Frugal partner
jasontoh
Aug 3 2025, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(redracer2004 @ Aug 2 2025, 01:31 PM) 1. Somehow they say you weed them out early and yeah. I know from the get go they are frugal or not with how they dress up also. 2. Agreed to that though there was an example of a frugal person but was misguided. I know of a friend, he dated a girl and wanted and hoped the girl to be frugal so he brought her to Suki-Ya for first date. The girl was ok and all at first but few days after the date, the replies were slower. He asked her why. She told him that she felt ok at first but her circle of friends told her that he was being cheap. She felt it was ok but was eaten up by the words that "If a guy can't show you sincerity at first, he won't show you anything after". So she ended up distancing herself from him. 3. If the girl really loves / likes the guy yes and maybe. But if both also dunno each other, coming out on 1st 2nd meet then probably the girl might think the guy is cheap haha. I tried that a few times suggesting cheap cafes for first second dates. End up, most don't wanna go. 4. I think how the parents perceive plays important part. Most of the time, parents got the big say on things related to marriage and they will go excuses like "If a proper wedding also cannot afford, how will you take care of my daughter in the future?". Regarding the 4th, this is not an excuse. Imagine if you have a daughter, and dating a guy, who cares more his account balance than your daughter, how would you feel? I'm not saying we should treat girls like princesses, but to me too extreme holding onto own pocket is also red flag.
TSRamjade
Aug 3 2025, 04:33 AM
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Aug 3 2025, 12:03 AM) Regarding the 4th, this is not an excuse. Imagine if you have a daughter, and dating a guy, who cares more his account balance than your daughter, how would you feel? I'm not saying we should treat girls like princesses, but to me too extreme holding onto own pocket is also red flag. I am ok if he used the money wisely.
redracer2004
Aug 4 2025, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Aug 3 2025, 12:03 AM) Regarding the 4th, this is not an excuse. Imagine if you have a daughter, and dating a guy, who cares more his account balance than your daughter, how would you feel? I'm not saying we should treat girls like princesses, but to me too extreme holding onto own pocket is also red flag. Unfortunately it looks easy as we speak but most parents (Chinese especially) are treating their children (especially daughters) like investments. When the son marries, he will still go back and offer the parents money but normally based on tradition and current trends, once the daughter is married off, it's other people's daughter already so they wanna milk the cow one last time and squeeze everything they can. I know it's not a right mindset but even my own mom is thinking that there should be some degree of financial provided in terms of dowry.
TSRamjade
Aug 4 2025, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(redracer2004 @ Aug 4 2025, 09:15 AM) Unfortunately it looks easy as we speak but most parents (Chinese especially) are treating their children (especially daughters) like investments. When the son marries, he will still go back and offer the parents money but normally based on tradition and current trends, once the daughter is married off, it's other people's daughter already so they wanna milk the cow one last time and squeeze everything they can. I know it's not a right mindset but even my own mom is thinking that there should be some degree of financial provided in terms of dowry. Dowry is custom. Cannot run away. Even my girl also said no need but my parents still want to give.
romuluz777
Aug 5 2025, 10:17 AM
Wahh...it sounds really stressful to live such a frugal life which is constrained and bound by so many self-imposed limitations. I'm all for saving for the future, however I find many of the steps listed above are kind of excessive. Life is a journey and not so much about the destination. There should be a balance between enjoying the fruits of one's labor now, and also saving sufficiently for the future (i.e, sickness old age). Life is fragile and unpredictable. We might be excessively saving and investing presently for a future that might never come. Donald Duck's Uncle Scrooge comes to mind now
TSRamjade
Aug 5 2025, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 5 2025, 10:17 AM) Wahh...it sounds really stressful to live such a frugal life which is constrained and bound by so many self-imposed limitations. I'm all for saving for the future, however I find many of the steps listed above are kind of excessive. Life is a journey and not so much about the destination. There should be a balance between enjoying the fruits of one's labor now, and also saving sufficiently for the future (i.e, sickness old age). Life is fragile and unpredictable. We might be excessively saving and investing presently for a future that might never come. Donald Duck's Uncle Scrooge comes to mind now  Depends on what you want. That's why the FIRE journey is not for everyone. Me and my girl intend to retire early and we are not well to do so have to sacrifice finer things in life to for FIRE. You cannot have your cake and eat it. If we don't intend to retire early we can just take our own sweet time and live normally. But retiring early and putting the kids overseas will need huge sacrifice upfront. No other way. Govt is not going to help. So we have to depend on ourselves. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 5 2025, 10:53 AM
romuluz777
Aug 5 2025, 03:43 PM
Oh well, everyone's perspective on life is different. Some people take pain well, some don't. As long as it rocks your boat and you're happy
Blofeld
Aug 6 2025, 03:59 PM
that's why i have said before
these money mentality mindset comes from the parents themselves and peers also
some guys like to complain why girls behave like that but actually...ownself cultivate such mindset onto the children
redracer2004
Aug 7 2025, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Aug 6 2025, 03:59 PM) that's why i have said before these money mentality mindset comes from the parents themselves and peers also some guys like to complain why girls behave like that but actually...ownself cultivate such mindset onto the children I have actually told many of my guy friends that any form of mentality including money stems from the upbringing of the parents + the influence of peers. Not many actually believed me as they say that the girl has her own state of mind, can think for herself, BUT the question is always "If you've been fed caviar half of your life, would you be happy to just eat sardine all of a sudden? And if you were in a great / luxurious car half your life but now suddenly need to use a local car, will you be proud of it?" That's why, to observe a girl the best is to observe her parents and peers.
