense too, unless the phone got serious problem but if it works then no reason to sell it.

For instance, if I sell my AP set max RM2k, buy ori best RM2.7k, I ended up paying a difference of RM1k and in the end I buy it at RM3.3k in total ohmy.gif. Still if pilot error and something broken, have to pay for repair also, at least I'm paying RM400 less so I actually have RM400 extra for repair (touch wood touch wood)...

In the end it's just an electronic device, a liability not an asset. smile.gif

This post has been edited by pigcat: Nov 20 2007, 10:36 PM

127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:18 AM