Nokia [Nokia(tm) N95 8GB Official Thread], Its what improved computers have become!

Garfie
post Nov 17 2007, 12:31 AM

= Teh Retired Buaya Master =
3,951 posts

Hmm my firmware is a bit different from u guys...

V10.0.021
29-09-07
RM-320
Nokia N95 (60.01)

And i got it on the 1st of Nov, just that i posted late...ahah...just removed the vodafone logo on the back of the phone, going to de-brand the operator specific settings...comtemplating whether to do or not since it voids the warranty provided by vodafone as there is no warranty card by Nokia...
Garfie
post Nov 20 2007, 09:10 PM

3,951 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Nov 20 2007, 06:49 PM)
Yes, original sets will have it for sure  smile.gif
Well I think it depends on the region. Like my set. It's original from nokia and branded vodafone but there is no chinese keystrokes or whatsoever on the keypad...so not really sure about this issue actually. But yeah, the ones that I bought back in Malaysia do have some chinese keystrokes, so to the earlier thread reply, do check it out with them...
Garfie
post Nov 23 2007, 01:06 AM

3,951 posts

QUOTE(HolyCross @ Nov 22 2007, 10:04 AM)
the pouch and crystal case haven available for n95 8gb...ask how long must wait...all say don't know hmm.gif
the crystal case is out n eBay already...if you all are raring to go and get it, u can get it from eBay...

Garfie
post Nov 27 2007, 05:54 PM

3,951 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Nov 25 2007, 10:24 PM)
Wah 2 days didnt login so much happening! Congrates to new users, heheh now u belong to the coolest phone club, kekekkeke.

I decided not to flash my firmware, there is not so much changed, the landscape screensaver also not yet corrected yes? I have my own remedy, hehehe. I just set my screensaver the other way around, heheh so when the screensaver came up, it's in horizontal lor. tongue.gif

The phone is slippery, I had twice near death experience with my phone, hahahah. My heart nearly stop like that... scary. Dont la why, the phone is not slippery but it feels like always want to jump from my hand like that. I still hate the fingerprints and smears. Really want the phone cover like for the N95 shown by littlediana. At least I dont have to touch the back of the phone... the rubber casing also easily get fingerprints leh...
have de-branded my phone, using the EURO1 code... (yes i know i'll lose the 1 year warranty) but as you've mentioned the lanscape bug is still in existance. dammit, but there were much more improvements after switching over to generic firmware, at least VoIP works now...tongue.gif

as for mine, the upper part of the lens i already scratched it off lol. kinda painful to do that but i'm much happier getting rid of the stupid vodafone logo there.

[quote]Nokia N95 8GB Software Update

Nokia N95 8GB Software version 11.0.026 released.
This software version includes performance and stability improvements to the browser and Nokia maps.

URL: Nokia Europe - Software - N95 8GB support
Garfie
post Nov 30 2007, 08:34 PM

3,951 posts

QUOTE(8legfreak @ Nov 30 2007, 07:36 PM)
i ordered this casing... what do you guys think?

woh nice product...where'd ya order it from...?
Garfie
post Dec 13 2007, 08:48 AM

3,951 posts

Just got myself a nice leather PDair case for my N95 8GB...Ordered the silicone one but then it's fugly. Really fugly compared to the PDair...Cost of the pouch is RM68 or £10...

Here's how it looks like:

drool.gif
Garfie
post Dec 15 2007, 07:27 AM

3,951 posts

QUOTE(8legfreak @ Dec 13 2007, 05:22 PM)
just to share with u guys for the pouch that i just received for my n95 8gb..
nice but haha i saw it retailin for 35.99 euros. was tempted to get it but the PDair's one was quite cool too. we'll see how both fare with each other.

and btw guys, i bought it off eBay or u can just google PDair and their site will come up. It's from US if i'm not mistaken. $28.00 but in conjunction with their 5th anniversary u'll get free shipping and also a free leather keychain worth $10.00

hope that helps

whistling.gif
Garfie
post Dec 19 2007, 09:44 AM

3,951 posts

QUOTE(mstr583 @ Dec 19 2007, 12:27 AM)
AFAIK there is not option to off the camera sound..Try google cCam...3rd party software..
well the only way so far that I've discovered is that set it to Silent mode and the camera sound wont come on. dont know about the sets sold in Malaysia though, anyone kind enough to try it?
Garfie
post Jan 10 2008, 08:19 PM

3,951 posts

QUOTE(littlediana @ Jan 10 2008, 02:16 PM)
do it at nokia need to pay?
i thought it is free? hmm....
where to download the firmware? and how to do it? blush.gif
u can download the Nokia Software Updater (NSU). Current version is v1.414en, I believe it comes packed with the Nokia PC Suite, or else just do a quick search in the Nokia site to download the app.

After installing, run the application and it'll prompt u to connect your phone. Simply connect the mini-usb cable to your phone and click next. It will then proceed to check connected phone and tell u the version that you have and the version that is currently available. It will look like this after finished detection:

Before you turn your phone into a brick, usually these are the few mistakes that the users make:

1) Phone is not set to "General Profile"
2) Phone battery is left very close to finishing
3) User disconnect cable before being prompted to do so

Do note that:

1) The firmware files are about 100mb+, so be patient when downloading
2) Remember to do a backup to your phone first using the Nokia Backup Suite before flashing as everything on your phone memory will be gone.

0.0429sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:35 AM