Cubalagi
Aug 7 2025, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(redracer2004 @ Aug 7 2025, 10:22 AM) That's why, to observe a girl the best is to observe her parents and peers. Just connect on instagram, and then look at their lifestyle. holidays, activities, fashion taste.
TSRamjade
Aug 7 2025, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(redracer2004 @ Aug 7 2025, 10:22 AM) I have actually told many of my guy friends that any form of mentality including money stems from the upbringing of the parents + the influence of peers. Not many actually believed me as they say that the girl has her own state of mind, can think for herself, BUT the question is always "If you've been fed caviar half of your life, would you be happy to just eat sardine all of a sudden? And if you were in a great / luxurious car half your life but now suddenly need to use a local car, will you be proud of it?" That's why, to observe a girl the best is to observe her parents and peers. You friends are right. I have known 3 rich girls who are frugal.
poooky
Aug 15 2025, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(redracer2004 @ Aug 4 2025, 09:15 AM) Unfortunately it looks easy as we speak but most parents (Chinese especially) are treating their children (especially daughters) like investments. When the son marries, he will still go back and offer the parents money but normally based on tradition and current trends, once the daughter is married off, it's other people's daughter already so they wanna milk the cow one last time and squeeze everything they can. I know it's not a right mindset but even my own mom is thinking that there should be some degree of financial provided in terms of dowry. Solution is to stay away from type c girls. Matafada still expecting to be paid RM18,888 cash like buying property in ancient times is it? Except this daughter nowadays carries very few of those qualities that compare to ancient time (docile, submissive, obedient, etc). Damn shame that greed has clouded their judgement. Visit time all ok, but when want to marry the eyes light up on how fat angpow they can get. Any sense of love or feeling all flush down the drain when start calculating dowry. But anyway, plenty of single type c girls in 30s+ nowadays. After a while, even their parents forego the dowry and are just grateful that their daughter has found someone.
TSRamjade
Aug 16 2025, 07:15 AM
QUOTE(poooky @ Aug 15 2025, 12:25 PM) Solution is to stay away from type c girls. Matafada still expecting to be paid RM18,888 cash like buying property in ancient times is it? Except this daughter nowadays carries very few of those qualities that compare to ancient time (docile, submissive, obedient, etc). Damn shame that greed has clouded their judgement. Visit time all ok, but when want to marry the eyes light up on how fat angpow they can get. Any sense of love or feeling all flush down the drain when start calculating dowry. But anyway, plenty of single type c girls in 30s+ nowadays. After a while, even their parents forego the dowry and are just grateful that their daughter has found someone. All girls will see your financial status. Cannot run away. It's fundamental to see if you can be provider to the kids and family. What you can do is show them you are capable and test to see if they they know how to value money.
TSRamjade
Sep 8 2025, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(TOS2 @ Sep 8 2025, 10:51 AM) You find one for me boleh? I am getting tired of texting girls man... Currently planning to ask my students out on a date after I finish teaching them this semester... I wish I can marry my mother sometimes... She's just the perfect woman I am looking for... You find yourself. Don't bother with KL. Set your target Johor, negeri sembilan and melaka. You better not. It's going to cause issue parents won't be happy and can report you to the police in Singapore. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 8 2025, 12:43 PM
romuluz777
Sep 12 2025, 01:33 PM
After reading all these positive vibes from all the bros here, I'm gonna start being less kiamsiap and more frugal.
LDP
Sep 13 2025, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(poooky @ Aug 15 2025, 12:25 PM) Solution is to stay away from type c girls. Matafada still expecting to be paid RM18,888 cash like buying property in ancient times is it? Except this daughter nowadays carries very few of those qualities that compare to ancient time (docile, submissive, obedient, etc). Damn shame that greed has clouded their judgement. Visit time all ok, but when want to marry the eyes light up on how fat angpow they can get. Any sense of love or feeling all flush down the drain when start calculating dowry. But anyway, plenty of single type c girls in 30s+ nowadays. After a while, even their parents forego the dowry and are just grateful that their daughter has found someone. Alot of type C gals are just digital zombies.. Kahwin for what ? After married only watch phone …